懷孕期間做運動?揭穿產前運動的迷思

您以為懷孕期間是偷懶的完美藉口嗎?再仔細想清楚吧(抱歉女士們!):美國婦產科醫學會建議,只要沒有禁忌症,準媽媽們從受孕至分娩期間都要進行鍛煉。為什麼懷孕期間做運動如此重要呢?

首先,運動會釋放安多酚,安多酚會令您心情變靚。這是一個很重要的運動益處,因為準媽媽們患抑鬱症和焦慮症的風險偏高。除了改善情緒,運動還有助於預防懷孕體重增加。運動還可以幫助減少分娩過程中發生併發症的可能性。定期運動的準媽媽順產時會比較順利,產後恢復亦會比較快,同時可以降低產下過重嬰兒(出生時體重超過9磅)的風險。定期運動也被證明可以改善睡眠質素(但盡量不要在太夜時候做運動)。最後,適當的運動搭配充足的休息和水分吸收可以預防便秘、腿腫脹和腰酸背痛、以及其他伴隨懷孕期的症狀。

儘管運動能帶來這些好處,您可能仍會想知道什麼運動應該做、什麼運動不應該做,以及經常出現變化的身體會對不同運動有什麼不同反應。我們請了有兩位小朋友的婦產科醫生Dr. Zara Chan陳駱靈岫醫生來揭穿關於產前運動的迷思:

#1 – 在懷孕期間進行腹部鍛煉並不安全。

這只是迷思。準媽媽可以並應該做適當的腹部增強運動,這可以幫助減輕腰酸。腹部運動不會對未出生的嬰兒造成危險,但過度舉重和仰臥起坐等運動可能會增加患上腹直肌分離的風險(當腹直肌間的韌帶越來越鬆時)。這就是為什麼一些母親在生育後,儘管身體其他部分都恢復了,而腹部卻仍無法變回平坦的主要原因。

#2 – 呼吸急促意味著鍛煉過度。

這是事實。通常,您在懷孕期間做運動時應該能夠同時說話。女性在受孕前定期做重訓運動的話可以在懷孕時繼續保持自己平常的運動水平,但建議您先諮詢醫生。而不定期運動的女性在懷孕期間應定期做運動、並從溫和的運動開始。

#3 – 懷孕會使您更容易遭受一些運動傷害。

這是事實。由於懷孕期間您的身體會有一種稱為鬆弛素(relaxin) 的荷爾蒙,您的韌帶會變得更柔軟、更放鬆。您的大肚子更容易遭受直接接觸傷害,並令您的平衡力減低。因此應避免進行動力伸展運動和帶氧踏板操等類型的運動。也應避免進行接觸性運動和容易有跌倒風險的運動。

#4 – 我沒有運動的習慣,所以現在不是開始的時候

這只是迷思。懷孕期間是養成做運動的習慣的好時機!從每日15分鐘開始,然後慢慢增加時間。散步、游水和孕婦瑜伽或普拉提都是上手的好方法。

底線是:產前運動(仍然)是一件好事,所以即管去做運動吧!亦請與您的醫生討論應否做您比較擔心的特定運動或動作。請記住:雖然許多女士會在懷孕頭三個月感到自己很容易疲勞,但是精力水平通常會在之後三個月恢復,所以即管跟好友們跳舞(也許在大家的家中進行)、在您最喜歡的健身房裡參加產前班、或者只是去散個步,探索在香港鮮為人知的美好事物。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

陳駱靈岫醫生 Dr. Zara Chan是領康醫療母嬰診所的婦產科專家。她是加拿大人,並在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了醫學培訓。她獲得了香港婦產科學院的專業資格,並且是英國皇家婦產科學院的成員。她曾是香港中文大學的名譽講師,現任助產士及母嬰護理服務人員協會主席。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Pre-natal Fitness Myths Debunked

Thought your pregnancy was the perfect excuse for becoming a couch potato? Think again (sorry ladies!): the American College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists recommends that expectant mothers exercise from conception through to delivery so long as there is no obstetric contraindication. So why is exercise so good for you when you’re expecting?

 

Well for starters, exercise causes the release of endorphins, which puts you in a good mood, an important benefit given that expecting mothers are at higher risk of depression and anxiety. Besides improving your mood, exercise also helps to manage that pesky maternity weight gain. It can also help to reduce the likelihood of complications during delivery. Expectant mothers who exercise regularly are more likely to have vaginal deliveries, to recover faster afterwards, and less likely to deliver overweight babies (over nine pounds at birth). And, regular exercise has also been shown to help improve sleep quality (as long as you don’t exercise too late in the day). Lastly, appropriate exercise along with adequate rest and hydration can also reduce constipation, leg swelling and backaches, all possible not-so-great side effects that come with being pregnant.

 

Despite all this good stuff re: exercise, you might still wonder what specifically you should or shouldn’t be doing, or how your changing body might react in unexpected ways. We asked obstetrician Dr. Zara Chan, who recently had a baby of her own, to debunk some myths about exercising while expecting:

 

# 1 – It’s not safe to do abdominal exercises during pregnancy.

Myth. Expectant mothers can and should do appropriate abdominal strengthening exercises, which can help to reduce backaches. Abdominal exercises don’t pose a risk to the unborn baby, but excessive weight lifting and exercises like crunches can increase your risk of diastasis recti (when the ligament between the ab muscles stretches almost irreversibly). This is a big reason some mothers can’t regain their flat tummies after pregnancy despite toning the rest of their body.

 

#  2 – Shortness of breath means that I am exercising too hard.

Fact. As a general rule, you should be able to hold a conversation whilst exercising during pregnancy. Women who had a regular, high impact exercise routine prior to conception may be able to keep up their usual exercise level, but it is advised to check with your doctor first. Women who don’t exercise regularly should start a gentle routine during pregnancy.

 

# 3 – Pregnancy can make you more prone to certain sports injuries.

Fact. Your ligaments are softer and more relaxed during pregnancy due to a hormone called relaxin. Your bigger belly is more prone to direct contact injury and makes balance tricky. Exercises such as ballistic stretching and aerobic step classes should be avoided. Contact sports and sports with high risk of falls should also be avoided.

 

# 4  – I have never exercised before so now is NOT the time to start

Myth. Pregnancy is a great time to develop an exercise routine! Start gently with 15 minutes a day and work your way up from there. Walking, swimming, and pregnancy appropriate Yoga or Pilates are great ways to start.

 

The bottom line is this: exercise is (still) a good thing, so get out there and have fun! Do talk to your doctors about any specific sports or movements you might be concerned about. And remember: while many women will find they are easily fatigued in the first trimester, energy levels usually pick up by the second trimester, so go dancing with the girls (maybe in flats), join a pre-natal class at your favorite gym, or simply go for a long walk and discover some of the hidden gems Hong Kong has to offer.
Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫 is a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynecology, practicing at OT&P Healthcare’s Woman and Child Clinic in Central. Dr. Chan is Canadian and completed her medical training at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Hong Kong. She received her specialist qualification from the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists and is a member of the UK Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. She was an honorary lecturer at The Chinese University of Hong Kong and is currently the president of the Midwives and Maternal-Child Caregivers Association.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.