結腸內窺鏡檢查:香港全方位指南

跟香港的腸胃病學家和肝病學家Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生了解香港結腸內窺鏡檢查(俗稱大腸鏡檢查)的基本知識和重要性。

大腸癌是香港最常見的癌症。這個病折磨著很多人,最常見於50歲以上人士。 2015年,大腸癌佔所有新發癌症病例的16.6%,據說這個數字的增加是由於人口老化和年輕人口發病率增加。

目前有幾種預防和測試方法,不僅可以檢測癌症,還可以檢測結腸中存在的其他感染或異常情況。這些方法中最可靠的稱為結腸內窺鏡檢查(俗稱大腸鏡檢查)。此檢測方法十分有效,但由於其侵入性,某些患者傾向避免選擇這種方法。

什麼是結腸內窺鏡檢查?我們為什麼需要?

結腸內窺鏡檢查是一種侵入性檢查,可檢測結腸的變化或異常,並在必要時獲取組織樣本或去除異常生長。在結腸內窺鏡檢查期間,一條可屈曲的軟管會插入直腸並沿整個結腸移動。軟管的末端裝有光源及微型攝影機,該攝影機將影片圖像投射到監測器屏幕上。

結腸內窺鏡檢查適用於檢查任何懷疑的大腸疾病,以及是預防大腸癌的發展之方法。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

在香港,接受過結腸鏡檢查人士的經歷如何?

在香港的私家醫療診所,大多數人都在有“監測麻醉” (MAC)下進行結腸鏡檢查。因此,檢查期間不會有痛楚。 MAC的鎮靜作用足以令人入睡,它需要麻醉師在場作支援,但它比全身麻醉輕。

但是,有些人可能會在沒有麻醉師支持的情況下選擇較溫和的鎮靜劑。在這種情況下,您可能會感到疼痛(通常是可以忍受的)。

對我而言,結腸鏡檢查最糟糕的部分是程序前用於清潔腸部的瀉藥。瀉藥的味道很奇怪,而且需要很大的用量(最多可達4公升液體)。

您能向我們講解整個程序的每個步驟嗎?

在整個內窺鏡檢查程序中,護士首先會檢查您的身份,並要求您簽署同意書。然後,他們可能會透過鼻插管為您提供額外氧氣。電線會連接到您的身體以監視您的生命跡象,例如心跳率和心節律、血氧飽和度和血壓。麻醉師會將塑料導管插入您的小靜脈內,通常是在手部,然後注射鎮靜劑。

您入睡後,結腸鏡檢查將會通過把內窺鏡插入直腸直至結腸而開始進行。然後將會從最深處開始檢查整個結腸。有時可能會通過內窺鏡注入水以沖洗掉殘留的糞便,並且注入空氣以擴大結腸壁,以便得到更清楚的結腸影像和圖像。

組織樣本亦會被抽取以檢查如有任何異常情況,例如發炎和潰瘍。結腸息肉將會被去除。大量的出血也將會停止。結腸鏡檢查完成後,麻醉師會停止鎮靜作用,您將會在10-15分鐘內逐漸醒來。

想了解更多關於結腸癌及其症狀、病因和治療方法的資訊,請閱讀我們經香港頂尖腫瘤科學家核對過的大腸癌完整指南

我自己要如何為檢查做好準備?

首先,請諮詢腸胃科醫生,以了解您是否需要結腸鏡檢查。您目前的醫療狀況和當前正服用的藥物會影響準備階段的時間和複雜性。

在結腸鏡檢查之前的三天內,您需要進行低纖維飲食 – 不能吃蔬菜或新鮮水果(對肉類愛好者來說是個好消息)。這是因為在結腸鏡檢查中,纖維容易使視線模糊。

在結腸鏡檢查的前一天,您需要節食。在結腸鏡檢查前一晚,您需要根據腸胃科醫生的指示開始飲瀉藥。您可以預期當晚要去大約10次廁所。在結腸鏡檢查當天,您需要保持至少禁食6個小時。

是否想搵醫生?

查閱我們的健康目錄

檢查有什麼醫療風險?

一些瀉藥可能會導致您體內電解質不平衡和缺水。您的腸胃科醫生應根據您的年齡和健康狀況選擇合適的瀉藥。鎮靜的風險包括低血壓和呼吸困難 – 但麻醉師可以安全地控制這些情況。如果您有跟隨禁食指引,引發吸入性肺炎的機會很低。結腸鏡檢查可能會導致結腸穿孔(每600例中有1例),需要進行手術修復。儘管組織採樣和息肉切除術會有大量出血的風險,但大多數出血可通過內鏡處理。

我應該多久進行一次結腸鏡檢查?

如果您有新出現或未經檢查的腸道症狀,例如腹痛、腸道習慣改變、直腸出血或出黏液,您應考慮進行結腸鏡檢查。如果您的家人患有結腸癌或息肉;或者您已超過40歲,亦應該考慮進行結腸鏡篩查以去除結腸息肉。

後續的結腸鏡檢查之間的時間間隔將取決於最近一次結腸鏡檢查中發現的息肉數量、大小和類型。在大多數情況下,時間間隔為1-5年。

我在哪裡可以接受結腸鏡檢查?

公營部門:大多數政府醫院都有對可疑腸病提供結腸鏡檢查,但不是為篩查提供的。您需要先去看全科醫生或家庭醫生,並獲得推薦信才能去看專科醫生。首次與專科醫生會面的輪候時間最多為1-2年,而結腸鏡檢查的輪候時間為與專科醫生見面後的大約1年。

私家部門:香港大多數腸胃病學專家都接受過專業的結腸鏡檢查的訓練。結直腸外科醫生也有接受過結腸鏡檢查方面的培訓,但很難知道哪些外科醫生專長於結直腸區域。腸胃病學家可以在私家醫院或商業大樓的內窺鏡檢查中心為您進行結腸鏡檢查,而輪候時間很短。

香港的住院和門診結腸鏡檢查有什麼分別?

香港的結腸鏡檢查可以在醫院或商業大廈的內窺鏡檢查中心進行。內窺鏡檢查中心只能提供門診結腸鏡檢查。如果出現任何併發症,則會通過救護車將您移送到附近醫院管理局轄下的醫院(即公立醫院)的急症室

香港私家醫院的結腸鏡檢查有住院或門診的選擇。住院指您將在結腸鏡檢查前一天晚上入院,而您的腸道準備工作將會在醫院進行。門診指您的腸道準備工作將會在家裡進行,而且您需要在預約做檢查的當天早上前往醫院。在這兩種情況下,您都可以在結腸鏡檢查後2小時左右出院。安排某人陪您回家比較安全。

十二間香港私家醫院之全方位指南

香港目前的結腸鏡檢查平均收費是多少?

香港的結腸鏡檢查在私家部門的收費約為20,000港元。有些醫生收得更貴,所以費用可能會高出幾倍。

如何預防大腸癌?

男性性別和衰老與患大腸癌的機會增加有關。生活方式預防措施包括:不吸煙、不過度飲酒、定期運動、避免中央肥胖和多進食高纖維食物。最重要的是,建議您在40歲以上時定期進行結腸鏡檢查。

資料來源:
https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf/colorectal_ca_en.pdf

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生是加拿大藉華人、腸胃病和肝病專家。他於麥基爾大學修讀物理學畢業後,到香港中文大學學習醫學。 然後,他在政府醫院接受了12年的培訓,並獲得了腸胃病學、肝病學和內科的專業資格。目前,他是一名私家醫生,在位於中環的辦公室執業,他也是醫院管理局的兼職副顧問。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

.

Colonoscopy in Hong Kong: All You Need to Know

Last updated on August 26, 2021.

What is colonoscopy | Patient experience in HK | Procedure | Preparation | Medical risks | Frequency of colonoscopy | Where to go | Inpatient vs. outpatient colonoscopy | Costs | Prevention of colon cancer

Learn the basics and importance of colonoscopy in Hong Kong with Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生, a private practice Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist based in Hong Kong.

Colorectal cancer is the most common cancer in Hong Kong. It afflicts a large portion of the population and is most commonly seen in people aged 50 or above. Colon cancer accounted for 16.6% of all new cancer cases in 2015, and this number is said to increase due to both the aging population and the increasing incidence in the younger population.

There are a few preventive and testing methods used to detect not only cancer but other infections or abnormalities present in the colon. The most reliable of these methods is called a colonoscopy. This procedure is a beneficial detection method that some patients tend to avoid due to its invasive nature.

What is a colonoscopy exactly and why is it required?

Colonoscopy is an invasive examination to detect changes or abnormalities in the large intestine, and if necessary, obtain tissue samples or remove abnormal growth. During a colonoscopy, a flexible tube is inserted into the rectum and moved along the entire colon. The tip of the tube contains a light source and a video camera that projects a video image onto a monitor screen for the doctor’s examination.

Colonoscopy is intended for investigation of any suspicion of large bowel illness, as well as for prevention of the development of colonic cancer.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What is the colonoscopy patient experience like in Hong Kong?

In private medical practice in Hong Kong, most people undergo colonoscopy under “monitored anesthesia care”(MAC). Therefore the procedure does not hurt. MAC sedation is strong enough to keep the patient sleepy and requires an anesthetist’s support but it is lighter than general anesthesia.

However, some people may also opt for milder sedation without the support of an anesthetist. In that case, some pain (usually tolerable) is expected.

The worst part of a colonoscopy, according to Dr. Li, is the pre-procedural laxative drinks for bowel cleansing. The taste of the laxatives is weird and a large consumption volume (up to 4 liters of fluid) is needed.

Can you walk us through every step of the procedure of colonoscopy?

In the endoscopy suite, nurses will perform an identity check and ask you to sign consent forms. Supplemental oxygen might be given to you through a nasal cannula. Wires will be connected to monitor your vital signs such as heart rate and rhythm, oxygen saturation and blood pressure. An anesthetist will insert a plastic catheter into a small vein, usually in the hand, where sedatives will be injected.

After you fall asleep, the colonoscopy examination will begin with the insertion of an endoscope into the rectum and up to the beginning of the colon. Then the entire colon will be examined starting from the deepest end. Water might be injected through the endoscope to wash away residual fecal material and air will be insufflated to distend the colon wall for better visualization.

Tissue samples will be obtained for abnormalities such as inflammation and ulcers. Colon polyps will be removed. Significant bleedings will be stopped as well. After the colonoscopy is completed, the anesthetist will stop the sedation and you will gradually wake within 10–15 minutes.

To learn more about colon cancer and its symptoms, causes and treatment options, read our complete guide reviewed by a top Hong Kong oncologist.

How do I prepare for a colonoscopy?

First, consult a gastroenterologist to find out whether you need a colonoscopy. Your coexisting medical conditions and current medications will affect the length and complexity of your preparation phase.

For the 3 days before the colonoscopy, you need to undergo a low fiber diet — no vegetables or fresh fruits (good news for meat lovers). This is because fiber tends to obscure the view during colonoscopy.

On the day before the colonoscopy, you need to be on a fluid diet. On the night before colonoscopy, you need to start drinking laxatives according to your gastroenterologist’s regimen. You can expect to go to the toilet around 10 times that night. On the day of your colonoscopy, you need to keep fast for at least 6 hours.

Looking for a doctor?

CHECK OUR HEALTH DIRECTORY

What are the medical risks?

Some laxatives may cause electrolyte imbalance and dehydration. Your gastroenterologist should choose appropriate laxatives according to your age and health status. Sedation risks include low blood pressure and compromised breathing effort — but these conditions can be safely managed by the anesthetist. Aspiration pneumonia is rare if you have adequately fasted. A colonoscopy may cause perforation of the colon (1 in 600) which requires surgical repair. While tissue samplings and polyp resections (i.e. removals) are associated with risks of significant bleeding, most bleedings can be managed endoscopically.

How often should I undergo a colonoscopy?

You should consider a colonoscopy if you have newly developed or uninvestigated bowel symptoms such as abdominal pain, altered bowel habits, passing blood or mucus per your rectum. If you have any family members with colon cancer or polyps; or you are over 40 years of age, you should also consider screening colonoscopy to remove colon polyps.

Intervals between subsequent colonoscopies will depend on the number, size and pathology of the polyps found in your latest colonoscopy. In most circumstances, the intervals range from 1–5 years.

Where can I get a colonoscopy in Hong Kong?

Public sector: most government hospitals provide colonoscopy for suspected bowel disease but not for screening purposes. You need to see a general practitioner or family physician first and get a referral letter to see a specialist. The waiting time for the first consultation with a specialist can be up to 1–2 years, and the waiting time for a colonoscopy appointment is around 1 year after seeing the specialist.

Private sector: most gastroenterologists in Hong Kong are well-trained in performing colonoscopies. Colorectal surgeons are also trained in colonoscopy but it is difficult to know which surgeons specialize in the colorectal area. Gastroenterologists can perform colonoscopies in private hospitals or endoscopy centers in commercial buildings. Waiting times are very short. 

What is the difference between an inpatient and outpatient colonoscopy in Hong Kong?

Colonoscopy in Hong Kong can be performed in hospitals or endoscopy centers in commercial buildings. Endoscopy centers can only cater to outpatient colonoscopy. If any complications arise, then you will be transferred by ambulance to an Accident & Emergency Department of a nearby Hospital Authority hospital (public hospital).

Colonoscopy in Hong Kong private hospitals can be either inpatient or outpatient. Inpatient means you will be admitted to the hospital the night before your colonoscopy, and your bowel preparation will be done in the hospital; outpatient means your bowel preparation will be done at home and you will need to travel to the hospital the morning of your appointment. In both cases, you can be discharged around 2 hours after the colonoscopy procedure. It is safer to arrange someone to accompany you back home.

The Complete Guide to Hong Kong’s 12 Private Hospitals

What is the current average cost in Hong Kong?

A colonoscopy in Hong Kong costs around HK$20,000 in the private sector. Some doctors are more expensive, so the cost can be a few times more.

How do I prevent colon cancer?

Male gender and aging are associated with higher chances of getting colon cancer. Lifestyle preventive measures include no smoking, no excessive alcohol intake, regular exercise, avoiding central obesity and a high fiber diet. Most importantly, it is recommended to undergo regular colonoscopy screening when you are over 40 years old.

Source:
https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf/colorectal_ca_en.pdf

FAQs

What are the signs that you should have a colonoscopy?

If you have recently experienced bowel symptoms like abdominal pain, altered bowel habits, passing blood or mucus in your feces, you should consider a colonoscopy. Also, if you are aged over 40 or have a family health history of colon cancer or polyps, colonoscopy is recommended on a regular basis.

How much does a colonoscopy cost in Hong Kong?

On average, a colonoscopy costs around HK$8,000 as day surgery and $20,000 as inpatient surgery in private healthcare providers.

Is a colonoscopy a serious procedure?

Generally, colonoscopy is a safe procedure with rare complications such as bleeding and tears in the colon, inflammation or infection, severe abdominal pain, etc. Being the most accurate screening method for colorectal cancers, colonoscopy is commonly used for the examination of the large bowel.

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with an advisor today.

alea banner

Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生 is Chinese Canadian and a Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist. After graduating in Physics at McGill University, he studied medicine at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He then received 12 years of training at government hospitals, and achieved specialist qualifications in gastroenterology, hepatology and internal medicine. Currently, he is a private practitioner with an office in Central, and also a part-time associate consultant for Hospital Authority.

FAQs

What are the signs that you should have a colonoscopy?

If you have recently experienced bowel symptoms like abdominal pain, altered bowel habits, passing blood or mucus in your feces, you should consider a colonoscopy. Also, if you are aged over 40 or have a family health history of colon cancer or polyps, colonoscopy is recommended on a regular basis.

How much does a colonoscopy cost in Hong Kong?

On average, a colonoscopy costs around HK$8,000 as day surgery and $20,000 as inpatient surgery in private healthcare providers.

Is a colonoscopy a serious procedure?

Generally, colonoscopy is a safe procedure with rare complications such as bleeding and tears in the colon, inflammation or infection, severe abdominal pain, etc. Being the most accurate screening method for colorectal cancers, colonoscopy is commonly used for the examination of the large bowel.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.