不寧腿症候群指南:成因、症狀及治療方法

最後更新日期 九月 8, 2021.

什麼是不寧腿症候群 | 徵兆及症狀 | 成因及風險因素 | 治療方法

不寧腿症候群 (restless legs syndrome) 通常導致患者難以入睡或維持睡眠。香港的一項研究發現,華裔青少年不寧腿症候群的患病率為2.8%。隨著年紀的增長,這些症狀通常會變得更加頻繁,而且持續更長時間。不寧腿症候群影響著全球4%到29%的成年人,當中歐洲人比亞洲人更常患有這種疾病。

在本文中,你將知道更多關於不寧腿症候群的症狀、成因及治療方法,並了解在香港如何與這疾病共處。

什麼是不寧腿症候群?

因為腿部不舒服的感覺,不寧腿症候群會導致需要移動腿的衝動,而且這種衝動難以抗拒。症狀通常在靜止狀態時出現或惡化,在傍晚或夜間睡眠時特別普遍。不寧腿症候群被視為一種與睡眠相關的活動障礙,大多數患者即使在睡覺時也有特定的腿部活動。

不寧腿症候群的徵兆及症狀

患有不寧腿症候群的人可能會出現以下的身體徵兆或症狀:

  1. 腿部不適,間中伴隨手臂不適。這些感覺很難被定義,但通常被形容為痕癢、疼痛、搏動性抽痛或發麻
  2. 這些不適感會令雙腿產生想要移動的強烈衝動。儘管不太常見,但這種感覺可能會延伸至手臂。這種感覺可能產生在身體的一側或兩側、交替或同時發生。症狀的強度可以從輕微的不舒服到刺激,甚至疼痛。
  3. 保持雙腿活動有助於暫時緩解不適。因此,患有不寧腿症候群的人經常在床上坐着、在寢室中來回走動或移動雙腿。
  4. 特別的症狀發生期是不寧腿症候群的主要病徵。患有不寧腿症候群的人通常在夜間症狀會比較嚴重,早上會出現無症狀的時期,而睡眠不足或惡劣的睡眠質素可能會加劇症狀。

在疾病的早期症狀有時候可能會得以緩解 (remission),自然消失一段時間,然後再次出現,甚至變得更嚴重。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

不寧腿症候群的成因及風險因素

原發性 (Idiopathic) 不寧腿症候群的成因仍在研究中。然而,研究已指出遺傳因素在40歲前出現的症狀有關。另外,大腦中鐵含量的水平較低也可能會導致不寧腿症候群。

不同研究顯示,基底核 (basal ganglia) 的功能障礙可能與不寧腿症候群有關。基底核中的多巴胺負責作出有目的的肌肉行為及活動,因此,基底核路徑的中斷可能是導致腿部不自主活動的成因。由於柏金遜症 (Parkinson’s disease) 患者缺乏多巴胺,他們患有不寧腿症候群的機率亦較高

續發性或病因性 (secondary) 不寧腿症候群可能是由長期的醫療狀況引起,尤其是缺鐵性貧血 (iron deficiency anemia)腎功能衰竭 (kidney failure)。此外,懷孕的最後三個月增加發生不寧腿症候群的機率,症狀通常在分娩後一個月內消失。

鐵 (Iron)

不寧腿症候群的治療方法

不寧腿症候群是一種終身疾病,無法被治愈。然而,一些有效的治療方法可以顯著緩解症狀。

補充鐵質通常可以顯著緩解不寧腿症候群的症狀。

根據病情,專業人員可能會建議不同的治療方法:

輕微至中度

  • 改變生活習慣:培養定期運動的習慣、保持良好的睡眠衛生以及避免使用咖啡因、煙草及酒精都能有助於緩解症狀。
  • 放鬆:腿部按摩或伸展、溫水浴、將加熱墊或冰袋敷上不舒服的部位可以緩解移動肢體的強烈衝動。

嚴重

  • 藥物
  1. 補充鐵質:鐵質補充品通常是同時患有缺鐵性貧血的患者的首選治療方法。
  2. 抗癲癇藥 (Anti-seizure drugs):加巴噴丁 (gabapentin) 與其他抗癲癇藥物可用於治療不寧腿症候群的患者。它們與多巴胺受體激動劑 (dopamine agonists) 一樣有效,但引起其他的症狀惡化更輕。
  3. 多巴胺受體激動劑:這些藥物,例如羅匹尼羅 (ropinirole)、普拉克索 (pramipexole) 及羅替戈汀 (rotigotine),能夠提高化多巴胺的水平及效用,最初用於治療柏金遜症,但也被證明可有效治療中度至嚴重的不寧腿症候群。長期使用多巴胺受體激動劑應格外謹慎,因為持續使用可能會加劇症狀的強度及頻率。
  4. 鴉片類藥物 (Opioids):含有可待因 (codeine)美沙酮 (methadone) 的藥物可以用於治療症狀更嚴重或對其他治療方法的反應不佳的人。
  5. 苯二氮平類藥物 (Benzodiazepines):一種鎮靜劑,可以幫助患者入睡。副作用是白天可能會變得嗜睡。由於患者容易成癮,通常只有當所有其他藥物都反應不佳時才會用作最終治療方法。

在接受藥物治療之前,患者應先諮詢相關領域的專業人員,以了解藥物可能存在的風險及副作用。請注意,上述部分藥物是處方藥物,需要由持有相關專業資格的醫療人員處方。

FAQs

晚上睡覺時腿部不寧的原因是什麼?

研究人員仍在努力找出原發性不寧腿症候群的成因。然而,研究已指出遺傳因素與在40歲前出現的症狀有關。

腿部不寧顯示身體缺乏什麼?

缺乏鐵質是不寧腿症候群的主要原因之一。研究顯示,攝取鐵質補充劑有助於減輕症狀。如果你認為自己可能容易缺乏鐵質,可以諮詢醫生並進行簡單的血液檢查。

醫生會處方什麼藥物給不寧腿症候群患者?

通常,非藥物方法或鐵質補充品可以緩解症狀。當病情較嚴重時,醫生亦會處方抗癲癇藥,如加巴噴丁。如果患者對藥物的反應不佳,醫療專業人員會在必要的情況下處方多巴胺受體刺激劑、鴉片類藥物或苯二氮平類藥物。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Understand Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS): Causes, Symptoms & Treatments

Last updated on September 8, 2021.

What is RLS | Signs & symptoms | Causes & risk factors | Treatments

Restless legs syndrome, or Willis-Ekbom disease, often causes difficulties in initiating or maintaining sleep. A Hong Kong study found that the prevalence of restless legs syndrome symptoms was 2.8% in Chinese adolescents. The symptoms typically become more frequent and last longer with age. Globally, restless legs syndrome is thought to affect between 4 and 29% of adults, but is thought to be less common in Asians than in Europeans.

In this article, you will learn more about the symptoms, causes and treatments of restless legs syndrome and understand how to manage the condition in Hong Kong.

What is Restless Legs Syndrome?

Restless legs syndrome causes an irresistible urge to move the legs, usually due to uncomfortable sensations in the legs. The symptoms typically develop or worsen during periods of inactivity, and are particularly prevalent in the evening or at night. Restless legs syndrome is considered a sleep-related movement disorder and most patients have characteristic leg movements even while sleeping.

Signs & symptoms of Restless Legs Syndrome

People with restless legs syndrome may experience the following signs or symptoms:

  1. Uncomfortable feelings in their legs, and sometimes arms. These sensations are hard to define but are usually described as itching, crawling, aching, throbbing, or pins and needles.
  2. These uncomfortable feelings result in an overwhelming urge to move one’s legs. Though less likely, the sensations may also affect the arms. They can occur on one side of the body or both sides, alternately or concurrently. The symptom intensity can vary from uncomfortable to irritating to painful.
  3. Keeping the legs in motion helps temporarily relieve the discomfort. As a result, people with restless legs syndrome often walk back and forth or move their legs while sitting and resting in bed.
  4. The distinct symptom-occurring period is a hallmark feature of restless legs syndrome. People with restless legs syndrome often experience worsened symptoms at night and a symptom-free period in the morning, whereas deprivation of sleep time and quality may exacerbate the symptoms.

Remissions may sometimes occur during the early stages of the disorder, in which people with restless legs syndrome may experience spontaneous disappearance of the symptoms before they emerge again, even more severely.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Causes and risk factors of Restless Legs Syndrome

The causes of idiopathic or primary restless legs syndrome are still under study. However, the role of genetic factors in the onset of symptoms before age 40 has been confirmed. Evidence also suggests that a low level of iron content in the brain may give rise to restless legs syndrome.

Various studies suggest that dysfunction in the basal ganglia may be associated with restless legs syndrome. Dopamine, stored in the basal ganglia, is required to produce purposeful muscle behavior and movements. Disruptions of the basal ganglia pathways, hence, may be responsible for involuntary leg movements. People with Parkinson’s disease have an increased chance of developing restless legs syndrome due to a deficit in dopamine.

Secondary restless legs syndrome may be caused by certain long-term medical conditions, especially iron deficiency anemia or kidney failure. In addition, the last three months of pregnancy are associated with increased occurrence of restless legs syndrome. The symptoms usually cease within a month after delivery.

Treatments of Restless Legs Syndrome

Restless legs syndrome is a lifelong condition with no cure. However, there are treatments that can effectively relieve the symptoms.

Iron supplementation can often provide significant relief of the symptoms of restless legs syndrome.

Depending on the severity of the syndrome, clinicians may offer different treatment options:

Mild to moderate

  • Lifestyle changes: Regular exercise, maintaining good sleep hygiene, and avoiding caffeine, tobacco and alcohol — you probably already knew this!— are instrumental in relieving the symptoms.
  • Relaxation: Leg massages or stretching, warm baths, using heating pads or ice packs can soothe the intensity of the urge to move the limb.

Having Trouble Sleeping? Tips to Sleep Better and Longer

Severe

  • Medications
  1. Iron supplementation: Iron supplements are usually recommended as the first treatment for people with iron deficiency anemia.
  2. Anti-seizure drugs: Gabapentin and other anti-seizure drugs may be prescribed for people with restless legs syndrome. They are as effective as dopaminergic drugs but cause less augmentation (progressive worsening) of symptoms.
  3. Dopaminergic agonists: These drugs include ropinirole, pramipexole and rotigotine and can improve the levels and effectiveness of the chemical messenger dopamine. While their original use lies in treating Parkinson’s disease, they have also proven effective in treating moderate to severe restless legs syndrome. Chronic use of dopaminergic agents should be administered with care because continuous use may aggravate the symptoms both intensity- and frequency-wise.
  4. Opioids: Drugs containing codeine or methadone can be prescribed to individuals with more severe symptoms who do not respond well to other possible remedies.
  5. Benzodiazepines: A type of sedative that can help individuals with their sleep, with a side effect of having daytime drowsiness. Due to their addictive nature, they are usually prescribed only if all other drugs fail.

Before receiving medications, patients should consult their healthcare provider to understand the possible risks and side effects of the drugs. Please also note that some of the listed medications are not available over-the-counter and require prescription by a qualified medical professional.

FAQs

What causes restless legs at night in bed?

Research is still underway to establish the causes of (idiopathic or primary) restless legs syndrome. However, the role of genetic factors in the onset of symptoms before age 40 has been confirmed.

What is your body lacking when you have restless legs?

Iron deficiency is thought to be one of the leading causes of restless legs syndrome. Studies show that intake of iron supplements can help reduce the symptoms. If you think you might be prone to iron deficiency, please do not hesitate to have a simple blood test and talk to your doctor.

What is prescribed for restless legs syndrome?

Often, non-pharmacological measures or iron supplements can relieve the symptoms. Otherwise, anti-seizure drugs such as gabapentin are prescribed for individuals as the first-line drugs. If the response to these agents is poor, dopaminergic agents, opioids and benzodiazepines may be prescribed as deemed necessary by medical professionals.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.