奇亞籽:黑色小顆粒的神奇力量

最後更新日期 七月 19, 2021.

奇亞籽是近年的超人氣食物。這種來自危地馬拉和墨西哥的「超級食物」含有豐富營養,對健康有莫大益處,更可以融入許多日常料理中。這些黑色小種子曾是古代阿茲特克人和瑪雅人飲食中的常見食材,而瑪雅語的「Chia」一字更包含「力量」的意思。奇亞籽最驚人的「神奇力量」,就是當它們浸泡在水中時,重量可增加至原來的10-12倍。讓我們帶你認識小小一顆奇亞籽內蘊含的豐富營養吧!

奇亞籽幫助體重管理

對於正在減肥的人來說,這篇文章可能會令你略為失望。一項為期12週的研究中,90位超重參加者每天食用50克的奇亞籽,但他們的體重或疾病風險並沒有因此而顯著改善。但好消息是:奇亞籽的確能控制食慾,從而減少食物攝取量。當奇亞籽與水或其他液體混合,便會膨脹及變成凝膠狀。 而這種纖維狀凝膠除了有助減緩消化和吸收過程外,更可以延長食物停留在腹部的時間,降低進食的慾望。

此外,雖然食用奇亞籽不能直接帶來減肥效果,但一些專家認為,它們是一種適合減肥人士的食材。

奇亞籽含豐富抗氧化物

奇亞籽內的抗氧化物不僅為籽內容易氧化的脂肪帶來天然防腐的作用,更延長了奇亞籽的保鮮期。當這些抗氧化物被吸收到體內,便能防止細胞受體內或體外(例如加工食品和空氣污染)產生而累積的自由基(free radicals)所損傷。奇亞籽也能降低癌症和心血管疾病風險,同時減慢衰老。

奇亞籽內的抗氧化物主要有兩種:植物化學物質(phytochemicals)和礦物質。奇亞籽內的植物化學物質如綠原酸(chlorogenic acid)、槲皮素(quercetin)和山奈酚(kaempferol),分別有助降血壓、減低心臟病、腦血管疾病、骨質疏鬆症、某些癌症和慢性疾病的風險。而奇亞籽內的礦物質——硒,則是一種重要的抗氧化物,負責多種身體功能,如免疫神經系統。

奇亞籽含Omega-3

奇亞籽是世上植物性omega-3脂肪酸的最佳食物來源之一,其比例甚至比三文魚高。大量研究表明,奇亞籽可以使血液中的α-亞麻酸(alpha-linolenic acid)(ALA)含量增加 138%,二十碳五烯酸(eicosapentaenoic acid)(EPA)含量增加 39%。一方面,omega-3可以提高「好」的高密度脂蛋白 (high density lipoprotein)(HDL) 膽固醇,該膽固醇負責去除血液中的其他膽固醇,從而降低心臟病和中風的風險。另一方面,omega-3可以降低「壞」的低密度脂蛋白(low density lipoprotein) (LDL) 膽固醇,該膽固醇會積聚在動脈內壁,並阻塞血液通道。奇亞籽能平衡體內HDL和LDL的比例,促進心臟和血管健康。

儘管如此,omega-3在奇亞籽中主要以ALA的形式存在,除非將ALA轉化為有用的EPA和DHA,否則人體無法利用ALA。但是因為這個轉化過程的效率很低,營養師一般建議攝取動物來源的omega-3,例如含有DHA的魚油;至於素食主義者,則應該適量進食DHA或EPA補充品。

奇亞籽含有大量優質蛋白質

這些細小的黑色種子粒粒都蘊藏肌肉的主要原材料——蛋白質,可以幫助增強肌肉。奇亞籽是少數具有高蛋白質含量的植物性食物,擁有人體所需但無法在體內合成的的全部9種必需氨基酸,所以奇亞籽是素食者攝取植物蛋白不錯的來源。

更重要的是,較高的蛋白質攝取量可以透過維持飽腹感來降低食慾。研究顯示,蛋白質可以延緩進食的衝動,讓擁有極高蛋白質的奇亞籽成為控制體重的理想食材。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

奇亞籽含量高纖維

奇亞籽的重量有40%來自纖維,是最好的膳食纖維來源之一。奇亞籽中的大部分碳水化合物都是纖維,其中有95%更是水溶性纖維。因為這種特性,奇亞籽與液體接觸後,重量會增加10-12倍。纖維不易被消化,所以可以刺激腸道蠕動以幫助消化,有效促進排便,進而預防或緩解便秘並降低患結腸直腸癌(colorectal cancer)的風險。

根據一項美國膳食纖維攝取趨勢研究,大多數受訪者都沒有攝取足夠的纖維,可能與日常飲食中蔬果攝取量不足有關。針對這種情況,奇亞籽食法百變,便於混入不同食材,是很好的纖維補充品。常見的食法有作為乳酪的配料,或者替代雞蛋在烹飪中幫助凝固等。事實上,一安士(28 克)的奇亞籽便足以提供成人每日纖維建議攝取量的一半!

FAQs

奇亞籽適合所有人食用嗎?

服用華法林等薄血藥的人應該注意奇亞籽的攝取量。高劑量的奇亞籽含有大量的omega-3脂肪酸,其血液稀釋作用可能會影響薄血藥的藥效。如有疑問,請諮詢醫生。

食用奇亞籽安全嗎?

一般來說,奇亞籽是可以放心食用的。惟有報導指,一名男子在進食一湯匙奇亞籽並飲用一杯水後出現了食道堵塞的情況。為防止發生類似事故,建議在進食前先將奇亞籽與液體混合,以方便吞嚥。

奇亞籽有副作用嗎?

食用奇亞籽通常不會引起不良影響。但需要注意的是,奇亞籽中的植酸含量可能會阻礙某些礦物質吸收,如鈣、鐵和鋅,長期大量食用可能會影響骨骼健康。雖然如此,奇亞籽也是極好的礦物質來源,尤其是鈣質。這平衡了植酸在奇亞籽中的負面作用。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Chia Seeds: The Superpower Within Their Tiny Black Coats

Last updated on June 4, 2021.

Originated from Guatemala and Mexico, chia seeds have become really popular in recent years. They are recognized as a “superfood” for their massive health benefits and their versatility to be incorporated into so many recipes. In case you are wondering, these tiny black seeds were once a staple food in ancient Aztecs and Mayans diet and the ancient Mayan word “Chia” grants the meaning of “strength”. The most astonishing super power of chia seeds is their ability to expand up to 10-12 times their weight in a gel-form when they are soaked in water. Let us walk you through the health benefits of chia seeds, those special seeds encapsulated within tiny black coats.

Chia seeds are good for weight management

For those who are aiming to lose weight, this article may slightly disappoint you. In a 12-week study, 90 overweight participants were given 50g of chia seeds daily but none of their body weights or disease risk factors showed significant improvement after the study. But here is the good news: chia seeds do play a role in appetite control and food intake reduction. As mentioned, chia seeds turn into a gel-like structure and expand in size after mixing with water or other liquids. The fibrous gel mass slows down the digestion and absorption process and stays in the stomach for a longer time. This increases fullness and enhances a sense of satiety, and thus reduces the urge to take in more calories.

Moreover, though chia seeds on their own cannot directly bring about weight loss, some experts believe that they are key ingredients to be included in a weight loss diet.

Chia seeds are packed with antioxidants

Chia seeds are very rich in antioxidants, which are naturally present to prevent delicate fats in chia seeds from going rancid. The naturally occurring preservatives explain why chia seeds have an extended shelf-life. When absorbed into the body, the main role of antioxidants is to protect against cellular damage from oxidative stress as a result of accumulation of free radicals produced by the body or external sources (e.g. processed food and air pollution). Hence, eating chia seeds may reduce the risk of cancer, cardiovascular diseases and slow down aging.

Antioxidants in chia seeds exist in forms of different phytochemicals and minerals. Phytochemicals like chlorogenic acid, quercetin and kaempferol are antioxidants that help lower blood pressure, reduce the risk of heart diseases, cerebrovascular diseases, osteoporosis, certain types of cancer and other chronic diseases respectively. Also present in chia seeds is the mineral selenium, which is an important antioxidant involved in a variety of body functions, for example, immunity and cognition.

Advertisements

Chia seeds are high in omega-3

Chia seeds are amongst the best sources of plant-based omega-3 fatty acids in the world, even higher than salmon proportionally. Numerous research studies showed that chia seeds can increase the blood level of omega-3 in the form of alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) by 138% and EPA by 39%. On one hand, omega-3 can raise the “good” high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol which is responsible for removing other forms of cholesterol in blood to reduce the risk of heart diseases and stroke. On the other hand, omega-3 can lower the “bad” low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, which accumulates in the inner wall of arteries and blocks the passageway of blood. By balancing the HDL and LDL ratio in the body, chia seeds are helpful in promoting heart and blood vessel health.

Nevertheless, omega-3 exists mostly in the form of ALA in chia seeds, which cannot be utilized by the body unless it is converted into the active forms eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). But this conversion process is not efficient. Therefore in order to obtain adequate omega-3, it is generally recommended to rely on animal sources such as fish oil which contains DHA; or for vegans, to rely on DHA or EPA supplements.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Chia seeds contain plenty of high-quality protein

It may surprise you, but these tiny black seeds can help you strengthen your muscles as protein is essentially the raw material for, well, building muscles. Chia seeds are one of the few plant-based foods that have high protein content and all 9 essential amino acids (basic units of protein which cannot be synthesized within the body) required by the body for protein synthesis. This makes chia seeds a good source of plant-based protein for vegans particularly.

What’s more, a higher protein intake is also associated with lower appetite as it keeps you full longer. Research showed that protein can put off the urge to eat and the craving for a nighttime snack. This implies that chia seeds as an excellent source of protein may be ideal for weight management.

Advertisements

Chia seeds are high in fiber

Containing 40% of fiber by weight, chia seeds provide one of the best sources of fiber amongst all food. The majority of the carbohydrates in chia seeds comes in the form of fiber, of which 95% is soluble in water to form a gel-like structure. That explains why chia seeds can expand their weight up to 10-12 times when in contact with water. Also being indigestible, fiber can facilitate digestion by adding bulk to stool and stimulating peristalsis in intestines . This increases the ease to expel waste materials from the body, and in turns prevents or relieves constipation and reduces the risk of colorectal cancer.

According to a study on trends of dietary fiber intake in the US, most people did not consume enough fiber, possibly owing to the limited intake of fruits and vegetables in a contemporary lifestyle. For this reason, chia seeds are good supplements for fiber because they can easily blend with many recipes, often without even being noticed. Chia seeds are even popular toppings for yoghurt and work perfectly as a substitute for egg in cooking thanks to its coagulative property. Probably to your surprise, an ounce (28g) of chia seeds can provide half of the recommended daily intake of fiber in adults!

FAQs

Are chia seeds suitable for everyone?

People who are taking blood-thinning medications such as Warfarin should be aware of the dose of chia seeds intake. High doses of chia seeds contain a large amount of omega-3 fatty acids, whose blood-thinning effect may affect the blood-thinner actions. Consult a doctor regarding the suitable dose of chia seeds intake if in doubt.

Is it safe to consume chia seeds?

In general, chia seeds are safe to eat. In a rare case, it’s been reported that a man had an esophageal blockage after consuming a tablespoon of dry chia seeds followed by a glass of water. To prevent similar accidents, it is advisable to mix chia seeds with a liquid of your choice before eating to ease swallowing.

Are there any adverse effects of chia seeds?

There is generally no adverse effect from consuming chia seeds. But it should be noted that the phytic acid content in chia seeds may hinder absorption of certain minerals in food, such as calcium, iron and zinc, potentially affecting bone health in the long-term. Nonetheless, chia seeds provide excellent sources of minerals, particularly calcium. This balances off the effect of phytic acid in chia seeds.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.