【PTSD】創傷後遺症的成因、症狀及治療方法

最後更新日期 六月 29, 2021.

什麼是PTSD | 什麼是創傷性事件 | 成因及風險因素 | 症狀 | 診斷 | 治療方法

自然災害、戰爭、被虐待的經歷和意外等創傷性事件可能會造成難以被他人理解的心理創傷。長時間無法應對這些由創傷性事件引起的負面情緒可能會引致創傷後壓力症候群,又稱PTSD和創傷後遺症。創傷後遺症是一種嚴重的精神疾病,備受全球心理健康專家關注。2020年一項研究估算,經過2019年的社會事件,香港的PTSD發病率上升至12.8%

以下我們將會帶你了解更多有關創傷後遺症的成因、症狀、診斷方法等。

什麼是PTSD?

創傷後壓力症候群的英文全稱為「Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder」,簡稱PTSD。根據美國精神醫學學會(American Psychiatric Association),PTSD是一種在經歷過創傷性事件(Traumtic Event)後可能會引發的精神疾病。創傷性事件的嚴重程度以及個人對事件的主觀體驗亦會影響患上PTSD的機會。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

 

什麼是創傷性事件?

一般而言,創傷性事件通常涉及一些會導致負面情緒、對生命有威脅的事件。創傷後遺症患者即使不一定親身經歷這些事件,只身為目擊者也潛在患上PTSD的可能。

下列是一些可能會引致PTSD的創傷性事件:

  • 自然災害(例如地震、海嘯)
  • 嚴重的意外
  • 恐怖襲擊 
  • 性暴力或強姦 
  • 重傷
  • 生理及心理虐待
  • 絕症或嚴重疾病(例如心臟病發作、癌症)
  • 喪親或喪偶
  • 戰爭
  • 交通意外
  • 槍支威脅
  • 難民創傷
Advertisements

PTSD的成因及風險因素

並非所有人在經歷創傷性事件後都會患上創傷後遺症。其實PTSD的一些成因以及風險因素包括:

社會支持

缺乏社會支持(Social Support)的人士會更容易患上PTSD。這是因為社會支持有助於修復心理創傷,讓人在經歷創傷性事件過後能夠快速擺脫情緒困擾,平復心情。

負面應對策略

應對策略(Coping Strategies)指不同人在處理負面情緒時選採取的行動和思維。傾向使用負面應對策略(例如自我隔離、避免接收與該事件有關的資訊、自責和反覆沉思)的人有更高風險患上PTSD。

生理因素的影響

皮質醇(Cortisol)是一種有助應對壓力的荷爾蒙,可以停止與壓力水平相關的神經系統活動。皮質醇水平較低的人士會有更高機會患上PTSD。

情緒和焦慮症的病史

精神疾病的病史可能會增加患上PTSD的風險。以往的研究顯示PTSD、抑鬱症和焦慮症等疾病都與壓力有着密不可分的關係。

潛在的神經質人格

五大人格特質(Big Five Personality Traits)中,「神經質(Neuroticism)」傾向較高的人士較一般人更容易患上PTSD。這是因為神經質的人格特質會降低克服創傷性事件的機會。另外亦有研究指出PTSD患者通常有著較高的神經質傾向。

創傷性事件的過往經歷

曾經歷創傷性事件的人士有著更高風險患上PTSD,因為過去的經歷亦有可能會觸發 PTSD。

【強迫症】什麼是強迫症?一次了解強迫症的成因、症狀及治療方法

PTSD的症狀

PTSD的患者可能出現不同的症狀。根據精神疾病診斷和統計手冊第五版(DSM-5),PTSD的主要病徵包括:

侵入性想法

  • 反覆體驗創傷性事件。例如發惡夢和在腦海中出現與該創傷性事件有關的影像及閃回(Flashback)。

迴避行為

  • 經常避免接觸與該創傷性事件有關的事物、對話及物件。

負面認知及情緒

  • 體驗與他人疏離的感覺、經歷負面情緒如羞恥或憤怒。對創傷性事件的相關事物抱持負面的認知及情緒。

情緒反應強烈

  • 極度關注與創傷性事件相關的信息。
  • 對與創傷事件相關的事物反應激動。

如何診斷PTSD?

如果你曾經歷過創傷性事件並出現上述情況,你可能需要考慮進行針對PTSD的診斷。在尋求專業診斷前,你可以先透過簡短的心理評估進行初步的自我診斷。請僅記簡短的心理評估結果只供參考,不宜過度依賴。

若反覆使用心理評估進行初步診斷後,仍然認為自己可能患有PTSD,應儘快尋求精神科醫生或心理學家等專業人士的幫助以作出更專業、準確的診斷。

以下是一些常用於診斷PTSD的量表: 

Advertisements

如何治療PTSD?

PTSD心理治療的主要目的是為患者提供情感支持,鼓勵患者回憶起與該事件有關的記憶,讓患者能夠正確地處理因創傷事件而起的壓力、焦慮等負面情緒。

藥物治療

藥物治療對於治療PTSD的症狀有顯著的功效,尤其是當患者同時出現抑鬱症相關症狀。另外,短期效果的抗焦慮藥亦有助於降低興奮感和失眠的頻率,從而幫助患者克服引致PTSD的創傷經歷。 

延遲暴露療法

延遲暴露療法需要PTSD患者觀看與創傷性事件相關的影片,讓患者與和創傷性事件有關的道具接觸。除此之外,治療師亦會直接與患者討論和該事件有關的話題,透過影片、話題及道具指導患者在回憶起事件時保持冷靜。PTSD患者能夠從治療中學習如何應對創傷性事件的實用技巧,例如呼吸技巧等。

認知行為治療

認知行為治療師主要幫助PTSD患者認識他們獨有的思維過程(Thought Process)並教導他們如何透過改變既定的想法,減少焦慮的負面情緒。以抱有非理性想法的PTSD患者為例,認知行為治療師或會鼓勵PTSD患者描述該創傷性事件,從中找出他們不合理的思維。

【認知行為治療】帶你認識CBT如何治療心理疾病

眼動脫敏再處理療法

眼動脫敏再處理療法(簡稱EMDR )首先會要求PTSD患者在腦海中描繪出創傷性事件的場景,隨後治療師會讓患者回憶一些正面、愉快的事件,並在治療過程中,在患者眼前來回移動手指。這種治療方法旨在讓患者的正面想法取代消極想法。   

在決定治療方法前可留意,認知行為治療更適合病情較輕的患者,而延遲暴露療法則更適合病情較嚴重的患者。上述的心理治療形式旨在鼓勵患者走出創傷性事件的陰影,然而效果一般取決於患者能否堅持完成整個療程。如有需要,請諮詢專業人士意見。

FAQs

創傷後遺症會改變一個人的性格嗎?

PTSD並不會直接導致人格改變,但是可能會嚴重阻礙患者的社交及個人生活質素。一般而言,創傷性的經歷可能會使人變得比平時更加焦慮,甚至迴避與事件相關的事物或話題。

創傷後遺症會自動消失嗎?

若患者成功克服創傷性事件,PTSD的症狀就會消失。縱使一些患者可能能在6個月內完全康復,大部分的患者都需要長時間的治療才能克服陰影。因此,倘若未能提供適當的治療,可能會增加患上慢性PTSD的風險。適時的治療對於PTSD患者至關重要。

PTSD患者會有哪些生理的症狀?

PTSD患者的生理症狀一般可於外表上觀察到,包括:出汗、心率加快及手震。

緊急求助

如有需要,請盡快聯繫精神及心理健康範疇的專業人士尋求協助。 以下是一些提供24小時情緒支持的熱線:  

24小時緊急求助熱線

撒瑪利亞會 
電話:2896 0000 
語言:英語、廣東話、普通話  

生命熱線 
電話:2382 0000 
語言:廣東話

香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會 
電話:2389 2222 
語言:廣東話

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Complete Guide To PTSD: Causes, Symptoms, And Treatments

Last updated on June 8, 2021.

What is PTSD | Traumatic Events | Risk Factors | Symptoms | Diagnosis | Treatment Options | Immediate Help

People who have been through traumatic events like natural disasters, wars, abuse and accidents are likely left with distress and devastation that may be hard for outsiders to understand. Failure in coping with such feelings for a prolonged period of time can lead to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). PTSD is a serious mental disorder raising as much concern in the local scene as it does globally, as a recent research estimated the prevalence of suspected PTSD in Hong Kong to be 12.8% following the social unrest in 2019. 

Learn more about the causes, symptoms and diagnosis of PTSD and get tips for finding a trauma-focused therapist in Hong Kong in this article. 

What is PTSD?

According to the American Psychiatric Association (APA), post-traumatic stress disorder, commonly referred to as PTSD, refers to a psychiatric disorder in people that some people experience following  a traumatic event in the past. The severity of the traumatic event and the person’s subjective experiences both play important roles in determining whether a person will develop PTSD or not. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What are traumatic events?

Traumatic events usually involve life threats that lead to negative emotional responses. Patients with PTSD do not necessarily have to be involved in the traumatic experience. Witnesses of the traumatic event are also at risk of developing PTSD. 

The following is a list of traumatic events which may cause PTSD:

  • Natural disaster (e.g., earthquake, tsunami)
  • Serious accident 
  • Terrorist attack
  • Sexual violence or rape
  • Serious injury
  • Physical or emotional abuse 
  • Terminal illness or life-changing illness (e.g., heart attack, cancer)
  • Loss of life
  • War or combat
  • Traffic accident 
  • Firearm threat
  • Refugee trauma 
Advertisements

What are the risk factors of developing PTSD?

Not every individual will develop PTSD after experiencing a traumatic event. A number of factors will affect the chance of a person developing PTSD: 

Social support

Individuals with less social support are more likely to develop PTSD because social support can foster recovery, as well as help patients progress in moving on from the memories of the traumatic event.

Certain coping strategies

Coping strategies are actions or thought processes people use to deal with stressful and unpleasant situations. People who rely on negative coping strategies, namely self-isolation, avoidance of reminders of the traumatic situation, self-blame and rumination, will have a higher chance of developing PTSD. 

Biological influences

People who have low resting cortisol, a hormone that helps the body to respond to stress, are more likely to develop PTSD because cortisol can help shut down the sympathetic nervous system activity, which is highly related to stress levels. 

History of mood and anxiety disorder

Individuals previously diagnosed with mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety are more likely to develop PTSD. Previous research has found that PTSD, depression and anxiety disorders are all stress-related disorders. 

Underlying neurotic personality

Neurotic individuals are more likely to develop PTSD because neurotic personality lowers the chance of an individual overcoming traumatic experiences. Other research also suggested that PTSD patients generally score higher in neuroticism. 

Previous history of trauma

Individuals with a previous history of trauma increase the chance of suffering from PTSD. This is because traumatic experiences in the past trigger the onset of PTSD. 

Understanding OCD And How To Cope With It

What are the symptoms of PTSD?

Patients with PTSD suffer from a wide range of symptoms. According to The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), major symptoms of PTSD include:

Intrusion

  • Recurrently experience the traumatic event as nightmares, images, reminders of the trauma and flashbacks. 

Avoidance

  • Persistently avoid the stimuli related to the traumatic event. 

Negative cognitions and mood

  • Experience feelings of detachment, negative emotions like shame or anger, negative alterations in cognition and emotion related to the trauma and distorted blame. 

Arousal and reactivity

  • Overtly focus on information associated with the traumatic event.
  • Excessive response (high arousal and reactivity) to stimuli related to the traumatic event.

Diagnosis of PTSD

If you have encountered a traumatic event in the past and experienced the above symptoms, you may consider getting a diagnosis for PTSD. A brief screening instrument for PTSD may be considered for those who have experienced a traumatic event. However, the results of self-report scales should not be relied entirely to confirm PTSD as this procedure only provides a brief and initial diagnosis. Patients suspected to have PTSD should seek help from psychiatrists or psychologists for a professional diagnosis.  

Below are several examples of self-report scales commonly used for PTSD:

Advertisements

Treatment options for PTSD

The primary goal of psychotherapy for PTSD is to provide emotional support, encourage recall of the traumatic events to integrate them into the patient’ s experience and to facilitate working through the associated emotions. They would thus benefit PTSD patients by helping them reduce stress and anxiety related to the trauma. 

Medications

Medications play an essential role in treating PTSD, especially if the PTSD leads to a significant co-existing depressive disorder. Short-term anxiolytics would also help with decreasing the level of arousal and insomnia, helping PTSD patients to overcome the traumatic experience. 

Prolonged exposure therapy 

Prolonged exposure therapy requires PTSD patients to be exposed to stimuli associated with the trauma through videotapes or conversations about the traumatic event. The role of therapists is to educate patients to keep calm when recalling the event. As a result, patients will obtain practical skills (e.g., breathing techniques) to cope with the trauma. 

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT)

CBT therapists will focus on helping PTSD patients to identify their thought processes and ultimately to reduce their anxious feelings by changing their cognitions. For example, therapists may invite patients to describe the event verbally and to identify their irrational thoughts. 

How Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) Can Treat Mental Illnesses

Eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR) 

EMDR first requires the PTSD patient to picture the scene of the traumatic event. After that, therapists will invite the patient to recall a positive event. During the treatment, the therapist will also move his or her finger back and forth in front of the eyes of the patients. This intervention approach aims to replace negative thoughts with positive ones.

 

Cognitive-behavioral therapies are more appropriate for PTSD patients with less severe conditions, while prolonged exposure therapies and EMDR are more suitable for PTSD patients with more severe conditions. Trauma-focused therapies encourage patients to move on from the traumatic event. The effectiveness of trauma-focused therapies would only be optimal if patients are committed to the intervention. PTSD patients may consult their therapist before deciding the best treatment option. 

FAQs

Does PTSD change your personality?

PTSD does not directly lead to personality change but may impact patients  that may severely obstruct their social and personal life. For instance, people after experiencing a traumatic event may become even more anxious and avoidant.

Does PTSD go away?

PTSD can go away once the patient has overcome the trauma. While some patients may recover within six months, most patients require more time to get better. PTSD left untreated may even lead to a risk of developing chronic PTSD. Appropriate treatment is essential to prevent serious consequences of PTSD.

What physical symptoms do PTSD patients have?

Patients with PTSD experience physical symptoms which may affect their physical appearance. These symptoms might include sweating, increased heart rate and shaking hands.

What if I develop suicidal thoughts?

In case of need for immediate support, especially those who have developed suicidal ideation, please do not hesitate to reach out for professional help. Below is a list of hotlines with 24-hour support.

Suicide prevention hotlines

The Samaritans
Hotline: 2896 0000
Available language: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

Suicide Prevention
Hotline: 2382 0000
Available language: Cantonese 

The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong
Hotline: 2389 2222
Available language: Cantonese

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.