為何你不應使用綿花棒清潔耳朵

最後更新於
2022-03-20

4 分鐘閱讀

cotton buds qtips

世上有沒有一項習慣比用綿花棒清潔耳朵更舒適?當然我們可以再聯想到幾樣,但綿花棒挖耳絕對是其中之一。然而醫生指用綿花棒清潔耳朵會引起一種「癢抓循環」,人越感到痕癢,身體會釋放組織胺,讓人忍不住要抓癢,到頭來卻使人更覺痕癢,因此香港耳鼻喉科醫生何志謙醫生提醒大家應盡快戒除用綿花棒清潔耳朵的習慣。

用綿花棒清潔有一定危險

用綿花棒清潔耳朵會弄巧反拙,此舉不單無效清潔,更會把耳垢越推越入。何醫生解釋:「因為人不能看見自己的耳道,最後只會將耳垢推入內裡。」耳垢日積月累,會阻窒耳鼓膜振動,影響聲音傳送,更甚的是,嚴重時有機會導致聽力損害。此外,使用綿花棒時不免磨擦耳道,造成微小傷口,情況有如跪地時膝蓋外皮的磨損。

耳垢有助保護耳朵

人類經歷千萬年的進化後,身體的自潔系統實際上比以綿花棒清潔為好。耳垢,醫學專稱「耵聹」,能夠保護人類內耳不受「俗世」所污染。耳垢具抗菌、防水、為耳道保濕等功能,亦能隔絕塵埃進入耳朵,使易損的內耳結構不致受感染。現在知道後還想挖去這黃啡耳垢的話會很愚蠢。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!
立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。
訂閱即代表你已同意我們的條款及細則隱私政策

耳垢栓塞的症狀

部分人以綿花棒過度清潔耳朵,擦傷內耳易損的皮膚,因而感到痕癢。就似刮傷膝蓋般,耳朵受傷、皮膚癒合時會引致痕癢,除此以外,耳垢栓塞有以下症狀:

  1. 聽力下降
  2. 耳痛
  3. 耳鳴
  4. 耳朵受壓
  5. 頭暈

如你懷疑自己或孩子耳垢栓塞,我們建議你求醫,醫生能判斷耳朵是否有損傷,亦能協助移除耳垢。如嬰孩和幼兒感到耳垢栓塞,他們會時常拉扯自己的耳朵。

讓耳朵自我清潔

咀嚼和說話時,顎部會隨之移動,耳垢亦會慢慢移出,繼而變乾再掉出。成人和兒童不應把比手肘細小的異物放進耳朵,當然人體結構上這是不可能,(如果您能證明此說法是錯的,請傳來片段!) 因此請確保不要把綿花棒、耳挖(一枝鐵製或木製的物件,用以清除耳垢)、手指或尖物放入耳道。
 

具體來說,嬰孩和幼兒擁有一雙有良好自潔能力的耳朵,同時亦積累不少耳垢。如果您看見孩子外耳有過多耳垢,以不沾肥皂的濕抺布清潔已綽綽有餘,之後記緊要輕輕拍乾孩子的耳朵。我們再三叮囑成人和兒童不要在耳朵內放入任何東西。
 

何醫生解釋,耳垢乃正常之物,而且「如用異物清潔耳朵,其實只是把一件有效保持人體健康的工具移走。」

 

何志謙醫生從墨爾本大學醫學系畢業,並於澳洲皇家外科醫學院接受耳鼻喉科學的專科培訓。回港前,他任職於位處墨爾本的皇家兒童醫院,此為南半球最大的兒科醫療中心;另外,何醫生也是Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin 醫院的耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。他在紐約、香港、倫敦和加拿大受過專科資格後培訓。何醫生現為香港大學名譽助理教授,同是明德國際醫院名譽耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。何志謙醫生的私人執業地點位於香港中環畢打街1-3號中建大廈7樓707室:香港耳鼻喉及睡眠外科中心,+852 2870 1880。

hm x alea 醫療保險回贈

🔥限時優惠:買醫保即享$8,000回贈!🔥

正考慮購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!
 

Alea 會幫你找到所需的醫療或人壽保險,過程輕鬆簡單!
🔎 免費比較超過25間保險公司
💰 節省時間和金錢
💬 專業持平的顧問意見
💯 優質服務全年無休

 

🤝 立即透過 Alea x Healthy Matters 取得免費報價!

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

何志謙醫生
已經專家審閱
分享

Why you should never use cotton buds to clean your ears | It’s dangerous

Is there anything more satisfying than cleaning your ears out with a cotton bud? Okay, we can think of a few things, but it’s up there. Doctors say that cleaning your ears with a cotton bud (or Q-tip) initiates the ‘itch-scratch cycle’ –  the more you itch, the more histamines are released and the more you need to scratch. And so, the cycle continues. According to Hong Kong ENT specialist Dr. David Ho, it’s a habit you need to kick.

 

Using cotton buds to clean your ears is dangerous

Using a cotton bud in your ear has the exact opposite effect as was intended – instead of clearing your ear of wax, it actually pushes the wax further into your ear. “Because you cannot see your ear canal, you end up pushing the wax further in” explains Dr. Ho. With all that extra wax between you and the world of music and infectious baby giggles, your eardrum may begin to have trouble vibrating. Eventually earwax impaction could lead to hearing reduction, even loss. Plus, using cotton buds can induce micro-traumas to the ear canal due to friction; similar to a carpet burn.

 

Earwax is necessary for protecting your ears

Believe it or not, the system that has developed over millennia of evolution is actually better at keeping your ears clean than a plastic stick with some cotton on it. Earwax, known medically as cerumen, protects your inner ear from the nasty outside world. Earwax has antibacterial properties, repels water, keeps the ear canal moist and healthy, and traps and prevents dust and other particles from entering your ear and potentially causing an infection to the delicate inner ear structure. Seems like a no-brainer that we would want to keep that yellow-brown cerumen around!

 

Symptoms of earwax impaction

The itching some people report after obsessive ear cleaning comes from the abrasions made by the cotton on the delicate inner ear skin. Just like a scrape on your knee, abrasions in your ears will itch as they heal. In addition to ‘itching’ in your ear, the symptoms of earwax impaction are:
  • decreased hearing
  • ear pain
  • ringing in the ear
  • a full sensation in the ear
  • dizziness

 

If you suspect earwax impaction in either yourself or your child, we recommend speaking to your doctor. They will be able to determine whether there is any ear damage and possibly remove the wax. Babies and toddlers with earwax impaction will often tug at their ears.

 

Let your ears self-clean

Naturally, as you move your jaw while chewing and talking, the earwax moves slowly out of your ear canal where it dries up and drops out. Adults and children should not put anything smaller than an elbow in their ears to clean them. This test is anatomically impossible (please send us a video if you prove this theory incorrect!) so it is best to assume that no Q-tips, cotton buds, curettes (a metal or wooden instrument used to scrap out the wax), fingers, or sharp objects should be going near your ear canal.

 

Babies and small children, in particular, often have very efficient self-cleaning ears and often appear to produce a lot of earwax.  If you see extra earwax building up on your child’s outer ears, a wet wash cloth with no soap should be sufficient to clean them. Remember to pat them dry. We can’t stress enough that for both adults and children it’s important to avoid sticking anything in the ear.

 

As Dr. David Ho explains, the crux of the matter is that, earwax is normal and “by inserting an object to clean your ears, you are removing one of the body’s tools to keep itself healthy and happy”.
 
 
Dr. David Ho 何大偉醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne Medical School and obtained Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose & Throat) Specialist training under the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Before returning to Hong Kong, he worked at Royal Children’s Hospitals in Melbourne, the biggest pediatric medical centre in the Southern Hemisphere and was a specialist ENT consultant at Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin Hospitals. He obtained post-fellowship training in New York, Hong Kong and London, Canada. He is now an honorary assistant professor at the University of Hong Kong and an honorary Specialist ENT Consultant for the Matilda International Hospital. His private practice is in Room 707, Central Building, Central: The Hong Kong ENT & Sleep Surgery Centre (+852 2870 1880).
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.