專家建議:幫助您的孩子應對坐飛機時帶來的耳痛

如果您認為面對坐飛機時附近有嬰兒在哭泣的命運比死亡更糟糕,那麼您一定不是那個大聲哭泣的嬰兒的父母。稍作準備,就可以讓小朋友坐飛機時避免耳痛。我們向耳鼻喉科專家Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生了解一下如何避免坐飛機耳痛。

為什麼嬰兒和兒童坐飛機時會耳痛?

當飛機在空中越來越高時,機艙中的壓力會進行調整以保持與地面相似,而不是與30,000英尺的外部壓力相配。耳鼓膜後面的區域(稱為中耳)是空心的,並通過稱為咽鼓管的隧道連接到鼻子的背面。理想情況下,中耳的壓力應該與外界相同。隨著機艙壓力的升高,空氣會在您每次時吞嚥從鼻子開始經過咽鼓管,並均衡中耳的壓力。

有些人,特別是嬰兒和兒童,由於咽鼓管不發達(較小且水平),需要一些幫助來鼓勵它們打開。飛機在起飛和下降時(通常在降落之前),最有可能令耳朵出現疼痛。飛機剛開始下降時並不是很明顯,因此可能要請空姐或空少告知您飛機何時開始下降。

幫助小朋友舒緩坐飛機時耳痛的貼士

由它過去

  • 首先要知道的是這是暫時的痛苦。抱著尖叫的嬰兒的那幾分鐘可能會感覺像數小時,但是隨著咽鼓管打開並且空氣能夠作出平衡,疼痛就會減輕。

吞嚥

  • 吞嚥會打開咽鼓管,並會鼓勵壓力平衡。因此,您需要在起飛和下降時餵哺嬰兒。

喝不含咖啡因的液體

  • 除了鼓勵吞嚥外,喝大量的液體還可以防止鼻道粘液流失水分並變稠、使管道更難打開。

嚼口香糖或吮硬糖(3歲以上)

  • 這會使唾液更多,因此您會吞嚥更多。

打呵欠

  • 如果您的小朋友可以自己打喊露,請嘗試讓他們多打喊露,因為那樣會張開咽鼓管。或嘗試具有感染力的打哈欠遊戲!

保持清醒

  • 與我們的剛才那點相反,在起飛和降落期間,盡量讓兒童和嬰兒保持清醒。您不太可能入睡時吞嚥,因此會增加耳痛的機會。

止痛藥

鼻噴劑

  • 降落前1小時使用鼻噴劑(Otrivin / Afrin,但不經常作使用)可幫助咽鼓管更容易打開。

母乳喂哺、奶嘴或奶瓶

  • 雖然口香糖或硬糖對年紀細的嬰兒顯然是行不通的,但仍然可以鼓勵嬰兒做“吸吮”運動。在起飛和開始下降時提供母乳、奶嘴或奶瓶。

耳部感染、感冒時不坐飛機

  • 耳朵感染或感冒時坐飛機會增加遭受疼痛的機會,因為中耳可能已經發炎,可能充滿粘液和/或被發炎的腺樣體變窄(位於咽鼓管附近的免疫系統組織)。有可能發生氣壓傷,導致中耳積液或出血。更糟糕的是,耳鼓甚至會破裂。

如果您的小朋友不幸在出發前患上感冒、流鼻涕或耳朵感染,明智的做法是在飛之前先向全科醫生、兒科醫生或耳鼻喉科專家了解情況。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生從墨爾本大學醫學系畢業,並於澳洲皇家外科醫學院接受耳鼻喉科學的專科培訓。回港前,他任職於位處墨爾本的皇家兒童醫院,此為南半球最大的兒科醫療中心;另外,何醫生也是Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin 醫院的耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。他在紐約、香港、倫敦和加拿大受過專科資格後培訓。何醫生現為香港大學名譽助理教授,同是明德國際醫院名譽耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。何志謙醫生的私人執業地點位於香港中環畢打街1-3號中建大廈7樓707室:香港耳鼻喉及睡眠外科中心,電話為+852 2870 1880。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Expert Advice on Helping your Child Cope with Earache on Airplanes

If you think being near a crying baby on a flight is a fate worse than death, you haven’t been the parent of that screaming child. With a little preparation, it’s possible to stave off ear pain. We checked in with ENT specialist Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生 about how to avoid ear pain for the whole family.
 
 

Why do babies and children’s ears hurt on airplanes?

As planes get higher in the air, the pressure in the cabin adjusts to remain similar to ground-level rather than match the outside pressure at 30,000 feet. The area behind the eardrum (known as the middle ear) is hollow and connected to the back of the nose area through a tunnel called Eustachian tube. Ideally, the pressure in your middle ear should be the same as outside. As the cabin pressure rises, from the nose, air travels through the Eustachian tube and equalizes the middle ear pressure every time you swallow.
 
Some people, particularly babies and children, have undeveloped Eustachian tubes (smaller and more horizontal) and need a little help to encourage them to open up. The pain is most likely to occur as the plane at take-off and descent (usually before landing). It’s not always noticeable when the plane starts to descend so it may be worth asking a flight attendant to let you know when descent is beginning.
 
 

Tips to help children’s ears on an airplane

Let it pass
The first thing to know is that this is a temporary pain. Those minutes of holding a screaming baby may feel like hours but as the Eustachian tubes open and the air is able to equalize, the pain will subside.
 
Swallow
Swallowing opens the Eustachian tube and will encourage pressure to equalize. That’s why you feed the infant on take off and on descend.
 
Drink caffeine-free liquids
Along with encouraging swallowing, drinking lots of liquids prevents the nasal passage mucus from losing water and getting thicker, making it harder for the tubes to open.
 
Chew gum or suck on hard candy (+3 years old)
This makes more saliva so you will swallow more.
 
Yawn
If your children can yawn voluntarily, try getting them to yawn as that will stretch open the Eustachian tubes. Or try the contagious yawn game!
 
Stay awake
Counter to our last point, try to keep kids and babies awake during take-off and landing. You’re less likely to swallow asleep, increasing your chances of pain.
 
Painkillers
If you anticipate your child will be in pain during the flight, provide your child with an age-appropriate dose of baby/children’s ibuprofen, acetaminophen/paracetamol half an hour before takeoff or initial descent.
 
Decongestion spray
Using a decongestion spray (Otrivin/Afrin, but these are not for regular use) 1 hour before landing can help the Eustachian tubes to open easier.
 
Breastfeed, pacifier or bottle
While gum or sweet are a clear no-go for little ones, it’s still possible to encourage babies to do a ‘sucking’ motion. Offer a breast, pacifier or bottle during take-off and initial descent.
 
Ear infections, colds and flying
Flying with an ear infection or cold increases the chances of experiencing pain as the middle ear is likely already inflamed, may be filled with mucus, and/or narrowed by inflamed adenoids (immune system tissue located near the Eustachian tubes). There is a chance that barotraumas can occur leading to fluid accumulation or bleeding in the middle ear. Worse still, the ear drum may even rupture.
 
If your child has a poorly timed pre-vacation cold, runny nose or ear infection, it’s wise to get the all-clear from your GP, pediatrician or ENT specialist before flying.
 
 
Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne Medical School and obtained Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose & Throat) Specialist training under the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Before returning to Hong Kong, he worked at Royal Children’s Hospitals in Melbourne, the biggest pediatric medical centre in the Southern Hemisphere and was a specialist ENT consultant at Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin Hospitals. He obtained post-fellowship training in New York, Hong Kong and London, Canada. He is now an honorary assistant professor at the University of Hong Kong and an honorary Specialist ENT Consultant for the Matilda International Hospital. His private practice is in Room 707, Central Building, Central: The Hong Kong ENT & Sleep Surgery Centre (+852 2870 1880).
 
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.