香港兒童牙齒健康:專訪謝嘉詠牙醫

您知唔知道在香港,每五個幼稚園學童就有兩個有蛀牙?香港大學牙醫學院進行的研究表示,儘管近年香港兒童蛀牙率有輕微下降趨勢,但與世界其他城市相比,香港兒童的蛀牙發生率仍然高得多。在專訪為人母親的謝嘉詠牙醫生期間,我們獲得了有關如何改善和維持小朋友牙齒健康的建議。

父母幾時應該第一次帶小朋友去牙科診所?小朋友應該每隔幾耐進行一次檢查?

通常建議父母在小朋友長出第一隻牙齒後就可以帶小朋友去看牙醫。這有助讓小朋友與牙醫建立關係及逐步了解牙醫,因而當牙醫檢查小朋友的牙齒時,小朋友就不會害怕。為了讓小朋友清楚理解發生什麼事,理想情況下可以在小朋友2-3歲時帶他們進行第一次全面牙科檢查,因為大多數時候,小朋友在3歲時應該就出齊所有的乳牙。如果小朋友出現牙齒問題的風險低,意思即是他們的牙齒沒有太多問題,父母可以考慮每年一次帶小朋友去看牙醫。如果是高危人士,則指他們已經有蛀牙之類的問題,父母可以考慮每年兩次帶他們進行牙科保健。視情況而定,您的牙醫會在您初次就診時為您提供建議。

點可以知道小朋友攝取的氟化物是否足夠(或太多)?

對於一個健康的普通兒童來說,他們的飲食中不需要添加任何氟化物(fluoride)。香港的水確實有天然存在的氟化物,但是,我相信氟化物並不是健康牙齒的主要因素。牙齒健康的關鍵是有良好的衛生習慣,包括刷牙和使用牙線、父母在小朋友刷牙後可以幫他們重新刷牙、保持良好的飲食習慣、盡量減少進食糖分。

兒童牙膏:幾時開始使用牙膏?幾時應該開始將牙線加入到日常口腔護理習慣?

一旦兒童知道怎樣吐口水和漱口而不把水吞下,他們就可以每次使用豌豆大小的氟化牙膏刷牙。或者,您可以使用非氟化牙膏來幫助他們養成習慣並練習使用牙膏。而由於使用牙線需要高靈活性,父母可以幫小朋友使用牙線清潔牙齒。

什麼是牙紋密封劑(dental sealants),您認為幼兒適合使用嗎?

牙紋密封劑用於牙齒表面或側面有自然的深溝和裂縫的人。大多數人會建議當第一隻成年臼齒出現時(通常在5-6歲左右),就使用牙紋密封劑密封那些深溝和裂縫,以防止牙菌斑沉積而導致將來出現蛀牙的風險。我不能一概而論表示每個小朋友都應該使用牙紋密封劑,因為實際是視乎不同個案的情況,因此父母應該聽取他們睇的牙醫的建議。

安撫奶嘴或吸啜拇指會影響嬰兒牙齒的發育/成長嗎?

長時間使用奶嘴或吸啜拇指可能會對它們的牙齒排列和骨骼生長產生不利影響。但是,成為媽媽後,我意識到大膽建議不要讓嬰兒使用安撫奶嘴是十分困難的,因為它亦有優點(例如可以讓寶寶一整日不哭!)。我要說的是,兩者都需要謹慎使用,並且在他們的乳齒全部萌出後,盡可能嘗試停止使用,並限制他們的使用時間,即僅在就寢時間使用。

乳齒最常見的問題是什麼,如何避免這些問題?

正如之前所述,蛀牙是在香港最常見的問題。除了我之前提到關於良好衛生和飲食習慣的關鍵建議外,還有一個重要建議是要小心夜晚用奶樽餵奶,盡可能不要讓寶寶含著奶樽入睡。這是幼兒的牙齒多處有蛀牙的原因。

您可以提供哪些貼士幫助保持小朋友良好的牙齒衛生?

父母經常問他們可以如何令小朋友刷牙或想刷牙。我的建議是在小朋友年幼時就開始為他們樹立積極和良好的行為習慣。嬰兒、幼兒、兒童、青少年都很聰明。他們知道什麼是對您重要的事(例如您每日都刷牙);因此,盡可能在日常生活中,早晚展示自己正確刷牙、用牙線、去睇牙醫而不害怕。講到尾,當每個人都好好保護自己的牙齒時,去睇牙醫真的不是那麼可怕。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

謝嘉詠牙醫Dr. Carrie (Kar Wing) Tse是香港維健牙科中心的一名牙科醫生,之前曾在菲臘牙科醫院工作。 她於加拿大韋仕敦大學畢業,獲得理學學士學位,然後在香港大學修讀牙科,並獲得牙科學士學位。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Dr. Carrie Tse on Children’s Dental Health

Did you know that in Hong Kong, two out of five kindergarten children have tooth decay? Studies conducted by the University of Hong Kong’s Faculty of Dentistry show that despite a slight decline over the years, rates of child dental caries in Hong Kong remain much higher compared to other world cities. In our interview with Doctor Carrie Tse, a dental surgeon and mother, we get advice on how to improve and maintain our children’s dental health.

 

When should parents take their child for their first dental visit? How frequently should they go for checkups?

It is usually advised that parents can take their children to see the dentist as soon as they have their first teeth. It helps build a relationship with the dentist so they continue to know them and won’t be afraid to have someone check their teeth. Ideally, for children to comprehend and understand what is happening, age 2-3 years old can be their first full check-up because most of the time by 3 years old, they should have all their baby teeth. If children are low-risk, meaning they don’t have many issues with their teeth, parents can consider visiting the dentist annually. If high-risk, meaning they already have issues like cavities, parents can consider bringing them twice a year for maintenance. It really depends case to case, and your dentist can give you advice on your first visit.

 

How do you know if your child is getting enough (or too much) fluoride? Is the amount in tap water enough?

For a healthy average child, there does not need to be any supplemented fluoride in their diet. Hong Kong does have naturally occurring fluoride in the water, however, I believe fluoride isn’t the main issue for healthy teeth. The practice of good hygiene with brushing and flossing, with parents helping to re-brush after their children brush, and also good diets, minimizing sugars are the keys to healthy teeth.

 

Toothpaste for children: when do you start using it and how much? When do you add flossing into the oral care routine?

Once children know how to spit and rinse without swallowing, they can use a pea-size amount of fluoridated toothpaste. Otherwise, you can use non-fluoridated toothpaste to help them build a habit and practice using toothpaste. Flossing can be done by the parents, as this requires good dexterity.

 

What are dental sealants, and would you recommend young children to have these?

Dental sealants are used for those who have naturally deep grooves and fissures on the surfaces or sides of their teeth. Most will recommend that once the first adult molars come up (usually around 5-6 years old) to seal these grooves and fissures to protect them from plaque getting trapped leading for risk of future cavities. I can’t give a blanket statement that every child should have these, as it also is case by case, so parents will need to listen to the advice of their dentist.

 

Will a pacifier or thumb-sucking effect the development/growth of babies’ teeth?

Prolonged use of pacifiers or thumb-sucking may adversely affect their tooth alignment and bone growth. However, after becoming a mother, I realized how hard it is to blatantly recommend not having soothers for babies, as it has its pros (as in, having a baby not cry all day long!). I would say both need guarded use, and as much as possible try to discontinue the use once their baby teeth have all erupted and limit the time they use it i.e. only for bedtime.

 

What are the most common problems with baby teeth, and what can be done to avoid them?

In Hong Kong, it is cavities, as mentioned. One big advice other than the key ones I’ve previously mentioned about good hygiene and diet – is night bottle-feeding. As much as possible, try not to let your babies go to sleep with the milk bottle. This is the cause of multiple cavities in young children.

 

What tips can you give that can help maintain children’s good dental hygiene?

Parents always ask how they get their children to brush their teeth or want to brush their teeth. My advice is start young and model positive and good behaviors. Babies, toddlers, children, young teenagers are smart. They know what’s important to you, if you do it; so whenever possible, model brushing your teeth in the morning and night as a routine. Model flossing, going to the dentist, and not being afraid. At the end of the day, we really aren’t that scary when everyone does their part.
Dr. Carrie (Kar Wing) Tse is a Dental Surgeon at Smart Dental Hong Kong, and was previously at the Prince Philip Dental Hospital. She graduated from the University of Western Ontario, with an honors in Bachelor of Science, and then studied Dental Surgery at The University of Hong Kong, receiving her Bachelor of Dental Surgery qualification.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.