【智慧齒】一文了解拔除智慧齒須知

最後更新日期 八月 27, 2021.

為什麼會有智慧齒 | 何時應拔除智慧齒 | 拔除手術流程 | 術後恢復及護理 | 醫療保險覆蓋範圍

或者您會感覺到口腔後部有些改變,您可能會口臭、臼齒區出現疼痛、腫脹、壓痛或發紅。這些皆是智慧齒生長或口腔發炎的最常見跡象。

相信大家都聽過很多關於拔除智慧齒的恐怖經歷。為了解智慧齒是否真的如此可怕,我們Healthy Matters請來牙醫雷威鴻醫生Dr. Jonathan Lui為我們解話 – 幸好,其實智慧齒並沒有您想像的那麼糟糕。

為什麼我們會有智慧齒?

第三大臼齒(又稱智慧齒)是最後才生長的成年牙齒。第三大臼齒之所以被稱為「智慧齒」是因為它們在您年紀較大時出現,所謂「越成熟就越聰明」。智慧齒通常在您18至25歲期間開始長出,但有時它們可能會「休眠」,甚至永遠都不出現。曾經有些人超過50歲才長出智慧齒!

有指智慧齒是人類進化後殘存的遺物,因為以前我們祖先的飲食是以生肉和植物等粗糙的食物為主。在舊時,當牙齒磨損或剝落時,智慧齒可以代替那些牙齒來磨碎粗糙的食物。

如今,由於我們有更好的口腔衛生和更軟的食物,我們不再需要智慧齒代替其他牙齒。因此,現時人們缺少一隻(甚至更多)智慧齒是很常見的,而最有可能是進化所致。

對於我們這一代人而言,智慧齒純粹是兩對額外的臼齒,除了可能幫到我們進食外,並不會帶來其他好處。但是,當您的口腔沒有足夠的空間讓智慧齒長出時,智慧齒便可能會帶來問題。缺乏空間讓智慧齒長出的原因之一是由於現代飲食中缺乏維他命K2。維他命K2是一種有助顎骨發育的營養素。即如果沒有攝取足夠的維他命K2,便可能導致顎骨未能完全發展,從而令智慧齒難以有足夠空間長出。

一項研究認為「下顎尺寸和齒列不相符」在現代人中變得越來越普遍。一般而言,我們的下顎可以舒適地容納28隻牙齒,但加上智慧齒,便有多達32隻牙齒爭奪空間。因此,某些情況下拔除智慧齒是有必要的。

Flossing Your Teeth: Everything You Need to Know

什麼情況下才需要拔除智慧齒?

與其他外科手術一樣,由於拔除智慧齒有機會引致一些健康風險和併發症。因此,如果以下情況適用於您的智慧齒,拔除它們是無謂及無必要的:

– 完整長出
– 長出位置正確
– 與其相對的牙齒排齊
– 能夠以日常口腔護理方法輕鬆清潔到牙齒

通常,當智慧齒開始長出時,其他28隻牙齒已經生長好。因此,如果沒有足夠的空間容納額外的臼齒,可能會導致未能完全萌出、隱藏在牙齦底下或以錯誤的角度生長。這些情況的智慧齒被稱為「阻生智慧齒」。

當您有阻生智慧齒,問題就可能出現,因為:

– 如果智慧齒只局部萌出在難以清潔的牙齦中,便會使細菌滋生,從而導致牙齦疾病和蛀牙。
– 如果智慧齒完全隱藏在牙齦底下或無法正常萌出並卡在下顎時,則可能引起感染或囊腫,從而損害其他牙齒的牙根或牙骨​。
– 如果智慧齒沒有足夠的空間適當地萌出,它們可能造成牙列擁擠或損害鄰近的牙齒。

美國牙科協會建議,如果以下情況出現在智慧齒生長的地方或附近位置,則有必要拔除智慧齒:

– 疼痛或僵硬,例如下巴或口腔後部
– 軟組織受感染,例如牙齦
– 蛀牙
– 囊腫
– 腫瘤
– 鄰近的牙齒受損

重要:由於牙科X光檢查是全面了解您的智慧齒生長狀況的最好方法,因此您應去看牙醫以進行檢查及了解最適合自己的解決方案。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

智慧齒拔除手術有什麼流程?

一些牙醫會建議您先等待及定期檢查智慧齒的出現情況,然後再決定是否需要拔除智慧齒。其他牙醫則認為最好在智慧齒的根和骨未完整發展之前把它們拔除,以免將來引起任何問題。

視乎實際情況,您的普通科牙醫可能會幫您拔除智慧齒。但是,如果您的病例特別棘手,您可能會被轉介到口腔頜面外科專科醫生以進行手術。由於拔除智慧齒是門診手術,因此手術後您很快便可以回家。

在手術前,醫護人員會向您講解手術流程以及潛在的好處和風險方面資訊。在大多數情況下,您會被要求簽署手術同意書。

在手術過程中,醫生可能需要在牙齦上做一個小切口,以方便取出牙齒。如有必要,醫生會把牙齒分成小塊再取出。手術後,醫生會用縫合線縫合切口,並用紗布包紮傷口。整個過程需時幾分鐘至30分鐘不等,但更棘手的情況下可能需花更多時間。

智慧齒手術後,您最常遇到的不適會是臉部腫脹和出現淤青,有時會腫得像花栗鼠那樣!進食和說話方面可能都會有困難。有些患者亦會感到口部疼痛,但您可以服用牙醫開的止痛藥以舒緩痛楚。手術後頭幾日感到不適是正常的,但情況一般到第二個星期便會好轉。

牙醫及牙科診所 — 香港全方位指南

智慧齒術後恢復及護理

手術後過幾日您應該可以恢復正常活動,但請注意,完全康復一般需時6星期。

治療後,您可能會有張口困難、疼痛、流血和腫脹。醫生會就有關疼痛和不適處理方面提供建議,例如吃軟或流質食物、進行冰敷和服用止痛藥。

您可能亦會遇到流血不止和/或乾性齒槽炎的情況。乾性齒槽炎是一種併發症,指保護空洞齒槽內骨頭的血塊因過早脫落(即通常術後頭三日內)、溶解或不成形而令骨頭暴露在外及發炎。這可能會令您非常痛苦及延遲癒合速度。乾性齒槽炎很罕見,但吸煙等因素會大大增加其發展的風險。

重要:您必須嚴格按照牙醫的指示進行護理,以順利康復。如果您懷疑自己有乾性齒槽炎,請尋求牙醫的協助。

想尋找牙科醫生?

查閱我們的健康目錄

保險會否覆蓋智慧齒手術?

根據Alea,醫療保險計劃覆蓋有醫療指示的智慧齒治療及拔除程序。牙科保險會覆蓋部分或全部此類牙科手術的費用。您並不能單純購買牙科保險。牙科保險只能附加在住院醫療計劃或住院及門診計劃中。

雖然保險不一定會覆蓋牙科治療,但大部分公司都會為其僱員提供一些牙科護理。僱員的牙科保險範圍通常僅限於指定的牙科服務提供者網絡或有年度限制。

至於有關個人醫療保險計劃,牙科保險通常是帶有分項限制和共付額的自選福利。牙科保險的覆蓋可分為兩類,並設有不同分項限制:Routine Dental及Major Dental。牙科保險的福利亦可能有3至6個月的等候期。

如果您有任何關於醫療保險的疑問,可聯繫 Alea 的專家,致電+852 2606 2668或發郵件至[email protected]查詢。

chinese alea banner

我們希望以上資訊對您有用!歡迎分享本文並訂閱我們的電子刊物,以定期收到更多有關健康的免費文章!

本文由雷威鴻醫生Dr. Jonathan Lui於2020年12月核對。雷威鴻醫生是牙周治療及植齒中心的牙周治療科專科醫生。他是香港醫學專科學院及香港牙科醫學院的院士。雷醫生擁有英國倫敦大學牙醫學士學位,並曾在香港大學接受牙醫及牙周病學的專業培訓。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Getting Your Wisdom Teeth Removed? All You Need to Know

Last updated on August 27, 2021.

Why do we have wisdom teeth | When should wisdom teeth be removed | Procedure | Recovery | Insurance coverage

Perhaps you feel that something is going on at the back of your mouth, you may have bad breath, pain, swelling, tenderness or redness behind the molars. These are the most common signs that your wisdom teeth are either coming out or that you are suffering from an infection.

While there are many horror stories about having wisdom teeth removed, we at Healthy Matters have asked dentist Dr. Jonathan Lui to demystify the procedure – and luckily it’s nowhere as bad as you might think it is.

Why Do We Have Wisdom Teeth?

Third molars (a.k.a. wisdom teeth) are the last remaining adult teeth to develop into the mouth. They are called “wisdom” teeth because they appear at a more mature age and presumably “the older you get, the wiser you are”. They usually begin to erupt when people are aged between 18 and 25, but sometimes they may remain dormant and never emerge. There are even cases of wisdom teeth erupting when they were over 50 years old!

Wisdom teeth are believed to be an evolutionary relic from our distant ancestors when they had diets with rougher foods such as raw meat and plants. In the past, when teeth wore down or fell off, wisdom teeth could be the substitution for grinding coarse foods.

Nowadays, we no longer need wisdom teeth as replacement teeth because we have better oral hygiene and softer foods. It is not uncommon to be missing one or more wisdom teeth and the most likely reason for this is evolutionary.

For our generations, wisdom teeth are 2 additional pairs of molars and for most do not provide any additional benefits to eating. Yet, they can be problematic when your mouth does not have enough space for them to erupt into. One of the causes of the lack of room for wisdom teeth is the lack of vitamin K2 in modern diets. Vitamin K2 is a nutrient that contributes to the development of the jaw, meaning that not getting sufficient vitamin K2 can lead to underdeveloped jaw and hence a limited space for wisdom teeth.

A study argues that “a mismatch between the size of the lower face and the dentition” is becoming more and more prevalent in modern populations. Essentially, our jaw can comfortably accommodate 28 teeth without any issue, but with wisdom teeth, we have as many as 32 teeth competing for space. Therefore, the removal of wisdom teeth is sometimes necessary.

Flossing Your Teeth: Everything You Need to Know

How to Know If Wisdom Teeth Need to Be Removed?

Since wisdom teeth extraction can bring health risks and complications – as with all surgeries –  it is unnecessary to have your wisdom teeth removed if they are:

– Erupted fully
– Positioned correctly
– Aligned with their opposing teeth
– Accessible for daily oral hygiene routine

Usually, by the time wisdom teeth start to emerge, the other 28 teeth are already in position. If there is insufficient space to accommodate an additional molar, this can lead to partial emergence, dormancy, or the wisdom tooth growing at a wrong angle. Wisdom teeth with such conditions are called “impacted”.

Problems can occur when you have impacted wisdom teeth because:

– If they appear partially within the gums, where it is hard to clean, it allows bacteria to grow, resulting in gum disease and dental decay.
– If they remain completely hidden or are unable to erupt normally and trapped within the jaw, it can cause infections or cysts which may harm other teeth roots or bone support.
– If they do not have sufficient space to come out properly, they may crowd or damage the adjacent tooth.

The American Dental Association suggests to have wisdom teeth removed if one of the following situations occur around or in the area of the teeth, for example:

– Pain or stiffness e.g. the jaw or the back of the mouth
– Infection of soft tissue e.g. the gums
– Cavities
– Cysts
– Tumours
– Damage to the adjacent teeth

Important: As a dental x-ray is required for a comprehensive understanding of the situation of your wisdom teeth, you should visit your dentist for a check-up to discuss the best solution for you.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

How Are Wisdom Teeth Removed?

Some dentists suggest waiting and checking the emergence status of wisdom teeth before deciding whether they need to be removed. Others believe that it is better to extract the teeth before their roots and bone become fully formed so as to avoid any problems that may be caused.

Depending on individual cases, your regular dentists may be the ones to remove your wisdom teeth. However, you might also be referred to a specialist, otherwise known as an Oral Maxillofacial Surgeon if your case is particularly difficult. As wisdom teeth extraction is an outpatient procedure, meaning you can go home shortly after the treatment.

Prior to your extraction, you will be given information about the process as well as the potential benefits and risks. Most of the time, you will be also asked sign a consent form.

During the procedure, doctors may need to make a small cut or incision into the gums in order to facilitate the extraction. If necessary, the tooth is sectioned into smaller pieces before being removed. After the surgery, doctors will then close the incision with stitches and pack the wound with gauze. The duration of the whole procedure can vary from a few minutes to 30 minutes, but in more difficult cases it might take even longer.

After your wisdom teeth have been removed, the most common post-operative discomfort will be swelling and bruising, which can sometimes give a classic chipmunk appearance! This can cause some difficulties during eating and talking. Some patients may feel pain, but the painkillers prescribed by your dentist should help. The first few days after the surgery will usually be the worst but the conditions will usually improve by the second week.

Your Practical Guide to Dentists and Dental Clinics in Hong Kong

Recovery of Wisdom Teeth Removal Surgery

You should be able to return to your normal activities a few days after the procedure but note that it normally takes up to 6 weeks for a full recovery.

After the treatment, you may have trouble opening your mouth, pain, bleeding, and swelling. Doctors will give you advice on pain and discomfort management, such as eating soft foods, applying cold compression and taking painkillers.

You may also bleed excessively and/or develop painful dry socket. A dry socket is a complication in which the socket has exposed bone which is inflamed. This can be quite painful and can delay healing. A dry socket develops when the blood clot is dislodged prematurely, often within the first three days. A dry socket is uncommon, however factors such as smoking can significantly increase the risk of it developing.

Important: You must strictly follow the instructions provided by your dentist for a smooth recovery. Seek medical help from your dentist if you suspect that you have a dry socket.

Looking for a dentist?

CHECK OUR HEALTH DIRECTORY

Does Insurance Cover Wisdom Teeth Extraction?

According to health insurance experts at AD MediLink, medical insurance plans cover the treatment and removal of wisdom teeth when medically indicated. Dental insurance may also cover some or all the cost of such dental procedures. It is impossible to only get dental insurance. Dental cover can only be added to a medical inpatient-only plan or inpatient & outpatient plan.

While dental treatment is not always covered, most companies provide some dental cover to their employees. Employee dental cover is normally limited to a selected network of dental providers or capped under an annual limit.

As for individual health insurance plans, the dental cover is usually an optional benefit with sub-limits and co-pay. The dental coverage may be divided into two categories with different sub-limits: Routine Dental and Major Dental. The dental benefits may also have a waiting period between 3 to 6 months.

alea banner

If you have health insurance questions, contact Alea’s health insurance advisors at [email protected] or +852 2606 2668 now. An expert will answer them and give you expert advice and top-notch service.

We hope you found this article useful! Share it and sign-up to our newsletter for more articles about your health and wellbeing!

This article was reviewed by Dr. Jonathan Lui 雷威鴻醫生 in December 2020. Dr. Jonathan Lui is a specialist periodontist practising at the Gum and Implant Dental Center. He is a Fellow of both the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine and the College of Dental Surgeons of HK. He obtained his university education from King's College (GKT) London and his specialist Periodontal training from Hong Kong University.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.