兒童耳部感染:父母應該了解的事

中耳感染(中耳炎)在6個月至6歲大的幼兒中非常常見。雖然中耳炎並不會使人感到恐懼而且沒有傳染性,但它們可能給您的小朋友帶來很多痛苦和不適。Healthy Matters與耳鼻喉科專家Dr. David Ho何志謙醫生合作,為您提供有關兒童耳部感染的實用指南。

耳朵感染的成因是什麼?

耳部感染是由細菌進入耳膜後方充滿空氣的空間〈稱為中耳〉所引起。當中耳受感染時,它會充滿膿液並壓著鼓膜,引起疼痛、不適和聽力下降。

為什麼中耳炎在兒童身上更為普遍?

6歲以下的兒童耳部特別容易受感染,這是因為他們的耳朵結構(特別是咽鼓管)尚未完全發育,而且腺樣體較大。這些代表著咽鼓管開口被阻塞和中耳的黏液或膿液無法排回到鼻腔。

耳部感染常與感冒、喉嚨感染或過敏症同時發生。當咽鼓管的開口因另一種感染而腫脹時,在中耳的黏液通常無法正常被排出而令細菌繁殖。

耳部感染具傳染性嗎?

耳部感染通常不具有傳染性,但由於感冒和喉嚨感染通常會傳染,因此當感冒和喉嚨感染在日間托兒所、playgroups或學校中傳播時,同時發生的耳部感染會似是具有傳染性。

耳朵感染的症狀和徵兆是什麼?

耳部感染的主要症狀是耳痛和耳塞。年齡較大的小朋友會抱怨自己的耳朵很痛,但是對於還不懂說話的小朋友,這依賴父母和照顧者來解讀他們的肢體語言。當中通常包括煩躁不安、拉扯耳朵以及由於咀嚼、吞嚥和躺下會加劇耳朵不適而出現進食、飲水和睡眠困難。

除了耳痛外,兒童還可能會發燒、耳朵流出分泌物、食慾不振和聽力下降。

專家建議:幫助您的孩子應對坐飛機時帶來的耳痛

為什麼一些兒童會有慢性耳部感染?

一些小朋友會比其他小朋友更容易有耳部感染。何志謙醫生指,這是由於他們的腺樣體很大,並阻塞了鼻後部咽鼓管的開口。如果您的小朋友患有慢性耳部感染,您需要與耳鼻喉科專家討論以解決根本的原因。

耳部感染可以如何治療?

幾乎所有中耳炎都是由細菌引起。兒童應開始使用抗生素幫助殺死細菌,否則鼓膜會破裂。在極少數情況下,中耳感染會擴散到耳蝸(導致聽力受損)、骨頭(導致乳突炎)或大腦(導致腦膜炎)。醫生也會提供布洛芬等抗炎藥來舒緩疼痛和發燒。

可以怎樣預防耳朵感染?

父母可以採取幾種措施來防止小朋友患上慢性耳部感染:

  • 避免兒童接觸二手煙。
  • 持續母乳餵哺至少6個月有助於預防早期耳朵感染。
  • 接種疫苗(鏈球菌和嗜血桿菌)有助於預防耳部感染。
  • 定期洗手,以防止細菌擴散。

什麼情況下需要看醫生?

何志謙醫生建議如果您的小朋友有以下跡象,請去看兒科醫生或耳鼻喉專科醫生:

  • 耳痛
  • 耳塞/聽力下降
  • 耳部有分泌物排出
  • 不明來歷突然發燒

—-

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

—-

Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生從墨爾本大學醫學系畢業,並於澳洲皇家外科醫學院接受耳鼻喉科學的專科培訓。回港前,他任職於位處墨爾本的皇家兒童醫院,此為南半球最大的兒科醫療中心;另外,何醫生也是Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin 醫院的耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。他在紐約、香港、倫敦和加拿大受過專科資格後培訓。何醫生現為香港大學名譽助理教授,同是明德國際醫院名譽耳鼻喉科專科顧問醫生。何志謙醫生的私人執業地點位於香港中環畢打街1-3號中建大廈7樓707室:香港耳鼻喉及睡眠外科中心,電話為+852 2870 1880。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Children Ear Infections: What Every Parent Should Know

Middle ear infections (Otitis Media) are very common in young children between the ages of 6 months and 6 years old. While they are not alarming and not contagious, they can bring your child a lot of pain and discomfort. In collaboration with ENT specialist, Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生, Healthy Matters brings you a practical guide to children ear infections.
 
 

What are the causes?

Ear infections are caused by bacteria making their way into hollow space behind the eardrum, called the middle ear. When the middle ear is infected, it fills with pus and presses against the eardrum and causes pain, discomfort and hearing loss.
 
 

Why are ear infections more prevalent in young kids?

Children under the age of 6 are particularly at risk of ear infections because their ear structures (in particular, Eustachian tubes) have not developed completely and their adenoids are bigger. This combination means that the Eustachian opening is blocked and middle ear fluid or pus cannot drain out back into the nose.
 
Ear infections often happen in conjunction with colds, throat infections or allergies. When the Eustachian tube’s opening swells as a result of another infection, the mucus usually found in the middle ear is not able to drain properly and bacteria grows.
 
 

Are ear infections contagious?

Ear infections are not usually contagious but colds and throat infections are so it might seem as though they are when these illnesses are cycling through daycare, playgroups or schools.
 
 

What are the signs and symptoms?

The main sign of an ear infection is ear pain and ear blockage. Older children will complain about their ears being painful but with children who are not yet able to speak, it’s up to parents and carers to interpret their non-verbal signs. These often include increased fussiness, tugging at the ear, and trouble eating, drinking and sleeping as chewing, swallowing and lying down often aggravate the ear.
 
In addition to ear pain, children may have a fever, ear discharge, reduced appetite, and hearing loss.
 
 
 

Why do some children have chronic ear infections?

Some children have ear infections more often than others. Dr. Ho says this is because their adenoids is big and blocks the Eustachian tube opening at the back of the nose. If your child has chronic ear infections, this is something worth talking to your ENT specialist about to address the underlying causes.
 
 

What are the remedies?

Almost all middle ear infections are bacterial. Children should start antibiotics to help kill the bacteria, otherwise the ear drum will burst. (Very rarely, middle ear infection may spread to the cochlea causing hearing impairment, to the bone leading to mastoiditis or to the brain leading to meningitis.) Anti-inflammatory like ibuprofen should also be given to relief the pain and fever.
 
 

What can prevent ear infections?

There are several things parents can do to prevent their children developing chronic ear infections:
  • Avoid children’s exposure to secondhand smoke.
  • Breastfeeding for at least 6 months helps to prevent early ear infections.
  • Vaccinations (Streptococcus and Haemophilus) help prevent ear infections.
  • Practice regular hand washing to prevent germs from spreading.
 
 

When should you see a doctor?

Dr. David Ho recommends seeing your GP, pediatrician or ENT Specialist if your child has the following signs:

  • Ear pain
  • Ear blockage/Hearing loss
  • Ear discharge
  • Fever of unknown origin
 
 
Dr. David Ho 何志謙醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne Medical School and obtained Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose & Throat) Specialist training under the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Before returning to Hong Kong, he worked at Royal Children’s Hospitals in Melbourne, the biggest pediatric medical centre in the Southern Hemisphere and was a specialist ENT consultant at Royal Melbourne, Alfred and Austin Hospitals. He obtained post-fellowship training in New York, Hong Kong and London, Canada. He is now an honorary assistant professor at the University of Hong Kong and an honorary Specialist ENT Consultant for the Matilda International Hospital. His private practice is in Room 707, Central Building, Central: The Hong Kong ENT & Sleep Surgery Centre (+852 2870 1880).
 
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.