空氣污染在香港:所有您須知的事

您感受到香港的污染嗎?香港經常出現新的空氣污染問題,而且問題還沒有真正好轉。因此,您應該了解一下有關香港的空氣污染。

香港的空氣污染對健康主要帶來什麼影響?

目前有足夠的證據顯示空氣污染會導致各種健康問題,包括:

  • 加重哮喘
  • 刺激呼吸道、帶來咳嗽或呼吸困難等呼吸問題
  • 患有心臟病或肺病的人更早死亡
  • 非致命性心臟病
  • 肺功能減弱

兒童、老年人和患有心臟或肺部疾病的人最容易受到空氣污染物的影響。

污染用什麼指標量度?什麼是PM和PM2.5?

PM是particulate matter(懸浮粒子)的縮寫:它是漂浮在空氣中的固體和液體粒子的混合物,它有各種尺寸:

  • PM10的直徑小於10微米(例如灰塵)。
  • PM2.5的直徑小於2.5微米。這些來自例如汽車或發電廠的燃燒。

PM2.5是微細且輕巧的粒子,它們傾向於在空氣中停留更長的時間。它們可以深入肺部,對健康產生一系列影響。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

世界各地衡量污染的標準

世界衛生組織提出每日PM2.5的限值為每立方米25微克。在美國,PM2.5標準大致相同:每立方米15/35微克(每年/每日)。在過去的幾年中,香港的PM2.5水平已經多次達到200微克。

香港衡量污染的標準

香港採用自己的衡量標準,即空氣質素健康指數(AQHI)。 由於AQHI沒有具體反映PM2.5的水平,這已引起各種聲音要求採用基於PM2.5的量度標準。AQHI的通報級數範圍由1(最低)到10+(最高)。達到8至10級即表示健康風險“甚高”,而 10+級則表示健康風險“嚴重”。在上星期,分別有三個地區被定為“嚴重”:元朗、屯門和東涌。可以在這裡查看香港的PM2.5水平。

與世界其他地區相比,香港的空氣污染情況如何?

根據世界衛生組織的最新資訊,受監測的城市地區中超過80%超出了世界衛生組織的空氣質素限值。世衛組織監測近3000個城市的數據庫將香港排在頭20%污染最嚴重的城市之一。

實際上,在這3000個城市中,有50%以上位於歐洲發達城市,那裡的監管機構積極設法減少空氣污染。由於缺少監測站,位於發展中經濟體系的城市可能未包括在該列表中。儘管遠非理想,但香港的情況並非最差。

留在室內是否可以保護您免受香港的空氣污染影響?

重要的是要注意,儘管建議在污染嚴重的日子留在室內,但實際上,室內的PM2.5含量即使不高於室外,可能亦因煮食、所用的氣體類型、通風不良或空氣過濾器骯髒而令室內的PM2.5含量高。

戴口罩可以保護您免受空氣污染影響嗎?

不幸的是,很多口罩都不能完全防止您吸入被污染的空氣。只有在口部和鼻周圍帶有氣密密封的口罩才能有效過濾受污染的空氣。

新型口罩:保護您免受香港空氣污染影響

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Air Pollution in Hong Kong | Everything You Should Know

Feeling the pollution in Hong Kong? As we know, Hong Kong regularly has new bouts of air pollution, and it doesn’t really get much better yet. Here is what you should know about air pollution in Hong Kong.

What are the main health effects of air pollution in Hong Kong?

There is ample evidence that air pollution leads to a variety of health problems, including:

  • aggravated asthma
  • respiratory issues like irritation of the airways, coughing or difficulty breathing
  • premature death in people with heart or lung disease
  • nonfatal heart attacks
  • decreased lung function

Children, older adults and people with heart or lung diseases are the most likely to be affected by particle pollution exposure.

How is pollution measured? What is PM and PM2.5?

PM stands for particulate matter (also called particle pollution): it’s a mix of solid and liquid particles floating in the air, which come in various sizes:

  • PM10 with a diameter of less than 10 micrometers (for instance, dust).
  • PM2.5 with a diameter of less than 2.5 micrometer. These come from combustion such as motor vehicles or power plants.

PM2.5 are tiny particles that are so small and light that they tend to stay longer in the air. They penetrate deeper into the lungs and cause a range of health effects.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

How is pollution measured in the world?

The World Health Organization (WHO) daily PM2.5 limit is 25 micrograms per cubic meter. In the US, PM2.5 standards are about the same: 15 / 35 micrograms per cubic meter (annual/daily). In Hong Kong, PM2.5 levels have reached over 200 on several occasions in the past years, including this month.

How is pollution measured in Hong Kong?

Hong Kong uses its own measure called the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI). The AQHI doesn’t specifically reflect the PM2.5 levels. This has led various voices to request an adoption of a PM2.5 based measure. The AQHI ranges from 1 (lowest) to 10+ (highest). Levels 8 to 10 mean a “very high risk” for health while 10+ brings a serious risk. Last week’s pollution was “serious” in three districts: Yuen Long, Tuen Mun and Tung Chung. PM2.5 levels in Hong Kong can be checked here.

How is air pollution in Hong Kong compared to the rest of the world?

According to the last update of the WHO, over 80% of urban areas monitored for air pollution exceed the WHO air quality limits. The WHO database of nearly 3000 monitored cities has ranked Hong Kong in the top 20% most polluted cities.

Actually, more than 50% of these 3000 cities are located in developed European cities where regulatory bodies actively try to reduce air pollution. Cities in some developing economies may not be included in this list due to the absence of measuring stations. Although far from ideal, the situation Hong Kong is not the worst.

Does staying indoors protect you from air pollution in Hong Kong?

It is important to note that while recommendations on highly polluted days involve staying indoor, PM2.5 levels inside may actually be just as high, if not higher as indoor air quality can be impacted by cooking, the type of gas used, poor ventilation or dirty air filters.

Does wearing a face mask protect you against air pollution in Hong Kong?

Unfortunately, many masks do not fully protect against breathing in polluted air. Only face masks with an airtight seal around your nose and mouth will effectively filter polluted air.

Looking for health insurance? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors areuniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions>; on both the public and private sectors.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.