> 西藥 > 維他命A (Vitamin A (Supplement))

維他命A (Vitamin A (Supplement))

用途維生素A缺乏症

維他命A(Vitamin A)有何功效?

維他命A是一種脂溶性維他命,對正常的視覺、免疫和生殖功能很重要。它可以進一步分為既成維他命A(Preformed Vitamin A)和維他命A先質(Provitamin A)(β-胡蘿蔔素),而它們是來自不同的來源。建議成人每日維他命A攝入量為900 mcg(男性),700 mcg(非懷孕女性)。

 

維他命A可以乙酸視黃酯(Retinyl acetate)、棕櫚酸視黃酯(Retinyl palmitate)、β-胡蘿蔔素(Beta-carotene)或既成維生素A(Preformed Vitamin A)來作為保健品服用。當您有維他命A缺乏症或無法從飲食中攝取足夠的維他命A時,您才應該服用維他命A補充劑。缺乏維他命A會導致夜盲症、皮膚乾燥和鱗屑,並增加感染風險。

如何使用維他命A(Vitamin A)及調較劑量?

維他命A通常以片劑口服。常見成人劑量的維他命A補充劑為每日服用2000-35,000個國際單位(IU),並與食物一起服用。有關具體劑量,請參閱產品標籤。

 

維生素A和β-胡蘿蔔素的劑量也可以以視黃醇活性當量(RAE)來表達。

維他命A(Vitamin A)有什麼副作用?

維他命A補充劑通常沒有副作用。但是,由於維他命A是一種脂溶性維他命,服用高劑量的維他命A可以在體內積聚,引起皮膚瘙癢脫髮和肝功能異常等症狀。

誰不適合使用維他命A(Vitamin A)?

對維他命A或製劑中任何成分過敏的人士。

藥劑師提示:

  • 大多數人應該從健康的飲食中攝取足量的維他命A。既成維他命A(Preformed Vitamin A)和維他命A先質(Provitamin A)來自不同的來源。對於既成維他命A,您可以從肝臟、魚油、牛奶和雞蛋中獲取。對於維他命A先質,你可以從胡蘿蔔哈密瓜、綠葉蔬菜、橙黃色蔬菜、番茄和水果中獲取。
  • 注意不同產品中維他命A的含量,因為它可能會有所不同。 服用過多的維他命A可能導致維他命A毒性,症狀包括視力模糊、警覺性下降、食慾不振和嘔吐等。
  • 懷孕期間過量攝入維他命A會導致嬰兒有機會有先天缺陷。 孕婦在服用任何藥物或保健品之前,請務必諮詢您的醫生或藥劑師。
  • 避免大量飲酒,因為酒精會耗盡肝臟中的維他命A,並可能增加維他命A毒性的風險。

常見服用時間:

  • 宜用食物或牛奶送服維他命A。

資料只供參考, 實際服藥時間會因應個人情況做出調整。

 

常見可能相沖藥物:

如服用以上藥物,請告知你的醫生或藥劑師,劑量可能需要作出調整。

如何在香港購買維他命A(Vitamin A)?

根據產品的建議每日劑量,你可以在沒有處方的情況下從香港的任何零售店購買維他命A。 這包括雜貨店、便利店、藥店和藥房。你也可以從醫生那裡獲得。若含有維他命A的產品的建議每日劑量不少於10,000國際單位(IU),你則需要醫生處方才能在藥房購買。你也可以從醫生那裡獲得。如想查找你附近的藥房,請參閱香港衛生署的獲授權毒藥銷售商名單

 

如想了解更多藥物資訊,您可瀏覽衛生署的藥物辦公室 https://www.drugoffice.gov.hk

本網站上的藥物資訊只提供了最相關的資訊和最常用的劑量。這些資訊並不是醫療建議。有關具體的治療建議,請徵詢你的醫生或藥劑師,並按照你所服用的藥物說明使用。

想要更多信息?

如有維他命A 在兒童,懷孕和母乳喂養中的用法或有關藥物相互作用的問題,請諮詢藥劑師或醫生。

香港常見含有此藥的品牌
常見劑型
  • 10000IU / 25000IU (膠囊)
藥物類別
維他命(維生素)
藥物子類別
維他命(脂溶性)
同類別藥物
維他命E (Vitamin E)
用途促進皮膚癒合維生素E缺乏症
英文名
維他命K (Vitamin K)
用途營養補充維生素K缺乏症
英文名

Medicines & Supplements A to Z > Vitamin A (Supplement)

Vitamin A (Supplement)

Last updated on 18/03/2021.

Overview   |   Dosage   |    Side Effects   |   Precautions   |   Tips   |   Where To Buy  

GENERIC NAME: Retinol / Vitamin A 

CHINESE NAME: 維他命A

BRAND NAME(S) IN HONG KONG: Actionvit, Jamieson

DRUG CLASS: Vitamin (fat soluble)

USED FOR: Treatment and prevention of Vitamin A deficiency 

OTHER DRUGS IN THE SAME CLASS: Vitamin D, Vitamin E, Vitamin K

AVAILABLE DOSAGE FORMS: 10000 IU, 25000 IU (softgels)

What is Vitamin A for?

Vitamin A is a fat-soluble vitamin that is important for normal visual, immune and reproductive function. It can be further divided into preformed Vitamin A and provitamin A (beta-carotene), which come from different sources. The recommended daily dietary intake of Vitamin A for adults is 900 mcg for men and 700 mcg for non-pregnant women.

Vitamin A can appear as retinyl acetate, retinyl palmitate, beta-carotene or preformed vitamin A. You should only take a Vitamin A supplement when you have a Vitamin A deficiency or are unable to take sufficient Vitamin A from your diet. Vitamin A deficiency can cause night blindness, dry scaly skin, and an increased risk of infection.

How to use it?

Vitamin A is available as oral preparations. The usual adult dose of Vitamin A supplement is 2000-35,000 international units (IU) daily and taken with food. For specific dosages, refer to the product label.

The dosage of Vitamin A and beta-carotene can also be described as retinol activity equivalents (RAE).

What are the side effects of Vitamin A?

Vitamin A supplements usually do not have side effects. However, because Vitamin A is a fat soluble vitamin, high dosages can accumulate in your body and cause symptoms such as dry itchy skin, hair loss and abnormal liver function.

Who should not take Vitamin A?

People allergic to Vitamin A or any component of the formulation.

Pharmacist Tips:

It is always highly recommended to get nutrients like Vitamin A from natural sources first.  Preformed Vitamin A and provitamin A come from different sources. For preformed Vitamin A, you can get it from liver, fish oils, milk and eggs. For provitamin A, you can get it from carrots, cantaloupe, leafy green vegetables, orange and yellow vegetables, tomatoes and fruits.

Pay attention to the amount of Vitamin A in different products as it can vary. Taking too much Vitamin A may lead to Vitamin A toxicity. You may experience symptoms such as blurred vision, changes in alertness, loss of appetite, and vomiting. 

Excessive intake of Vitamin A during pregnancy can cause birth defects. Always consult your doctor or pharmacist before taking any medications or supplements if you are pregnant. 

Avoid heavy consumption of alcohol as it can deplete the liver of Vitamin A and may increase the risk of Vitamin A toxicity. 

Common dosing schedule:
Take Vitamin A with food or milk. 

This schedule is for reference only, adjustments may be made according to individual needs.

Some common medications Vitamin A may interact with:
– Alcohol
– Orlistat
– Retinoic acid derivatives, e.g. Isotretinoin

Please notify your doctor or pharmacist if you are taking the above medication, dosage adjustments might be needed.

Where to buy Vitamin A in Hong Kong?

Depending on the recommended daily dose of the products, Vitamin A can be purchased without a prescription from any retail outlet in Hong Kong. This includes grocery stores, convenience stores, medicine shops, and pharmacies. It can also be obtained from doctors. For pharmaceutical products containing Vitamin A with a recommended daily dose of not less than 10,000 international units (IU), they require a prescription from a doctor to be purchased in a pharmacy. It can also be obtained from doctors. To find a pharmacy near you, refer to the list of pharmacies (“Authorized Sellers of Poisons”) from the Hong Kong Department of Health.

For more information about drug names and ingredients, you can visit Hong Kong’s Drug Office at https://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/

Need more information?

For detailed information about the use of Vitamin A in children, pregnancy and breastfeeding, and for questions about drug interactions, please check with your pharmacist or doctor.

Disclaimer: our goal is to provide you with the most relevant drug information and common dosage for Hong Kong. This information does not constitute medical advice. For specific treatment recommendations and advice, always discuss with your doctor or pharmacist, and follow the instructions included with your specific medicine.