懷孕期間接受脊椎治療:對您有益

Dr. Michelle Zhou McCulloch是澳洲脊醫,目前在香港執業。她是UP!health(一間位於中環的多學科健康診所)的創始人兼總監。她非常熱衷於為孕婦和初生嬰兒提供脊椎治療。

她大約在4年前創立UP!health,當時已經抱著創造一個獨特、美麗、提供一系列針對現代健康挑戰的專業輔助健康服務的空間之願景。

Michelle是一個5個月大女嬰Maddy的媽媽,她在Healthy Matters第四屆的《香港媽寶日》中主持了當中最受歡迎的講座之一。

Michelle以專業的角度講解了在懷孕期間進行脊椎按摩療法可帶來的不同好處,以及治療如何支持和幫助孕婦準備分娩。

您會如何向從未嘗試過脊椎治療的人描述脊椎治療?

脊骨療法或脊骨調整是一種安全而溫和的動手療法,重點在於改善脊柱和神經系統位置、生物力學以及神經學。對於各種脊柱疾病,例如下背部痛、頸部痛、頭痛等,它是一種有效的治療選擇。脊醫需要接受4-5年的大學培訓,然後才能在香港政府註冊,以確保您的安全。

懷孕期間接受脊椎按摩治療有什麼好處?

懷孕期間出現酸痛和痛楚非常普遍,尤其是在下背部和肩膀部位,這是由於體重增加和腹部逐漸增大,改變了女性的正常姿勢和重心。很多女性認為痛楚是懷孕期間需要忍受的事,但事實並非如此!孕婦可以使用多種物理治療方法,例如理療、脊骨療法、專業按摩等。脊骨療法可有效緩解因脊柱和骨盆錯位引起的痛楚和緊繃感。由於脊骨療法不涉及任何藥物或手術的使用,因此這是懷孕期間安全且適當的選擇。

Dr. Michelle Zhou McCulloch

Dr. Michelle Zhou McCulloch – 脊椎治療師及UP!health的創始人指:很多女性認為痛楚是懷孕期間需要忍受的事,但事實並非如此!」

脊椎治療如何幫助準備和促進分娩?

在懷孕期間,荷爾蒙會放鬆骨盆的關節,以便為成長中的嬰兒以及分娩過程留些空間。女人的身體要經歷這個奇妙的過程才能懷孕生育。但是,這種正常和自然的改變會給身體帶來巨大的壓力。這在懷孕後期尤其明顯 – 骨盆角度不正的問題非常普遍。雖然腰背和骨盆痛是問題引致的明顯症狀,但更重要的是,它可能對嬰兒的位置和/或分娩產生潛在的影響。因此,我建議考慮在分娩前對脊柱和骨盆進行評估,尤其如果您計劃進行自然陰道分娩。

一般脊椎治療的就診程序是如何?

與您全面討論您身體不適的方面及健康目標之後,您的脊醫會為您進行詳細檢查。如果適當和需要(不會在懷孕期間),您可以照X光片或進行其他醫學造影檢查以排除是任何潛在問題。我傾向充分利用10到15分鐘的時間為患者清晰地報告發現的問題,以便他們進一步了解自己的情況,並有機會與我討論保健護理建議。我相信,只要有人對自己的狀況有100%的了解,那麼他們就能對自己的身體做出最明智的決定。然後,我會開始為他們治療,同時解釋整個過程,其中通常涉及一些肌肉療法,然後我會就每個人的獨特情況使用不同脊椎治療技術來調整/操縱脊椎關節。

自從成為了媽媽之後,您對孕婦提供的治療方法有無改變?

在脊椎治療學校畢業後的過去11年中,我一直為孕婦和初生嬰兒服務,我十分享受為他們提供服務。自從成為媽媽以來,我對女性在懷孕期間的身體和情感經歷有了更深入的了解,而且我對於能夠以任何可行方式幫助和支持孕婦的懷孕旅程感到十分榮幸。分娩後頭幾個月的情緒就像過山車 – 因為它讓我一次過面對所有最可怕的恐懼,同時間為我帶來我所經歷過最美好的事情。我覺得社會上非常需要為新媽媽提供情感支援,並明白產後憂鬱症絕對是正常的現象。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文由我們的合作夥伴Up!health為您提供,Up!health是一間位於中環的多學科健康診所,提供脊椎治療、中醫治療、肌肉療法、運動機能學和輔導諮詢服務。本文僅提供資訊,不能取代專業醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Here is How You Can Benefit from Chiropractic Care During Pregnancy

Dr. Michelle Zhou McCulloch is an Australian Chiropractor currently practicing in Hong Kong. She is the Founder & Director of UP!health, a Central-based multidisciplinary health clinic. She is passionate about providing chiropractic care to pregnant women and new babies.
 
She started UP!health almost 4 years ago with the vision of creating a unique and beautiful space that provides an array of complementary professional health services that focuses on modern day health challenges.
 
Michelle is a new mother of 5 month old baby girl Maddy and recently moderated one of our most popular talks at Healthy Matters’ fourth edition of The Hong Kong Maternity + Baby Event.
 
Michelle gives us an inside perspective on the different benefits of chiropractic care during pregnancy and how it can support and prepare expectant women for childbirth.
 
 

How would you describe chiropractic treatment to someone who has never tried?

Chiropractic treatment or adjustment is a safe and gentle hands-on therapy that focuses on improving the alignment, biomechanics and neurology of the spine and nervous system. It is an effective treatment option for various spinal conditions such as lower back pain, neck pain, headaches and more. Chiropractors goes through 4-5 years of university training before becoming registered with the Hong Kong government to ensure you are in safe hands.
 
 

What are the benefits of chiropractic care during pregnancy?

Aches and pain is extremely common during pregnancy, especially in the lower back and shoulder region, due to the additional weight and the growing belly changing the woman’s normal posture and centre of gravity. Many women believe pain is something they must put up with during pregnancy and that is totally not true! There are many physical treatment options available to the pregnant woman such as physiotherapy, chiropractic, professional massage, etc. Chiropractic treatment is effective in relieving pain and tightness caused by misalignment of the spine and pelvis. The treatment does not involve the use of any drugs or surgery, which makes it an safe and appropriate option during pregnancy.
 
Dr. Michelle Zhou McCulloch
 

How can chiropractic prepare and facilitate childbirth?

During pregnancy, hormones relax the joints in your pelvis in order to allow room for your growing baby and eventually, for the delivery itself. It is an absolutely marvelous process that the woman’s body goes through to allow pregnancy to take place; however this normal and natural adaption also causes a tremendous amount of stress on the body. This is particularly evident during the third trimesterpelvic alignment issue is extremely common. While lower back and pelvic pain is an obvious symptom of alignment issue, more importantly is the potential effect it can have on the position of the baby and/or your delivery. For this reason, I recommend considering having your spine and pelvis assessed prior to your delivery, especially if you are planning for a natural birth.
 
 

Could you walk us through a typical chiropractic consultation?

Your chiropractor should perform a detailed examination after a thorough discussion of your complaint and health goal. If appropriate and required (obviously not during pregnancy), X-rays or other imaging can be referred to rule in or out any underlying concerns. I prefer to spend a good 10-15 minutes giving my patients a clear report of findings to allow them to better understand their condition and have the opportunity to discuss their care recommendation with me. I believe that if only someone has 100% understanding of their condition, then will they be able to make the best informed decision for their body. I will then start their treatment while explaining the process along the way, which will often involve some muscle therapy followed by adjusting/manipulation of the spinal joints using a variety of chiropractic techniques to suit their unique condition.
 
 

Has the way you practice changed since you have become a mother?

I have been adjusting pregnant patients and new babies for the past 11 years since finishing chiropractic school, and I absolutely love it. Since becoming a mum, I have a deeper appreciation of what a woman goes through during pregnancy both physically and emotionally, and I feel very lucky to be in a position that I am able to help and assist in anyway possible to support my patients’ journey. The first couple of months after birth is a huge roller coaster of emotions – it made me face all my worst fears at once, while bringing me closer to the most wonderful thing I have ever experienced. I feel that there is a huge need in the society to provide emotional support to new mothers and to take away the stigma that post-natal blues is anything abnormal.
 
 
This article was brought to you by our partner Up!health, a Central-based multidisciplinary health clinic providing Chiropractic care, TCM treatments, Muscle therapy, Kinesiology and Counseling. This article is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.