您的孩子是否有太多電子屏幕時間?

世界衛生組織(WHO)發布的最新指南激起了一番討論,關於兒童在手機和平板電腦等屏幕上花的時間。

儘管這些指南是專注於身體活動和睡眠對五歲以下兒童的重要性,但指南向父母和看護人提出了重要的問題:

新的建議是,2歲以下的兒童不該有久坐的屏幕時間,而應該做不同程度的體能活動,或鼓勵他們在有看護人互動的情況下講故事或閱讀。對於2-5歲的兒童,建議每日屏幕時間不超過1小時,並且不應將兒童束縛在嬰兒車中或每次坐超過1小時。

為什麼太多的屏幕時間對孩子不利

缺乏身體鍛煉

香港大學進行的一項四年研究發現,每天屏幕時間超過兩小時的兒童更可能超重,並且有行為問題的風險更高。花太多時間在屏幕上會減少身體活動的時間。身體鍛煉不僅對我們的身體有益,也有助我們的心理健康。它基本上會讓我們的頭腦休息一下,而當我們運動時,我們的身體會產生安多酚 – “快樂激素”,可以幫助我們控制日常壓力。對於兒童早期發育來說,定期進行身體鍛煉很重要,這樣他們才能變得更健康和更快樂。

影響視力

太多的屏幕時間會影響我們的視力健康。眾所周知很多香港兒童患有近視超過80%的年輕人和60%的12歲人士都有近視(相比之下,英國只有30%)。基本來說,不是屏幕對眼睛有害,儘管長時間接觸藍光的確會導致近視,但事實上是看屏幕時距離太近(20厘米), 正常距離是45至50厘米。距離近會給視網膜帶來更大的壓力,增加近視惡化的風險,進而影響孩子的社交和學習能力。

Eye Tests for Children | Where to Go in Hong Kong

過度接觸社交媒體

沒有控制孩子花在網路上的時間的情況下,很難了解他們所接觸到的資訊,以及了解有多少外界資訊在影響他們。當然,網路可以提供很多資訊,但有時資訊也可能太過豐富。作為父母和看護人,我們有責任引導孩子該如何以有益於他們的方式使用這些媒體。在YouTube、Snapchat、Facebook和Instagram等社交媒體平台上,用戶至少需要年滿13歲才能註冊帳戶,因為它們在我們的日常生活中如此普遍,我們應該注意孩子是否也在用。在當今的社交媒體文化中,兒童可能會遭受許多潛在的問題困擾:網絡欺凌、有爭議的媒體報導、未經審查的內容、癡迷在理想化的圖像中或有多少個like和關注者、取代面對面的社交互動等。儘管可以把社交媒體帳戶設置為隱私或調整展示在平台上的內容,但最好的選擇還是限制兒童使用電子產品,僅用作基本教育用途或與親朋好友發送消息。

缺乏社交互動

簡而言之,在電子產品上花太多時間會降低兒童的社交能力。儘管科技進步使交友圈更廣泛,但事實上,人們比以往更孤獨。在香港,研究發現超過50%的年輕人報告患有抑鬱徵狀。儘管有很多可用的平台,但是兒童還是需要真實的社交互動,可以幫助他們在成長為年輕人時建立穩定情緒以及他們的身分。

閱讀我們的抑鬱症專業指南:

抑鬱症在香港:症狀,治療和支援

屏幕學習時間

的確,在科技時代,使用電子設備可以帶來更多的學習機會。從學習一種新語言或掌握一點技巧,到程式語言開發和編碼開發,機遇無窮無盡。但是,在發展這些技能上要花費多少時間仍然應該有一個界限:就像成年人需要在工作環境中休假和休息一樣,孩子們也需要遠離電子產品來獲取休息時間。根據世界衛生組織的指示,5歲以下的兒童每晚應要有不少於10個小時的優質睡眠。屏幕時間不僅刺激了我們的眼睛,在睡前使用電子產品會讓我們清醒的時間更長研究還發現,與每日花超過兩小時的兒童相比,每日花少於兩小時的兒童的認知能力比較好。意思是在減少電子產品使用的情況下,兒童更有可能在知識獲取方面擁有更好的記憶力和技能。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

如何管理屏幕時間?

以下列出了一些技巧。您可以嘗試這些技巧來更好地安排孩子的屏幕時間

  • 制定屏幕時間規則

設置明確的時間限制和允許屏幕活動的時間段。有各種應用程式或計時器可以利用。

  • 禁止在其他活動(例如做功課或晚餐)中使用

鼓勵孩子一次專注於一件事情。此外,晚餐是家庭互動的關鍵時間。

  • 不把屏幕時間作為獎勵

在協商屏幕時間和電子產品使用情況時,請不要以“無屏幕時間”作為懲罰或以“有屏幕時間”作為獎勵。平常心看待電子產品的使用會鼓勵孩子們平等地選擇其他活動,並激發他們對“屏幕時間”之外的活動抱有更欣賞的態度。

  • 參與其他類型的活動,例如閱讀、棋盤遊戲、戶外活動

有無盡的選擇。參加現場表演或有參與性的活動對培養孩子的觀察力很好。

  • 促進對網上互動的批判性思考

如今,社交媒體已成為青少年生活中重要的一部分,只要教導他們什麼是適當的行為,幫助孩子了解、明白是非。他們就可以擁有好的網絡素養,在使用社交媒體時能保護自己。

作為父母或看護人,管理孩子的屏幕時間並不容易。何況我們自己也還在尋找平衡點。希望本文對您有幫助。有興趣請訂閱我們的電子刊物或關注Healthy Matters!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Is Your Child Getting Too Much Screen Time?

The latest guidelines issued by the World Health Organisation (WHO) have stirred up some discussion about the time that children spend on screens like phones and tablets. 

Although these guidelines focus on the importance of enough physical activity and sleep for children below five years old, they raise important questions for parents and caregivers: 

The new recommendation is that children under the age of 2 should not have sedentary screen time, but instead should be engaged in physical activity of any level of intensity, or encouraged to do storytelling or reading, where interaction with caregiver is involved. For children ages 2-5, screen time is recommended to not exceed 1 hour per day, and children should not be restrained in prams or sitting for longer than 1 hour at a time. 

Why too much screen time is bad for children

Lack of physical activity

A four-year study carried out by the University of Hong Kong found that children who use more than 2 hours of screen time a day were more likely to be overweight and at higher risk of behavioral issues. Spending too much time looking at screens takes out time that could be spent being engaged in physical activities. Physical activity is not only good for our bodies, but also beneficial to our mental health. It typically gives our minds a break, and when we exercise, our bodies produce endorphins – mood hormones that help us better manage everyday’s stress. It is important for children in earlier stages of development to have regular physical activity, so they can grow healthier and happier.

Affects Eyesight

Too much screen time is closely linked to issues with our optical health. Hong Kong is known for having a myopia epidemic amongst children, with over 80% of young adults and over 60% of 12-year olds being myopic (versus only 30% in Britain). Essentially, it’s not the screens or monitors that are harmful to the eyes, although there are issues of prolonged exposure to blue light from monitors creating myopia stimulus, but the fact that using them is with too close proximity (20 cm) than the normal distance of 45 to 50 cm. It creates greater strain on the retina and overtime, can rapidly increase the risk of worsening myopia, which in turn can hinder a child’s social and academic capabilities.

Learn about eye tests for kids: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/eye-tests-for-children-when-and-where-to-go-in-hong-kong/

Over-exposure of social media

When children spend unmonitored time on devices and browse the internet by themselves, it can be difficult to keep up with the information they are being exposed to, and how much outside influence is being allowed to affect them. For sure the internet can be very informative, but information can sometimes be too informative, that’s two sides of the same coin. As parent and caregiver, it is our responsibility to guide children on how to use these tools in ways that are beneficial to their wellbeing. On social media platforms like YouTube, Snapchat, Facebook and Instagram, individuals need to be at least 13 to register an account however, as they are so common in our daily lives that we ought to pay extra attention if children are occasionally using our devices. Children can suffer from many underlying issues with today’s social media culture: cyberbullying, controversial media coverage, uncensored content, obsessing over idealised images or number of likes and followers, replacing physical social interaction etc. Although it is possible to set privacy settings and tweak the contents being shown on our feeds, it is best to simply limit children’s device uses to simply educational or just to message friends and relatives.

Lack of social interaction

Simply said, spending too much time on devices reduces children’s social abilities. Despite the advancement of technology allowing for widespread communities and friendships to develop, the reality is that people are lonelier than ever; in Hong Kong, studies have found that over 50% of young people report to struggle with depressive symptoms. Although there are so many platforms available, what children really need are physical forms of social interaction that helps them build emotional stability as well as their identity, as they grow to become young adults. 

Read our expert guide to depression: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/complete-guide-depression-in-hong-kong/

Screen time for learning

It is true that in the age of technology, there are now many more learning opportunities that come from using digital devices. From learning a new language or picking up a minute skill, to developing skills in programming and coding, the opportunities are endless. However, there should still be a certain boundary with regards to how much time is spent on developing these skills: just as adults need vacation time and rest time from being in work environments, children also need breaks that don’t involve other devices. According to the WHO guidelines, children under 5 should be getting no less than 10 hours of good quality sleep per night. Screen time not only further stimulates our eyes, keeping us awake for longer when we use devices close to bedtime, but research has also found that cognitive skills are better in children who spend less than 2 hours a day on devices compared to those who spend more time on devices. This means that with reduced device usage, children are more likely to have better memory and skills in knowledge acquisition.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

How to manage screen time?

Here is a list of tips you could try to better manage your child’s screen time:

  • Develop screen time rules
    Set clear time limits and areas in which screen times are allowed. There are various apps or timers to help you.
  • Discourage use of media during other activities like homework or dinner
    This is not multitasking; children should be encouraged to focus on one thing at a time. Furthermore, dinner time is a crucial time for social interaction between family members.
  • Not presenting screen time as a reward
    When negotiating screen times and device usage, try not to present ‘no screen time’ as punishment and ‘yes screen time’ as reward. Placing a neutral impression on devices encourages children to seek out other activities as equal options, and motivates them to have a more appreciative attitude towards activities they are involved in outside of ‘yes screen time’.
  • Involvement of ulterior activities, e.g. reading, board games, outdoor activities
    There are endless options to choose from. Participating in activities that involve live performance or physical engagement is better for children when it comes to learning by observation.
  • Promoting critical consideration of the media they interact with online
    With social media now being such a big part of adolescent life, as long as appropriate behaviours are taught – to help children recognise what is OK and what isn’t – they can learn better internet literacy to protect themselves when they use social media.

As parents or caregivers, it’s not always easy to manage screen time for our child, and we often struggle to strike a balance for ourselves. We hope you found this article helpful. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay tuned, and follow us! 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.