戒掉拖延症:拯救你的時間

最後更新日期 八月 31, 2021.

什麼是拖延症 | 成因 | 種類 | 拖延症背後的心理學 | 負面影響 | 貼士

「為什麼我知道拖延很糟糕,但還是會繼續拖延?」相信你也曾在某一刻為此懷疑人生,被拖延症困擾你的工作甚至日常生活。

即使你是一個井井有條或充滿幹勁的人,你或許都曾發現自己難以抗拒社交媒體或網絡的誘惑,而推遲本來要做的事情或休息時間。如果你在步步進逼的限期前苦苦掙扎,為自己沒有提早開始而感到內疚或壓力大,或許你並不適合成為一位「拖延藝術家」。

這篇文章不會幫助你精進拖延技巧,但我們會教你踏踏實實地克服拖延的情況,重掌對時間的控制權!

什麼是拖延症?

拖延症泛指不必要地推遲決定或將要做的事拖到最後一分鐘甚至超過期限的做法。這也是一種缺乏自律能力 (self-regulation) 的常見情況,儘管能預見到負面的後果,拖延症患者會不合理地推遲本來要做的事,反而耗費時間在被Facebook或Instagram上,不知不覺被其他無關事物吸引,而挪開手頭上的重要事情。

可想而知,拖延症會損害工作效率或實現任何目標的能力。研究顯示,拖延症與學校成績欠佳工作工資低可能有關。此外,拖延症亦與各種心理狀況有關,例如加重壓力令心理健康轉差

為什麼我們會選擇拖延?

心理學並不會將你的拖延習慣歸咎於單純的毅力不足,拖延的行為背後,更受千絲萬縷的心理因素所影響。

事實上,當面臨快要做的決定或要完成的事情時,自我控制 (self-control) 是推動我們完成事情的決定因素,而自我控制的能力則受到動機 (motivation) 途中遇到的挫折 (discouragement) 所影響。

雖然動機一般來源於期望完成事情後的獎勵,一旦我們在過程中遇到比想像中更多的阻撓,我們便可能中途屈服於挫敗感。通常,我們可能會因為害怕失敗或其他的負面情緒(例如抑鬱焦慮)而放棄努力。

其他類型的阻撓 (hindrance) 可能會降低我們的動機。例如,當預期的獎勵太過遙不可及,可能會降低獎勵的價值,心理學家將之稱為時間折扣 (temporal discounting)。我們很自然地會被短期有回報的活動所吸引,而對一些長期或遙遠的獎勵失去興趣。獎勵時間及我們感知到的獎勵價值 (perceived reward value) 之間的關係呈雙曲關係 (hyperbolic),即是折扣率會隨時間降低。從這個理論可得出,當我們知道越早可得到獎勵,所感知到的獎勵價值就越高。

以上三個因素之間的相互作用會改變我們的自我控制能力和及後的拖延行為。動機會提高獎勵的價值;阻撓因素會降低動機的作用,而挫折會直接降低我們的動機。當動機低於受到挫折所帶來的沮喪時,我們就會拖延事情。

另外,我們的情緒觸發點也會影響我們的感受,甚至行為。然而,如果假設拖延症是唯一的問題,我們可能反而無法理清拖延症及其他潛在情緒問題之間的關係。拖延一開始也許讓人感覺良好,但隨後而來的內疚可能會累積在最初的壓力上,加深問題。

焦慮症:症狀、原因、診斷和治療

拖延症的類型

你是以下哪一種的拖延症患者?研究人員根據不同的行為風格及拖延模式將拖延症患者分為以下幾類:

  • 完美主義者 (Perfectionist):由於過於擔心無法達到高期望,完美主義者會非常努力工作,以致看不到工作的盡頭,而超過了本來的完成期限。一些完美主義者亦會在事前過度準備。
  • 夢想家 (Dreamer):夢想家擅於計劃及描繪藍圖,然而,當他們動手實踐時,就會因為需要關注很多細節的現實而感到沮喪。
  • 反叛者 (Defier):反叛者根據期限或他人的期望作出相反的行為,拒絕讓任何人影響他們的時間安排。
  • 危機製造者 (Crisis-maker):他們享受在壓力下工作的快感及刺激,並故意拖延到最後一秒鐘。
  • 杞人憂天者 (Worrier):由於害怕不確定性或不熟悉的事物,杞人憂天者不願作出決定,因此需要很長時間才能完成事情。
  • 過大負擔者 (Overdoer):他們答應別人所有的要求,因此經常承擔超出自身能力範圍的事,很難同時處理多項事情。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

拖延心理學

心理學家也從不同的角度深入研究拖延症:

差異心理學 (Differential psychology)

在差異心理學中,拖延症被詮釋為具有法則關聯 (nomological network)(類似一般規律的聯繫)的性格特質,與其他性格特質相關。

拖延的頻率增加與負情緒度 (neuroticism)完美主義高度相關;與嚴謹度 (conscientiousness)降低、自尊心低或其他身份相關的因素有關;亦通常與自我設限 (self-handicapping) 有關——透過自行製造限制,再將失敗歸咎這些限制,保護自己的自尊心。

動機及意志心理學 (Motivational and volitional psychology)

意圖與行動之間的差距 (Intention-action gap)是影響動機的關鍵因素。當你有內在的動機自我決定 (self-determined) 的能力時,就不太可能會拖延。此外,提高自我效能 (self-efficacy)掌握新技能的目標相信成敗取決於個人的努力都可以減少拖延的可能性。

從意志的角度,拖延症與自律、自我控制或行動控制 (action-control) 的能力下降有關。

臨床心理學

臨床心理學家以精神分析學 (psychoanalysis)、認知行為主義 (cognitive-behaviorism) 及神經心理學 (neuropsychology) 等理論來解釋拖延症。心理學家認為拖延症與抑鬱、焦慮、壓力或迴避型人格障礙 (avoidant personality disorders) 有關,有些人會將拖延症視為報復或反叛的一種形式。一些情況下,專注力不足/過度活躍症 (ADHD) 也會以拖延症的方式表現,其中包括注意力不集中 (inattentiveness)、有困難完成工作及組織問題 (organizational issues) 等症狀。

請注意,並非所有形式的專注力不足/過度活躍症都與拖延症有關,例如與過度活躍或衝動相關的症狀。

不同情境 (situation)

在上述的理論中,拖延者往往是被關注的對象。然而不同情境及脈絡都非常影響拖延的情況。任務特徵 (task characteristics),例如吸引力、合理性或分配工作的自主性,都與拖延的概率相關。

拖延症的負面影響

不少人常常將懶惰與拖延症相混淆,以為拖延會使人變得懶惰,反之亦然。但事實並非如此。與懶惰的人相比,拖延者通常會有長期拖延的情況,而這對他們的日常生活產生深遠的影響——拖延症作為生活方式的主要部分,甚至演變成一種生活方式。

拖延症的負面影響可能像拖欠賬單或稅單一樣直接明瞭,但當引起高度的壓力或焦慮,拖延的習慣便可能影響心理健康,嚴重者更會導致家人、朋友或同事的不滿,損害社會關係。

是時候擺脫拖延了!

好的開始是成功的一半。不要低估建立良好目標的重要性。盡可能清楚定義你的目標,因為如果你的目標從一開始就是抽象或者不切實際的,你更有可能會拖延。

下一步,將目標分為可行的小步驟,以確保循序漸進的工作流程。設置一些短期的目標可以激勵自己堅持下去,一步一步邁向長期目標。為了保持良好的進度,你可以仔細列出每項目標的完成期限,方便自己更集中完成目標,由始至終主宰並堅持計劃。

了解令你容易分心的原因,例如Instagram,Facebook及Twitter,並遠離它們。特別留意任何拖延的想法或誘惑。靜下來,花幾分鐘完成你的目標,然後觀察這些想法有沒有消失。留意一些警號,例如過短的注意力及突然過剩的能量,並將注意力轉移到你「會」做的事情上,而非你「不能」做的事情上。

每當你按時完成清單上的目標時,不要忘記去讚美及獎勵自己。除了將事項從清單上刪掉,你也可以投入愉快的活動中,簡單地嘉勉自己的努力。

最後,請謹記好好照顧自己的情緒。拖延症背後的根本成因通常源於情緒。退後一步,認清自己在拖延事情時的沮喪,認識及理解你的負面情緒,再昂首繼續前行。這樣簡單的一步,能有效助你減少阻撓因素的強度,靠近你的目標。

拖延症與過少的善待自己 (self-compassion) 之間有非常大的聯繫。練習靜觀可以幫助培養善待自己的能力,防止再次陷入負面情緒的漩渦。

FAQs

為什麼我們會拖延?

情況可能比想像中複雜。拖延的行為可能因為我們害怕完成不了事情。另外,人格特質及情緒狀態也可能會影響拖延的機率。

為什麼停止拖延會比想像中難?

要停止拖延症,我們必須要自律,認識並了解相關的情緒。雖然自律有時可能很困難,但大多數人往往因為無法從拖延期間退一步觀察自己的情緒,而久久無法了解及處理自身的感受。

如何停止拖延症?

事前設立周詳的計劃及可行的目標清單可以幫助我們更清楚自己的方向。你亦應該避開任何干擾。完成目標時,不要忘記表揚及獎勵自己,它能幫助你正確地認識、了解及處理你的情感需求。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Why Do We Procrastinate And How Can We Stop It?

Last updated on September 8, 2021.

What is procrastination | Causes | Types | Psychology | Negative impacts | Tips

“Why do I keep procrastinating even when I know it is bad?” is a question we — especially professional “deadline fighters” — have asked ourselves at some point in our lives.

Even if you are well-organized and diligent, you may have found yourself putting off tasks and idling time away on social media or online shops before. If you struggle with chasing tight deadlines, the guilt and stress of not starting sooner, chances are that you don’t thrive under pressure and “the art of delay” is just not for you.

In this article, you will find out all the answers you need to beat your tendencies to procrastinate, find a way out and get back on track!

What is procrastination?

Procrastination is the practice of unnecessarily delaying decisions or leaving tasks until the last minute or even past the deadline. It is also a form of failure in self-regulation characterized by the unreasonable postponement of tasks despite foreseeable negative consequences. For instance, you probably have experienced the magnetic pull of Facebook and Instagram that took your attention away from the assignment at hand.

Procrastination is detrimental to our productivity and ability in accomplishing any attainable goals. Studies portrayed that procrastination is associated with lower grades at school and lower salaries at work. Besides, it is related to various mental issues, including but not limited to aggravating stress and worsening mental well-being.

Everything You Need To Know About Stress

Why do we procrastinate?

Have you been told that your procrastination habit is simply the consequence of a low level of determination? Truth is, it is not. So, don’t beat yourself up over it.

Indeed, when faced with decisions to make or tasks to finish, our self-control is the most significant determining factor that propels us to get things done, whereas the level of self-control is governed and regulated by both our motivation and discouragement.

While motivation is based on the expectation of reward for an accomplished task, we may experience far more discouragement that makes us prone to giving in to our impulse. Often, we may avoid putting in effort out of fear of failure or other negative emotions, such as depression and anxiety.

Other kinds of hindrance may drag down our level of motivation. For instance, far-flung rewards in the future may discount the value of rewards, also known as temporal discounting. It is natural for us to favor activities with short-term rewards over long-term, far-flung tasks. Note that the relationship between the reward time and perceived reward value is often inconsistent, with the rate of discounting decreasing over time. From this theory, it can be understood that the sooner the return of reward, the higher the perceived reward value.

The interaction between the three factors modifies our self-control and subsequent procrastination behavior. The motivating factors elevate the motivation value; the hindering factors lower the significance of motivating factors; whereas the discouraging factors reduce the motivation value — We procrastinate when our discouraging factors outweigh the motivating factors.

Our emotional triggers affect how we feel and, more importantly, how we behave. However, we may fail to identify the linkage between procrastination and underlying emotional issues, assuming procrastination to be the sole problem. Besides, although it may feel good to procrastinate at first, it can lead to guilt that in turn accumulates on the initial stress.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Types of Procrastination

What kind of procrastinator are you? Researchers have classified different types of procrastinators based on their behavioral styles and patterns of procrastination:

  • Perfectionist: Being overly concerned about failing to meet high expectations, perfectionists may work so hard that there is no “end” to the time-bound task, other than excessive preparation beforehand.
  • Dreamer: Although dreamers are good at planning and are up to the task, they are frustrated by the practical reality that requires attention to detail.
  • Defier: Rebellious to external deadlines and expectations, defiers refuse to let anyone dictate their schedule, either in an overt way or a more passive-aggressive form.
  • Crisis-maker: They enjoy the adrenaline rush from working under pressure and deliberately procrastinate until the last minute.
  • Worrier: Due to fear of changes or unfamiliarity, worriers shy from making decisions and so take forever to complete the task.
  • Overdoer: Overdoers say “yes” to everything. They often take too much upon themselves and have difficulty juggling several duties at once.

Psychology of procrastination

Psychologists have also delved into procrastination from several perspectives:

Differential psychology

In differential psychology, procrastination is interpreted as a personality trait with a nomological network (i.e. connections that resemble general laws, particularly laws that lack logical necessity or theoretical foundation; they just are) and is associated with other traits.

Increased procrastination is associated with higher levels of neuroticism and perfectionism. It may also correlate with lowered conscientiousness, low self-esteem and other identity aspects. Also, procrastination is often associated with self-handicapping, a mechanism to preserve one’s self-esteem by creating obstacles to blame a failure on.

Motivational and volitional psychology

The intention-action gap is the hallmark in this perspective, which causes failure in motivation. Procrastination is less likely to occur when you are intrinsically motivated and self-determined. Also, having an increased self-efficacy, a goal of mastering new skills or a belief that success or failure is the result of personal effort can all reduce the likelihood of procrastination.

From a volitional perspective, procrastination is related to decreased self-regulation, self-control and action-control.

Clinical psychology

From a clinical psychology perspective, psychologists draw on different theories in psychoanalysis, cognitive behaviorism and neuropsychology to explain procrastination. Psychologists associate procrastination with depression, anxiety, stress or avoidant personality disorders. Some may view procrastination as a form of revenge or rebellion. Attentional-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is also expressed in the form of procrastination, among other symptoms such as inattentiveness, difficulty in completing work and organizational issues.

Note that not all forms of ADHD are equally related to procrastination. For instance, symptoms of ADHD associated with hyperactivity or impulsivity, are less likely to correlate with procrastination.

The Complete Guide to ADHD in Hong Kong

Situation

In the abovementioned perspectives, a procrastinator is often the subject to consider. However, situational philosophy places emphasis on the situation and the context of procrastination. Task characteristics, such as task attractiveness, plausibility and autonomy of the assignment, are positively associated with the probability of procrastination.

Negative impacts of procrastination

Laziness is often confused with procrastination. Why? We feel lazy when we procrastinate but they are not the same. Compared to people being lazy, procrastinators often experience more profound impacts on their daily life when the situations become chronic. Procrastination will become a primary component of their lifestyle, or even evolve into their lifestyle.

The adverse effects of procrastination may be as simple as the accumulation of delinquent bills and tax returns, but it could also undermine our well-being by inducing high levels of stress and anxiety. In severe cases, procrastination may hurt social relationships when it leads to resentful sentiments in family, friends or colleagues.

Time to get rid of procrastination!

Well-begun is half-done. Do not underestimate the significance of establishing a good goal. You should define your goals as clearly as possible, since you are more likely to procrastinate if your goals are abstract or unrealistic.

Next, break down the items on the list into small and feasible steps to ensure a progressive workflow. Proximal goal-setting can motivate people to persist and achieve distal goals. To stay on track, a to-do list with due dates for each task may come in handy. The key is to hold yourself accountable and stick to your plans.

Understand your biggest distraction – be it Instagram, Facebook or Twitter – and stay away from it. Pay extra attention to any thoughts or temptation to procrastinate. Sit yourself down and spend a few minutes on your task, then observe if the thoughts go away. Recognize possible warning signs, such as short attention span and short-lived energy bursts. Shifting your focus to what you “will” do instead of what you “cannot” do is vital to complete the tasks.

Whenever you finish an item on your list on time, don’t forget to praise yourself and reward yourself (other than ticking it off the list!) by engaging in enjoyable activities.

Last but not least, don’t forget to take care of your emotions. The underlying reason behind our tendency to procrastinate is often our emotions. Step back from the frustration you faced when you delay tasks. Acknowledge your negative feelings, and then move forward. The simple acknowledgement of unhappiness can reduce the intensity of the discouraging factors.

Note that there is a strong association between procrastination and low levels of self-compassion. Mindfulness can help with the cultivation of self-compassion and prevent you from being trapped in the whirlpool of negative emotions.

FAQs

Why do we procrastinate?

The situation can be more complex than we think. People often procrastinate because they have a fear of failing tasks. Personality traits and emotional state may also affect the probability of procrastination.

Why is it so hard to stop procrastinating?

To stop procrastinating, we have to be self-disciplined and identify and acknowledge the relevant emotions. While self-discipline may be difficult at times, most people often fail to acknowledge and address their feelings because they cannot step back from their frustration during procrastination.

How do you kill procrastination?

Establishing a well-planned and achievable to-do list can help loads, whereas you should resist any possible distractions. Don’t forget to praise and reward yourself when you accomplish a goal. It is instrumental in acknowledging and addressing your emotional needs properly.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.