壓力太大?認識壓力來源,學會減壓!

最後更新日期 十月 12, 2021.

何謂壓力 | 壓力的類型 | 壓力源 | 壓力源的類型 | 症狀 | 相關的精神疾病 | 釋放壓力的方法

香港是世界上最大壓力的居住地之一。2020年的一項研究發現,高達89%的香港市民認為他們在過去幾個月的壓力源自於疫情對心理健康的影響

壓力是面對逆境或挑戰時的自然反應,每個人在生命中的不同階段或多或少會感受過壓力。然而,當長期處於高壓力的狀態下而無法得到紓緩或釋放,壓力可能會對健康造成無可挽回的後果。

以下我們將會為你拆解壓力,助你了解不同類型的壓力、壓力的成因、症狀和影響,以及釋放壓力的方法。

何謂「壓力」?

壓力是我們在面對生活中具有挑戰性的事情時產生的自然反應。壓力的產生可能是多方面互相影響的結果,從生理健康、社交生活、工作上遇到的問題,以至個人感受等,都可能造成壓力。除此之外,壓力亦是我們在應對有形無形的挑戰或情景時所啟動的自然調整機制。適量的壓力不但能夠幫助我們適應新環境,更可以讓我們更有準備地面對生活上的各種難關。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

壓力的類型

在心理學中,常見的壓力類型有:

惡性壓力

惡性壓力(Distress)多由不愉快的經歷而引起的壓力,但同樣可由一些令人愉快的事件所導致,例如嬰兒出生和工作晉升等。簡單來說,惡性壓力指我們在面對改變而未能適應時所產生的生理及心理反應,例如家庭成員突然離世所帶來的巨變。

良性壓力

良性壓力(Eustress)是一個人面對挑戰時的最佳生理及心理狀態。與惡性壓力相反,良性壓力有助於個人發展,亦對個人成長有益。例如在工作中得到上司的讚賞。

急性壓力

急性壓力(Acute Stress)源自無法控制的負面事件,亦可能由可預知的事件造成,例如即將來臨的考試。急性壓力的主要特徵是它的短期性和突如其來,較為極端的例子包括自然災害、恐怖襲擊及交通事故。如果沒有得到適時的治療,急性壓力可能會導致創傷後壓力症候群(PTSD)等嚴重的心理疾病。

慢性壓力

慢性壓力(Chronic Stress)由長期處於於高壓環境或狀態造成。慢性壓力會持續增加腎上腺素和皮質醇等和壓力相關的荷爾蒙分泌,對身心健康有害。常見的慢性壓力成因有失業和長期財務困難等。

持續性急性壓力

持續性急性壓力(Episodic Acute Stress)是當一個人長時間需要面對急性壓力時產生的壓力,例如長時間從事高危的工作或患上慢性疾病。

【在家工作】6個貼士讓您的生活免受工作壓力影響

何謂「壓力源」?

壓力的成因眾多,與身體狀況、認知能力、人格特徵、情緒管理技巧、個人技能、處理壓力的資源以及應對壓力的方法都可能有關。而造成壓力的原因通常被稱為「壓力源」。「壓力源(Stressor)」是帶來內、外在變化不可控制的刺激物(Stimuli),是造成壓力的主要原因。越是不能控制的事,越是容易成為壓力的源頭。

壓力源的類型

在心理學中,壓力源通常以其特性和源頭分類。下列是一些常見的壓力源類型:

內部壓力源

內部壓力源(Internal Stressors)來自於我們的內部思想,例如消極的自我對話(Self-Talk)以及不符現實的期望。

外部壓力源

外部壓力源(External Stressors)是來自外部的壓力,例如經濟負擔和人際關係等。

發展壓力源

發展壓力源(Developmental Stressors)與我們的個人成長階段息息相關。例如高中畢業後即將踏入新環境、與父母離別以及即將步入婚姻的壓力等。

環境壓力源

環境壓力源(Situational Stressors)來自於一些出乎意料和不可預測的事件。這些事件可能是正面或負面。環境壓力包括交通事故和生活中的突然轉變。

生理壓力源

生理壓力源(Physiological Stressors)主要由不良的健康狀況和疾病引起。例如慢性疾病和長期處於體溫失常的狀態。

面對壓力的症狀

面對壓力的症狀可以分為4方面:情感、行為、認知及生理症狀。如果你正面臨壓力,你可能會出現以下的一些症狀:

情感方面的症状

行為方面的症狀

  • 不健康的飲食模式 
  • 酒精上癮
  • 自我社交封閉
  • 強迫性購物 
  • 解決問題能力下降
  • 組織能力下降 
  • 自控能力下降

認知方面的症狀

  • 記憶困難
  • 注意力無法集中 
  • 消極思想 
  • 自嘲的想法

生理方面的症狀

  • 出汗 
  • 血管收縮 
  • 口乾 
  • 尿量減少

與壓力相關的精神疾病

雖然壓力屬於正常生活的一部分,但是當壓力超出可承受範圍,長期處於不健康的水平,將會對健康造成無可挽回的後果,嚴重的甚至會構成心理疾病。

下列是一些與壓力息息相關的精神疾病:

一旦發展成心理疾病,壓力對健康所造成的危害可能非常深遠,且難以根治。因此即使是在平日,學會如何面對壓力和情緒管理對每個人都至關重要。

【PTSD】創傷後遺症的成因、症狀及治療方法

釋放壓力的方法

每個人都有感受到壓力的時候,重要的是要學會處理壓力的方法,適當地紓緩壓力,保持正面的態度。很多時候,可能只需要稍微改變生活方式,就能夠有效地幫助管理壓力。以下是一些可能幫助你釋放壓力的小貼士:

建立新興趣

建立新的興趣可能有助於紓緩壓力,因為新興趣活動可以分散你對壓力源的注意力,有助放鬆身心。找到一種你真正享受的喜好也許能大大減輕你的壓力水平,改善你的心理健康。

定時運動

運動會使我們釋放體內的快樂荷爾蒙——安多酚,有助緩解壓力和放鬆心情。定時運動亦能幫助控制壓力水平和減少肌肉緊張。除了游泳、慢跑和騎自行車等有氧運動之外,瑜伽之類的伸展運動亦能改善身心健康。

想健康但討厭運動?5種鍛鍊方法讓運動成為習慣

注重健康飲食

除了運動之外,飲食亦有助減低壓力水平。例如黑朱古力中的的多酚能夠降低體內的壓力荷爾蒙(皮質醇和腎上腺素)。另外,香蕉含有豐富的的維生素B,不僅能有效減輕壓力,同時亦能幫助降低焦慮和緊張的情緒。

尋求家人朋友的支持

研究指出經常與朋友聊天和大笑能改善我們的心情,並且降低壓力和焦慮的情緒。另一項研究指出聊天更可以提升我們的腦部的執行功能,加強一些對學習和認知發展有利的技能。社交亦能增強解決問題的能力。朋友的陪伴能幫你應對現實中的種種煩惱,與朋友互相傾訴,互相分擔壓力。

壓力是把雙刃劍,如果生活中的壓力層層疊加,重得讓你喘不過氣來,無法掙脫,可能是時候需要尋找專業人士的協助。請緊記有壓力乃人之常情,在學習如何與壓力共處的路上,你並不孤單,最重要的是,學會將壓力化為「助力」!

緊急求助

如有需要,請盡快聯繫精神及心理健康範疇的專業人士尋求協助。 以下是一些提供24小時情緒支持的熱線:  

24小時緊急求助熱線

撒瑪利亞會 
電話:2896 0000
語言:英語、廣東話、普通話  

生命熱線 
電話:2382 0000
語言:廣東話

香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會 
電話:2389 2222
語言:廣東話

壓力有哪些的常見的症狀?

壓力的常見症狀有情緒低落、容易發怒、認知能力下降和自我封閉。較高的慢性壓力水平亦可能會引致嚴重的疾病如阿爾茨海默症、急性心力衰竭和哮喘。

壓力會如何影響我們的身體?

壓力的生理症狀包括口乾、尿量減少和出汗。另外慢性壓力亦可能會導致心臟病、肥胖症、頭痛及糖尿病等健康問題。

哪一種運動最適合減壓?

一般而言,所以運動都有助減輕壓力。同時結合音樂和活動的跳舞也許會比其他運動更能減輕壓力。其他運動的選擇包括瑜伽、普拉提、跑步和游泳。下載免費的健身Apps也可以幫助你緩解壓力。

壓力和焦慮有什麼區別?

雖然壓力和焦慮兩者都屬於正常的情感反應,但是壓力一般由壓力源引致。反之,焦慮則不受壓力源影響,沒有壓力源都會持續存在。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Everything You Need To Know About Stress

Last updated on June 30, 2021.

What is stress | Types of stress | What is stressor | Types of stressors | Symptoms | Stress-related disorders | Self-help tips

Hong Kong is one of the most stressful cities in the world. According to a 2020 research, 89% of Hong Kong citizens reported that they feel stressed over the previous months, possibly owing to the mental health crisis during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Stress is a normal response to challenges and everyone has a time of stress at some point of their life. However, when stress is unmanaged over an extended period, it can bring severe consequences to your health. Here is a comprehensive guide on stress for you to understand the different types of stress, its causes and impacts, and get tips for relieving stress. 

What is stress?

Stress is the pressure experienced by an individual in response to life-challenging events. These challenging events could be interactions of various events in life, from physical health, social interactions, work-related issues , to personal feelings. Stress is also known as a process of adjustment to difficult situations that threaten the physical and psychological functioning of an individual. Stress is the tension, strain and pressures from a circumstance that requires new coping strategies. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Types of stress

There are many types of stress. The followings are several examples of stress commonly experienced by people: 

Distress

Distress is the stress that results from unpleasant and undesirable stressors. Distress can be experienced from pleasant or desirable events as well, including having a newborn baby and job promotion. Distress is the maladaptive physiological and psychological responses experienced by an individual in face of a stressor. It is caused by the challenges that lead to physiological and psychological changes. An example of distress could be an unpredicted death of a family member. 

Eustress

Eustress is the optimal physiological and psychological responses experienced by an individual in face of a challenging event. This type of stress is beneficial for us as it helps to facilitate growth and development. An example of eustress could be receiving compliments from a supervisor at work.

Acute stress

Acute stress is the stress that results from a negative event that is highly predictable and uncontrollable. Acute stress may result from predictable events as well (e.g. an upcoming examination; the gist of acute stress is that it is short-term but sharp. Extreme examples of acute stress would be natural disasters, terrorist attacks and traffic accidents. Acute stress may lead to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) if one fails to receive instant support and care. 

Chronic stress

Chronic stress is the stress caused by long-term exposure to a circumstance or event that repetitively increases an individual’s stress level. Chronic stress is harmful to our both physical and psychological health because it activates the release of stress hormones like adrenaline and cortisol. Examples of chronic stress include unemployment and increasing financial obligations. 

Episodic acute stress

Episodic acute stress occurs when an individual is frequently exposed to acute stress. Examples of episodic acute stress would be working under life-threatening conditions and chronic illness or injury. 

6 Tips to Keep Work Stress from Taking Over Your Life

Advertisements

What is a stressor?

There are many causes of stress/distress. They are biological propensity, cognitive appraisal, personality, emotional regulation, skills repertoire, resources available; coping style, etc. Stress is typically precipitated by stressors, which are defined as stimuli that proceed and precipitate a change. Stressors may exert pressure and uncontrollability on an individual: pressure is known as the affective experience produced when there is an urge to attain expectations; while uncontrollability denotes that the less control an individual has for a situation, the greater the stress levels he or she will experience.

Types of stressors

In psychology, stressors can be described by their source and characteristics. Some common types of stressors are:

Internal stressors

Internal stressors are originated inside an individual, e.g., negative self-talk and unrealistic expectations. 

External stressors

External stressors are originated outside an individual, e.g., financial burdens and interpersonal relationships. 

Developmental stressors

Developmental stressors originate from normal growing experience throughout the developmental stages of an individual, e.g., graduation from high school and being separated from parents. 

Situational stressors

Situational stressors are unexpected and unpredictable in either a positive or negative way, e.g., traffic accidents and a sudden change in life. 

Physiological stressors

Physiological stressors are caused by poor health conditions and diseases, e.g., chronic illness and abnormal body temperature.  

What are the symptoms of stress?

Symptoms of stress may differ from individual to individual, but can be categorized into four aspects, namely affective, behavioral, cognitive and somatic symptoms. If you are stressed, you may experience some of the symptoms listed here:

Affective symptoms

  • Anxiety
  • Fear
  • Anger
  • Depression
  • Irritability 

Behavioral symptoms

  • Disruptive eating patterns
  • Alcohol consumption
  • Self isolation
  • Compulsive shopping
  • Reduced problem solving skills
  • Decreased structuring skills 
  • Self-control problems 

Cognitive symptoms

  • Memory difficulties
  • Concentration difficulties
  • Negative thinking 
  • Self-deprecating thinking

Somatic symptoms

  • Increased sweat production
  • Peripheral blood vessel constriction
  • Dry mouth
  • Reduced urine output 
Advertisements

Stress-related mental disorders

While stress is a normal part of life, unregulated stress over time can turn dangerous and backfire in the shape of  mental disorders.

The followings are some common mental disorders related to stress:

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Acute stress disorder
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Adjustment disorders

Once it becomes a mental disorder, the effect can be destructive to one’s mental well-being. It is therefore essential to manage our stress level and find proper exits for it in time. 

The Complete Guide To PTSD: Causes, Symptoms, And Treatments

Self-help tips for stress relief

It is okay to be stressed at times. Everyone does. You just need to manage it by learning to relax from time to time and regain control over your life. In fact, stress management, as complicated as it may sound, can be done with simply slight changes in your lifestyle. Try the following tips and stick to what fits you the best!

Develop a new hobby

Having a hobby can greatly help relieve your stress because it can distract you from the event that stresses you out. Finding a leisure activity that you genuinely enjoy can effectively reduce your stress level and boost your mental well-being in the long-run. 

Engage in physical exercise

Exercises are beneficial for relieving stress as it activates your body to release endorphins, the “happy hormone”  that promotes happiness and relaxation. Moreover, exercising regularly can help you manage stress levels and reduce muscle tension. Aside from cardio exercises like swimming, jogging and cycling, stretching exercises like yoga can also promote well-being both physically and mentally.  

Healthy and balanced diet

Certain foods can reduce your stress levels. For example, dark chocolate is beneficial for stress reduction as it contains polyphenol, which decreases the level of stress hormones(cortisol and adrenaline) in your body. Eating bananas also reduces stress and anxiety due to its rich vitamin B content which is effective in lowering stress levels as it increases serotonin production. 

Talk to friends and family

Social communication has a lot of benefits. Research shows that chatting and laughing with friends can improve our mood and decrease our stress and anxiety levels. Another study suggested that chatting also enhances our executive function, a set of mental skills crucial in learning and cognitive development which also enhances our problem-solving skills. Social groups, for instance, can provide support for you when you are coping with stressful events. It may also help to talk about your stress with someone who might share similar stressful feelings. 

Last but not least, if things still do not work out for you and you feel like you are losing your grip, be sure to see your counselor or therapist for advice right away. Remember, you are never alone.

Do you need help?

In case of need for immediate support, please do not hesitate to reach out to professional help. Below is a list of hotlines with 24-hour support.

Suicide prevention hotlines

The Samaritans
Hotline: 2896 0000
Available languages: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

Suicide Prevention 
Hotline: 2382 0000
Available languages: Cantonese 

The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong 
Hotline: 2389 2222
Available languages: Cantonese

FAQs

What are the common signs of stress?

Common symptoms of stress are depressed mood, high irritability, reduced cognitive abilities and self-isolation. Higher and chronic stress levels may also result in more severe symptoms such as Alzheimer’s disease, acute heart failure and asthma.

How does stress affect the body?

Physiological symptoms of stress include dry mouth, reduction of urine output and increase in sweat production. Chronic stress may also result in health problems like heart disease, obesity, headaches and diabetes.

Which exercise is best for stress?

Exercising in general is beneficial for relieving stress. Dancing, in particular, may be effective in stress reduction as it combines both music and physical movements. Other popular exercising choices include yoga, pilates, running and swimming, if you are interested. Downloading a fitness app may also help you to relieve stress.

What is the difference between stress and anxiety?

Although both stress and anxiety are affective responses, stress is often caused by a stressor, but anxiety, on the other hand, will persist even when the stressor is gone.  

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.