生酮飲食入門:您需要了解有關生酮飲食法的所有資訊

繼阿特金斯飲食法和80/20飲食法後,生酮飲食法受到極大的歡迎。這是有關生酮飲食法的完整指南。

什麼是生酮飲食

生酮飲食(ketogenic diet)是一種低碳水化合物及高脂肪的飲食,通常會用相對較短的時間帶來減脂效果。“酮”一詞來自於我們通過燃燒脂肪獲取能量時,而不是透過葡萄糖來獲得能量(澱粉中的糖和碳水化合物)而產生的酮(也稱為酮體)。通過減少碳水化合物,我們的身體進入稱為酮症的代謝狀態。

生酮飲食在1970年代由Peter Huttenlocher發明。生酮飲食有幾個版本,但重點都是高脂肪、適當的蛋白質和低碳水化合物的比例。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

生酮飲食適合什麼人

生酮飲食最初是為治療癲癇患者而創建的,它被認為是禁食的替代品,據稱可以產生積極的效果。研究表示,當患者接受高脂肪低碳水化合物飲食時,癲癇發作的規律性似乎降低了。但是,近年來,這種方法越來越多地用於體重控制,著重於減脂的效果。這種飲食似乎也適用於2型糖尿病患者。因為對於2型糖尿病患者來說,超重是很常見的,因此需要控制體重以改善健康狀況,而且飲食需要更依靠分解脂肪來獲取能量,而較少依賴胰島素的產生來控制血糖水平。

生酮飲食法的注意事項

建議您在實施任何新飲食法之前先諮詢您的醫生,特別是如果您的身體狀況有需要注意的地方。

之後,除了可能需要專業人士監控的情況外,生酮類飲食法似乎對所有人都有好處。

糖尿病在香港:您應該知道的資訊

生酮飲食法涉及什麼

要實施生酮飲食,您首先需要減少日常碳水化合物的吸收。一些典型的碳水化合物包括糖、蘇打、糕點和白麵包。

碳水化合物減少,您的身體裡可消化從而產生能量的糖分會減少。儲存在肝中作為糖原的葡萄糖將被分解,您的胰島素水平也就將下降,開始轉變為酮症狀態。然後每個人每日需要吸收的碳水化合物量取決於身體活動率以及體重和身高比例。常見的數字是每天不超過20克碳水化合物,但有些人雖然每天攝入的碳水化合物數量是原來的兩倍,但還是會有酮症。

您可以從任何本地藥房購買尿酮試紙,以測試您是否有酮症。這些測試應用於尿液樣本,並將指示條與色卡進行比較,以識別您是否已經有酮症。要使身體處於酮症狀態,試紙條需要呈深紫色,整個過程通常需要3-4天左右。

一旦您的身體處於生酮階段,除了能減少脂肪,您還會長時間感到有活力。高脂飲食可能會使您保持更長時間的飽腹,並且能量分解的過程將變得更頻繁,而且是穩定的,不會只是短時間的能量飆升,因此,您的日常工作效率會更高。

雖然不是生酮飲食的必要部分,但有些人會將生酮飲食與間歇性禁食結合在一起,例如決定僅在一天中的8小時內進食,如中午至晚上8點或從上午9點至下午6點。據認為,這可以增強酮症的狀態,從而提高效果。

生酮飲食時要食什麼

當進行生酮飲食法時,重要的是要保持高脂肪、適度的蛋白質和非常低的碳水化合物比率。在脂肪方面,盡量選擇健康的脂肪來源,以得到當中的減肥益處,同時也有益於心臟健康和血液健康。

請記住要紀錄飲食,以確保攝入足夠的脂肪並全天候保持到足夠的能量。

這是在進行生酮飲食時可以進食的食物清單

  • 魚和海鮮
    高蛋白質,含豐富omega-3脂肪,也含豐富維他命B
  • 肉和家禽
    蛋白質的重要來源,但請注意吸收愈多的動物脂肪與愈高的“壞” HDL膽固醇有關
  • 低碳水化合物蔬菜
    營養豐富,對消化及清潔體內廢物非常有幫助,並有助於調節體內膽固醇水平
  • 牛油果
    富含健康脂肪酸,高脂水果,帶來飽腹感
  • 芝士
    零碳水化合物,富含蛋白質和鈣
  • 堅果、種子和健康的油
    健康的優質脂肪,吃堅果可以增加纖維和蛋白質的吸收;具有強大功效的特別油類包括有椰子油
  • 不加糖的咖啡和茶
    幫助加速新陳代謝,對大腦產生刺激,而不會使大腦陷入高糖效應。您可能聽過將牛油和/或椰子油加到咖啡中以增加脂肪攝入,這通常被稱為「防彈咖啡」。

我們喜歡牛油果的8個原因

預期注意事項

一旦開始進入酮症,您身體可能會出現一些徵兆。您可能會注意到自己排尿次數增加,而且口腔的氣味可能有所不同,這都是由於酮的產生並在尿液和口腔中釋放,從而略微改變了身體的運作。開始使用生酮飲食時,另一個常見的徵兆是“酮流感”:酮流感在首次改用高脂低碳水化合物飲食時通常會遇到。隨著身體和大腦逐漸適應能量供應的突然變化,您也可能會出現類似戒斷反應。因此請在整個過程中保持水分充足,如果感到疲倦,多休息是很重要的。一旦您的身體適應了酮症,這些徵兆就會消失。

使用生酮飲食時,很容易發生電解質失衡,因此,再次確保在整個過程中喝大量水,並在飲食中添加電解質補充劑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Keto 101: Everything You Need to Know About The Keto Diet

Following the Atkins diet and the 80/20 diet, the keto diet has gained huge popularity. Here is your complete guide.

What is the Keto diet?

The ketogenic (keto) diet is a type of a low-carb, high fat diet typically to lose weight over a relatively short period of time. The term ‘keto’ comes from ketones (also known as ketone bodies) which we produce when we burn fat for energy instead of glucose, i.e. sugars and starches from carbohydrates. By reducing carbs, our body enters into a metabolic state called ketosis.

The keto diet first began to be researched in the 1970s and was created by Peter Huttenlocher. There has been several variations but the key element remain a high fat, moderate protein, and low carb ratio.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Who is the Keto diet for?

The keto diet was originally created to treat patients with epilepsy, as an alternative to fasting which had been noted to produce positive results. Studies showed that when patients went on a high fat low carb diet, the regularity of their seizures seemed to be reduced. However, in recent years, this method has increasingly been used for weight management, focusing on the effect of fat loss. The diet seems to also be available to those with type 2 diabetes. It is common for people with type 2 diabetes to be overweight and need to manage their weight for better health, and the diet involves a higher reliance on breaking down fat for energy, with less reliance on the production of insulin to manage blood sugar levels.

Precautions with the Keto diet

Before implementing any new diet, it is advisable to consult first with your practitioner, especially if you have a physical condition that you need to pay attention to. 

Subsequently, besides the case of having a condition you may need to monitor with a professional, the keto diet seems to be good for everyone to utilize.

Read our expert guide about Diabetes: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/complete-guide-to-diabetes-in-hong-kong/

What a keto diet involves

To implement the keto diet, you first need to reduce your daily carbohydrate consumption. Some typical carbs include sugar, soda, pastries, and white bread.

With less carbs, your body will have less sugars to digest to generate energy. Glucose stored in your liver as glycogen will be broken down and your level of insulin will decline, beginning the transition into ketosis state. The amount of carbohydrate an individual needs to consume each day depends on physical activity as well as weight and height ratios. A common figure is no more than 20g of carbohydrates per day, but some also have achieved ketosis with double this amount of carbohydrates a day.

There are ketone test strips that can be purchased from any local pharmacy, to test if you are in ketosis. These tests should be used on urine samples, and the indicator strips can be compared to a color chart to identify if you are already in ketosis; for the body to be in ketosis, the strip will be deep purple, and the process will usually take around 3-4 days.

Once your body is in ketogenic phase, other than the result of fat-loss, you can also benefit from a feeling of prolonged energy, Having a high fat diet will likely keep you fuller for longer, and the process of energy breakdown will become more steady rather than with energy spikes, meaning better efficiency in your daily routines.

Though it is not a necessary part of the diet, some people pair the process with intermittent fasting i.e. decide to only eat during an 8-hour period during the day, e.g. noon to 8pm or from 9am until 6pm. This is supposed to enhance the state of ketosis, to maximize results.

What do you eat on keto?

When being on the keto diet, it is important to maintain a high fat, moderate protein and very low carb ratio. In terms of fats, try to opt for healthy sources of fats as much as possible, to reap weight loss benefits but also for your heart health and blood health. 

Remember to keep track of what you are eating to ensure you consume enough amounts of fats and have a sustained energy supply throughout the day. 

Here is a list of foods you can incorporate when being on keto:

  • Fish and seafood
    High in protein and rich in omega-3 fats, also high in B vitamins
  • Meat and poultry
    Great source of protein, but keep a note of the amount of animal fat consumption in relation to higher ‘bad’ HDL cholesterol
  • Low carb vegetables
    Nutritionally dense, great for digestion and cleansing the body, and helps regulate cholesterol levels in the body
  • Avocadoes
    High in healthy fatty acids, a high-fat fruit that brings filling effect
  • Cheese
    Zero carbohydrates, rich in protein and calcium
  • Nuts, seeds and healthy oils
    Healthy sources of good fats, nuts add fiber and protein to the diet; specific oils with strong benefits include coconut oil
  • Unsweetened coffee and tea
    Help to speed up metabolism, giving stimulation to the brain, without sending the brain into a sugar rush. You may have heard of incorporating butter and/or coconut oil into coffee to increase the fat intake, it is commonly known as “bulletproof coffee”.

We love avocados, here’s why: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/8-things-we-love-about-avocados/

What to expect

Once you begin to enter in to ketosis, you may come into a handful of signs; you may notice that you are urinating more often and your breath may smell differently, this is all due to ketones being produced and released in urine and breath, slightly altering the bodily processes. Another common sign that is common when starting the keto diet is the ‘keto flu’: a set of symptoms some experience when first switching to the high fat-low carb diet. You may also experience withdrawal-like symptoms as the body and the brain are becoming accustomed to the sudden change of energy supply. It is important to stay hydrated throughout this process and take some rest if you feel sluggish and tired. Once your body adapts to being in ketosis, these symptoms will fade away.

When being on the keto diet, it can be easy for an imbalance of electrolytes to occur, so again, be sure to drink plenty of water throughout the whole process, and add electrolyte supplements in your diet.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.