泌尿道感染(UTIs)在香港:完整指南

泌尿道感染(UTIs)在女性中非常普遍,根據一些資料的估算,每兩個女性中就有一個在她一生中有經歷過泌尿道感染泌尿道感染是在沿泌尿道任何地方所發生的感染,由尿道、膀胱、輸尿管和腎臟組成。膀胱炎(膀胱細菌感染)是最常見的狀況。儘管泌尿道感染確實會在男性中發生,但在女性中更常見,因為女性尿道(從膀胱外部引出的導管)較短,從而使細菌更容易進入膀胱。

香港只有兩名私家女性泌尿外科的醫生,我們與其中一位,Dr. Vera Chung 鐘楊醫生,交談了關於泌尿道感染的症狀和最佳治療方法。

什麼原因導致泌尿道感染(UTIs)?

當細菌(或比較少見的病毒或真菌)進入泌尿道時,泌尿道感染就會發生。大腸桿菌佔社區泌尿道感染的案例80%。

泌尿道感染的常見風險因素包括:

  • 是女性
  • 年齡增長
  • 糖尿病
  • 有泌尿道感染的歷史
  • 留置導管
  • 結石病
  • 泌尿生殖道異常
  • 排尿障礙

與普遍的看法相反,並沒有證據表明潮濕的天氣會增加泌尿道感染的風險。

泌尿道感染(UTIs)的主要症狀是什麼?

尿道或膀胱的下泌尿道感染(膀胱炎)的症狀:

  • 經常或強烈想排尿,但排尿時的尿量很少
  • 排尿時有燒灼感
  • 血腥、混濁、奇怪的氣味或有顏色的尿液
  • 骨盆疼痛

如果您的下泌尿道感染沒有被檢查到,它可能會向上遷移至腎臟,它可以快速移動,因此很容易發生。上泌尿道感染非常嚴重,如果腎臟中的細菌進入血液,可能會危及生命。除上述以外,您的泌尿道感染可能已發展到腎臟或更高的地方,症狀如下:

  • 下背部或腹部有疼痛或壓力
  • 寒意
  • 噁心和/或嘔吐
  • 發熱

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

預防泌尿道感染(UTIs)的天然家庭療法

如果您懷疑有尿道感染,請務必及時就醫以獲得抗生素,以防止擴散到您的腎臟或血液。您可以採取一些措施使自己更加舒適並防止感染惡化:

  • 喝大量的液體,並經常小便,以盡可能多次沖洗感染部位。
  • 使用廁所後,請確保從前向後擦拭。 
  • 做愛後嘗試小便,以沖洗尿道中的所有細菌。
  • 蔓越莓提取物和D-甘露糖並不治療泌尿道感染,但確實有助定期患有泌尿道感染的女性預防復發。

與普遍的看法相反,口服益生菌不能預防泌尿道感染。陰道雌激素和益生菌有助於恢復陰道pH值和乳酸菌,防止腸細菌感染。

泌尿道感染藥物(UTIs)

如上所述,您的泌尿道感染可能需要抗生素。如果您懷疑是尿道感染,您的醫生通常會給您適當的抗生素,並且可能會測試您的尿液以確認感染並確定細菌菌株和藥物敏感性(或比較少見的病毒或真菌)。正確使用抗生素後,幾天內即可清除感染。如果沒有,請告知您的醫生。

在香港的私營機構內,您可以看全科醫生婦產科醫生(OBGYN)泌尿科醫生進行尿液測試和處方藥治療。對於復發性泌尿道感染,您可能需要看泌尿科醫生

在香港的公營部門中,您可以在所住區域的普通科門診診所預約,但輪候時間一般會比私營部門更長。

 

是否想搵醫生?

查閱我們的健康目錄

復發性泌尿道感染(UTIs)

如果您患有泌尿道感染的次數頻繁,請務必與您的醫生討論如何預防泌尿道感染。在家裡,您可以練習上述的健康預防方法。為了弄清楚為什麼您會復發泌尿道感染,您的醫生會與您討論您的生活習慣,並可能使用多種診斷工具(超聲波、CT掃描或膀胱鏡檢查)來查明慢性感染的根源。

復發性泌尿道感染(UTIs)的新研究

最近有開發其他非抗生素的療法來預防泌尿道感染復發。

1 –疫苗

OM-89是一種口服製劑,包含18種不同血清型的熱滅活尿毒症。在對891名參與者的四項試驗進行的系統回顧和薈萃分析中,OM-89將泌尿道感染復發的風險降低了39%。

2 –糖胺聚醣層替代療法

糖胺聚醣(GAG)層在膀胱泌尿上皮的薄片平面細胞上形成的粘液屏障,因為該層的不足會使人們更容易有泌尿道感染。目前正在研究將GAG注射到膀胱中作為復發性泌尿道感染的潛在治療方法。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

鍾楊醫生是香港泌尿專科治療中心的一名醫生。鍾醫生在2003年於香港大學醫學院畢業。她在伊利沙伯醫院完成外科培訓,2011年獲得英國皇家外科醫學院專科醫生資格;2012年在東區醫院任職副顧問醫生。2013-2015年她前往英國牛津大學深造腔鏡結石和腹腔鏡腎臟手術,完成了為期兩年的European Board of Urology (EBU) Fellowship。在牛津大學醫院的婦產科進修期間,她也取得了豐富的女性泌尿外科 (尿失禁和盆底脱垂) 的治療經驗。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Hong Kong Guide to Urinary Tract Infections (UTIs)

Urinary tract infections (UTIs) are incredibly common in women, with some sources estimating that one in every two women will experience a urinary tract infection in their lifetime. A UTI is an infection that occurs anywhere along the urinary tract, made up of the urethra, bladder, ureters and kidneys (in ascending order). Cystitis (bacterial infection of the bladder) is the most common presentation. While UTIs do occur in men, they’re more common in women because female urethra (the tube leading externally from the bladder) is shorter, allowing bacteria to enter the bladder more easily.
 
There are only two female urologists in private practice in Hong Kong and we spoke to one of them, Dr. Vera Chung 鍾楊醫生, about the symptoms and best treatments for urinary tract infections.
 

What causes a urinary tract infection (UTI)?

A UTI occurs when bacteria (and less commonly, a virus or fungus) enters the urinary tract. E. coli accounts for around 80% of community-acquired UTI.
 
Common risk factors for urinary tract infection include:
  • being female
  • increasing age
  • diabetes mellitus
  • a previous history of UTIs
  • indwelling catheters
  • stone disease
  • genitourinary tract anomalies
  • voiding dysfunction
Contrary to popular belief, there is no evidence to show that humid weather increases the risk of a urinary tract infection.
 

What are the main symptoms of urinary tract infections (UTIs)?

The symptoms of a lower tract UTI (cystitis) in the urethra or bladder:
  • A frequent or intense urge to urinate with little urine when you do
  • A burning sensation during urination
  • Bloody, cloudy, odd smelling, or strangely colored urine
  • Pelvic pain
If your lower tract UTI goes unchecked (they can move very quickly so this can occur easily), it may migrate upwards towards your kidneys. An upper tract UTI is very serious and can be potentially life-threatening if bacteria from your kidneys enter the bloodstream. In addition to the above, symptoms your UTI may have progressed to the kidneys or higher are as follows:
  • Pain or pressure in your lower back or abdomen
  • Chills
  • Nausea and/or vomiting
  • Fever

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Natural home remedies to prevent urinary tract infection (UTIs)

If you suspect a UTI, it’s important to see a doctor promptly for antibiotics to prevent it from spreading to your kidneys or blood. There are a few things you can do to make yourself more comfortable and prevent the infection from worsening:
  • Drink plenty of fluids and urinate frequently to flush out the infected area as much as possible.
  • After using the toilet, ensure to always wipe from front to back.
  • Try to urinate after having sex to flush any bacteria from your urethra.
  • Cranberry extract and D-mannose do not treat UTIs, but they do help prevent them in women who come down with UTIs regularly.
Contrary to popular belief, oral probiotics do not prevent UTIs. Vaginal estrogen and probiotics help to restore vaginal pH-levels and lactobacilli, preventing infection from bowel bacteria
 

Medication for urinary tract infections (UTIs)

As mentioned above, you are likely to need antibiotics for your UTI. If you suspect a UTI, your doctor will usually give you appropriate antibiotics and may or may not test your urine to confirm the infection and determine the bacterial strain and drug sensitivity (or less commonly, virus or fungus). With proper use of antibiotics, your infection should clear up in a few days. If not, let your doctor know.
In the private sector in Hong Kong, you can see a GP, gynecologist obstetrician (OBGYN) or a urologist for urine testing and prescribed medication. For recurrent UTIs, you may want to see a urologist.
 
In the public sector in Hong Kong, you can book an appointment at your Cluster’s General Outpatient Clinic but the waiting time will likely be much longer than private sector.
 

Looking for a doctor?

CHECK OUR HEALTH DIRECTORY
 

Recurrent urinary tract infections (UTIs)

If you are getting a lot of UTIs, it’s important to talk to your doctor about ways to prevent them. At home, you can practice the healthy prevention methods listed above. To figure out why you’re getting recurrent UTIs, your doctor will talk to you about your lifestyle habits and possibly use a number of diagnostic tools (ultrasound, CT scan or a cystoscopy) to get down to the bottom of your chronic infections.
 

New research on recurrent urinary tract infections (UTIs)

Recently, there have been other non-antibiotic treatments developed to prevent recurrent UTIs.
 

1 – Vaccine

OM-89 is an oral preparation of 18 different serotypes of heat-killed uropathogens. In a systematic review and meta-analysis of four trials that together included 891 participants, OM-89 decreased the relative risk of UTI recurrence by 39%.

2 – Glycosaminoglycan layer replacement therapy

The glycosaminoglycan (GAG) layer forms a mucous barrier over the superficial facet cells of the bladder urothelium. It has been proposed that a deficiency of this layer predisposes people to more UTIs. Injection of GAG into the bladder is currently being investigated as a potential treatment for recurrent UTIs.

Looking for health insurance? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 forexpert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.

Dr. Vera Chung 鍾楊醫生 is an associate of the Hong Kong Urology Clinic. She qualified in 2003 from the University of Hong Kong and was trained as a urologist in Queen Elizabeth Hospital and obtained Fellowship of Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh in 2011. Dr. Chung was promoted to associate consultant in Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital in 2012. From 2013 to 2015 she has completed two-year European Board of Urology (EBU) Fellowship in endourology and laparoscopy at Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences, University of Oxford. In Oxford, she also consolidated her training in the management of continence and prolapse problems in the Department of Gynecology.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.