代孕在香港:進行程序及須知

越來越多人開始尋求代孕方面的資訊,以此來建立家庭。雖然沒有確切的數字,但在美國(就案例而言,這是迄今為止最多數目的國家),據估計,每年大約有4,000個嬰兒是由代孕母親所生的。代孕至今仍然很複雜,要找到全面、可靠的資源和專家並不容易。

來自非牟利教育機構Growing Families、代孕和卵子捐贈方面的專家Sam Everingham與我們合作,回答了一些有關代孕的常見問題。

什麼是代孕?

代孕是一個過程,通常涉及法律協議,其中一個女性(稱為代孕母親)同意懷孕並為其他人(稱為預期父母)生下嬰兒,預期父母將成為嬰兒的父母。

許多代孕涉及輔助生殖技術(ART),例如IVF和其他選擇,通常用於作為不育的解決方法。

傳統代孕 vs借腹型代孕

傳統代孕:一名女性會被人工授精,那些精子是屬於將成為之後出生的嬰兒的親生父親。該女性負責懷上嬰兒並分娩,然後您和您的伴侶將會撫養孩子。在傳統代孕中,代孕母親是嬰兒的親生母親,因為她的卵子是被使用來進行受精的。精子也可以是來自一名捐精者。

借腹型代孕:通過IVF,從一名女性中收集卵子是可能的,再從一名男性中收集精子使卵子受精,然後將胚胎放入另一個女性的子宮中(借腹型代孕)。代母將懷上嬰兒直至嬰兒出生。跟傳統代孕不同的是,被稱為“代母”的女性與嬰兒沒有任何血緣關係,因為使用的卵子並不屬於她的。親生母親仍然是卵子被使用進行受精的那一名女性。

為什麼代孕需求不斷增長?

由於許多國家都限制了在國內和國際上的領養,單身和情侶使用代孕作為建立家庭的方式的現象顯著增加。其他令需求增長的因素包括女性結婚年齡愈來愈遲或在年紀較大時才進行生育、越來越多的人了解到單身男女也可以成為父母、以及越來越多的同性戀伴侶希望撫養小朋友。

人們什麼時候使用代孕?

有一些線上工具可以幫助您在開始IVF前就預測到可以有小朋友的機率。

除社會原因外(例如同性戀伴侶),使用代孕的醫學原因包括

  • 重複IVF失敗(三次或更多次失敗);
  • 沒有子宮(先天性或者可能因為與癌症有關的疾病而要切除子宮);
  • 慢性疾病或藥物引起,如果準媽媽要懷孕,那將會使她的健康受到嚴重威脅(例如腎臟疾病、抗癌藥物);
  • 子宮變形(先天性或由於子宮內膜異位等原因引起)令持續懷孕受阻;
  • 對治療沒有反應的子宮內膜改變。

在香港可以代孕嗎?

香港在2007年立了法,允許獲得法律認可的代孕,並將嬰兒的父母身份轉讓給受贈的家庭。但是,要在香港進行代孕:

  • 申請人必須是已婚的異性戀夫婦;
  • 申請人不得使用捐卵者的卵子或代孕者的卵子;
  • 過程必須是無私的(代孕費用不得超過支出,商業代孕是違法的);
  • 代孕協議是自願性的。

不幸的是,這項法律附帶的條件及資格令很少伴侶可以在本地參與代孕。許多需要代孕的受贈家庭都需要其他人捐的卵子,但法律禁止這樣做。香港的輔助生育診所甚至沒有在其網站上列出代孕相關的服務。

與其他大多數已引入國內代孕法律的國家(例如英國、澳洲、加拿大、新西蘭和南非)相比,香港的限制更為嚴格。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

可以跨境代孕嗎?

對於在香港不能自然生小朋友但又渴望成為父母的人,可以選擇放眼更遠的地方,到少數允許代孕的國家。其中包括美國的某些州、加拿大的一些省份、烏克蘭、格魯吉亞、希臘和俄羅斯。這些司法管轄區均設有法律以提供具約束力的合同,並在代孕安排中承認外國人為合法父母。

由於某些代孕服務提供者在沒有任何具體代孕法規的國家內開展業務(例如墨西哥、哥倫比亞、馬來西亞和老撾),代孕會註明在出生證明上,但不會明確表明血緣關係。

近年來,許多曾經因代孕而流行的亞洲目的地已立法禁止代孕,或者禁止外國人到當地進行代孕。這些國家包括印度、泰國、柬埔寨和尼泊爾。

最後一組國家允許當國居民但不允許外國人進行無私的代孕(例如澳洲、新西蘭、英國、南非、以色列、印度、捷克共和國、荷蘭)。這些國家不允許商業代孕機構開展業務,這可能會使尋找代孕或為他人代孕的工作變得困難而艱鉅。

代孕費用是多少?

考慮到涉及多個方面,代孕需要大量的財務投資。這些可能包括卵子捐獻者的徵聘和補償、代孕者的徵聘、懷孕支出、護理和補償、專業的IVF技術、胚胎運輸、旅遊費用、代孕者和受贈家庭的法律代理人以及與生育有關的費用。根據Growing Families,平均總費用在400,000至1,250,000港元之間。

醫療保險通常不包括代孕費用,因此需要謹慎管理支出、避免未能預計的額外醫療費用的風險,特別是在美國這樣的國家,醫療費用可能迅速上升。選擇單胎而不是雙胚胎移植是降低風險的最佳方法,因為它可以大大降低雙胎懷孕的風險,從而降低流產率、早產和需要更多臥床休息的懷孕併發症。

成功率和擔保計劃

在考慮成功率時,您需要查看您所選擇的輔助生育診所的活產率,而不是其懷孕率。這是因為許多通常在早期就流產。不幸的是,除美國英國外,很少有國家通過診所發布經審核的活產率數據,因此,對於其他司法管轄區,您只能信賴服務提供者。

一些服務提供者可能只接受年輕人或不接受會降低其成功率的人從而提高其成功率。要記住的最重要一點是,成功很大程度上取決於提供卵子的女性的年齡。

受孕的機會隨著年齡的增長而下降,而在35歲時,成功率與生育高峰期的女性相比降低了一半。卵子的質量也會下降,因此染色體異常的風險增加。如您需要卵子捐助者,選擇較年輕的女性會較好。

某些國家/地區提供了擔保計劃,該計劃有效地限制了可能多出的成本,如果初次胚胎轉移不成功,計劃包括了額外的胚胎轉移甚至是額外的卵子取回程序。但這種計劃是有優點也有缺點。

外國人代孕的資格要求

一些國家(例如烏克蘭)僅允許具有醫學指徵文件的已婚異性伴侶進行代孕。其他國家則允許真實的異性戀伴侶(格魯吉亞、希臘),但不允許男同性戀者。

一些司法管轄區堅持認為卵子捐贈者需要匿名(例如希臘和烏克蘭)。其他則堅持認為捐贈者是需要開名(例如格魯吉亞)。如果要將胚胎從一個管轄區運到另一個管轄區,這可能是一個真正的問題。例如,一對香港異性戀夫婦在英國擁有胚胎,其使用了妻子姐姐的卵子創造的。他們想在烏克蘭代孕,但由於這些規例而被拒絕。

希臘等司法管轄區對受贈家庭父母的年齡設限制(準母親必須在50歲以下)。在某些國家/地區,IVF診所會自行決定是否限制年齡。加拿大的診所傾向於使用少於100歲的“合併年齡”準則(兩個伴侶的年齡相加)。

通過代孕為兒童獲得護照和公民身份

跨境代孕要考慮的最關鍵方面之一是,是否以及如何授予代孕子女在當地的公民身份。加拿大和美國自動向在其境內因代孕出生的任何兒童授予公民身份,這令它們比起其他國家更具吸引力。

在外國代孕案件中,一些國家/地區(例如格魯吉亞、烏克蘭、希臘、俄羅斯)通常不會授予公民身份,這意味著父母需要留在目的地國家/地區,直到他們自己的國家授予子女公民身份為止。通常,這是根據DNA測試完成的,以證明其中一名受贈家庭的父母與小朋友之間存在血緣關係。但是每個國家都有自己的規則和時間表。以一對夫婦(香港居民)為例,他們在烏克蘭代孕後為其子女申請了英國公民身份。英國採用的繁文縟節令他們要在烏克蘭等四個月,直到他們的孩子擁有旅行所需的證件為止。儘管這對於英國公民來說是典型的,但美國人、愛爾蘭人和澳洲公民僅需兩到六週即可達到相同的結果。

代孕子女進入香港是相當簡單的,父母可從與其他完成過程的人交談而受益。Growing Families網站上列出了香港專業律師名單。

代孕法規不斷變,一些政府使獲得公民身份更加困難。達到合法父母身份可能更加困難,解決這一問題已成為海牙國際私法會議聯合國等機構的優先事項。

儘管如此,這些監管上的麻煩並未能阻止成千上萬的伴侶追隨他們創建家庭的夢想。

有關代孕的資源

非牟利組織(如Growing Families)教育並為計劃建立家庭的人提供資訊,讓他們能做出明智的抉擇、避免建立家庭時遇到問題。他們組織研討會和會議,並提供廣泛的線上資源和專業的諮詢服務。

查看https://www.growingfamilies.org

本文由Healthy Matters及Growing Families為您呈獻。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Surrogacy: How it Works and What to Know

A growing number of people look for information about surrogacy as a way to start a family. There are no precise figures but in the US (the largest country by far in terms of number of cases) it is estimated that about 4,000 babies are born from surrogate mothers every year. Surrogacy remains complex, and it is not easy to find comprehensive, reliable sources and experts about it.

Global expert on surrogacy and egg donation, Sam Everingham, from non-profit educator Growing Families, partners with us to answer some common questions about surrogacy. 

What is Surrogacy?

Surrogacy is an arrangement, typically evidenced by a legal agreement, where a woman (called the surrogate mother) agrees to become pregnant and give birth to a baby for other persons (called the intended parents), who will become the parent(s) of the child. 

Many cases of surrogacy involve assisted reproductive technology (ART), such as IVF and other options, which are commonly used to treat infertility.

Traditional vs. Gestational Surrogacy

Traditional surrogacy: a woman will get artificially inseminated with the father’s sperm, carry the baby and deliver it, then the father and his father will raise the child. In traditional surrogacy, the surrogate mother is the baby’s biological  mother since her egg was fertilized by the father’s sperm. Sperm may also be used from a donor.

Gestational surrogacy: with IVF, it’s possible to gather eggs from the mother, use sperm from the father to fertilise it and place the embryo into the uterus of another woman (the gestational surrogate). The surrogate carries the baby until birth. The difference is that the gestational surrogate, called “birth mother” doesn’t have any genetic ties to the baby because it wasn’t her egg that was used. The biological mother remains the woman whose egg was fertilized.

Why is there a growing demand for surrogacy?

Since many countries curbed access to domestic and international adoption, there has been a marked rise in singles and couples using surrogacy as a way to create a family. Other factors driving demand include women delaying marriage and child-bearing until later in life, the increasing recognition that single men and women can be parents and the rise in homosexual couples raising children. 

When do people use surrogacy?

There are online tools that can help you predict your chances of having a baby before you’ve even commenced IVF. 

Apart from social indications (homosexual couples), medical indications for surrogacy include  

  •         repeated failed IVF (three or more failed transfers) 
  •         absence of a womb (from birth or due to hysterectomy, which may be associated with cancer);  
  •         a chronic disease or medication which would put the intended mother’s health at severe risk if she were to carry a pregnancy (eg. kidney disease, cancer drugs);  
  •         deformation of  the  uterus (congenital or due to conditions like endometriosis) which prevents a sustained pregnancy; 
  •         changes in  the  endometrium that  do not respond to  treatment. 

Is surrogacy allowed in Hong Kong?

Hong Kong enacted legislation allowing legally recognised surrogacy and a transfer of parentage to the intended parents in 2007. However, to engage in surrogacy in Hong Kong:  

  •         applicants must be a married heterosexual couple; 
  •         applicants must not use an egg donor or the surrogates’ own eggs; 
  •         the arrangement must be altruistic (no payments to surrogates beyond expenses, commercial surrogacy is illegal);  
  •         surrogacy agreements are not enforceable. 

Unfortunately the eligibility conditions attached to this legislation entails that few couples engage in local surrogacy. Many intended parents requiring surrogacy will also require donor eggs and these regulations forbid it. Hong Kong IVF clinics do not even list surrogacy-related services on their websites. 

Hong Kong restrictions are tighter than in most other countries which have introduced domestic surrogacy laws (for example the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa).   

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Are there any cross-border options for surrogacy?

For people in Hong Kong who cannot carry a child naturally yet yearn to be parents, an option can be to look further afield, to the limited number of countries that allow surrogacy. These include some US states, some Canadian provinces, Ukraine, Georgia, Greece and Russia. These jurisdictions all have laws providing binding contracts and recognising foreigners as the legal parents in surrogacy arrangements. 

While some surrogacy providers operate in countries which do not have any specific surrogacy legislation (eg Mexico, Columbia, Malaysia and Laos), the surrogate will appear on the birth certificate and there is no clear pathway to parentage. 

In recent years, a number of Asian destinations once popular for surrogacy have banned the practice, or banned foreigners from engaging in the practice. These include India, Thailand, Cambodia and Nepal. 

A final group of countries allow altruistic surrogacy for their own resident citizens, but not foreigners (eg Australia, New Zealand, UK, South Africa, Israel, India, Czech Republic, Netherlands). Such countries tend not to allow commercial surrogacy agencies to operate, which can make sourcing and screening of possible surrogates a difficult and emotionally arduous task. 

How much does surrogacy cost?

Surrogacy requires a substantial financial investment given the many components involved. These may include egg donor recruitment and compensation, surrogate recruitment, expenses, care and compensation, expert IVF techniques, embryo shipping, travel costs, legal representation for both surrogate and intended parents and birth-related costs. According to Growing Families, total average costs vary between HK$400,000 and HK$1,250,000.

Health insurance usually does not cover surrogacy, so the risk of unforeseen medical costs need to be carefully managed, particularly in countries like the USA, where medical costs can quickly spiral. Opting for single rather than double embryo transfer is the best means of reducing risk, as it substantially lowers the risk of a twin pregnancy, thus reducing miscarriage rates, pre-term delivery and pregnancy complications requiring additional bed-rest. 

Success rates & guarantee programs

When considering success rates, you need to look at an IVF clinic’s live birth rates, rather than their pregnancy rates. This is because many pregnancies miscarry usually in the first trimester. Unfortunately few countries, except in the USA and UK, publish audited live birth rate data by clinic, so for other jurisdictions you must rely on the honesty of the provider.  

Some providers may artificially inflate their success rates by only taking on younger patients or discarding results that would lower their success rates. The most important point to remember is that success is largely determined by the age of the woman who provided the eggs. 

The chance of conception declines with age, and at 35 the success rate is halved compared to a woman at her peak fertility. The quality of the eggs also declines, and therefore the risk of chromosome abnormalities increases. Where you require a donor, younger is better. 

In some countries, guarantee programs are offered which effectively cap the possible costs, by including additional embryo transfers and even additional egg retrieval procedures if the initial procedures are unsuccessful. There are pros and cons to such programs.  

Surrogacy eligibility requirements for foreigners

Some countries (for example Ukraine) only allow surrogacy for married heterosexual couples with a documented medical indication. Others allow de-facto heterosexual couples (Georgia, Greece), but not gay men. 

Some jurisdictions insist that egg donors are anonymous (eg Greece and Ukraine). Others insist that donors are known (eg Georgia). This can be a real problem if you want to ship embryos from one jurisdiction to another. For example, one hetereosexual Hong Kong couple had embryos in the UK, creating using the wife’s sister’s eggs. They were keen on surrogacy in Ukraine, but were denied given these rules. 

There are age limits on intended parents in jurisdictions like Greece (intended mothers must be under 50 years). In some countries the age cut-off is left to the discretion of the treating IVF clinic. Canadian clinics tend to use a ‘combined age’ (adding up the ages of the two partners) of less than 100 years as their standard. 

Passports & citizenship for children via surrogacy

One of the most crucial aspects to consider in cross-border arrangements is whether and how citizenship will be granted to children born via surrogacy. Canada and the USA automatically grant citizenship to any child born via surrogacy within their borders, making these countries more attractive to many.  

More often countries (eg Georgia, Ukraine, Greece, Russia) will not award citizenship in foreign surrogacy cases, meaning parents need to remain in the destination country until their own nation grants their child citizenship. Typically, this is done based on DNA-testing to prove there is a genetic link between one intended parent and the child. But each country has its own rules and timeframes. In the example of a couple (Hong Kong residents), they applied for UK citizenship for their child after surrogacy in Ukraine. The red tape which the UK applies meant a four month stay in Ukraine until their child had the necessary documents to travel. While this is typical for UK citizens, Americans, Irish and Australian citizens can achieve the same outcome in just two to six weeks. 

Entry to Hong Kong for children post surrogacy is fairly straightforward, though parents would benefit from talking to others who have completed the process. Specialist Hong Kong lawyers are listed on the Growing Families website. 

Surrogacy regulations are in flux and some governments make it harder to achieve citizenship. Achieving legal parentage can be more difficult, and solving this issue has become a priority for bodies such as the Hague Conference on Private International Law and the United Nations

Nonetheless, these regulatory headaches have failed to dissuade thousands of intended parents from following their dream of creating a family. 

Surrogacy resources

Nonprofits such as Growing Families educate and empower people planning a family to make informed choices and avoid problems in this complex landscape. They organise seminars and conferences, and offer extensive online resources and customised consultations. 

See https://www.growingfamilies.org 

This article is brought to you in partnership with Growing Families. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.