【LGBT】容易患上抑鬱症?關注LGBT+ 的心理健康

最後更新日期 六月 23, 2021.

什麼是LGBT+ | 香港的LGBT+ 權益 | LGBT+ 的心理健康 | LGBT+ 的需求 | 如何取得幫助 | 如何支持LGBT+ | 輔導服務

近年一項研究指出LGBT+人士比異性戀者更有可能經歷情緒上的困擾和心理健康問題。在2018年,香港中文大學更訪問了1,050名香港的LGBT+人士,發現多達64.5%的受訪者有輕度或以上的抑鬱症狀。LGBT+社群的性取向與心理健康問題之間的密切關聯也許源自香港異性戀主導(Heterosexual-Dominated)的社會文化,使大部分性小眾人士缺乏充足的社會支持(Social Support)。相比起西方國家,香港等亞洲地區的文化一般在性取都對非異性戀人士抱持偏見和負面的態度,為LGBT+ 等性小眾人士帶來重重的心理健康挑戰。

以下我們將會為你帶來一連串有關LGBT+心理健康的資訊,助你了解性小眾所面對的困難與挑戰,以及一些幫助LGBT+ 社群的方法。

什麼是LGBT+ ?

LGBT+是對非異性戀(Non-Heterosexual)人士的統稱。簡單來說,LGBT中的L代表女同性戀(Lesbian)、G代表男同性戀(Gay)、B代表雙性戀(Bisexual),最後T代表跨性別人士(Transgender)。除此之外,LGBT+ 中的加號(+)則指異性戀及LGBT以外的其他性取向人士,例如酷兒(Queer)和無性戀者(Asexual)。

生理性別、性別認同和性取向

在我們深入探討LGBT+ 心理健康之前,先要理解以下幾個概念: 

  • 生理性別:生理性別是我們與生俱來的生理特徵。 
  • 性別認同:性別認同代表我們如何定義自己的性別,不一定與生理性別一致:性別認同與生理性別一致的人為順性別者(Cisgender),性別認同與生理性別不一致的人則是跨性別者(Transgender)。
  • 性取向:性取向是我們對在身體上、精神上以及情感上感到吸引的性別。

性取向的種類

除了異性戀、同性戀和雙性戀3類廣為人知的性取向之外,性取向的光譜涵蓋的種類多不勝數,其中包括:

  • 男同性戀
  • 女同性戀
  • 雙性戀
  • 酷兒
  • 無性戀
  • 泛性戀
  • 智性戀

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

 

香港的LGBT+ 權益

根據Community Business在2017年的研究,香港的LGBT+包容指數平均為1.83分(滿分為 3 分),可見越來越多公司致力提供對LGBT友善的工作環境。然而,即使LGBT權益越來越得到重視,香港社會普遍仍然對LGBT+人士持有負面的態度。在另一項研究中,心理學家邀請到1,008名香港成年人表達他們對香港LGBT權益的看法。令人驚訝的是,高達34.12%的受訪者承認他們對非異性戀人士持有負面的態度。

Chan(2008)進一步指出香港仍然缺乏一個對性小眾完全包容的環境,其中的原因也許是因為大多數推廣LGBT+權益的活動都是由同性戀者主導,而不足以代表同性戀以外的其他性取向的人士(如雙性戀和無性戀)。

Advertisements

LGBT+ 的心理健康

歧視和恐同文化

LGBT+不僅經常遭受歧視問題,亦必須面對恐同人士以及社會對同性戀和LGBT+社群的厭惡和仇恨言論。一項研究針對香港人對非異性戀者的態度進行研究,得出大部分(76%)的受訪者認為香港人普遍對LGBT+人士存在歧視。另一項研究發現多達80%的LGBT+人士過去曾因為性取向而受到不尊重的對待。

「自己異於常人」的心理困擾

許多LGBT+人士都會抱有「自己異於常人」的想法。這些想法不但會降低他們對社會的歸屬感,嚴重的更會導致情緒困擾,衍生出更多心理健康問題。另外,很多LGBT+人士亦會因為性取向承受莫大的壓力和焦慮。例如他們可能因為害怕被親人拒絕,擔心朋友的疏遠,害怕面對出櫃後其他人的反應而選擇向家人和朋友隱瞞自己的性取向。長期的壓力及焦慮更會使他們的精神健康狀況變差。除此之外,LGBT+人士亦會面對婚姻帶來的壓力。許多同性伴侶因為沒有婚姻權而無法與其伴侶結婚,無法獲得法律保障配偶的權利。

對可能會失去人際關係而感到恐懼

與此同時,不少LGBT+人士都害怕因為自己的性取向或性認同不被他人接受,可能失去現有的人際關係而感到困擾。社會的主流仍是異性戀者,傳統思想根深蒂固,因此很多人或無法理解LGBT+所經歷的困難。當LGBT+的朋友或家人成員出櫃時,很多人也許會感覺「被欺騙」、「被背叛」,沒有心理準備也無法理解、接納這些性小眾人士。久而久之,不少LGBT+人士會選擇隱瞞自己的性取向,獨自承受壓力和焦慮。

焦慮症:症狀、原因、診斷和治療

LGBT+ 的真正需求是什麼?

社會支持

社會支持對LGBT+社群尤其重要。一項研究發現LGBT+人士最在意「其他人對自己的看法」(50%)和「失去人際關係」(42%)。另一項研究指出由於許多LGBT+人士需要面對覺得自己「不一樣」的心理壓力,家人和朋友的支持對於LGBT+ 人士尤其重要。對於一些來自傳統家庭的LGBT+人士,他們從小到大可能受被灌輸傳統價值觀,對生兒育女、傳宗接代之事倍感壓力,更甚者可能會為自己不一樣的性取向感到羞愧。願意接納、包容不同性取向的家人和朋友能作為堅實的後盾提供支持,對於LGBT+人士尤為重要。

包容LGBT+的社區

許多LGBT+ 人士曾因為性取向而受到不尊重的對待,甚至被恐同人士欺凌。事實上,大部分LGBT+人士認為他們與別不同的性取向導致他們更難與同事建立良好的關係。 

性小眾可能會因為面對社會污名和歧視而在與異性戀者結交朋友時感到困難。特別是青少年對於對性取向和性別認同等概念或者並未有充分理解,很多時候無法解釋自身的感覺,他們可能會難以接納自己,一旦被朋輩孤立亦不懂得處理自己的感受。一個能夠包容不同性傾向的社區不但能為LGBT+人士提供情感上的支援,亦能夠為LGBT+青少年解答他們對於性取向等等的疑問,真正做到共融、互相尊重。

我是LGBT+,我應該如何取得幫助?

LGBT+社群必須面對困難重重的心理健康挑戰。這些挑戰不僅會增加患上精神健康疾病(如抑鬱症和焦慮症)的風險,亦會長期對他們的心理健康構成影響。以下是一些能幫助LGBT+社群取得心理支援的途徑:

1. 加入LGBT+社區小組

LGBT+人士或許可以考慮透過加入LGBT+的社區小組,譬如一些NGO舉辦的小組活動,與其他有相似經歷的人解立聯繫,從而獲得幫助,互相扶持。除此之外,社區小組亦可以為LGBT+ 人士提供傾訴的渠道,幫助他們減輕心理困擾。更重要的是,認識其他有著同樣經歷的人士能讓他們知道自己並不孤單!

2. 使用LGBT+的交友軟體

如果你覺得自己還沒有準備好與其他LGBT+的成員面對面交流,你可以考慮嘗試使用為LGBT+而設的交友軟體。其實坊間有不少交友軟體受到LGBT+人士歡迎,例如 Grindr 和 Her,讓性小眾亦可以在網上與其他LGBT+人士成為朋友,甚至尋找伴侶。 

3. 尋求專業的 LGBT+輔導服務

面對心理健康的挑戰時,LGBT+人士可以考慮尋求治療師或輔導員的幫助。實際上,多數開注LGBT+權益的組織都會提供LGBT+ 的輔導服務。如果你覺得異性戀的治療師未必能夠完全明白你的需要,一些NGO更聘有同為LGBT+的治療師,專門幫助性小眾人士解決情緒困擾。

【精神健康】心理學家之全方位指南

Advertisements

幫助LGBT+ 的方法

每個人的支持和理解對於建立一個對LGBT+更友善的社會都是不可或缺的。下列是一些你能夠幫助LGBT+的方法:

1. 參加LGBT+組織的義工活動

即使你不是LGBT+的一員,你仍然可以支持LGBT+權益,成為LGBT+社群中的「直同志」!作為支持者,你還能夠透過籌辦社區活動幫助LGBT+的參加者,親身接觸LGBT+人士,全面地了解他們正在面臨的挑戰,與他們成為朋友。

2. 參與同志遊行

除了成為義工外,參加LGBT+活動也可以讓LGBT+人士感受到你對他們的支持。香港同志遊行是每年11月舉辦的大型LGBT+活動,旨在向公眾人士推廣LGBT權益,引起社會關注。你可以通過參加同志遊行直接展示你對LGBT+的關注及支持。

3. 一直陪伴左右

假如有朋友向你出櫃,請嘗試理解他們的處境與所經歷的困難。LGBT+朋友選擇向你坦白性取向,代表他們十分信任你。可以的話,請向你的LGBT+朋友或家人表達你的理解和支持,在他們需要時陪伴左右,不要讓他們獨自一人面對這些心理壓力。一個人的性格為人,並不會因為他/她的性取向而改變;你的親朋好友,仍是你的親朋好友。踏出櫃子所需要的勇氣,也許比你想像的還要多。即使真的無法體會和接納對方,也請不要傷害他們。

LGBT+ 輔導服務

如有需要,請聯繫精神及心理健康範疇的專業人士尋求協助。以下是一些提供LGBT+輔導服務的組織: 

香港彩虹
地址:九龍佐敦彌敦道242號立信大廈七字樓D室
電話:2769 1069 
電郵:[email protected]  

Lifespan Counselling
地址:中環威靈頓街52號Somptueux Central十五樓
電話:3752 0654
電郵:[email protected] 

MindNLife
地址:中環荷李活道1號華懋荷里活中心1202室
電話:2521 4668
電郵:[email protected]

創健醫療
地址:香港中環德輔道中19號 環球大廈十一樓1106室
電話:3160 4886
電郵:[email protected] 

Central Minds Limited 
地址:中環安蘭街4-6號安皇商業大廈八樓及十樓
電話:2813 6108
電郵:不適用

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Understanding Mental Health Challenges in the LGBT+ Community

Last updated on June 10, 2021.

What Is LGBT+? | LGBT+ in HK | Challenges | Needs | Getting Support | Supporting the Community | LGBT+ Counselling Services

According to a recent study, LGBT+ individuals are more likely to experience negative mental health outcomes than straight people. Up to 64.8% of 1,050 LGBT+ respondents in Hong Kong are found to experience mild or above depressive symptoms, according to a 2018 study by the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The strong association between LGBT+ and mental health issues may be due to the lack of support LGBT+ people receive from the heterosexual-dominated culture, especially in Hong Kong. The dominance of heteronormativity, which assumes heterosexuality to be the default sexual orientation, also contributes to a negative view of the LGBT+ community by the public. As a result, LGBT+ people, being the sexual minority, have a higher risk of suffering from mental health challenges. 

Read this comprehensive mental health guide to the LGBT+ community to gain a better understanding of the challenges, needs and possible ways to support the LGBT+ community. 

What is LGBT+?

In a nutshell, LGBT+ stands for lesbian (L), gay (G), bisexual (B) and transgender/transexual (T); where the plus sign (+) intends to also involve people with sexualities other than the four most common non-heterosexual sexual orientations (LGBT) in the community. LGBT+ is an umbrella term that is often used when referring to  individuals who do not identify themselves as heterosexual.

Biological sex, gender identity and sexual orientation

Before we go into depths to discuss the LGBT+ community, a few several concepts are essential to understanding gender identity and sexuality:

  • Biological sex: biological sex is the physical characteristics that a person is born with.  
  • Gender identity: gender identity how an individual defines their gender. Cisgenders are people with gender identity which aligns with their biological sex. Transgenders are those with gender identity which does not align with their biological sex. 
  • Sexual orientation: describes the gender that an individual is physically, spiritually and emotionally attracted to. 

Types of sexual orientation

Sexual orientation describes the pattern of emotional, romantic and sexual attraction to people of a particular gender. With heterosexuality, homosexuality and bisexuality being the most known categories, sexual orientation is a wide spectrum with complex possibilities. Some common types of sexual orientations include:

  • Gay 
  • Lesbian 
  • Bisexual 
  • Queer
  • Asexual
  • Pansexual
  • Sapiosexual 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

LGBT+ community in Hong Kong

In 2017, the LGBT+ Inclusion Index in Hong Kong obtained an average of 1.83 out of 3 points, showing that more companies are striving to provide an LGBT-friendly workplace in recent years. Despite the increasing number of LGBT-friendly workplaces, Hong Kong still maintains a negative view of the LGBT+ community. In one particular study, psychologists invited 1,008 Hong Kong adults to express their views on LGBT rights in Hong Kong. Surprisingly, up to 34.12% of respondents admitted that they possess a negative attitude to homosexuality. 

Chan (2008) further pointed out that Hong Kong still has not created a fully inclusive environment for sexual minorities. One reason is that gay and lesbian individuals dominate most LGBT+ events, making people with other sexual orientations like bisexual and asexual under-represented in major LGBT+ events in Hong Kong. 

Advertisements

Mental health challenges in the LGBT+ community

Discrimination and homophobia

Not only does the LGBT+ community frequently experiences discrimination, but the community also has to cope with homophobia, the hatred and hostility towards homosexuality or the LGBT group. One particular research examined Hong Kong people’s attitude towards non-heterosexual people and a majority of 76% local respondents agreed that Hong Kong people show disciminatory behavior towards LGBT+ individuals. Another study also found that 80% LGBT+ participants reported that they had been treated disrespectfully in the past due to their sexuality.

Psychological distress

Many LGBT+ people share the thoughts: “I am different from other people.” These thoughts may reduce their sense of belonging and connection with people outside their community and further cause emotional distress, which can be harmful to their mental health in the long-term. It is not uncommon that LGBT+ individuals feel like they have to conceal their sexual orientation from their family and friends worrying about the uncertain consequences after coming out. Fearing that they may be rejected by their loved ones, extra stress and anxiety are put on them time after time.. The LGBT+ community may also experience stress because of marriage, as a study suggested that many gay couples struggle with the lack of right to get married with their partner. 

Fear of losing social connections

Aside from feeling different, the fear of losing existing social connections is also a key contributor to the psychological distress many LGBT+ people experience. In general, many LGBT+ people are afraid of not being accepted by others, which in extreme cases may jeopardize their friendships or even family relationships. Many may not understand the struggles LGBT+ people face, and hence feel “betrayed” or “deceived” when their friends or family members come out to them. In fear of losing social connections, LGBT+ individuals may choose to keep things to themselves and suffer more from stress and anxiety.  

Quarantine, Social Distancing, Isolation: What’s the Difference?

Understanding the needs of the LGBT+ community

Social support

Social support is as important to the LGBT+ community as it is to everyone. A previous study identified perceptions by others (50%) and losing social connections (42%) as primary concerns of the LGBT+ community. Other research established that many LGBT+ people suffer from psychological distress due to the lack of social support and the “feeling different.” Support from family and friends can be of utmost importance to LGBT+ people, who might suffer from psychological distress feeling anxious for the unforeseen consequences following their confession of sexual orientation. LGBT+ people from traditional families, in particular, may face even greater obstacles under such traditional values as to continue the family line by marriage and childbearing. A loving group of family and friends who are willing to accept differences in sexuality is particularly essential for LGBT+ people to stand up against the adversities they face.

An inclusive community for LGBT+ people

Many LGBT+ people reported being treated disrespectfully or even being bullied by homophobic people. In fact, many LGBT+ people find it difficult to build good relationships with their colleagues because of their sexual orientation. 

The sexual minorities may find it challenging to connect with their heterosexual peers when faced with social stigma and discrimination. The feeling of social isolation and loneliness may be hard to bear to many, especially in LGBT+ teenagers whose understandings of their own sexual orientation may be inadequate. Involvement with an established, non-judgmental LGBT+ community where LGBT+ individuals can meet others in a similar position and get answers about their sexuality is therefore of great importance. 

Advertisements

How can the LGBT+ community get support?

The LGBT+ community experiences numerous mental health challenges, which expose them to the risk of developing mental disorders like depression and anxiety, causing severe impacts on their mental well-being. If you are a member of the LGBT+ community, below are some tips for you to get support: 

1. Joining a LGBT+ support group

Members of the LGBT+ community may consider getting support by joining an LGBT+ support group formed by people from the LGBT+ community who encountered similar situations.  Getting in touch with other LGBT+ people, by participating in workshops and activities organized by local LGBT organizations for example, may also help them reduce their psychological distress by providing a channel to confide. Most importantly, always bear in mind that you are not alone in this journey!

2. Using LGBT+ social apps

If you feel like you are not ready to meet other LGBT+ people face-to-face, you may consider reaching out to the LGBT+ community using online LGBT+ social apps. Many social apps such as Grindr and Her are designed explicitly for the LGBT+ community, so feel free to connect with other LGBT+ people virtually, or even find a partner using dating apps. 

3. Seeking for professional LGBT+ counseling services 

As LGBT+ people generally are at higher risk of experiencing mental health challenges, members of the LGBT+ community may consider getting professional help from trained counselors and therapists. Many LGBT+ organizations provide LGBT+ counseling services. If you feel like the therapist may not fully understand your struggles, some psychological centers also offer an option for you to select a therapist who also belongs to the LGBT+ community. 

Mental Health in Hong Kong: Seeing a Psychologist

Ways to support the LGBT+ community

Your support and understanding are indispensable to building an inclusive society for the sexual minorities. Here are a few things you can do to support the LGBT+ community. 

1. Volunteering at LGBT+ organizations

Even if you are not LGBT+, you can still volunteer as an ally! In fact, many straight people support the LGBT community by volunteering at LGBT+ organizations. As a straight ally, you can also offer support for the LGBT+ community by organizing workshops and activities. Moreover, you can also directly reach out to the community and learn more about the challenges and needs of the community. 

2. Joining the pride parade

Apart from volunteering, simple joining a LGBT+ event can also show your support for the LGBT+ community. The LGBT+ pride parade in November is an annual march in Hong Kong advocating LGBT rights. By joining the pride parade, you may demonstrate your support for the community by directly promoting the LGBT rights to the general public. 

3. Always be there for them

If your friend ever comes out to you, always try to empathize and understand the challenges and difficulties they have been going through before judging. When an LGBT+ person decides to come out to you, it means that they trust you and feel close to you. So don’t leave your LGBT+ friend or family member alone and always love them for who they are. Lastly, always remember that it takes courage for them to confess. Their sexual orientation does not make them less a friend to you than they have been! 

Advertisements

LGBT+ Counselling Services

In case of need for immediate support, please do not hesitate to reach out to mental health professionals. Below is a list of organizations that offers LGBT+ counseling services:

Rainbow of Hong Kong 
Address: Room D, 7/F, National Court, 242 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Tel: 2769 1069
Email: [email protected] 

Lifespan Counselling
Address: 15/F, Somptueux Central, 52 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 3752 0654
Email: [email protected] 

MindNLife
Address: Suite 1202, Chinachem Hollywood Centre, 1 Hollywood Road, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 2521 4668
Email: [email protected]

Neo-Health Group 
Address: Unit 1106, 11/F, World-Wide House, 19 Des Voeux Road Central, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 3160 4886
Email: [email protected] 

Central Minds Limited 
Address: 8th & 10th Floor VC House, 4-6 On Lan Street, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 2813 6108
Email: Not applicable 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.