中醫可以如何幫助女性渡過更年期前期和更年期

想了解更多有關中藥的知識嗎?儘管香港和中國女性的更年期症狀發生率往往比西方女性低得多,但更年期前期和更年期的典型症狀並不好受,其中包括:不規律的經期、由於荷爾蒙變化產生的潮熱生育力下降和性功能變化而導致的睡眠問題情緒變化陰道和膀胱問題。其他症狀可能包括骨質流失體重增加和膽固醇水平變化,從而導致各種心血管問題。

更年期前期通常被稱為更年期移轉期,它是指女性身體自然過渡到更年期的時間,標誌著生育年齡的結束。在40歲左右就可以看到月經失調,但有些女性可能會在30歲初期就注意到變化,不同女性的發生年齡可能有所不同。

一旦女性連續12個月沒有月經期就達到了更年期,標誌著更年期前期的結束,通常女性在40多歲至50多歲左右經歷這些變化。

我們訪問了 Dr. Michelle Law 羅佩雯醫生,詢問關於中醫可以如何幫助不同種族的女性渡過更年期前期和更年期。

中醫如何看待更年期和更年期前期?

從中醫的角度來看,更年期是女性生命中一種特殊物質」天癸」被消耗的一個階段,天癸是促進和維持我們的身體、生殖和性功能的物質。根據中醫經典“黃帝內經”,這種物質會影響我們的女性器官,在14歲時開始上升,在28歲時達到巔峰,在35歲時開始下降,並在49歲時耗盡。由於天癸在達到巔峰後逐漸減少,因此其完全消耗之前的一到兩年被定義為更年期前期。通常,更年期或更年期前期的症狀是人體無法應對這種物質水平降低的結果。

中醫對正在經歷更年期或更年期前期的女性有什麼建議?

中醫認為這種物質是受腎臟和脾臟系統滋養的。如果女性患有嚴重更年期或更年期前期的症狀,可以尋求針灸和中草藥等中藥療法,以補養中腎和脾臟。這些治療可以減慢這種物質的消耗速度,從而使更年期狀態更平穩。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

中草藥安全嗎?它們可以與激素替代療法(HRT)等西醫藥一起進行嗎?

一般而言,中草藥是安全的。但是,關於中草藥的安全使用,還有兩個要考慮的因素。首先,理想情況下,中草藥應由中醫師開處方,這些中醫師可以審閱您的狀況和病歷,並確保所開出的草藥不與您的其他病情相抵觸。其次,草藥應從可靠的來源購買。這樣可以確保草藥中殺蟲劑的含量、細菌生長量和重金屬含量方面都是安全的。對於已經服用HRT的人,強烈建議他們去看中醫,以得到經過仔細調整的中草藥處方,以防止西藥跟中草的相互抵觸。

有措施可以預防和減少女性的更年期症狀嗎?可以怎麼改變生活習慣?

有。更年期與腎臟和脾臟系統的衰弱有關,這些可以通過改變生活方式在一定程度上得到補救。適當的營養吸收、平衡的作息和運動(如氣功或太極拳)、緩和的情緒以及預防過量的性活動都可以幫助預防和減少更年期症狀。下面列出了一些典型的補腎健脾的食品:

食品分類 例子
穀物 大米,小米,蕎麥,小麥
蔬菜和豆類 山藥,茄子,南瓜,芋頭,薯仔,蓮藕,香蔥,茴香,小白菜,黑豆,豌豆
水果 桑、木瓜,西梅,杏,蘋果,無花果,葡萄,椰枣
堅果類 核桃,栗子,銀杏,花生,南瓜子
肉類和海鮮 鴨,鴿子,鵪鶉,雞肉,豬肉,牛肉,羊肉,鹿,蝦,鰻魚,乾貝,海參
其他 枸杞,黑芝麻,蓮子,紅蓮子

 

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Michelle Law Pui Man 羅佩雯醫生 B.C.M.(香港中文大學),公共衛生(家庭醫學)(香港中文大學)博士學位,出生香港,在香港中文大學中醫學院學習中醫。獲得學士學位後,她在香港中文大學醫學院進修深造,並完成博士學位(家庭醫學),其研究重點是荷爾蒙失衡引起的尋常性痤瘡。她對生殖醫學特別感興趣,並且在治療不孕症或相關問題方面擁有豐富的經驗,她在Vitality Centre執業,也是香港中文大學婦產科學系和健康教育與健康促進中心(the Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion)的名譽助理教授。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

.

Chinese Medicine for Women: Helping Through Perimenopause & Menopause

lInterested to know more about Traditional Chinese Medicine? Although, Hong Kong and Chinese women tend to report far lower rates of menopausal symptoms than their Western counterparts, typical symptoms for both peri-menopause and menopause include; irregular periods, hot flashes which may lead to sleep issues, mood changes, vaginal and bladder issues due to hormonal changes, decrease in fertility, and changes in sexual function. Other symptoms may include loss of bone, weight gain, and changing cholesterol levels leading to various cardiovascular issues.

Perimenopause is often called the menopausal transition, it refers to the time during which a woman’s body makes the natural transition to menopause, marking the end of the reproductive years. Menstrual irregularities can be seen around the age of 40, but some women may notice changes early on during their 30s, however, the age of onset can vary in women.

Menopause is reached once a woman has gone through 12 consecutive months without a menstrual period, this marks the end of the perimenopause period, typically women undergo these changes around their 40s and 50s.

We ask Dr. Michelle Law 羅佩雯 on how Traditional Chinese Medicine can support both Chinese and non-Chinese women through perimenopause and menopause phases.

How does Chinese medicine view menopause and perimenopause?

From Chinese medicine perspective, menopause is the stage in a woman’s life when a special substance (called Tian Gui 天癸) which promotes and sustains our physical, reproductive and sexual functions is depleted. According to the Chinese medicine classic “Huang Di Nei Jin 黃帝內經”, this substance acts on our female organs, starts to rise at age 14, reaches its peak at age 28, starts to decline at age 35, and is depleted age 49. As this substance diminishes gradually after its peak, the one to two years before its absolute depletion is defined as perimenopause. Usually, menopausal or perimenopausal symptoms are the result of the inability of the body to cope with the lowering level of this substance.

What does Chinese medicine recommend to women who are undergoing menopause or perimenopause?

Chinese medicine practitioners reckon this substance is nourished by the Chinese kidney and spleen systems. If women suffer from severe menopausal or perimenopausal symptoms, they could seek Chinese medicine treatments, such as acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine, to supplement the Chinese kidney and spleen. These treatments could bring forth a slower reduction of this substance and thus a smoother transition towards the menopausal state.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Are Chinese herbal medicines safe? Can they be taken in conjunction with Western medicines such as hormone replacement therapy (HRT)?

Chinese herbal medicine is generally safe in nature. There are, however, two additional factors to consider regarding the safe application of Chinese herbal medicine. Firstly, the herbs should be ideally prescribed by Chinese medicine practitioners who can go through your medical issues and history and make sure the herbs prescribed do not contraindicate your other medical conditions. Secondly, the herbs should be bought from credible sources. This ensures herbs are safe in pesticides levels, bacterial growth, and heavy metals. For those who are already taking HRT, they are strongly advised to visit a Chinese medicine practitioner to get a carefully adjusted prescription of Chinese herbal medicine in order to prevent drug-herb interaction.

Is there anything women can do to prevent and minimize menopause symptoms? Any lifestyle habits that make a difference?

Yes. Menopause is related to the weakening of the Chinese kidney and spleen systems which are remediable to a certain extent by lifestyle modification. Appropriate nutrition, balanced combination of rest and exercise such as qigong or taichi, moderation of emotions, and prevention of excessive sexual activity can help prevent and minimize the menopausal symptoms. Some typical Chinese kidney and spleen strengthening food are listed as follows:

Food Category Example
Grains Rice, millet, buckwheat, wheat
Vegetables and beans Chinese yam, eggplant, pumpkin, taro, potato, lotus root, Chinese chives, fennel, pok choy, Black bean, pea
Fruits Mulberry, papaya, prune, apricot, apple, fig, grape, date
Nuts Walnut, chestnut, ginko, peanut, pumpkin seed
Meat and Seafood Duck, pigeon, quail, chicken, pork, beef, lamb, deer, shrimp, eel, scallop, sea cucumber
Others Gogi berry, black sesame, lotus seed, fox seed

 

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.

Dr. Michelle Law Pui Man 羅佩雯 B.C.M. (CUHK), PhD in Public Health (Family Medicine) (CUHK), was born in Hong Kong and studied Traditional Chinese Medicine in the School of Chinese Medicine at Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). After obtaining her Bachelor Degree she pursued further postgraduate study at the Faculty of Medicine of the CUHK. She graduated from PhD (Family Medicine) study and her thesis is focused on acne vulgaris induced by hormone imbalance. Clinically, she has special interest in reproductive medicine and has extensive experience in treating patients with infertility or its associated problems. She is a practitioner in Vitality Centre, as well as the Honorary Assistant Professor of The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and The Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.