【兒童與新冠肺炎】兒科醫生的見解及改善在家學習的貼士

由於香港爆發第三波新冠肺炎疫情,新學年將會在網上展開。教育局局長在8月3日的記者會上宣佈,所有面對面授課將廷遲至另行通知為止,而學校可透過網上授課。雖然停止面對面授課可能有助減低病毒傳播的機會,但個人在教育、家庭、健康和經濟方面必須學會取得平衡。

如果您作為家長希望了解兒童感染新冠病毒的風險及傳染性,並希望為小朋友給予最好的支持,本實用指南就十分適合您。本文內容均經過領康醫療的兒科醫生Dr. Niki Tracy核對。

兒童感染新冠病毒:風險和症狀

根據直至目前為止的觀察,新冠病毒會以不同的方式影響成人和兒童。兒童的嚴重程度較低、受感染率亦較低。截至今日,兒童僅佔全球確診新冠肺炎病例總數的大約1-5%

例如在美國,雖然兒童佔全國人口的22%,但最近的數據顯示,在所有美國新冠肺炎病例中,只有7%屬於兒童。

要注意的是,兒童傾向無症狀。有證據顯示,約有45%對病毒呈陽性反應的兒童並沒有症狀。

感染了新冠肺炎的兒童通常會咳嗽、發燒、有時亦會流鼻涕或喉嚨痛。而在一些情況下,兒童僅會腹瀉和嘔吐。在極少數情況下,兒童會出現高炎症綜合症,作為對感染的延遲反應。據指這些症狀與川崎病和中毒性休克綜合症相似。高炎症反應的徵兆可能包括胃痛、嘔吐、腹瀉、休克、高燒、皮疹和紅眼。雖然大部分兒童很快康復,但據報亦有死亡病例

患有呼吸、心臟和複雜神經系統疾病的兒童可能更容易出現併發症。世衛指出,在345個嬰兒確診病例中,有23%患有例如慢性肺部疾病(包括哮喘)、心血管疾病和免疫抑制等潛在身體狀況。但是,併發症出現在其他常見呼吸道病毒感染的機會並沒有比預期多。

雖然新冠病毒仍是一種相對較新型的病毒,尚無足夠的確實證據,但現有的最可信證據顯示,新冠肺炎對學齡兒童的風險相對較低,嚴重病例的發生率僅為1%,死亡病例仍然極為罕見。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

新冠病毒在兒童中的傳播能力

儘管需要進行更多的研究才能夠證實,但目前人們認為兒童在傳播新冠病毒方面的能力比最初懷疑的較低。

目前為止,證據一致顯示兒童感染這種病毒的可能性較低,有關病毒在家庭中爆發的研究顯示,在大多數情況下,兒童通常不是感染源頭。目前關於校園中確診病例的有限數據亦沒有顯示出大規模傳播,青少年群除外。

但這並不代表家長可以減低警覺性,而是要繼續保持警惕。當小朋友與其他兒童一起玩耍時,保持良好的衛生習慣至關重要,特別是幼兒和小童。正如韓國的一項大規模研究所強調,兒童在學校關閉期間約出來玩耍時,仍可能接觸到新冠病毒,因此基本預防措施仍然至關重要。

總而言之,雖然現階段作為家長不需太過擔心,但要讓自己和小朋友記住時刻保持良好的衛生習慣:勤洗手戴口罩,並盡可能保持社交距離。

[新冠肺炎]第三波疫情:社區大爆發,香港「失守」?

在不同方面取得平衡以成功渡過新學年的貼士

良好溝通是關鍵
與小朋友的學校保持密切聯繫!了解校舍最新採取的防疫措施,以使兒童免受病毒感染。目前,學校與家長之間必須保持開放的溝通渠道。另外,請向老師諮詢會否有其他學習資源或建議,以彌補不能面對面互動學習的損失。

一個安全的學習空間
確保小朋友在家中或其他地方學習的環境有足夠通風、空氣過濾、環境內任何物件表面有時常清潔、有足夠的空間及社交距離,並在需要時可以使用洗手設施。

在健康風險與長期需要之間取得平衡
雖然停止面對面授課可以減低感染的風險,但並不能完全消除風險。在安全防疫措施和缺少校內面對面學習的影響之間必須取得平衡。缺乏校內學習機會可能會為兒童在社交、情感、行為健康、經濟效益和學業成績方面帶來短期甚至長期的負面影響。作為家長和照顧者,了解這一點很重要。嘗試制定一個在家學習日程表,這會對兒童十分有幫助,同時與他們保持溝通以減輕他們任何擔憂。

根據小朋友的學習方式進行調整
雖然遙距學習對某些人可能有用,但每個兒童的學習習慣和偏好都不同。某些兒童會更適合面對面學習,例如幼兒和有特殊需要的兒童。雖然目前未有可能在學校上課,但其實有其他教學方法,如果懂得運用,便可能鼓勵小朋友學習。您可以考慮使用白板、彩色紙或各種動作和手勢令小朋友投入。透過充分與教師交流來改善這些策略:諮詢他們的專業意見,同時放膽嘗試各種方法直至找到最適合小朋友的。

為在家學習設立明確的界線
當小朋友在家做功課時,您可能也同時正在家工作。每個人都需要自己的時間和空間來完成自己的任務。設立明確的時限,並設置一個特定的空間讓小朋友能夠在家中完成功課。訂立了這些界線後,便讓他們獨立完成任務,就如他們在學校時需要獨立完成指定工作一樣。當他們在計數或填色等的時候,您便可以繼續進行自己的工作。

結合不同獎勵方式
一定要鼓勵和支持您的小朋友。當他們能夠專注於自己的任務(並讓您有空間和時間完成自己的工作)時,鼓勵並感謝他們。請記住,對他們而言,這並不是一件容易的事,他們亦正在盡最大努力去適應。作為獎勵,您可以與他們一起玩遊戲,以平衡一下工作和娛樂。

Dr. Niki Tracy是一名兒科專家。她擁有神經科學學士學位,並在衛斯理學院、牛津大學和麻省理工學院接受過教育。她亦擁有香港大學的內外全科醫學士學位。她是香港兒科醫學院成員、英國皇家兒科醫學院院員和香港醫學專科學院院員。她目前在領康醫療家庭診所擔任兒科醫生。

本文由Healthy Matters與領康醫療合作為您呈獻。內容僅供參考之用,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

A Paediatrician’s Insights on COVID-19 and Kids, with Home-schooling Tips

With Hong Kong’s third wave of COVID-19, the new school year has started online. The Hong Kong government has since announced the reopening of schools starting on September 23rd, but all children have by now experienced online teaching and it will likely remain quite common in kids education.

This pandemic continues to raise lots of legitimate questions from parents. Here is a practical guide for all parents, brought in partnership with OT&P Healthcare and reviewed by paediatrician Dr. Niki Tracy. Read on to better understand COVID-19 risks, its transmissibility in little ones and how to best support children this year.

COVID-19 in Children: Risks and Symptoms

From observations to date, it appears that the virus affects adults and children differently, with less severity and lower frequency seen in children. As of today, children represent only about 1-5% on average of total confirmed COVID-19 cases worldwide. 

For instance, in the US, while children represent 22% of the population, recent data shows that only 7% of all COVID-19 cases occurred in children.

It is important to note that children tend to be asymptomatic. Indeed, evidence suggests that  about 45% of children who tested positive for the virus were asymptomatic. 

Children infected with COVID-19 usually have cough, fever, and sometimes a runny nose or sore throat. In some cases, children only suffer from diarrhoea and vomiting. In rarer instances, children have developed a hyper-inflammatory syndrome as a delayed response to the infection. These symptoms have been said to resemble Kawasaki disease and toxic shock syndrome. The signs of a hyper-inflammatory response can include stomach pain, vomiting, diarrhoea, shock, high fever, rash, and red eyes. While most children recover quickly, deaths have been reported.

Children with respiratory, cardiac, and complex neurological conditions may be more likely to suffer complications. According to the WHO, in a cluster of 345 confirmed infant cases, 23% had an underlying condition such as chronic lung disease (including asthma), cardiovascular disease, and immunosuppression. However, complications did not occur more than would be expected from infection with other common respiratory viruses. 

While the virus is still relatively new and there isn’t much conclusive information yet, the best available evidence shows that COVID-19 poses relatively low risks for school aged children, where critical cases are as rare as 1% and fatalities remain extremely rare. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Transmission of COVID-19 in Children

While more research is needed, it is believed that children play a more limited role in the transmission of COVID-19 than initially suspected. 

Consistent evidence to date shows a lower likelihood of infection with the virus, and studies on family outbreaks have shown that in most cases, children are usually not the index case (first one infected). Limited data on positive cases in schools have not demonstrated significant transmission either, except within adolescent populations.

This doesn’t mean that parents should lower their guard and be less vigilant with their children. In fact, as they play with other kids it is essential to maintain good hygiene. This is especially important for toddlers and young children. Indeed, as highlighted in a large-scale study carried out in Korea, children playing with each other, e.g. in playdates while schools are closed, are still potentially exposed to the virus, so basic precautions remain crucial.

Overall, there is no reason at this stage for parents to be extra worried. Just remember to ensure good hygiene at all times: wash hands frequently, wear a mask, and when possible, maintain social distancing.

COVID-19 Third Wave In Hong Kong: All You Need To Know

Tips to Balance it All for a Successful New School Year

Communication is key
Keep in close contact with your kids’ school! Stay up to date with the latest strategies for keeping children safe from the virus. At this time, it is essential to maintain open channels of communication between the school and all parents. Also, check in with teachers for any extra resources or recommendations to make up for the loss of interactive learning.

A safe learning space
Ensure that your child’s learning environment, at home or elsewhere, has adequate ventilation, air filtration and frequent cleaning of any tangible surfaces, enough space for social distancing, and that there is access to hand washing facilities whenever needed.

Balancing health risks with long-term needs
While the risks of infection can be lowered, they cannot be completely eliminated. There must be a balance between safety precautions and the effects of reduced access to in-school teaching. Lack of in-school teaching can lead to short-term and long-term effects on children’s social, emotional, and behavioural health, as well as the economic well-being and academic achievement of children. As a parent and caregiver, it is important to be aware of this. Try to set up a routine for at-home learning, which will greatly benefit children, and continuously communicate with them to alleviate any concerns.

Adjust according to your child’s learning style
While distance learning can be effective for some, the learning habits and preferences of each child are different. Certain children will benefit from in-person instruction more than others, for example younger children and also children with special needs. Although being at school is not currently possible, other teaching methods exist and if handled well, they can be quite stimulating. Think of the use of whiteboards, coloured paper, or involving movement and gestures that keep kids active. These strategies can be improved through adequate communication with teachers: ask their opinion, and don’t worry about trying and testing.

Set clear boundaries for working at home
As kids are doing their schoolwork at home, it’s likely that you are too. Everyone needs their own time to work on their own tasks. Designate a clear time frame and also the physical area in which your children can do their schoolwork at home. Once tasks are set, let them work independently just like they would for specific tasks at school. While they work on their math or colouring tasks, you can get on with yours.

Incorporate means of rewarding
Be sure to give encourage and support your child. When they are able to focus on their tasks (and let you work on yours), encourage them and thank them. Remember, it is not always an easy task for them, and they are trying their best to adapt too. As a reward, you may want to play a game with them, to keep a healthy separation between work and play time.

Dr. Niki Tracy is a specialist in paediatrics. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Neuroscience and completed her education at Wellesley College, Oxford University, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She received her Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degree from the University of Hong Kong. She is a Member of the Hong Kong College of Paediatricians, a Member of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health, a Fellow of the Hong Kong College of Paediatricians, and a Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine. She currently works as a paediatrician at the OT&P Family Clinic.

This article is brought to you in partnership with OT&P Healthcare. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.