在香港的嬰兒濕疹:成因、治療及預防

資料已受醫生審閱

異位性皮膚炎,通常稱為濕疹,是最常見的兒童疾病之一,發生在10-20%的嬰兒身上。這種無傳染性的皮疹的出現是由於皮膚缺乏天然的保濕因子,並且對惡劣的環境因素(如室外低濕度和具刺激性)的防禦能力較差,但皮疹通常在兒童達到學齡時會得到改善。我們採訪了兒科醫生劉瑜(Dr. Angela Lau),向我們詳細講解了嬰兒濕疹和天然治療方法。

異位性皮膚炎,即嬰兒濕疹,的症狀是什麼?它是什麼樣子的?

濕疹看起來很乾燥、紅色的、像增厚的皮膚或小小的紅色腫塊。 它會一直產生痕癢,但不會帶來痛楚。夜間的痕癢會導致睡眠障礙。濕疹可能會不斷消失又再生。

嬰兒濕疹通常位於嬰兒的身體哪些部分?

在年幼的嬰兒中,濕疹通常出現在頭皮、臉頰、四肢和軀幹部分的表面。在大一點的兒童中,濕疹通常出現在皮膚的皺紋中(在膝蓋、肘部後面),但會擴散到身體的其他部位。

嬰兒濕疹的原因是什麼?

嬰兒濕疹被認為具有遺傳因素。如果您家中的某人患有與過敏相關的疾病,您的嬰兒則可能會出現濕疹。濕疹皮膚缺乏稱為絲蛋白(filaggrin) 和神經酰胺(ceramide) 的天然保濕因子,它們是維持皮膚屏障功能的重要成分。較弱的皮膚屏障會令越來越多的環境過敏原通過皮膚進入。 因此,濕疹被發現與隨後出現在身上的過敏症有關,例如哮喘和食物過敏。 此外,皮膚對微生物的免疫防禦能力很低,使皮膚更容易受到感染。皮膚炎被認為是由環境觸發的免疫反應

如何可以預防嬰兒濕疹,天然療法是什麼?

要更好地控制濕疹,避免會令濕疹加劇的環境因素是關鍵,例如化學物、溫度和濕度的變化、甚至壓力。以下是一些預防和治療濕疹的天然方法。

  • 應避免使用香水和番梘(特別是泡泡浴)。建議使用無皂潤膚劑沐浴。定期使用不含香料的潤膚劑以防止皮膚乾燥至關重要,特別是在冬季皮膚會很乾燥,和在夏天會游泳的香港嬰兒。避免使用含水量高的乳液,因為它可能會因蒸發而加重濕疹。
  • 洗完澡後,用毛巾輕輕拍乾嬰兒的身體,而不是擦乾。
  • 使用溫和無香料的洗衣粉清洗嬰兒的衣服和床單。
  • 盡量讓嬰兒處於舒適溫度和濕度的環境。陽光、冷風和汗水都可以引起濕疹。
  • 給嬰兒穿上天然材料造的衣物,例如100%棉。
  • 避免皮膚與化學藥品和刺激性物質接觸。
  • 母乳喂哺可以預防某些嬰兒的濕疹。
  • 保持乾淨的房子。塵蟎會加劇濕疹。
  • 保持指甲短,以防擦傷皮疹並引起感染。

我應該什麼時候聯繫醫生治療嬰兒的濕疹?

如果減少加重濕疹的環境因素及足夠補濕後仍無改善,請向您的醫生查詢,以排除是皮膚感染的可能性,並對濕疹進行適當治療,因為控制不了皮膚炎的話會導致不可逆轉的皮膚增厚。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

兒科醫生劉瑜Dr. Angela Lau 在香港大學接受過醫學培訓。在香港的公和私家醫療部門擁有超過15年的經驗,之後她開辦了自己的小天使兒科診所。除兒科護理外,她還在香港多家醫院和新生嬰兒特別護理病房提供急症服務。作為兩個孩子的媽媽,她致力於為患者及其家人提供支持。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Baby Eczema in Hong Kong: Causes, Treatments and Prevention

Last updated on July 29, 2021.

Symptoms | Locating eczema | Causes | Prevention | Contacting a doctor

Atopic dermatitis, commonly called eczema is one of the most common childhood ailments, occurring in 10-20% of babies. This non-contagious rash usually improves when children reach school age and occurs because the skin is lacking natural moisturizing factors and has poor defense against harsh environmental elements such as outdoor low humidity and irritants. We interviewed pediatrician Dr. Angela Lau 劉瑜醫生 to give us the details on baby eczema and natural remedies.

What are the symptoms of atopic dermatitis i.e. baby eczema? What does it look like?

Eczema rash presents as dry, red and thickened skin or small red bumps. It is always itchy, but not painful. Itchiness at night can cause sleep disturbances. The rash will likely come and go.

Where is baby eczema usually located on baby’s body?

In young babies, eczema usually shows up in patches on the scalp, cheeks, outer surface of limbs and trunk. In older children, eczema generally appears in creases of skin (behind the knees, elbows etc.) but can spread elsewhere on the body.

Advertisements

What are the causes?

Infant eczema is thought to have genetic causes. If someone in your family suffers from an allergy-related disorder, it’s possible your baby can develop eczema. Eczema skin lacks the natural moisturizing factors called filaggrin and ceramide, they are essential components to maintain skin barrier function. Because of poor skin barrier, there is increasing entry of environmental allergens through skin. So eczema is found to link to subsequent development of allergies like asthma and food allergy later in life. In addition, skin immune defense against micro-organisms is low, making it more susceptible to infection. The skin inflammation is considered an immune response to environmental triggers.

How can I prevent it and what are the natural treatments?

So to better control eczema, avoiding environmental factors that can aggravate eczema is the key, such as chemicals, changes in temperature, humidity and even stress.  Here are some natural ways to prevent and treat eczema.

  • Fragrances and soaps (in particular, bubble bath) should be avoided. Bathing with soap-free emollients is recommended. Regularly applying fragrance-free emollient to prevent the skin from drying out is crucial. This is particularly important for Hong Kong babies who experience dry conditions in the winter and swimming in the summer. Avoid lotion with high water content as it may worsen eczema via evaporation.
  • Pat, rather than rub, your baby dry with a towel after a bath.
  • Use a gentle, fragrance-free laundry detergent on baby’s clothes and bedsheets.
  • Try to keep baby at a comfortable temperature and humidity. Sunlight, cold wind and sweat can all inflame eczema.
  • Dress the baby in natural materials such as 100% cotton.
  • Avoid skin contact with chemicals and irritants.
  • Breastfeeding may prevent eczema in some babies.
  • Keep a clean house. Dust mites can aggravate eczema.
  • Keep baby’s nails short to prevent them from scratching their rash and introducing infection.

When should I contact a doctor?

If reducing the environmental factors that aggravate eczema and adequate moisturizer doesn’t show result, please consult your doctor to rule out skin infection and get proper treatment for eczema as uncontrolled skin inflammation can cause irreversible skin thickening.

Looking for health insurance for yourselfyour familyyour employees? For expert advice and top-notch service, contact Alea now at [email protected], call +852 2606 2668receive a free quote or schedule a call with them. An advisor uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system will be in touch to answer all your questions about health insurance and healthcare.

Pediatrician Dr. Angela Lau 劉瑜醫生 received her medical training at the University of Hong Kong. After more than 15 years experience in both the public and private health systems in the Hong Kong she started her own practice, Little Angel Paediatric Clinic. Apart from pediatric care, she also provides emergency services in the numerous Hong Kong hospitals and special care baby units. Being a mom of two children, she aims to provide supportive care to both her patients and their families.

How do you treat baby eczema?

Give your baby a warm bath with mild emollient and moisturize the baby’s skin right after the bath. Use an ointment to help reduce inflammation. Try to keep your baby from scatching the irritated skin and consult a doctor if symptoms do not improve in a week.

What triggers eczema in babies?

Baby eczema is mostly likely caused by genetic factors which make the outermost layer of skin failing to retain moisture and prevent entry of foreign allergens.

How do I know if my baby has eczema?

Baby eczema can easily be observed as dry, red and rough skin or small red bumps, which usually cause itches in patches on the scalp, cheeks, outer surface of limbs and trunk.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.