專訪耳鼻喉科專家Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生

‘Otorhinolaryngology’這個專有名詞看起來很難,其實它指的是我們平時所說的耳鼻喉科。耳鼻喉科(專門研究耳朵,鼻子和喉嚨)是世界上最受歡迎的醫學專業之一。耳鼻喉科的醫療對兒童尤其重要,因為常見的兒科耳鼻喉科疾病(例如聽力障礙)會嚴重影響兒童在學校的學習能力。我們請了香港耳鼻喉科專家Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生為我們詳細介紹耳鼻喉科。

什麼是耳鼻喉科?耳鼻喉專家覆蓋哪些具體領域?

耳鼻喉科是對耳朵、鼻子和喉嚨的研究。我們為患有耳朵問題(聽力障礙、耳朵感染,耳水不平衡、耳暈)、鼻子問題(鼻竇炎、鼻敏感、嗅覺問題、鼻塞)、口腔問題(口腔疼痛、口臭、打鼾、睡眠呼吸暫停、扁桃腺炎、喉嚨痛)、喉嚨問題(吞嚥困難、發聲困難、頸部有腫塊)以及頭頸部癌症的成人和兒童提供服務。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

耳鼻喉科專家在香港接受怎樣的培訓?

耳鼻喉專科醫生是香港的專科醫生。我們必須在大學修讀醫學才能成為一名醫生。然後,我們必須在醫院接受實習培訓。之後,在醫院進行2-3年的常規外科手術培訓。然後再通常在醫院進行4-5年的耳鼻喉專科培訓,以了解有關耳鼻喉科諮詢和手術的知識。在專科醫生培訓結束時,將進行一次研究生考試,以確保您具備足夠的耳鼻喉科知識、臨床和手術技能,才能成為一名安全、優良的耳鼻喉科專家。

我什麼時候應該去看耳鼻喉科醫生?

通常是當您的耳朵、鼻子或喉嚨出現的問題是全科醫生無法幫助您的時候。它也可能是一個持續存在數週的緊迫問題,或者是可能需要專業診斷和/或手術的頭頸部問題。

耳鼻喉科常用的工具有哪些?

耳鼻喉科專家使用大量設備來診斷問題並提供治療。例如,一台用於觀察耳道和鼓膜的顯微鏡。還有可觀察耳道、鼻子、口腔和喉嚨(聲帶)的內視鏡(軟式和硬式內窺鏡皆需)。我們可以使用很多不同的工具來清潔栓塞的耳垢、感染部分的膿液並清除其他異物。

耳鼻喉專科醫生最常見到患者出現哪些問題?

在成年人中,我最常見到耳部感染、耳道濕疹、耳蠟栓塞、耳壓問題(當坐飛機和潛水時)、聽力受損、扁桃腺發炎、鼻塞、鼻竇炎、鼻敏感、喉嚨發炎、聲音嘶啞(或失聲)。我還治療更嚴重的問題,例如頭頸部癌症。

最常見於兒童的耳鼻喉問題有什麼?

最常見於兒童的問題有:耳部感染(中耳炎和外耳道炎)、鼻塞、鼻敏感、打鼾和阻塞性睡眠呼吸暫停、舌繫帶過緊、扁桃腺發炎、腺樣體腫大、頸部有腫塊、聲帶問題、聲帶結節、語音發展遲緩、聽力問題、以及有異物卡在耳朵、鼻子和/或喉嚨。

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected]查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生從墨爾本大學醫學系畢業,並於澳洲皇家外科醫學院接受耳鼻喉科學的專科培訓。回港前,他任職於位處墨爾本的皇家兒童醫院,此為南半球最大的兒科醫療中心;另外,何醫生也是Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin 醫院的耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。他在紐約、香港、倫敦和加拿大受過專科資格後培訓。何醫生現為香港大學名譽助理教授,同是明德國際醫院名譽耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。何志謙醫生的私人執業地點位於香港中環畢打街1-3號中建大廈7樓707室:香港耳鼻喉及睡眠外科中心,電話為+852 2870 1880。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

ENT Interview with Dr. David Ho

Otorhinolaryngology. Hard to spell indeed but you probably know what this is about. Otorhinolaryngology (the study of ENT: Ears, Nose and Throat) is one of the most in-demand medical specializations in the world. ENT medical treatment is particularly important in children, as common pediatric ENT problems such as hearing difficulties can greatly impact on a child’s ability to learn in school. We asked ENT Doctor David Ho 何志謙醫生 to explain Otorhinolaryngology to us in more detail.

 

What is Otorhinolaryngology? What are the specific areas that an ENT specialist will cover?

 
Otorhinolaryngology is the study of the Ears, Nose and Throat (ENT). We cover both adults and children with ear problems (hearing, ear infection, balance, vertigo), nose problems (sinusitis, nose allergy, smell problem, blocked nose), mouth problems (oral pain, bad breathe, snoring, sleep apnea, tonsillitis, sore throat), and throat problems (swallowing difficulty, voice issues, lumps in the neck); as well as head and neck cancers.

 

How are ENT specialists trained?

 
ENT Specialists are specialist doctors. We have to study Medicine at University to become a doctor first. Then, we must take up internship training at a hospital. After that, there are 2-3 years of general surgical stream training at the hospital. Then there is usually 4-5 years of ENT Specialist training at hospitals to learn about ENT consultations and surgery. There is a fellowship exam at the end of the Specialist training to make sure you have adequate ENT knowledge, clinical and surgical skills to be a safe and good ENT specialist.

 

When should I consult an ENT specialist?

 
Typically when you have ear, nose or throat problems that a general practitioner cannot help with. It can also be a pressing issue that has been lingering on for a few weeks, or a head and neck problem that may require professional consultation and/or surgery.

 

What are the common instruments used by ENTs?

 
ENT Specialists use a lot of equipment to diagnose an issue and to provide treatment. For instance, a microscope to look into ear canals and eardrums. There are also telescopes (both flexible and rigid endoscopes) to look into the ear canals, nose, oral cavity and the throat (vocal cords). We can use many different instruments to clean ear canal wax impaction, infection with pus, and to remove other foreign bodies.

 

Which medical problems will an ENT specialist encounter most often?

 
In adults, I typically see ear infections, ear canal eczema, wax impaction, ear pressure problems (with flights and diving), impaired hearing, tonsillitis, nasal obstruction, sinusitis, nasal allergy, throat infection, hoarse voice (or loss thereof). I also treat more severe problems such as head and neck cancers.

 

What are the most common ENT problems found in children?

 
The most common problems for children are: ear infections (Otitis media and externa), nasal obstruction, nasal allergy, snoring and obstructive sleep apnea, tongue tie, tonsillitis, enlarged adenoids, neck lumps, voice problems, vocal cord nodules, speech delay, hearing problems, as well as foreign bodies that are stuck in the ears, nose and/or throat.
 
 
Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne Medical School and obtained Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose & Throat) Specialist training under the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Before returning to Hong Kong, he worked at Royal Children’s Hospitals in Melbourne, the biggest pediatric medical centre in the Southern Hemisphere and was a specialist ENT consultant at Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin Hospitals. He obtained post-fellowship training in New York, Hong Kong and London, Canada. He is now an honorary assistant professor at the University of Hong Kong and an honorary Specialist ENT Consultant for the Matilda International Hospital. His private practice is in Room 707, Central Building, Central: The Hong Kong ENT & Sleep Surgery Centre (+852 2870 1880).
 
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.