香港森林浴:讓你生活得更健康快樂

最後更新日期 八月 17, 2021.

森林浴是甚麼 | 好處 | 從森林浴中學習 | 要點 | 嚮導服務

長時間待在同一個地方,少不免會使人感到煩躁、鬱悶。「石屎森林」以外,香港同樣擁有綠色的森林和郊野,是不少渴望遠離喧囂的市民的絕佳去處。不妨與我們一起擁抱大自然,了解一下「沐浴」在森林之中如何能讓你更健康、快樂。

森林浴是甚麼?

森林浴 (Shinrin-yoku) 起源於日本,是種自然療法 (nature therapy),如字面意思是指沐浴在森林的環境之中。這種療法有助降低血壓、減慢心跳,達至減壓的效果。人類的歷史幾乎都生活在自然環境中,直到過去幾個世紀,才開始建立城市,離開大自然生活。

森林浴的好處

雖則森林浴深受日本文化影響,享受森林浴的地方並不限於日本的溫帶雨林。療法的關鍵是讓感官完全沉浸在大自然中,暫時擺脫煩囂的生活,進而改善心理健康質素。除了身體上的好處外,身處大自然懷抱中,還是反思自己和擴闊視野的好機會,讓我們能靜下心來,與自己對話,梳理情緒及其他人際關係。

與一般療法不同,森林浴更側重於訓練自我反思能力。世界經濟論壇 (World Economic Forum) 曾提及,在整個行程中,參加者可以通過與同行者進行真誠的分享和深度傾聽,建立自信和自我意識 (self-awareness),並改善集中力與觀察能力,從而培養同理心 (empathy)。更重要的是,參加者能學習如何尊重自己,照顧自己 (self-care)。此外,建立互相支持的社交關係有利於增強個人的抗逆能力 (resilience) ,一旦面對逆境,也能適當調整心態。

儘管森林浴並不能直接達至治療精神疾病 (mental disorders) 之效,通過鼓勵參加者調整心理狀態並保持正念 (mindful),森林浴治療希望正面改善其心理健康。研究表明,這種生態療法 (ecotherapy) 可以培養創造力和解難能力,提高整體的生活質量。

從森林浴中學習

森林浴遠遠不止是遠足或森林漫步,更是要求參加者放慢速度、喚醒感官、敞開心扉主動與自然建立聯繫。森林浴通常由經驗豐富的嚮導帶領,即使是剛剛入門的新手,也能順利進入與大自然的溝通當中。

要與大自然交流,首先需要將一切的外界影響排除在外,避免受到沿途的人群影響,把注意力集中在自我意識 (self awareness) 和自我反省 (self reflection) 上。沿途,你需要主動與大自然溝通,而不被周遭環境分散注意力,影響你的精神狀態。

森林浴並不是實地考察或生物課堂。沿途你可能會被樹木、花草,甚至野生動物所包圍,但請時刻謹記,此行目的並不是要考察生態價值。相反,你可以換個角度、換種方式了解牠們——親身感受到牠們的存在、活動,以及你與野生動物的共同存在。

森林浴旨在鼓勵城市人放鬆及與自然建立聯繫,更能為身體、個人及人際關係等多個方面帶來好處,卻仍不能替代專業診斷和治療。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

要點

如果你想在香港嘗試森林浴,以下是讓你感受大自然的一些入門方法:

  1. 先物色一個合適的地點進行練習。森林、郊野公園、城市綠化用地和花園都是不錯的地方,讓你親近大自然。
  2. 讓自己遠離任何干擾,特別是手機或其他電子產品,盡情去享受當下。
  3. 暫時放下你對旅程的目標或期望,依靠你身體的直覺和本能,指示你的去向。
  4. 隨時暫停。觀察並專注體悟觸摸樹葉或沿小路行走時的感覺。
  5. 找一個舒適的地方坐下。聆聽周圍的聲音,感受萬物的存在。
  6. 確保你和朋友不會在旅途中受外界影響或和閒聊。不過,請隨時與他人分享你的經驗和感受,真誠的分享可以帶來更好的森林浴體驗。

嚮導服務

剛開始嘗試森林浴的「初心者」或者無從下手,難以靠自己做到與外部世界中斷交流,全心全意投入與大自然交流。以下是一些在香港可以找到的嚮導服務。

香港·森林浴
Facebook: 香港·森林浴
Instagram: shinrinyokuhk
電郵: [email protected]

心旅
Facebook: 心旅
Instagram: wellness.travellers
電郵: [email protected]
聯絡電話: 5375 7909

慈山寺
Facebook: 慈山寺
聯絡電話: 2123 8666

森林浴和遠足有什麼區別?

森林浴需要參加者與大自然進行交流,但過程中並不應讓四周環境影響你的情緒。參與者通過放慢自己的腳步,喚醒他們的感官,最重要的是敞開心扉,與大自然建立聯繫。

森林浴可以在郊野公園或花園,而不是森林裡進行嗎?

可以!在香港這個石屎森林中尋找合適的森林環境並不容易。其實,森林浴最注重的是與大自然建立聯繫,只要保持放鬆的心情,即使是在郊野公園、城市綠化用地或花園,也可進行森林浴,加以練習,你甚至可以不受環境影響,在任何地方與大自然聯繫。

誰能指導我體驗森林浴?

香港·森林浴、心旅和慈山寺是在香港提供嚮導服務的機構。請參閱上文了解更多有關它們的信息。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

“Forest Bathing” in Hong Kong: How Shinrin-Yoku Makes You Healthier and Happier

Last updated on July 9, 2021.

What is Shinrin-Yoku | Benefits | Learn from Shinrin-Yoku | Key takeaways | Guides

It is absolutely normal to feel trapped, agitated or frustrated having stayed in the same place or the same city for a prolonged period of time. But what if there’s a way out? 

Hong Kong forests have so much to offer for city dwellers in need of a break from the hustle and bustle. Embrace nature with us as we will walk you through shinrin-yoku and how it can help you.

What is Shinrin-Yoku?

Shinrin-yoku, which means forest bathing, is a form of nature therapy that originated in Japan. This Japanese therapeutic practice helps reduce our blood pressure, heart rates and stress, with its essence lying in returning to nature and spending time where we originally came from. We had lived in the natural environment for almost all of human existence, only until the past centuries did we begin to isolate ourselves from nature with an urban environment.

How does Shinrin-Yoku work?

You don’t have to travel to Japan to try shinrin-yoku. The key to this practice is immersing our senses in nature to enhance our mental well-being. Beyond a myriad of physical benefits, being in nature helps us reflect and expand our perspectives. This opportunity for quiet reflection engages us in learning more about ourselves and our interpersonal relationships with others. 

Different from the usual therapies, the focus of shinrin-yoku is more on our reflective abilities. The World Economic Forum reveals that throughout the excursion, participants get to engage in authentic sharing and deep listening with others, which helps in building self-confidence and self-awareness. By nurturing undivided attention and detailed observation, participants can develop empathic and self-care strategies which are beneficial in everyday life. In addition, developing supportive social relationships is conducive to promoting mental resilience and constructing a support system, much-needed in times of adversity.

Rather than treating mental disorders, shinrin-yoku focuses on the positive dimension of one’s mental well-being by requiring them to tune in to their body and be mindful. Studies have also shown that this ecotherapy can enhance creativity and problem-solving skills, thus promoting a better quality of life on the whole.

Advertisements

Learn from Shinrin-Yoku

Shinrin-yoku is not simply a hike or a forest walk. Usually led by an experienced guide, participants will be involved in various connections with nature by slowing themselves down, awakening their senses, and most importantly, opening up their hearts.

Tame your wandering mind, avoid your mind going astray to the crowds of people along the way, and put your attention on your self-awareness and self-reflection. You are the one initiating communication with the environment in shinrin-yoku, instead of giving the environment the power over your mental state. 

Shinrin-yoku is neither a naturalist outing nor a field trip. Although you may see lots of beautiful trees, plants or even some wild animals along the way, shinrin-yoku is not about understanding their medicinal values. You can get to know the wildlife differently, though. By awakening your senses and opening your hearts, you can communicate with the wildlife by feeling their existence, their movement and your presence among them.

Note that although shinrin-yoku aims to support city dwellers to unwind and connect with nature and entails benefits on multiple dimensions including biological, personal, and relational, it is not a medical treatment, nor does it substitute professional healthcare.

The Ultimate Guide to Naturopathy in Hong Kong

Key takeaways and how to get started

If you wish to try out shinrin-yoku, below are how you can get started:

  1. Find a suitable location for the practice. Forests, country parks, urban green spaces and gardens are some places that you can connect with nature.
  2. Remove yourself from any distractions. Put aside your phones or other gadgets so that you can be fully present in the moment.
  3. Leave behind your goals or expectations. Let your body tell you where to go.
  4. Pause from time to time. Observe and focus on the sensations you feel when touching leaves or walking along the path.
  5. Find a comfortable place to sit down. Listen to the sounds around you and feel their presence.
  6. Make sure your friends and you will not sidetrack and chat during the trip. However, feel free to share your experiences and feelings with one another. The sharing may help you gain a better understanding and experience in shinrin-yoku.

Useful guides for Shinrin-Yoku

We know it is difficult to take the first step to unplug and disconnect from the digital, outside world and stray into nature. Scroll down to check out a few of the guiding services available in Hong Kong.

Shinrin Yoku Hong Kong
Facebook: Shinrin Yoku Hong Kong
Instagram: shinrinyokuhk
Email: [email protected]

Wellness Travellers
Facebook: Wellness Travellers
Instagram: wellness.travellers
Email: [email protected]
Tel: 5375 7909

Tsz Shan Monastery
Facebook: Tsz Shan Monastery
Tel: 2123 8666 

What is the difference between shinrin-yoku and hiking?

Shinrin-yoku enables communication with nature but it is not about giving control to the environment to affect your mood. Participants create connections with nature by slowing themselves down, awakening their senses, and most importantly, opening their hearts up.

Can I have shinrin-yoku in the country parks or gardens instead of the forests?

Of course! It may be challenging to find a suitable forest in Hong Kong. What matters the most, however, is connection with nature, which can also be achieved in many country parks, urban green spaces and gardens. Over time, you will find yourself being able to connect with nature anywhere.

Who can guide me in a shinrin-yoku experience?

Shinrin Yoku Hong Kong, Wellness Travellers and Tsz Shan Monastery are the organizations that provide guiding services for shinrin-yoku in Hong Kong. Scroll up to learn more about them.

 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.