間歇性斷食:最流行的減肥方法之一

最後更新日期 七月 20, 2021.

簡介 | 方法 | 好處 | 可持續性

Advertisements

間歇性斷食是近年最流行的減肥方法之一。現代人普遍越來越著重健康,會特別留意自己的飲食習慣。間歇性斷食之所以大行其道,正是因為這種飲食方法很容易遵循,它不會限制你的食物選擇,只會限制你的飲食時間。它不僅適合注重身材的白領麗人,而且越來越多的男士也願意加入間歇性斷食的行列。

間歇性斷食的簡介

間歇性斷食這種飲食模式一直貫穿在人類進化史中,其特點是間歇地進食和禁食。在古代,人類在野外覓食,經常迫不得已要挨餓達數小時甚至數天時間。經過長時間訓練,人體也漸漸適應了在間歇性斷食的情況下,仍維持身體正常運作和功能。除此之外,不同形式的斷食也存在於特定宗教或政治(絕食抗議)背景的國家。例如在齋戒月,穆斯林信徒會從黎明至黃昏期間禁食,他們相信通過戒除吃喝等慾望,可洗滌心靈。此外,羅馬天主教認為暴飲暴食(過度放縱和消費食物和飲料)是一宗罪,因此教徒會定時禁食,進行懺悔,祈求天主赦免自己的罪。來到現代,不少人轉而採用間歇性斷食的方法收減肥之效。

間歇性斷食的方法

間歇性斷食的方法變化多端,主要從限制禁食時數和卡路里攝取量兩方面下手。世上沒有所謂「最佳」的斷食方法:不同的斷食方法對不同人的體質效果都可能有所不同。以下是一些常見的間歇性斷食方法:

  • 隔日斷食法

這個方法包括每週一至兩次非連續地禁食24小時。例如:週一和週四禁食,其餘日子都可以進食。

  • 改良禁食法

這種方法(也被稱為 5:2)需要在每週非連續的兩天減少卡路里攝取量,即正常卡路里攝取量的20-25%(女性通常為 500 卡路里,男性為 600 卡路里),而其餘五天都攝取正常的卡路里量。例如:減少週一和周四的卡路里攝取量,而其餘日子回復正常飲食份量。

  • 限時禁食

限時禁食的種類有12/12、14/10、16/8等,斜線前的數字指連續禁食的時數,斜線後的數字則是可以進食的時數。例如:如果採用16/8斷食法,就要在中午12時至晚上8時期間進食,並從晚上8時至第二天中午12點期間禁食。

雖然間歇性斷食並沒有對進食期間的食物選擇作出限制,但暴飲暴食無可避免會導致體重增加。間歇性斷食的主要目的之一是通過限制在固定時間內進食,減少整體卡路里攝取量。實行16/8斷食法的正常情況下,通常只能在8小時的進食時限內吃兩頓飯。減少一整頓飯的份量可以顯著降低卡路里攝取量,從而帶來減肥效果。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

Advertisements

間歇性斷食的好處

減肥

在間歇性斷食期間,身體會先利用血液中的葡萄糖 (glucose) 來產生能量。當血糖耗盡時,肝臟內的糖原 (glycogen) 會開始被分解,由糖原分解成葡萄糖,以調節血糖水平。糖原儲備通常會在禁食內的8-12小時期間耗盡,之後身體就會開始將脂肪儲備分解成酮 (ketone),作為能量來源。

類似於生酮飲食,間歇性斷食的原理就是當耗盡糖分儲備,再加上數小時禁食後,身體便會開始燃燒脂肪,造成體重下降。一篇評論文章顯示,持續2-12週的間歇性斷食方案可以使體重下降3-8%,效果比傳統限制卡路里攝取量的減肥方法更顯著。文章更比較了間歇性斷食和傳統的減肥方法,兩者減少內臟脂肪量(腹部周圍的脂肪,也是心血管疾病的風險因素)的效果相若。這意味著間歇性斷食可能是一種無需刻意限制卡路里攝取量但有效的減肥方法。

保持腸道與免疫系統健康

根據土耳其胃腸病學雜誌,間歇性斷食能夠促進腸道微生物群中的益生菌增生。腸道微生物群在禁食期間的製造的發酵物(例如乙酸鹽和乳酸)對代謝指標有正面影響,例如通過降低「壞」膽固醇和空腹血糖水平 (fasting blood glucose level),能防止肥胖和胰島素阻抗 (insulin resistance)。

預防疾病

研究顯示,間歇性斷食,尤其是隔日斷食法,可以減少炎症。炎症是許多慢性疾病的主要成因,如心血管疾病、動脈粥樣硬化 (atherosclerosis)、關節炎糖尿病和癌症。最近,動物試驗顯示,間歇性斷食可能通過減少氧化應激 (oxidative stress)(即在體內累積的自由基,並會對導致DNA和蛋白質造成損傷)來降低癌症風險。

延年益壽

間歇性斷食可能會改變基因表達 (gene expression),增強與長壽和疾病保護相關的基因。研究表明,間歇性斷食可以將老鼠的壽命延長36-83%。間歇性斷食還會啟動細胞的自我修復機制——自噬(autophagy),即是細胞會自動消化體內廢物、吞噬功能失調的細胞並製造新細胞。這意味著間歇性斷食可能有助延長壽命和減緩衰老。

提升腦部神經健康

研究指出,間歇性斷食會促進大腦製造更多腦源性神經營養因子 (BDNF)激素,並刺激神經細胞更新,增強對不同神經退化症狀 (neurodegenerative conditions)的抗禦力,如失憶和阿茨海默病 (Alzheimer’s disease/老人痴呆症)。

增強代謝

間歇性斷食可以降低卡路里攝取量,同時提高代謝燃燒率。禁食期間,荷爾蒙水平會出現變化,提升新陳代謝率。2005年的一項臨床試驗指出,隔日斷食法會令胰島素水平顯著下降,但同時身體對胰島素的敏感度 (insulin sensitivity) 會顯著增加。因此,身體會選擇燃燒脂肪來取代糖分去提供能量。另一項研究表明,連續48小時禁食可能會增加腎上腺素,從而促進脂肪代謝。美國一項研究更發現,禁食期間人體生長激素會增加5倍,有效促進脂肪分解,同時保持肌肉質量。

間歇性禁食的可持續性

與任何減肥計劃一樣,當你停止間歇性斷食並恢復「不太健康」的正常飲食時,你的體重自然可能回升。要保持理想體重,需要持續不懈的努力。假設你已經經歷了整整6個月的間歇性斷食,下一步應該如何維持體重呢?

相信大部分人都不能承受永無止境的減肥方案,無論是因為可能要戒掉最愛的食物,又或者因為生活習慣總會被不同事情打亂:照顧孩子,長時間工作云云。儘管如此,間歇性斷食是一種相對容易堅持的飲食方法,甚至能為你的生活方式帶來改變——當你習慣了固定的禁食和進食時間,理應容易持續實行(例如從中午12時開始進食,到晚上8時停止進食)。又或者,你可以將進食時限由8小時逐漸增加至10小時或12小時。但謹記要繼續健康飲食,並定期運動鍛煉身體,才能達到維持體重的最佳效果。

FAQs

間歇性斷食適合所有人嗎?

不是。若有以下身體狀況,例如糖尿病、癌症、低血壓、心血管疾病、飲食失調、體重不足,以及孕婦/哺乳期婦女,建議事先諮詢醫生或營養師,以評估你的身體狀況是否適合這種飲食模式。

禁食時間越長,減肥效果越大?

不一定,長時間禁食(超過3天)可能會刺激身體的保護機制,令身體儲存更多脂肪,減慢新陳代謝。

剛開始間歇性斷食後感到很疲累,我應該放棄嗎?

在首2週間歇性斷食期間感到輕微疲倦是很正常的,這是因為你的身體需要適應新的飲食模式。但是,如果你出現噁心頭痛和情緒波動等不良症狀,應立即停止禁食,並逐步恢復進食,以補充能量和營養。如果你仍然想繼續斷食,請諮詢醫生建議。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Intermittent Fasting — The Trendy Weight Loss Method

Last updated on September 9, 2021.

Introduction | Methods | Benefits | Sustainability

Intermittent Fasting has been one of the most popular weight loss methods in recent years. People pay more attention to their eating habits, as they generally become more health-aware. Here is where intermittent fasting comes in as a trendy weight-loss method — not only for the typical keep-fit gurus, the office ladies, but more and more men are also willing to jump into the bandwagon to make changes to their eating pattern. This diet is easy to follow with no restriction on what you eat, but when you eat. 

Introduction to Intermittent Fasting

Intermittent fasting is an eating pattern adapted throughout human evolution history, characterized by consecutive eating and fasting sessions. In ancient times, hunter-gatherers had to bear with an empty stomach for hours or up to days until they could hunt for food in the wild. This process has trained the human body to adapt to maintain its functions without food for an extended time. Fasting is also a common practice amongst countries with different religious backgrounds and for political reasons (i.e. hunger strike). For example, in Ramadan month, Muslims fast from dawn to dusk, to reflect spiritually by abstaining from physical pleasure like eating and drinking. Also, in Roman Catholics, gluttony (over-indulgence and over-consumption of food and drink) is considered to be a sin, so fasting is practiced from time to time to detoxify oneself from all the indulgence. In modern days, weight loss has become the biggest motivation for people to adopt fasting.

Methods of Intermittent Fasting

There are many variations of intermittent fasting, in terms of fasting interval and calorie intake. There is no so-called “best” method: every method can be effective, but what works best for each individual might be different. Here are some common methods of intermittent fasting:

  • Alternate Day Fasting

It involves fasting for 24 hours once or twice per week on non-consecutive days in the week. E.g. fasting on Monday and Thursday, eating for the rest of the week.

  • Modified Fasting

This method, also known as the 5:2, requires a reduced calorie intake i.e. 20-25% of normal calorie intake (normally 500 calories for women and 600 calories for men) on 2 non-consecutive days, and normal calorie intake for the remaining 5 days of the week. E.g. a reduced calorie intake on Monday and Thursday, and eating normally for the rest of the week.

  • Time-restricted Fasting

There are different types of time-restricted fasting, i.e. 12/12, 14/10, 16/8, etc. The number before the slash is the number of consecutive hours of fasting, and that after the slash is the number of hours of eating. This method is practiced throughout the week. E.g. For the 16/8 method, eat during 12pm–8pm, and fast from 8pm until 12pm on the second day.

Although there is no restriction on food choices during the eating session, over-eating will inevitably lead to weight gain. One of the main purposes of intermittent fasting is to reduce calorie intake by fixing eating sessions within a certain time frame. Normally, people who practice the 16/8 method can only fit in 2 meals within the 8 hours window. Cutting an entire meal can significantly lower calorie intake, and thus bring about weight loss.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Benefits of Intermittent Fasting

Weight loss

During intermittent fasting, the body first utilizes glucose in the blood for energy production. When blood glucose is running out, liver’s glycogenolysis will be speeded up to  break down more glycogen into glucose in order to regulate normal blood glucose levels. The glycogen store is usually used up within 8–12 hours during the fasting period, after which the body will start to break down fat to produce ketones as a source of energy.

Similar to the keto diet, weight loss is achieved when the body uses up its sugar stores and starts burning fat after hours without food. A review article revealed that a 2–12 week intermittent fasting regime can bring about a 3-8% reduction in body weight, which is more significant than traditional calorie restriction methods. The same article also showed comparable reductions in visceral fat mass (fat around the abdominal area, also a risk factor of cardiovascular diseases) by both intermittent fasting and the traditional methods. This implies that intermittent fasting might be an effective weight loss method without the need to intentionally restrict calorie intake.

Gut health & Immunity

Intermittent fasting might be able to boost beneficial bacteria (i.e. probiotics) in gut microbiota, according to the Turkish Journal of Gastroenterology. The changes in gut microbial composition caused by probiotics show positive effects on metabolic markers, such as lower “bad” cholesterol and fasting glucose levels due to the action of gut microbiota fermentation products (e.g. acetate and lactate) during fasting, which prevents obesity and insulin resistance.

Disease prevention

Studies showed that intermittent fasting, in particular the alternate day fasting method, can reduce inflammation, a leading cause of many chronic diseases, such as cardiovascular disease, atherosclerosis, arthritis, diabetes and cancers. Recently, animal testing suggested that intermittent fasting may potentially minimize cancer risk by decreasing oxidative stress, that is, the accumulation of free radicals in the body that leads to DNA and protein damage.

Longevity

Intermittent fasting may alter gene expression and enhance genes related to longevity and disease protection. Studies revealed that intermittent fasting can extend the life of rats to 36-83% longer. Intermittent fasting also initiates the cell repair mechanism — autophagy, in which cells digest waste materials, engulf dysfunctional cells and produce new cells. This implies that intermittent fasting can potentially extend life span and slow down aging.

Cognitive health

Research showed that intermittent fasting increases the production of the brain hormone brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF), and stimulates the renewal of nerve cells, increasing resistance to different neurodegenerative conditions, in specific memory loss and Alzheimer’s disease.

Enhanced Metabolism

Intermittent fasting can have a multiplicative effect on calorie reduction by lowering calorie intake while burning more calories by an enhanced metabolic rate. The metabolism of the body is increased due to alterations in hormonal levels during fasting. A 2005 clinical trial showed that insulin levels drop significantly but the body’s sensitivity to insulin increases upon alternate day fasting. As a result, the body burns and metabolizes stored fat instead of simple sugar as the energy source. Another study stated that 48-hour fasting may bring an increased epinephrine production, hence promoting fat metabolism. According to a US study, human growth hormone increases 5-fold during fasting, which enhances the breakdown of fat while preserving muscle mass.

Sustainability of Intermittent Fasting

Same as any other diet plans, when you stop the intermittent fasting regime and go back to your “not-so-healthy” normal diet, your body weight will slowly climb up again. Continual effort is crucial to maintain your desired weight. Let’s say you’ve gone through 6 months of intermittent fasting, what’s the next step?

Many other diet plans may not be feasible to keep for life, as they may involve giving up some of your favorite foods, or that they may be disrupted by different life events of yours: taking care of kids, working for long hours, just to name a few. Nonetheless, intermittent fasting is a relatively easy regime to practice indefinitely as a lifestyle change — it should get easier when you grow used to a fixed routine (start eating at 12pm and stop eating at 8pm, for instance). Alternatively, you can gradually expand the eating time frame from 8 hours to 10 hours or 12 hours. But do remember to continue eating healthily, and complement it with regular exercise for the optimal weight management outcome.

FAQs

Is intermittent fasting suitable for everyone?

No. For people who have special medical conditions e.g. diabetes, cancer, lower blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, eating disorder, underweight, as well as for pregnant/breastfeeding women, it is recommended to consult the doctor or dietitian beforehand to assess whether this diet is suitable for your body condition.

The longer the fasting period, the greater the weight loss effect?

Not necessarily, an extended period of fasting (more than 3 days) may trigger the protective mechanism of the body to store more fat and slow down metabolism.

I feel tired after trying intermittent fasting, should I give up?

It is normal to feel slightly tired in the first 2 weeks of intermittent fasting because your body takes time to accustom to the new eating pattern. However, if you experience adverse symptoms, such as nausea, headache and mood swing, you should stop fasting and resume eating progressively to replenish your energy and nutrients. Consult a doctor if you want to continue the practice.

What can I eat during intermittent fasting?

During the fasting session, you can only drink water or other zero-calorie beverages, such as black coffee and tea. During the eating session, you can eat whatever you want. But do keep in mind if you binge eat high-calorie junk foods, it will certainly not lead to weight loss.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.