好消息!香港女學生可免費接種HPV疫苗預防子宮頸癌

人類乳突病毒(HPV)是世界上最常見的性傳播疾病,而子宮頸癌是迄今為止最常見的HPV相關疾病。高風險的HPV病毒株是70%子宮頸癌病例的主要原因,這促使一些國家在其免疫計劃中納入預防性HPV疫苗,原因為由於HPV疫苗是“針對子宮頸癌的最具成本效益的公共健康措施”。

在香港,子宮頸癌是影響女性的第七大常見癌症,而政府這個決定確是一個好消息!從2019/20學年開始,政府將為在校女生免費提供HPV疫苗接種,以此作為香港抗癌的公共衛生策略。

香港女小學生將有資格獲得免費的HPV疫苗接種

行政長官最近在《2018年施政報告》中宣布,從小學入學的年幼女學生將會接種HPV疫苗。 “根據「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」和「愛滋病及性病科學委員會」於本年年中的建議,政府將於2019/20學年開始為特定年齡組群女學童提供免費子宮頸癌疫苗接種,作為預防子宮頸癌公共衞生策略。(第184條)。”

由食衞局局長主持的「癌症事務統籌委員會」在《施政報告》(第183條)中引述,借鑒世界衞生組織的建議、國際間做法和香港實際情況,預期在2019年制訂適用於2020至2025年期間預防及治理癌症相關的策略,從而減輕因癌症帶來的社會負擔。

目前,政府資助的癌症篩查已經涵蓋了大腸癌和子宮頸癌。根據林鄭月娥(Carrie Lam)指出,醫療服務是“市民僅次於房屋最關注的民生議題。”

新的香港兒童免疫接種計劃包括HPV疫苗

免費的「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」現時將HPV疫苗納入其計劃中,供符合條件的女小學生接種,計劃於2019/20年度開始。私家診所也有這種疫苗。父母可以根據小朋友的情況來考慮什麼時候接種疫苗。

最新的HPV疫苗Gardasil 9在香港

最新的HPV疫苗Gardasil 9可以抵抗更多的HPV病毒株,據估計可以預防90%的所有子宮頸癌病例。9歲以上的男孩和女孩皆可接種該疫苗。根據世界衛生組織的資料,HPV疫苗可提供5至10年的保護(前提是已接種所有劑量),而目前並沒有證據顯示對抗導致大約70%的所有子宮頸癌病例的HPV病毒株(16, 18)的保護會隨著時間流逝而減弱。

成年女性也可以從香港的HPV疫苗中受益

正如婦產科醫生Dr. Michelle Tsui徐行悅醫生所解釋:“重要的是要注意,性活躍或生育過的女性也可以從疫苗中受益。HPV疫苗可以預防您尚未感染過的HPV病毒株。 因此,亦建議過去曾進行子宮頸抹片檢查發現有異常的女性考慮接種該疫苗,以防止再次感染或感染其他HPV株。”

重要消息!9合1 HPV子宮頸癌疫苗(HPV Gardasil 9)即將回歸香港

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

臨床資訊由Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生於2018年11月20日 核對。文章於2019年6月5日更新。Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生在澳洲昆士蘭大學接受醫學培訓。她目前在香港擔任私人婦產科醫生。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Schoolgirls To Be Vaccinated Against HPV in Hong Kong’s Fight Against Cervical Cancer

The Human papillomavirus (HPV) is the most common sexually transmitted disease in the world and cervical cancer is by far the most common HPV-related disease. High-risk strains of HPV are the predominant cause of 70% of cervical cancer cases which has driven some countries to include the preventative HPV vaccine in their immunization programs citing it to be “the most cost-effective public health measure against cervical cancer”.
 
In Hong Kong, cervical cancer is the seventh most common cancer affecting women and there is big news! Starting from the 2019/20 school year, the government will introduce free HPV vaccination to school girls as a public health strategy in Hong Kong’s fight against cancer.
 
 

Girls starting in primary school will be eligible to receive free HPV vaccination

Recently announced in The Chief Executive’s 2018 Policy Address young school girls starting in primary school will be vaccinated against HPV. “According to the recommendations of the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases and the Scientific Committee on AIDS and Sexually Transmitted Infections in mid-2018, starting from the 2019/20 school year the government will introduce free HPV vaccination to school girls of particular age groups as a public health strategy for prevention of cervical cancer (section 184).”
 
Cited in the Policy Address (section 183), the Cancer Co-ordinating Committee chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health is drawing reference from the World Health Organization’s recommendations, international practices and actual local situations to map out 2019 strategies in regard to cancer prevention and care services between 2020 and 2025, thereby reducing the burden on society imposed by cancer.
 
At present, government-subsidized cancer screening already covers colorectal cancer and cervical cancer. According to Carrie Lam healthcare services are “livelihood issues of the greatest public concern, just after housing.”
 
 

New Hong Kong child immunization program now including the HPV vaccine

The free Hong Kong childhood immunization program now includes the HPV vaccine in their program for eligible female primary students and is set to begin in 2019/20. The vaccine is also available in private clinics. Parents can decide when is a good time to consider vaccination based on their child’s situation.
 
 

The newest HPV vaccine Gardasil 9

The newest HPV vaccine Gardasil 9 protects against more HPV strains and has been estimated to protect against approximately 90% of all cervical cancer cases. It can be administered to both boys and girls over the age of 9. According to the World Health Organization, the HPV vaccination offers protection for 5 to 10 years (provided that all doses have been administered) and there is no evidence that the protection wanes over time against HPV strains (16,18) that cause approximately 70% of all cervical cancers.
 
 

Adult women can also benefit from the HPV vaccine

As explained by obstetrician gynecologist Dr. Michelle Tsui: “it is very important to note that women who are sexually active or who gave birth can also benefit from the vaccine. The HPV vaccine protects against the included strains of HPV as long as you have not already contracted those strains. Therefore, women who had abnormal pap smears in the past are also recommended to consider the vaccine to prevent reinfection or getting infected with other HPV strains.”
 
 
 
Clinical information reviewed by Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生 on 20 November 2018. Doctor Michelle Tsui received her medical training at University of Queensland, Australia. She is currently working as a private obstetrician and gynecologist in Hong Kong.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.