女士侍產假:香港全方位指南

重要最新資訊:行政長官林鄭月娥在20181010日發表的《 2018年施政報告》中宣布,政府打算將香港的法定侍產假從10週增加到14週。香港的法定產假已長達48年未有調整。根據這項提議,僱主將為符合條件的僱員提供14週的法定產假,及該僱員平均日薪的五分之四,每位僱員的最高工資上限為$ 36,822。僱主將獲得政府100%的額外費用補償,現時,僱主只需要向在職母親提供其工資的80%。這項重要的變化會令香港符合到國際勞工組織的建議,以及與日本或中國等的司法管轄區(請參見下表)的產假規定一致

目前,香港的孕婦仍然只能連續放10個星期的侍產假。這比國際勞工組織建議的14個星期少了4個星期。這是Healthy Matters為您提供的指南,包括產假資格及工資計算,您應該了解的有關產假在香港的所有資訊。

香港法律對侍產假的指引

根據僱傭條例第57章,一名孕婦在侍產假開始前是根據連續性合約受僱,並已發出懷孕及打算向僱主領產假的通知的情況下,便可連續休假10週。

我有資格領產假工資嗎?

為了有資格在香港領取產假工資,您必須已按照連續性合約工作了40週,每星期至少工作18個小時(做兼職的人要注意!),然後才能展開計劃的產假。

我為現任僱主工作不到40星期,我是否有資格在香港休產假?

如果您為目前僱主連續工作的時期少於40週,您僅有權在香港享有10週的無薪產假。

如何通知僱主我已經懷孕並想放產假?

您需要向僱主提供懷孕通知和打算放產假的通知,一旦您已獲得醫生證明 – 如果僱主要求,證明上應註明預產期。該證明可以由註冊醫生、中醫師或助產士簽發。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

人們一般幾時通知僱主?有強制性的時間安排嗎?

法律沒有規定員工必須提前通知自己懷孕的期限,但是,通知僱主自己懷孕的目的是為了保護員工不被僱主解僱(通過書面通知或代通知金),從通知日起直到僱員在產假結束後重返工作崗位為止。因此,建議儘早發出通知。

我可以在香港獲得額外的產假嗎?

如果患有與生育和/或懷孕相關的疾病和殘疾,您可能有權獲得最多4週的額外產假。這是您的法定病假的額外權利。

一些大方的僱主可能會在香港提供14或18週的有薪產假,更大方的甚至會增加至20週。

如果您小朋友的出生日期遲過預產期,那麼從預產期到實際分娩日的這段時間將會作為10週侍產期之外的額外產假。雖然聽起來不錯,但是對於任何懷孕40週以上的女性來說,這段時間並不輕鬆!

但是,需要指出的是,由於延遲分娩和/或疾病或殘疾而延長的產假將不會有薪金。如果您由於疾病或殘疾而無法工作,您可以選擇放法定病假。

我的產假工資如何計算?幾時可以收到薪金?

每日產假工資的計算方法為您放產假第一天之前的12個月內所賺取的平均日薪的80%。如果您的工作時期為40個星期至12個月之間,則會基於較短的時期進行計算。您將會在正常出糧日領取產假工資。

我的侍產假幾時會開始?

香港的孕婦在預產期前2-4週開始產假。如果您未有與僱主定好侍產假日期,則默認情況下,十週假期會從預產期前4星期開始,從而在您分娩後亦剩下六週的產假。如果您的嬰兒早產,您的產假將會立即開始。

我因為有與懷孕相關的原因而要看醫生,那麼我需要領病假去看醫生嗎?

如果您因懷孕、分娩後治療或流產而不能工作要去看醫生,那麼這些日子將被視為病假或部分病假。

與產假工資相似,疾病工資的計算方法根據是您患病日前平均日薪的80%。如果您出示了醫生紙,而您尚有足夠的有薪病假日數,那麼您將有權在產前或產後領取有薪病假。醫生紙上應註明病假日數,以及因什麼疾病、身體不適或損傷令您不適合工作。

與其他國家相比,香港的產假情況如何?

香港目前仍未達到國際勞工組織建議的最少14週產假的建議,但是如果與其他國家的政策相提並論,從以下圖表中可以看到,除韓國外,其他地區上大多數都符合國際勞工組織的建議。在2012年,中國將產假增加到14週,並提供100%工資。雖然香港一些僱主會選擇自行延長僱員的產假,但香港政府尚未跟上全球標準。

地區 產假 提供的薪金百分比
香港 10 星期 80%
     
亞洲
中國 14 星期 100%
日本 14 星期 66.7%
南韓 13 星期 100%
新加坡 16 星期 100%
(限第一和第二胎嬰兒)
     
經合組織成員國
澳洲 52 星期
(育嬰假)
18 星期有聯邦政府法定的最低薪金

加拿大
(隨不同省份而改變)

17 星期 15 星期 有55% 但設有上限
法國 16 星期 100% 但設有上限
英國 52 星期

頭6星期有90%;
之後的7至39星期會低於90%或根據定額薪金;
之後的40至52星期無薪金

美國
(隨不同州份而改變)
12 星期 無薪金

資料出處: ILO

侍產假的主要優點是什麼?

產假可提供母親和初生嬰兒的健康和經濟保障。分娩後,女性需要一段時間來恢復體力、適應新的家庭結構並養育初生嬰兒。根據國際勞工組織,較長的侍產假可減低早產、懷孕和產後抑鬱症、以及孕產婦和嬰兒死亡的機率。較長的產假亦與新媽媽的母乳喂哺時期延長有關。

了解更多有關育嬰假在香港的資訊:

男士侍產假在香港:全方位指南

了解更多有關孕婦權利在香港的資訊:

Pregnant, Working Moms in Hong Kong: Do You Know Your Maternity Rights?

香港勞工處獲得更多資訊。

本文於2019年6月5日更新。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Ultimate Guide to Maternity Leave in Hong Kong

Pregnant women in Hong Kong are entitled to a continuous period of 10 weeks’ maternity leave. This is 4 weeks less than the 14 weeks recommended by the International Labour Organisation (ILO). Here is your Healthy Matters guide to everything you should know about maternal leave in Hong Kong, from eligibility to mat leave pay calculation.
 
 

What does the law say in Hong Kong on maternity leave?

Under Employment Ordinance, Cap. 57, a pregnant woman employed under a continuous contract immediately before the commencement of her maternity leave and having given notice of pregnancy and her intention to take maternity leave to the employer is entitled to a continuous period of 10 weeks’ maternity leave.
 
 

Am I eligible for maternity leave pay?

In order to be eligible for maternity leave pay, you must have worked under a continuous contract for 40 weeks, working a minimum of 18 hours per week (listen up, part time workers!) before your scheduled maternity leave starts.
 
 

I have worked for my current employer for fewer than 40 weeks, am I eligible for maternity leave?

If your period of continuous employment is short of 40 weeks, you are only entitled to an unpaid 10-week maternity leave.
 
 

How do I give notice to my employer that I am pregnant and want to take maternity leave?

You need to provide notice of your pregnancy and intention to take maternity leave to your employer once pregnancy has been confirmed with a medical certificate – if required by your employer, the certificate should specify the expected due date. This certificate may be issued by a registered doctor, Chinese medicine practitioner, or midwife.
 
 

When do people usually inform their employers? Is there any mandatory timing?

The law does not specify a minimum period within which an employee must give notice of her pregnancy. However, the communication of notice of pregnancy to an employer will operate to protect an employee’s employment from being terminated by her employer (by notice or payment in lieu) from the date of the notice until the employee returns to the workplace at the end of the maternity leave period. Therefore, it is always recommended that such notice be given sooner rather than later.
 
 

Am I entitled to any additional maternity leave?

In case of birth and/or pregnancy-related illness and disability, you may be entitled to a maximum of 4 weeks of additional maternity leave. This is in addition to your sick leave entitlement.
 
Some large employers in Hong Kong may provide an increased paid maternity leave of 14 or 18 weeks with most generous leave at 20 weeks.
 
If your baby is born later than their due date, the period between the expected due date and the actual birth date will be provided as leave IN ADDITION to the 10 weeks of maternity leave. This sounds like a holiday, but as any woman who has been 40+ weeks pregnant, this period is no walk in the park!
 
It should be noted, however, that any extended maternity leave due to late delivery and/or illness or disability will be unpaid. In the event that you are unable to work due to an illness or disability, you may take choose to take statutory sick leave instead.
 
 

How is my maternity leave pay calculated? When will I be paid?

The daily rate of maternity leave pay is calculated at 80% of your average daily wages earned in the 12-month period leading up to the first day of your maternity leave. If you were employed for a period between 40 weeks and 12 months, the calculation is based on such shorter period. You will receive your maternity leave pay on your normal pay day.
 
 

When does my maternity leave start?

Pregnant women in Hong Kong begin maternity leave 2-4 weeks prior to their expected due date. If you don’t agree on a date with your employer, by default the 10-week leave starts 4 weeks before the expected due date, giving you six remaining weeks of maternity leave after the baby is born. If your baby is born early, your maternity leave begins immediately.
 
 

Will I need to take leave for appointments related to my pregnancy?

If you are absent from work to for doctor’s appointments related to your pregnancy, post-confinement medical treatment or miscarriage, those days will be counted as sick days or partial sick days.
 
Similar to maternity leave pay, sickness pay is calculated at 80% of your average daily wage leading up to the sickness day. You will be entitled to sickness pay for days off taken for pregnancy check-ups, post confinement medical treatment or miscarriage provided that you produce a medical certificate and you have accumulated sufficient number of paid sickness days. The medical certificate should specify the number of days on which, and the nature of the sickness or injury makes you unfit for work.
 
 

How is Hong Kong’s maternal leave compared to other countries?

We’re below the ILO’s recommendation of a 14-week maternity leave minimum, but how do we stack up to other country’s policies? As you can see in our table of comparison countries, with the exception of Korea, most comparable countries in the region and the world have met the ILO’s recommendation. In 2012, China increased maternity leave to 14 weeks with 100% of wages covered. While some larger employers are choosing to offer extended maternity leave, the government of Hong Kong is not keeping pace with the global standard.
 
CountryTime in weeksPercentage of wage covered
Hong Kong10 Weeks80%
   
Asia
China14 weeks100%
Japan14 weeks66.7%
Republic of Korea13 weeks100%
Singapore16 weeks100%
(for 1st and 2nd child)
   
Comparable OECD countries
Australia52 weeks
(parental leave)
18 weeks paid at federal minimum wage
Canada
(provinces may vary)
17 weeks55% for 15 weeks up to a ceiling
France16 weeks100% up to a ceiling
United Kingdom52 weeks6 weeks paid at 90%;
lower of 90% / flat rate for weeks 7–39;
weeks 40–52 unpaid
United States
(states may vary)
12 weeksUnpaid
Source: ILO
 
 

What are the main advantages of maternity leave?

Maternity leave safeguards the economic security and health of mothers and newborns. In the weeks following birth, women need time to recover from labor, adjust to a new family structure, and nurse their child. According to the ILO, longer maternity leaves result in lower rates of premature births, pregnancy and postpartum depression, and maternal, infant and child mortality. Longer maternity leave is also associated with longer breastfeeding periods from new mothers.
 
Read more on Hong Kong parental leave:

Here is Everything You Need to Know About Paternity Leave in Hong Kong

 
Read more on pregnant women’s rights in Hong Kong

Pregnant, Working Moms in Hong Kong: Do You Know Your Maternity Rights?

 
Learn more from Hong Kong’s Labour Department.
 
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It was reviewed by Mr. Eddie Look, Partner at Tanner De Witt Solicitors, a leading law firm in Hong Kong with practice areas including employment law.
It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional advice and should never be relied upon for specific advice.