【產後護理】全方位資訊

最後更新日期 八月 27, 2021.

產後不適治療方法 | 產後護理 | 其他產後疼痛 | 管理產後健康 | 產後外表變化 | 產後抑鬱與心理健康 | 產後性健康變化 | 產後身體健康變化

剛誕下小朋友新手媽媽,我們先恭喜您!這是個不可思議的壯舉。從開始懷孕至產後,身體各部位出現變化是絕對正常的。在短期內(產後6週),隨著身體開始恢復到懷孕前的狀態,會有很多短期的身體疼痛需要處理。產後健康通常是以9個月時間產生改變,再用9個月的時間恢復。產後的最初六個星期的康復期過後,您對您的身體有了以前的熟悉感,但卻又跟以前不太一樣,其中一些因懷孕帶來的改變可能會停留更長久。

Healthy Matters與婦產科專家韓慶璋醫生合作,為您帶來可靠、實用的【產後護理】全方位資訊

一般產後不適症狀之應付方法

  • 很多女性會在分娩後數小時內發冷和發抖,但狀況應該在幾分鐘或幾小時內消失。披上溫暖的毯子會讓您舒適點。
  • 隨著子宮縮小到懷孕前的大小,您的肚子在產後首6至8個星期會隆起。在香港,一些新媽媽產後會選擇特殊治療以幫助增加身體血液循環,並盡量收細肚腩及加快減輕體重的速度。當得到婦產科醫生的批准,這些治療便可以在生育後盡快完成。紮肚abdominal binding)、古法紮肚Jamu massage和淋巴引流按摩manual lymph draining等治療是可以讓自己休息一下並改善血液循環的好方法。
  • 惡露Lochia是一種陰道分泌物,由血液、黏液和組織組成,在自然分娩或剖腹分娩後皆會出現。分娩後頭3日的惡露會是深紅色,可能含少量血塊。分娩後的第4日至第10日,顏色變得更水潤,帶粉紅色或棕褐色。大約2星期後,惡露會呈乳白色或淡黃色,並可持續長達2個月。在產後頭幾週最好先預備好產婦護墊(可在超市和藥房買到)。
  • 很多新媽媽的流汗量會增加,特別是在晚上,因為她們的荷爾蒙在生育後減少。這種流汗會令您產後幾週內流失大量體內水分,因此確保攝取足夠的水分很重要。睡在毛巾上面也可以讓您更加舒適。

產後護理:會陰部、產後常見問題及應付方法

  • 如果您自然分娩,會陰部會因會陰伸展而出現痛楚,並可能在分娩時撕裂。會陰撕裂或進行會陰切開術後,您的痛楚可能會長達2星期。將包裹在毛巾中的冰袋和裝有冷蒸餾水的噴霧瓶帶到醫院,在排尿後用作舒緩會陰部不適、減輕痛楚。當您回到家時,如果仍然感到疼痛,請用浴鹽泡浴以作出舒緩並保持會陰清潔。
  • 由於會陰撕裂、會陰切開術、自然分娩或剖腹分娩過程中會使用導管,您可能頭幾日在排尿方面會有困難,也可能是產後創傷引致的正常心理反感。在生育後的頭幾日,保持體內水分充足很重要,因為產後身體會流失很多水分。
  • 與我們前一點相反,您可能亦會經歷尿失禁,尤其是當您咳嗽大笑或打噴嚏時,失禁的情況可能更嚴重。當您不再感到不適時,請立即開始做骨盆運動(Kegel exercises)來加強骨盆底以改善問題。
  • 便秘亦是常見的產後問題。正如排尿一樣,很多女性產後初次排便都很緊張。吸收流質性飲品和含大量纖維的食物(水果和蔬菜乾果纖維補充品)能使排便過程更加順利。

其他產後疼痛

  • 為了恢復原本子宮大小,您的子宮將會在產後6星期內收縮。在母乳喂哺期間,疼痛可能會更明顯。
  • 如果您是剖腹分娩,您的切口周圍會感到酸痛,可能需要服用藥物1至2星期。經醫療團隊批准後,您有機會在手術後的24小時內便能夠走動——等候時間越長,就會越困難。很多醫院和藥房都提供剖腹分娩的腹帶和腰帶,對於保護切口區域以及在四處走動時支撐背部非常有幫助。
  • 您懷孕期間身體姿勢的變化、分娩時帶來的影響以及為寶寶作日常護理都可能導致背痛。為了舒緩背痛,在彎腰抱起您的寶寶時一定要保護自己的背部,同時考慮用母乳餵哺枕頭,以避免長時間彎腰駝背進行餵哺。腹帶和腰帶可以幫助支撐背部,但不會幫您收肚腩!

產後乳房胸部的狀況

  • 乳房充血是乳房腫脹的其中一個原因,請記得帶1至2個冰袋到醫院!進行母乳餵哺或泵奶似乎是「治療」充血的唯一方法,但其實亦有其他更多措施可以減輕不適感:進行冷暖輕柔的按摩和敷冷白菜葉。無論您是否母乳餵哺,您都可以預期產後頭幾日會出現乳房充血。乳房會變暖變硬和變重。乳房充血由以下幾個因素導致:
    • 產後2至5日人奶出現;
    • 如果錯過1至2次的餵哺;或
    • 如果您突然停止母乳餵哺。
  • 如果您正進行母乳餵哺,可能會突然出現一些母乳流出。很多母嬰用品店內都有提供一次性或可洗的胸墊,能幫助您避免任何令人尷尬的衣物污漬。

母乳餵哺對很多新媽媽而言是一個重大挑戰,慶幸的是坊間有很多私人助產士和哺乳顧問可以提供協助。大多數私家醫院的醫護人員團隊都有一名接受過泌乳培訓的助產士,亦有私人泌乳顧問提供上門服務。在公立醫療部門中,伊利沙伯醫院是本港第一間擁有專職泌乳專家的醫院。如果您打算母乳餵哺,請記得在任何一次產前檢查時查詢有關母乳喂哺的資訊。

產後抑鬱與心理健康

帶新生嬰兒回家是家庭的一件大事。很多新媽媽會對幸福的新生活充滿期許,但當真正開展麻煩的保姆生活,面對日常骯髒的尿片時,她們可能會情緒低落,感到不知所措和精疲力盡。照顧嬰兒是全職工作(而且是24小時全職),並沒有「停止」的選項。嬰兒身上亦不會附帶如何照顧嬰兒的指南,因此新手母親會常常感到無助和孤獨。照顧嬰兒所需的任務很直接,但十分費神,可能會令完全精疲力竭的新媽媽懷疑自己的能力。

新媽媽優先考慮自己的心理健康很重要。因此,請媽媽自己或與嬰兒一起尋求支持和協助:

  • 讓您信任的家人/伴侶/工人/其他人在您補眠時看顧著嬰兒。理想情況下,讓嬰兒離開您身旁,這樣您就可以安心入睡——哪怕只是半小時。
  • 將您的寶寶交予信任的人照顧一會兒,然後做您懷孕前會做的事情,對自己好一點,例如鍛練身體或與朋友見面。
  • 感到絕望的時候,將嬰兒放在安全的地方(嬰兒床、固定在嬰兒車等),稍作離開到另一間房進行深呼吸。短短幾分鐘的休息或已經能夠讓您平復情緒。
  • 與在差不多時期分娩的女性聯繫,這可以確保您保持理智及習慣長期照顧嬰兒。想像一下,當您凌晨3點起床照顧嬰兒時,能與同伴WhatsApp互相傾吐,孤單與無助的感覺自然能大大減低。現在您每星期7日、每日24小時無間斷地照顧孩子,如果有身同感受的朋友可以跟您多討論育嬰等話題,便可調劑您的社交生活。

產後第3至5日,隨著懷孕後荷爾蒙開始減少,新媽媽通常會感到焦慮、想哭和沮喪。

我們會在下文詳細討論產後心理健康,同時,如果您對產後心理健康有任何疑問或憂慮,請諮詢您的婦產科醫生、全科醫生、香港家庭健康服務NHS Choices

管理產後健康 – 做好準備是關鍵

經過9個月懷孕期,您的身體在產後首6個星期會出現很多變化。了解您的身體並為變化做好準備有助於舒緩很多產後症狀。在生活上,每天本來已經有很多事情需要苦惱,盡可能控制那些症狀才能走更遠的路。

外表 – 產後長期變化

  • 懷孕期間增加的額外體重可能需要很長時間才能消失。減去嬰兒的體重、羊水的重量、懷孕時血漿量和水重的增加後,許多女性繼續保有懷孕期間增加的體重。產後的體重與懷孕期間增加的體重有關。與快速減肥相比,通過長期運動,以每週減輕0.5–1公斤為目標更具持續性和實際性。嘗試養成健康的習慣,例如均衡飲食、多吃水果和蔬菜以及鍛煉身體——簡單如推著BB車帶小朋友及走動也會有幫助。讓這些成為您一生的習慣,為小朋友樹立榜樣。
  • 說到體重增加,懷孕期間增加的10–15公斤經常會使足弓變平,並導致足部增大。解決方法?買新鞋!
  • 產後荷爾蒙恢復正常後,懷孕期間飽滿發亮的頭髮會開始脫落,在產後3–4個月左右達到高峰。剛開始可能會讓您困惑,但一年之內應該會恢復正常。
  • 在懷孕和母乳喂哺期間(無論您是否真的進行了母乳喂哺),乳房會變得豐滿,期後乳房可能會變形。產生人奶會令乳房組織變得更細密。完成母乳喂哺後,脂肪和結締組織可能會移位。有些女性的乳房最終可能比懷孕前大,而另一些女性的乳房剛可能感覺到「空」。
  • 大約80–90%的女性在懷孕時某個時候會出現妊娠紋。一些妊娠紋可能會淡化為淺銀色,而另一些則可能保持深色和紅色。不幸的是,如果不進行激光治療或整容手術,很難將它完全去除,但是一些女性發現,當妊娠紋變紅時,使用含有透明質酸的乳霜可以幫助它們褪色。
  • 在懷孕期間,一些女性會形成一條深色線,稱為妊娠線,垂直於腹部。妊娠線需要長達幾個月的時間才會褪色。

性健康 – 產後長期變化

  • 疲倦感、家庭生活的變化、生活和工作壓力的增加以及荷爾蒙水平低可能導致產後女性的性慾下降。大多數女性在一年之內就會恢復了正常。
  • 隨著荷爾蒙平衡,您的生育能力可能會在產後的幾個月內下降,並且您會開始再次排卵,但是在那段時間仍然有可能懷孕。不要忘記排卵是發生在您的月經來臨之前,所以您可能會在產後第一個月經來臨之前就有生育能力,因此仍建議產後要避孕

身體健康 – 產後長期變化

  • 骨盆底薄弱會導致長期問題。在懷孕和分娩期間,您的骨盆底肌肉可能會拉伸,可能導致長期失禁、腸失禁、子宮脫垂以及性交時會比較沒感覺。在懷孕時/產後的任何時候做運動加強骨盆底,有助於預防和解決這些問題。如果您在進行凱格爾運動(Kegel exercise)時遇到困難,或者感到沉重或骨盆拉緊、性交時感到疼痛或感到像有東西跟內褲摩擦時,請聯繫您的醫生。
  • 分娩後重新或開始做運動是確保您的核心肌肉夠強壯、能支撐您身體的關鍵。陰道分娩的女性在分娩後幾天可以開始進行溫和的產後運動,剖腹分娩的女性則應該等到六個星期的檢查之後。香港家庭健康服務有一個對早期產後運動有幫助的計劃。一旦核心肌肉變得穩定並且您不再有其他顧慮時,您就可以輕鬆選擇自己的鍛煉計劃。請確保自己有舒適的感覺,如果陰道流血增加,請放慢腳步,讓身體有更多時間恢復健康。請記住,您的身體在過去的9個月中一直很努力,要花一些時間才能恢復到懷孕前的健康水平。
  • 對於所有現代父母來說,找時間鍛煉身體是另一個巨大的挑戰。如果您在非睡眠時間一定要照顧小朋友而離不開的話,可以在那個時間進行很多運動。相信您的寶寶會喜歡看著您在房間裡做弓步、掌上壓和開合跳!或者嘗試帶小朋友出去散步。讓他們坐嬰兒車或提籃中會增加一些阻力讓您運動量更大,並可以讓他們接觸有趣的外界環境。

心理健康 – 產後長期變化

至今您經歷過為人父母的高潮和低潮。有時候,您覺得自己完全掌握了做母親的工作,但當寶寶開始長牙或生病,不眠之夜再臨時突然之間,您小小的歡樂就這樣蕩然無存了,讓您不禁懷疑自己永遠不能成為合格的父母。

每個人都需要一點支持。如上文所述,您的支援可以從其他具有相似年齡嬰兒的父母、照顧您小朋友的人和/或您的伴侶中獲得。

知道何時需要一點額外的支援是管理心理健康的關鍵。心理學家Dr. Quratulain Zaidi在我們的《香港孕媽寶大全》中描述了嬰兒憂鬱症(baby blues)和產後抑鬱症(postpartum depression)的分別。嬰兒憂鬱症可能會使您在情感上感到脆弱、焦慮和不知所措,但是這種情況只會持續幾天,並且應該在產後兩週內消失。產後抑鬱症是較長期的,可以在產後一年內的任何時候發病。症狀可能包括無法解釋的悲傷、失眠、一文不值的感覺、對嬰兒不感興趣、焦慮和失去控制感。如果您開始感到有這些情況,請務必盡快與您的產科醫生、全科醫生或心理醫生聯繫。儘早尋求協助對您和家人都很重要。

其他資訊可以通過您的醫生,香港家庭健康服務NHS Choices的網址找到。

帶回家的產後健康資訊

相信所有新手父母經過第一次有小朋友時,很難接受到生下嬰兒會如何影響您的外貌以及身體、心理和性健康。重要的是要給自己一些時間進行康復、發現做父母對您的意義並了解您的小朋友。隨時關注自己的健康,並用所需的資源裝備好自己。

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,與專業醫療保險顧問聯絡!

chinese alea banner

Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋是一名婦產科醫生,曾在倫敦大學蓋伊醫學院接受醫學培訓。他專長於婦產科,並在腹腔鏡手術中擁有高技術的水平。他於2008年開始私人執業,現為香港大學名譽助理教授。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Expert Guide to Postpartum In Hong Kong

Last updated on June 2, 2021.

Symptoms | Postpartum issues | Other postpartum pain | Postpartum breasts | Mental health | Preparation | Appearance changes | Sexual health changes | Physical health changes | Mental health changes

If you just had a baby, let us congratulate yourself on growing a human being inside your body for forty weeks! It’s an incredible feat, and absolutely normal to see changes from head to toe.

In the short term (6 weeks post-partum), there are many temporary aches and pains to deal with as your body begins to settle back into its pre-pregnancy state.

Postpartum health often goes like this: “it takes nine months to make changes and nine months to reverse them.” We’ve all heard it before. After the initial six weeks’ postpartum healing period, you’re left with a body that is familiar but not quite the way it was before. We’re here to tell you that some of these changes may be around to stay.

In collaboration with obstetrician and gynecologist Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生, Healthy Matters brings you Hong Kong’s authoritative guide to Post-Partum Changes.

General postpartum symptoms

  • Many women experience post-birth chills and shaking in the hours after giving birth. This should subside within a few minutes or hours. A warm blanket will make you more comfortable.
  • You will have a post-birth bump for six to eight weeks as the uterus shrinks back to its pre-pregnancy size. Some new mothers in Hong Kong opt for specialized treatments after birth to increase circulation and perhaps reduce their post-birth bumps and lose water weight more quickly. With the nod from your OBGYN these can be done soon after birth. Treatments such as abdominal binding, Jamu massage and manual lymph draining are a good way to take some time out for yourself and improve circulation.
  • Lochia is the vaginal discharge, made up of blood, mucus and tissue you can expect after a vaginal or C-section birth. It will be dark red for the first three days post-delivery and you may pass small blood clots. From the fourth to tenth day post-delivery, it will be more watery and pinkish or brownish in color. After about two weeks, lochia will be creamy or yellowish and can last for up to two months. Ensure you have a stash of maternity pads(available at many grocery stores and pharmacies) for your first few weeks.
  • Many new mothers experience an increase in perspiration, especially at night as their hormones settle after giving birth. A lot of this perspiration is the water weight you lose within a few weeks of giving birth and is a good reason to keep your fluid intake up. Sleeping on top of a towel can make you a bit more comfortable.

Perineal and elimination postpartum issues

  • If you had a natural birth, you will have perineal soreness as your perineum stretches and may tear during birth. With a tear or episiotomy, you may be sore for up to two weeks. Bring an ice pack wrapped in a towel and a spray bottle with cold distilled water to the hospital in order to soothe the area after urination to help ease the pain. When you return home, if you are still sore, take a sitz bath with Epsom salts to soothe and keep the area clean.
  • As a result of a natural birth tear or episiotomy, or a catheter during an assisted natural birth or C-section, you may have trouble urinating in the first few days. Some of this may be a very normal psychological aversion after the trauma of birth. In the delicate first few days after birth, it’s important to keep your fluids up as you will be losing a lot of water.
  • Contrary to our last point, you can also experience urinary incontinence which may be worse when you cough, laugh or sneeze. It’s important to begin strengthening the pelvic floor with Kegel exercises as soon as you feel comfortable doing so.
  • Constipation is also a common post-birth side effect. Like urination, many women are nervous about their first bowel movement. Drinking fluids and plenty of fibrous foods (fruits and vegetables, dried fruits, a fibre supplement) will make the process run much more smoothly.
Advertisements

Other postpartum pain

  • In order to return to its original size, you will have uterine contractions for up to six weeks post-partum. They may be more noticeable during breastfeeding.
  • If you had a C-section, you will experience soreness around the incision and may need medication for one to two weeks. With your medical team’s approval, you will likely be moving within 24 hours of your surgery – the longer you wait, the more challenging it will be. C-section abdominal binders and belts are available at many hospitals and pharmacies and can be very helpful to protect the incision area as well as support your back as you move around.
  • The change in your posture during pregnancy, the effects of childbirth and the day-to-day caring for your baby can all lead to back pain. To ease back pain, make sure you protect your back while bending to pick up your baby and consider a breastfeeding pillow to avoid being hunched over during the many, many hours you will spend feeding. Binders and belts can help support the back but won’t make your tummy disappear!

Postpartum breasts

  • Breast engorgement is a swelling of the breasts and is another reason to bring an ice pack (or 2) to the hospital! While feeding or pumping is the only way to ‘cure’ engorgement, there are many things you can do to ease the discomfort: applying cold, warmth, gentle massage, and cold cabbage leaves. You can expect to experience breast engorgement for a few days after birth, regardless of whether you are breastfeeding. Breasts will be warm, hard and heavy. It occurs as a result of several factors:
    • in the first two to five days after birth as your milk comes in;
    • if you miss a feed or two; or
    • if you suddenly stop breastfeeding.
  • If you are breastfeeding, you can expect some breast discharge. Disposable or washable bra inserts can be found at many mom and baby stores and will help you avoid any embarrassing shirt stains.

Breastfeeding is a real challenge for many new mothers. Luckily in Hong Kong, there are many private midwives and lactation consultants available to help. Most private hospitals will have a midwife trained in lactation on-staff and private lactation consultants are available for in-house visits. In the public system, Queen Elizabeth Hospital is the first hospital in the city to have a lactation specialist on-staff. If you aim to breastfeed, make sure to enquire about lactation resources at one of your prenatal visits.

Postpartum depression and mental health

Bringing a new baby home is a monumental life event. Many new mothers expect to feel complete bliss, punctuated by the occasional dirty diaper, but instead feel moody, overwhelmed and exhausted. Babies are a full time (as in 24 hours, not 8 hours!) job with no “off” switch. Babies don’t come with a manual and mothers often feel isolated and alone. The tasks required to take care of a baby are simple but relentless and can leave a completely exhausted new mother doubting their abilities.

It is important for all new mothers to prioritize their mental health. For most women, that means finding support, either by themselves or with their baby:

  • Have a family member/partner/helper/someone you trust watch the baby while you catch up on sleep. Ideally this should be out of earshot so you can sleep undisturbed – even half an hour helps.
  • Leave your baby with someone while you do something that connects you to your pre-baby self – pampering yourself, exercising, or visiting friends are some suggestions.
  • In moments of desperation, place the baby somewhere safe (cot, fastened in the pram etc.) and go to the other room or in the shower to take some deep breaths. Just a few minutes’ break will make a difference.
  • Making connections with women who have given birth at a similar time as you can go a very long way toward maintaining sanity. The WhatsApp messages you will exchange when you’re awake at 3 am will make you feel less alone. Now that you’re working on a 24-hour, 7-days a week clock, having friends available who you can talk to about dirty diapers at 10am on a Tuesday will make you feel like you have a social life.

Between days 3 to 5 post-partum, it is normal for new mothers to feel anxious, tearful and upset as post-pregnancy hormones start to settle.

We will discuss postnatal mental health at length in a future article, but in the meantime, please consult your OBGYN, GP, the Hong Kong Family Health Service or NHS Choices if you have questions or concerns about postnatal mental health.

Advertisements

Managing your postpartum health – Preparation is key

It’s important to remember that your body has carried a baby for nine months and there are a lot of changes that happen in the first six weeks after giving birth. Understanding and being prepared for the changes will help relieve a lot of the symptoms. In a period in life where so many things are upended, it goes a long way to take control of symptoms where you can.

Appearance – Postpartum long term changes after pregnancy

  • The extra weight gained during pregnancy can take a long time to lose. After the initial loss of the baby’s weight, amniotic fluid, increased plasma volume and water weight, many women will hold on to some of the weight they’ve gained during pregnancy. How much weight you retain in the long term is associated with how much weight you gained during pregnancy. Aiming to lose 0.5 – 1 kilogram per week over a longer period of time by incorporating movement is more realistic and sustainable than losing weight quickly. Try to make sure you practice healthy habits such as eating a balanced diet full of fruits and vegetables and exercising – even walking with your baby in the stroller will help. Think of these as lifelong habits to model for your little one.
  • Speaking of weight gain, those extra 10-15 kilograms gained during pregnancy often flatten the arches in your feet and cause an increase foot size. The solution? New shoes!
  • As a result of post-partum hormones settling back to normal, the full and shiny hair you had during pregnancy starts to fall out, peaking at around the 3-4-month post-partum mark. It can be alarming at first but it should even out within a year.
  • After plumping up during pregnancy and breastfeeding (whether you actually breastfed or not), your breasts may change shape when you stop. Producing milk causes breast tissue to become more dense. When you finish breastfeeding, that fatty and connective tissue may shift. Some women may end up with breasts that are larger than pre-pregnancy, while others may have breasts that feel ‘empty’.
  • Approximately 80-90% of women will get stretch marks at some point in their pregnancy. Some stretch marks may fade to a light, silvery colour, while others may remain dark and more red. Unfortunately, they are difficult to remove altogether without laser therapy or cosmetic surgery, however some women have found that applying a cream containing hyaluronic acid when stretch marks are red can help them fade.
  • During pregnancy, some women develop a dark line, known as the linea nigra, going vertically down their bellies. The linea nigra takes up to several months to fade.

Sexual health – Postpartum long term changes after pregnancy

  • Tiredness, a changing family life, increased life and work stress, and low estrogen levels can lead to a decreased sex drive in post-partum women. It may seem impossible now but most women are back to their normal levels within a year.
  • Your fertility may decrease in the months post-partum as your hormones balance and you begin to ovulate again, but it is still possible to get pregnant in that time. Don’t forget that ovulation occurs before your period arrives so you may be fertile before your first period arrives. Birth control is still advised in the post-pregnancy period!
Advertisements

Physical health – Postpartum long term changes after pregnancy

  • A weak pelvic floor can lead to longer term issues. During pregnancy and delivery, your pelvic floor muscles can become stretched, potentially causing long term incontinence, bowel control, uterine prolapse, and reduced sensation during sex. Strengthening your pelvic floor anytime in the pregnancy/post-partum period can help prevent and address these issues. If you are having trouble doing Kegel exercises or have a feeling of heaviness or pulling in your pelvis, experience pain during sex, or have a sense of rubbing against your underwear, please contact your physician.
  • Key to getting back into or starting to exercise after a baby is ensuring your core muscles are strong enough to support your body. Women with uncomplicated vaginal births can begin gentle postnatal exercise a few days after giving birth; women who had a c-section birth should wait until they have their six-week check-up. The Hong Kong Family Health Services has a helpful guide to early postnatal exercise plan.  Once the core is stable and you have no further concerns, you can ease into the exercise plan of your choice. Make sure you keep an eye on what feels comfortable and if vaginal bleeding increases, slow down and give your body more time to heal. Keep in mind that your body has worked hard over the last nine months and it make take some time to get back to the fitness levels you had pre-pregnancy.
  • Finding time to fit exercise in is another big challenge for new (actually, all) parents. If you cannot leave your baby with someone during hours you actually want to be awake, there are lots of ways to fit in a bit of exercise here and there. Your baby will be captivated watching you do lunges, push-ups and star jumps all over the room! Or try taking your baby outside for a walk. Pushing them in a stroller or carrying them in a carrier will add a bit of resistance and expose them to the fascinating outside world.

Mental health – Postpartum long term changes after pregnancy

By now, you will have experienced the highs and lows of parenthood. Some days feel like you’re completely on top of this motherhood gig and other days, teething/sickness/a sleepless night hits and all of a sudden, everything you knew about this little bundle of joy goes out the window and you feel like you’ll never get a hang of being a parent.

Everyone needs support of one kind or another. Your support system can be made up of other parents with a baby of a similar age, someone who can watch your baby, and/or a partner who shares the load.

Knowing when you need a bit of extra support is key to taking charge of your mental health. In our book, The Hong Kong Maternity and Baby Book, psychologist Dr. Quratulain Zaidi describes the difference between baby blues and postpartum depression. With the baby blues you may feel emotionally fragile, anxious and overwhelmed but it only lasts for a few days and should be gone by two weeks postpartum. Postpartum depression is longer term and onset is anytime in the first year. Symptoms may include unexplained sadness, insomnia, feelings of worthlessness, disinterest in your baby, anxiousness, and a feeling of a loss of control. If you begin to feel like this, it’s important to contact your obstetrician, GP, or a psychologist as soon as possible. Early intervention is key to both you and your family’s well-being.

Additional information can be found through your doctor, the Hong Kong Family Health Service or NHS Choices.

Take home message about postnatal health

After all new parents go through in the first year, it’s a hard pill to swallow that having a baby will affect your appearance as well as physical, mental, and sexual health. It’s important to give yourself time to heal, discover what being a parent means to you and get to know your baby. Keep an eye on yourself and arm yourself with the resources you need.

Looking for health insurance? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2606 2668 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system (public and private) to answer all your questions.

Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生 is an Obstetrician Gynecologist who received his medical training at the University of London Guy’s Medical School. He specialises in obstetrics and gynecology and has obtained advanced level in laparoscopic surgery. He started his private practice in 2008 and is currently Honorary Assistant Professor at the University of Hong Kong.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.