兒童視力測試:在香港哪裡可以接受檢查

視覺是兒童在成長和探索世界途中幫助學習和發展的重要部分。兒童視覺系統的發展是由嬰兒時期可以看到模糊的黑白到八歲時的完全視力成長。那麼,兒童應該在幾歲時第一次去看眼科醫生,應該在哪裡找到值得信賴的眼科保健服務提供者?我們與理大護眼中心(尖沙咀)的視光師Cecilia Wong 黃詩慧進行了交流,探討了眼科檢查對幼兒的重要性以及香港提供眼科醫療服務者的數目。

兒童眼科檢查的重要性

視力異常可能會影響兒童未來的視力發展,並可能造成不可逆轉的傷害。這一點在香港尤為重要,在香港理工大學進行的一項研究中,發現12歲的兒童中有61.5%患有近視。視力問題可能會阻礙兒童參與社交活動及在學業上取得成功。小朋友們可能不會意識到自己有視力問題,如果不定期檢查他們的眼睛,則可能幾個月或幾年都無法診斷出問題。儘早發現是可以容易防止以上問題的發生。實際上,當孩子的視力仍在發展時(最高達7或8歲),視力問題就更容易治療。

您的小朋友可能有眼疾的早期跡象

父母很難發生小朋友的視力問題,因為兒童通常會隨著他們的成長而適應那些問題。父母和照顧者可能會發現的早期跡象包括:

  • 指出自己有頭痛
  • 經常眨眼或揉眼睛
  • 傾斜頭部或瞇眼以讓自己看到事物
  • 閱讀或觀看電視和電腦屏幕時遮住一隻眼睛
  • 手眼協調能力差
  • 無法看到遠方或近距離的事物
  • 紅色或水汪汪的眼睛
  • 指自己視力模糊或有雙重視力等
  • 閱讀時遺漏或混淆單詞
  • 很近距離地看閱讀材料

9 New Year Health Resolutions for a Healthier and Happier 2019

兒童應該進行初次視力檢查的年齡

滿四歲的兒童應由視光師進行全面的眼科檢查。四歲的孩子通常能夠按照要求的指示進行視力測試。但是,如果他們有上述任何早期徵兆或在發展方面明顯落後,請立即諮詢您的兒科醫生或全科醫生。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

讓兒童給專業人士檢查眼睛的頻率

在4歲時進行第一次視力檢查之後,小朋友在進入小學之前應該至少進行一次全面的視力檢查。還建議兒童每年進行一次眼科檢查,以確保正常的視覺發育及發現或監測任何眼部疾病。確保有良好的視野對於他們的學習和總體發展至關重要。通過定期的眼科檢查,視光師可以幫助孩子獲得最佳的視力。

父母可以從小朋友進行眼科檢查得到的資訊

  • 視力和屈光狀態 – 可檢測到的狀況包括:近視、散光、遠視、弱視
  • 雙目視覺 – 可檢測到的情況包括:斜視、視覺跟踪問題
  • 色覺篩查 – 可檢測到的情況包括:遺傳性色覺不足
  • 眼睛健康 – 可檢測到的疾病包括:小兒白內障、小兒青光眼
  • 眼底/視網膜攝影 – 可檢測到的疾病包括:弓形蟲病、早產兒視網膜病變
  • 診斷和建議 – 例子包括配眼鏡的光學處方、視力訓練練習

為兒童提供眼科保健的公營醫療服務

本地母嬰健康院的視光師或矯視師為四歲及以上兒童提供免費的學前視力檢查。可在此處找到母嬰健康院地址的完整列表。

如果您的小朋友接近或超過4歲,並且已在母嬰健康院中註冊,請聯繫母嬰健康院或致電3793 6111到學前視覺篩查電話預訂系統。如果您的孩子超過4歲,並且未在母嬰健康院註冊。請到訪家庭健康服務網站或致電2112 9900,以獲取有關預約註冊的詳細資訊。

重要的是要注意,公營部門的學前視力檢查輪候時間長,並且不能詳細檢查屈光不正(即遠視、近視、散光)、色覺不足和其他特定的眼部疾病,例如青光眼視網膜疾病。像任何其他篩查測試一樣,視覺篩查不能檢測到所有視力問題。如果孩子通過了這眼科檢查,則意味著該孩子有弱視的機會和/或明顯的屈光不正的機會相對較低。如果您懷疑您的小朋友眼睛有問題或他們指出在學校或日常活動中有視力問題,建議您的小朋友去看私家視光師以進行更徹底的檢查。

為兒童提供眼科保健的私家醫療服務

如果懷疑有視力問題(例如近視),父母應帶孩子諮詢視光師進行全面的眼科檢查。視光師將為他們進行視光測試,並檢測其他任何眼部健康狀況。如果孩子患有近視,視光師將配給適合的眼鏡,並提供建議以控制該問題的進一步發展。如果懷疑眼睛有醫療問題,例如眼瞼上有疼痛和有腫脹,而在接受全科醫生治療後沒有消失,父母則應帶孩子諮詢眼科醫生以進行醫學或外科治療。

視光師和眼科醫生都是眼科保健專家。在香港,視光師管理委員會下註冊為第一部分類別的視光師皆接受過大學水平的培訓。

視光師是視覺和眼睛問題的主要護理提供者,並且有資格提供全面的眼科檢查,使用診斷藥物並開具光學輔助的工具。他們提供視光檢查和分配光學輔助設備(例如眼鏡和隱形眼鏡),並檢測、診斷和管理眼部疾病。

眼科醫生是專門從事眼和視力保健的醫生。眼科醫生受過進行眼科檢查、診斷和治療眼疾、開藥和進行眼科手術的培訓。在香港註冊的眼科醫生名單可以在香港醫務委員會中找到。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Cecilia Wong Sze Wai 黃詩慧是在理大護眼中心(尖沙咀)執業的註冊視光師(第一部分)。 她擁有視光學學士學位(新南威爾士大學)、眼科治療學研究生證書(新南威爾士大學)以及視光學碩士學位(新南威爾士大學)。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

.

Eye Tests for Children | When and Where to Go in Hong Kong

Vision is a crucial part of learning and developing as children grow and explore their world. A child’s visual system grows and develops from being able to see in fuzzy black and white as a newborn to fully mature at the age of eight. So, at what age should children first visit an eye expert and which eye care providers should they be seeing? We spoke to optometrist Cecilia Wong 黃詩慧 from PolyVision Eyecare (Tsim Sha Tsui) Centre about the importance of eye exams in young kids and the availability of providers in Hong Kong.
 
 

Importance of eye examination in children

Sight abnormalities may affect children’s future visual development and can cause irreversible damage. This is particularly important in Hong Kong where 61.5% of 12 years-old children were found to have myopia (shortsightedness) in a study conducted by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Vision problems can prevent children from social activities, and participating and succeeding at school. Kids may not realize they have sight issues, and if their eyes aren’t tested regularly, problems could go undiagnosed for months or years. Caught early, these issues are easily preventable. In fact, vision problems are much easier to treat when the child’s vision is still developing – up to 7 or 8 years old.
 
 

Early signs that your child may have eye problems

It can be difficult for parents to catch vision problems as children usually adapt to them as they grow. Early signs parents and caregivers may pick up on include:
  • Complaints of headaches
  • Frequent blinking or rubbing of the eyes
  • Tilting the head or squinting to see properly
  • Covering one eye when reading or watching television and computer screens
  • Poor hand-eye coordination
  • Inability to see far away or close up
  • Red or watery eyes
  • Complaints of blurred or double vision
  • Leaving out or confusing words when reading
  • Holding reading materials very close to their eyes
 
 

Age at which children should have their first eye examination

Children should have comprehensive eye examination by the optometrist when they have turned four. At four, children are generally able to follow the required instructions to undergo their vision test. However, if they have any of the early signs mentioned above or are significantly behind in their development, consult your pediatrician or GP.
 
 

Frequency at which children’s eye should be examined by a professional

After their first eye exam at age 4, children should have at least one comprehensive eye exam just before they enter primary school. Children are also recommended to have an annual eye exam to ensure normal visual development and catch or monitor any eye disorders. Ensuring good vision is crucial for their educational and general development. With regular eye examinations, optometrists can help children to achieve their best possible vision.
 
 

What parents can expect at their children’s eye examination

Vision and refractive status – Examples of detectable conditions include: myopia, astigmatism, hyperopia, lazy eye
Binocular vision – Examples of detectable conditions include: eye turn, visual tracking problems
Color vision screening – Examples of detectable conditions include: inherited color vision deficiency
Ocular health – Examples of detectable conditions include: pediatric cataract, pediatric glaucoma
Fundus / Retinal photography – Examples of detectable conditions include: toxoplasmosis, retinopathy of prematurity
Diagnosis and recommendation – Examples include optical prescription for dispensing spectacles, vision training exercises for eye turn
 
 

Public eye care providers for children

Your local Maternal and Child Health Centres offers free pre-school vision screening for kids four years and older with an optometrist or orthoptist. A comprehensive list of MCHCs can be found here.
 
If your child is close to or over 4 years old and is registered with an MCHC, contact the MCHC or call the Pre-School Vision Screening phone booking system at 3793 6111. If your child is over 4 years old and is not registered with an MCHC, check the Family Health Services website or call 2112 9900 for details about making an appointment for registration.
 
It is important to note that public pre-school vision screening has a long waiting time and does not test for refractive errors (i.e., hyperopia, myopia, astigmatism) in detail, color vision deficiency and other specific eye diseases such as glaucoma retinal diseases. Like any other screening test, vision screening cannot detect all visual problems. If a child passes their eye test, it means that the child has a relatively low chance of having a lazy eye and/or significant refractive error. If you suspect an eye issue or your child reports visual problems at school or in daily activities, it’s recommended that your child sees a private optometrist for more thorough screening.
 
 

Private eye care providers for children

Parents should bring their children to consult an optometrist for a comprehensive eye exam if a visual problem, such as acquiring myopia, is suspected. The optometrist will perform a refraction test and detect for any other eye health conditions. If the child has myopia, the optometrist will prescribe appropriate glasses and provide suggestions to control further development of the issue. Parents should bring their children to consult an ophthalmologist for medical or surgical treatment if a medical problem in the eye is suspected, such as getting a painful and swollen sty on the eyelid that does not go away after being treated by the GP.
 
Optometrists and ophthalmologists are both eye care professionals. In Hong Kong, optometrists who are registered as Part I category under the Optometrists Board receive training at a university-level.
 
Optometrists are primary care providers for visual and eye problems and are qualified to provide comprehensive eye examinations, use diagnostic drugs and prescribe optical aids. They provide refraction exams and dispense optical aids (e.g., spectacles and contact lenses) and detect, diagnose and manage eye diseases. 
 
Ophthalmologists are medical doctors who are specialized in eye and vision care. Ophthalmologists are trained to perform eye examinations, diagnose and treat eye diseases, prescribe medications and perform eye surgery. A list of ophthalmologists registered in Hong Kong can be found on the Hong Kong specialist registry.
 
 
Cecilia Wong Sze Wai 黃詩慧 Registered Optometrist (Part I) practicing at PolyVision Eyecare (Tsim Sha Tsui) Centre. She holds a Bachelor of Optometry (UNSW), a Graduate Certificate in Ocular Therapeutics (UNSW), as well as a Master of Optometry (UNSW).
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.