檢疫、社交距離、隔離:有什麼分別?

現時網上和社交媒體上有大量關於新型冠狀病毒(Novel Coronavirus或COVID-19)的資訊及討論。在嚴肅的主題上,特別是在公共衛生問題上,我們認為大家必須尋求和接收真實、可靠及專業的資訊。 我們Healthy Matters使命是為您提供最佳的醫療保健資訊,以便您為您和您的家人作出最佳選擇。


最近這三個詞彙經常出現,它們有時候會被交替使用。在幾個月前,三者對我們大多數人而言都沒什麼特別意思。現在,我們幾乎去到哪都會聽到這三個詞彙。其實,並非所有國家都對這三個詞彙有相同的理解。例如,在澳洲,“自我隔離”和“自我檢疫”有同樣的意思。為了簡單起見,及幫助您適應這段新生活,我們針對這些常用詞彙整理出一個簡短指南,並解釋它們在香港所表達的意思。

檢疫(Quarantine)

當某人與對病毒呈陽性反應的人接觸過,該人便需要接受檢疫。這個詞源自法文“quarante”,意思是“四十”,當時人們在流行病爆發期間必須接受檢疫40日。由於新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的潛伏期最長一般為14日,因此與病毒感染者直接接觸過的人必須在整個潛伏期進行檢疫,以確保病毒沒有在他們身體發展。


圖片取自衛生防護中心網站

香港有兩種我們可能已經聽過的檢疫方法。首先,所有返港的香港居民需要進行為期兩週的檢疫。接受檢疫人士需要戴上電子手環以方便監察,除非您在抵港前14日曾去過高危地區,否則檢疫可以在家中或酒店進行(在酒店接受檢疫須知)。

CHP advice for inbound travellers

如果您去過高危地區,您將會被帶到政府的檢疫中心進行進一步的醫學檢察,這是第二種檢疫方法。 隔離中心還會預留給與病毒感染者直接接觸過的人。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

社交距離(Social Distancing)

社交距離是指減低或避免社交接觸,以減慢病毒的傳播。可以透過完全避免(面對面)社交接觸或與他人保持距離來體現社交距離。與非和您同住的其他人保持適當的距離(至少1米,理想情況下為1.5米)可以避免傳播細菌。這適用於與您認識的人以及與您在同一公共場所(超市、郵局等)的人。

目前,香港政府已經採取了一些有關社交距離的措施。最近,政府把可在餐廳一同用餐的人數限制為最多4人,以限制社交活動,並將餐廳的客容量限制為50%,以確保有足夠的肢體距離。此外,政府已經禁止被視為“社交”或人們會親密接觸的場所開放:如酒吧、美容院、卡拉OK場所…

Social Distancing Infographic from the CHP Website
圖片取自衛生防護中心網站

隔離(Isolation)

隔離適用於受病毒感染人士。他們需要被完全隔離、遠離其他人,直至完全康復並對病毒測試呈陰性。在大多數國家/地區,隔離會在醫院進行,但在某些國家/地區,當患者病情不太嚴重時,可以在家中進行隔離。

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Your Daily Update

目前,香港未允許呈陽性的人進行自我隔離。取而代之,測試結果呈陽性的人將會立即被帶到公立醫院接受隔離,直至他們完全康復為止。

此處查閱衛生防護中心的指引。

儘管隔離和檢疫僅在特定情況下才必需進行,但我們都應該盡最大的努力去保持身體和社交距離,以減低病毒傳播的風險。我們希望本指南能幫助您掌握這些詞彙。歡迎訂閱我們的電子刊物以獲取更多有關健康的資訊!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Quarantine, Social Distancing, Isolation: What’s the Difference?

There has been an explosion of information, comments and opinions on COVID-19 on the internet and social media. We believe that on serious topics in general, and on public health matters in particular, it is essential to rely on facts and seek credible, expert information. Our mission at Healthy Matters remains to bring you the best information, so you can make the best choices for you and your family. 


These expressions seem to be thrown around regularly and sometimes almost interchangeably. Just months ago they held very little significance to most of us, but now it seems like you can’t go anywhere without hearing one of them. To make matters more complicated, not all countries use these words in the same way. For instance, Australia uses ‘self-isolation’ and ‘self-quarantine’ synonymously. To keep it simple and help you navigate this weird new world, we’ve put together a short guide on these unavoidable words and explain what they mean in Hong Kong.

Quarantine

Quarantine occurs when an individual has been in contact with someone who tested positive for the virus. Originally from the French word “quarante” meaning forty, when individuals used to have to be quarantined for 40 days during epidemics. Because the incubation period for COVID-19 is up to 14 days, individuals who have been in direct contact need to be confined for the full incubation period to ensure that they do not develop the virus.

CHP Quarantine Premises

Infographic taken from the CHP website

In Hong Kong, there are different types of quarantines that we have become familiar with. First of all, the 2-week quarantine imposed on all Hong Kong residents arriving back into the city. This quarantine is monitored using electronic bracelets but can be done at home or at a hotel (points to note when staying in hotel for quarantine) unless you have visited an at-risk regions in the last 14 days.

CHP advice for inbound travellers

When you have visited an at-risk country, you will be sent to a government-run quarantine centre for further medical observation, which is the second kind of quarantine. Quarantine centres are also reserved for people who have been in direct contact with someone who contracted COVID-19.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Social & Physical Distancing

Social distancing refers to lowering or avoiding social interactions in order to slow the spread of the virus. It can either be done by avoiding social interaction (in person) altogether or by respecting physical distancing. Physical distancing is leaving a specific amount of space (at least 1m but ideally 1.5m or 6ft) between you and people you don’t live with to avoid spreading germs. This applies to people you know and in public spaces like supermarkets or post offices. 

In Hong Kong, several social and physical distancing measures have been put into place. Recently, the government restricted the number of people who can sit and eat together at a restaurant to 4 to limit social interaction, and limited the capacity of restaurants to 50% to ensure adequate physical distancing. Furthermore, the government has shut places considered ‘social’ or where close human contact occurs: like bars, beauty parlours, karaoke bars…

Social Distancing Infographic from the CHP Website

Social Distancing Infographic from the CHP Website

Isolation

Isolation applies to someone who has contracted the virus. They will be completely isolated from everyone until they make a full recovery and test negative. In most countries, isolation will occur in a hospital but in some countries and when the patients aren’t too sick isolation can take place in the patient’s home. 

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Your Daily Update

In Hong Kong, self-isolation in the case of a positive diagnosis is not authorised. Instead, someone who tested positive will automatically be admitted into a public hospital and held there, without contact with friends or family, until they’ve made a full recovery. 

Find more of the CHP’s guidelines for the general public here.

While isolation and quarantine are only necessary in specific situations, physical and social distancing is something we should all try our best to practice to slow the spread of COVID-19. We hope that this guide helped you figure your way around some of this vocabulary and don’t forget to sign up to our newsletter for more articles about health!

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.