藥物及保健食品指南 > 番瀉葉 (Senna)

番瀉葉 (Senna)

最後更新日期 九月 27, 2019.

概要   |   劑量   |   副作用   |   購買地方  

學名:番瀉葉

英文名:Senna

香港常見品牌名:Senokot,Grains De Vals Senna 舒利便

番瀉葉(Senna)的作用

番瀉葉是一種來自番瀉葉植物的藥物。它屬於一類叫做刺激性瀉藥的藥物,它可以通過結腸中的細菌激活番瀉苷(番瀉葉中的其中一種物質)來增加腸道活動從而刺激腸蠕動。番瀉葉因此被用於治療便秘。番瀉葉需要6-12個小時才能見效,因此最好在睡前服用番瀉葉,以便第二天早上排便。

用法及用量

番瀉葉可以口服形式服用。對於成年人,您應該每天睡前服用7.5-15mg,然後逐漸增加劑量。最大劑量為每天30mg,不過醫生可能會給更高的劑量。對於6至17歲的兒童,劑量應為每日服用一次7.5-30mg,並根據他們的反應進行調整。除非您的醫生或藥劑師建議,否則不建議長期使用番瀉葉。

番瀉葉(Senna)的副作用

番瀉葉的常見副作用包括腹部絞痛和腹瀉。

購買途徑

在香港,番瀉葉是一種非處方藥。你可以在香港的任何零售店購買,包括雜貨店,便利店,藥房和藥店。你也可以從醫生那裡獲得。要查找你附近的藥房,請參閱香港衛生署的獲授權毒藥銷售商名單

如想了解更多藥物資訊,您可瀏覽衛生署的藥物辦公室 http://www.drugoffice.gov.hk

想要更多資訊?

有關番瀉葉在兒童,懷孕和母乳喂養中的用法或有關藥物相互作用的問題,請諮詢藥劑師或醫生。

本網站上的藥物資訊只提供了最相關的資訊和最常用的劑量。這些資訊並不是醫療建議。有關具體的治療建議,請徵詢你的醫生或藥劑師,並按照你所服用的藥物說明使用。

FIND OTHER MEDICINES

LEARN ABOUT YOUR HEALTH IN HONG KONG

Practical, doctor-reviewed guides and articles to stay informed (and healthy!)

Medicines & Supplements A to Z > Senna

Senna

Last updated on 18/03/2021.

Overview   |   Dosage   |    Side Effects   |   Precautions  |   Tips  |   Where To Buy  

GENERIC NAME: Senna / Sennosides

CHINESE NAME: 番瀉葉

BRAND NAME(S) IN HONG KONG: Grains De Vals Senna 舒利便, Senokot

DRUG CLASS: Stimulant laxative

USED FOR: Constipation 

OTHER DRUGS IN THE SAME CLASS: Bisacodyl, Sodium Picosulfate

AVAILABLE DOSAGE FORMS: 7.5mg (tablets)

What is Senna for?

Senna is a medicine that is derived from the senna plant. It belongs to a class of medications called stimulant laxatives, which can stimulate a bowel movement by increasing the activity of the intestines. Senna is therefore used for treating constipation. Sennosides can be found in Senna and they are activated by the bacteria in the colon. It takes 6-12 hours for Senna to work and hence it is preferred to take Senna at bedtime in order to have a bowel movement the next morning.

How to use it?

Senna can be taken by mouth as tablets. For adults, you should take 7.5-15 mg daily at bedtime, start at a low dose and increase gradually. The maximum dose is 30 mg daily but higher doses may be prescribed by doctors. For children between 6 and 17 years old, the dose should be 7.5-30 mg once daily and adjusted according to their response.

What are the side effects of Senna?

Common side effects of Senna include abdominal cramps and diarrhoea.

Who should not take Senna?

Senna is generally safe for pregnancy and lactation.

Pharmacist Tips:

Laxatives should not be taken to lose weight.

Common dosing schedule:
This drug should be taken at bedtime since it takes several hours for the drug to exert its effects.

This schedule is for reference only, adjustments may be made according to individual needs.

Some common medications Senna may interact with:
Digoxin
– Licorice root

Please notify your doctor or pharmacist if you are taking the above medication, dosage adjustments might be needed.

Where to buy Senna in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, Senna is an over-the-counter medicine which can be purchased without a prescription from any retail outlet in Hong Kong. This includes grocery stores, convenience stores, medicine shops, and pharmacies. It can also be obtained from doctors. To find a pharmacy near you, refer to the list of pharmacies (“Authorized Sellers of Poisons”) from the Hong Kong Department of Health.

For more information about drug names and ingredients, you can visit Hong Kong’s Drug Office at https://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/

Need more information?

For detailed information about the use of Senna in children, pregnancy and breastfeeding, and for questions about drug interactions, please check with your pharmacist or doctor.

Disclaimer: our goal is to provide you with the most relevant drug information and common dosage for Hong Kong. This information does not constitute medical advice. For specific treatment recommendations and advice, always discuss with your doctor or pharmacist, and follow the instructions included with your specific medicine.