針灸對女性的五大好處

對針灸和中醫藥感到興趣?對Healthy Matters而言,在香港不論西醫或中醫都有提供很多各種不同的服務,因此我們希望充分利用它們。傳統中醫藥已經有數千年歷史,而且在某些方面特別出色,就像西醫一樣。中醫有一種稱為「再平衡」的秘訣,因此為每位女性開的處方都略有不同。我們與Dr. Michelle Law 羅佩雯博士合作,研究了5個與女性相關的問題,而中醫特別擅長緩解的女性健康問題。

1 – 生育能力與針灸

擁有健康女性生殖系統的關鍵取決於月經週期。週期不規則有時與生育問題有關。中醫的療法,特別是針灸,已被證明可以有效地使月經週期更加規律,並可能提升生育能力。研究表示,針灸可以通過調節神經系統和內分泌系統,令有多囊性卵巢綜合症的患者可以定期排卵。針灸對生育的另一個潛在好處是通過增加血液流向生殖器官來提高子宮內膜對胚胎植入的接受度(臨床上稱為子宮內膜接受度)。

2 – 經前綜合症(PMS)與針灸

就如使用針灸使經期更加有規律一樣,中醫也可以有效地減輕其他討厭的經期症狀。針灸與安多芬(令人“感覺良好” 的賀爾蒙)的釋放有關,可以幫助減輕與女性經期有關的情緒困擾和痛楚。口服和外用中草藥也可以舒緩經痛。

3 – 胎位不正與針灸

胎位不正 – 處於臀位的嬰兒(腳/臀部/膝蓋向下)更容易引致分娩併發症或需要進行剖腹分娩。很多研究已經發現針灸和艾灸治療與臀位嬰兒成功轉身之間有關係。有證據顯示,艾灸可以減低孕婦需要接受人工手術的機會,這種手術被稱為「體外胎位倒轉術」,在這種手術中,婦產科醫生或助產士會將胎兒轉位至頭朝向下方。結合針灸,艾灸可以減少需要剖腹分娩的人數。

是否想搵中醫師?

查閱我們的健康目錄

4 – 更年期、針灸與草藥

香港和中國女性的收經症狀出現率往往比西方女性低得多。這種差異與飲食不同有關,也與症狀的處理方式有關。中醫可代替西醫的「荷爾蒙補充療法」。大量的臨床研究顯示,使用針灸能夠改善更年期的不同症狀(包括潮熱和盜汗)。中草藥有助於平衡女性荷爾蒙。

5 – 失眠與針灸

雖然失眠不僅是女性的問題,但女性(34%)比男性(24%)更常見。失眠的常見治療方法來自中醫學:大量研究顯示,針灸可有效改善睡眠質素,同時亦不存在藥物失眠療法帶來的成癮和安全風險。

有關替代醫學提供者的更多資訊,請參閱“健康目錄”

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. Michelle Law Pui Man 羅佩雯醫生 B.C.M.(香港中文大學),公共衛生(家庭醫學)(香港中文大學)博士學位,於出生香港,在香港中文大學中醫學院學習中醫。獲得學士學位後,她在香港中文大學醫學院進修深造,並完成博士學位(家庭醫學),其研究重點是荷爾蒙失衡引起的尋常性痤瘡。她對生殖醫學特別感興趣,並且在治療不孕症或相關問題方面擁有豐富的經驗,她在Vitality Centre執業,也是香港中文大學婦產科學系和健康教育與健康促進中心(the Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion)的名譽助理教授。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Top 5 Benefits of Acupuncture for Women

Last Updated:
2022-05-23

2 min read

lady enjoying benefits of acupuncture

Interested in acupuncture and Chinese Medicine? At Healthy Matters, we are all about taking advantage of the wide range of options in Hong Kong, from Western to Chinese Medicine. Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) has been around for millennia and like Western medicine, is particularly good at certain things. TCM takes a “rebalancing” approach so the prescription for each woman will be slightly different. With Dr. Michelle Law 羅佩雯博士, we look into 5 female-related issues TCM is particularly good at relieving in women.

 

1 – Fertility and acupuncture

The key to a healthy female reproductive system is the menstrual cycle. Irregular cycles are sometimes associated with fertility issues. TCM methods, particularly acupuncture, have proven to be effective in making menstrual cycles more regular, and possibly increasing fertility. Studies have shown that acupuncture can induce regular ovulation in patients with polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) through modulation of the nervous and endocrine systems. Another potential fertility benefit of acupuncture is optimizing how receptive the uterine lining is to embryo implantation (known clinically as endometrial receptivity) by increasing blood flow to the reproductive organs.

 

2 – Premenstrual syndrome (PMS) and acupuncture

Just like using acupuncture to make periods more regular, TCM is also effective in reducing other pesky period symptoms. Acupuncture is associated with endorphins (the “feel good” hormone) production which can help relieve some of the emotional distress and pain associated with a woman’s period. Oral and topical Chinese herbal medicine can also alleviate menstrual cramps.

 

3 – Breech babies and acupuncture

Babies in breech position (feet/buttocks/knees down) are much more likely to have a complicated birth or cesarean section. Numerous studies have associated both acupuncture and moxibustion treatments with successfully turned breech babies. There is evidence showing moxibustion may reduce the need for a manual procedure known as the external cephalic version, where an obstetrician or midwife turns the baby to a head-down position. Combined with acupuncture, moxibustion may result in fewer births by cesarean section.

4 – Menopause, acupuncture and herbal medicines

Hong Kong and Chinese women tend to report far lower rates of menopausal symptoms than their Western counterparts. This difference is associated with a difference in diet, but also how symptoms are managed. TCM offers an alternative to Western medicine’s hormone replacement therapy. Numerous clinical studies have shown promising results using acupuncture to relieve many of the symptoms of menopause, including hot flashes and night sweats. Chinese herbal medicine helps balance the female hormones.

 

5 – Insomnia and acupuncture

While insomnia is not solely a female issue, it is more common in women (34%) than men (24%). A common treatment for insomnia is TCM: numerous studies have shown that acupuncture is reliable and effective for improving sleeping quality. Acupuncture also lacks the addiction and safety risks of pharmaceutical insomnia cures.

 

Dr. Michelle Law Pui Man 羅佩雯 B.C.M. (CUHK), PhD in Public Health (Family Medicine) (CUHK), was born in Hong Kong and studied Traditional Chinese Medicine in the School of Chinese Medicine at Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). After obtaining her Bachelor Degree she pursued further postgraduate study at the Faculty of Medicine of the CUHK. She graduated from PhD (Family Medicine) study and her thesis is focused on acne vulgaris induced by hormone imbalance. Clinically, she has special interest in reproductive medicine and has extensive experience in treating patients with infertility or its associated problems. She is the Director of L&L Wellness Centre, the practitioner in Vitality Centre, as well as the Honorary Assistant Professor of The Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

hm x alea health insurance rebate

🔥 Exclusive offer: Save up to $8,000 now! 🔥

Looking for health insurance in Hong Kong? Alea is your best choice.

 

With Alea, finding the right health insurance is easy & pressure-free!

🔎 Free comparison on 25+ insurers
💰 Save time & money
💬 Unbiased advice
💯 Excellent service all year long

 

🤝 Apply now to get a free quote through Alea x Healthy Matters!

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.

Michelle Law Pui Man
EXPERT REVIEWED
Dr. Michelle Law Pui Man
Share on