母乳餵哺指南:從初生至幼兒時期每個階段所需的餵哺量及頻率

無論您打算進行母乳餵哺幾日抑或幾個月,您都需要了解自己應該要餵的量是多少和隔多少時間餵一次。 這是Healthy Matters為您而設的專業母乳餵哺指南,內容涵蓋初生至幼兒時期每個階段。

母乳餵哺指南:初生至出世後1個月內

餵哺頻率?

在出世初期,理想情況下,您應該「有需要」就餵哺,即通常24小時至少8-12,以避免乳房充血並確保有足夠母乳供應。 目標是不論晝夜定期餵哺 – 經驗法測指日間每2小時一次,而晚間每4-5個小時一次(如果嬰兒正在睡覺),以一次餵哺的開始至下一次餵哺的開始作計算。 嬰兒一出現飢餓的跡象就需要進行餵哺(例如伸出舌頭、吸吮附近的東西、把手放在嘴裡、躍躍欲動),而不要等到嬰兒大聲哭鬧和煩躁扭動才進行餵哺。初生嬰兒在出世後幾星期內會非常困倦,可能需要被弄醒以進行餵哺才能讓他們攝取足夠的母乳。

餵哺奶量?

要確定初生嬰兒的母乳攝取量並不簡單。影響母乳攝取量的因素有很多,包括嬰兒吸吮乳房時的口部動作(稱為「含乳」)、吸吮能力和母乳供應量 – 因此餵奶時間長度不一定反映到母乳攝取量。所以請維持餵哺直到嬰兒停止主動吸吮和吞嚥,然後再讓嬰兒吸吮另一個乳房直到嬰兒停止主動吸吮和吞嚥。

母乳餵哺指南:出世的第1個月後至第3個月

餵哺頻率?

隨著嬰兒成長,他們在飲人奶方面會越來越有效率,因此不需要經常餵奶,而且他們的睡眠時間可能更長。由第4-6星期開始,您可以預期24小時內餵哺7-12,具體取決於嬰兒飲人奶的效率、是否在經歷「猛長期」和母乳供應量。

餵哺奶量?

在第1至第3個月,接受純母乳餵哺的嬰兒平均每天會攝取570-900毫升母乳。嬰兒會在出生後第1個月內會經歷「猛長期」,而第1個月後,體重增加會開始放緩,而尿片變污糟的頻率亦可能會降低。

母乳餵哺指南:第4至6個月

餵哺頻率?

到大約4個月大時,很多嬰兒會減少接受餵哺的頻率,減少至每日5-8次母乳餵哺

餵哺奶量?

這個年齡階段的嬰兒平均每日也要攝取570-900毫升母乳。 請記住,這只是一個平均值,攝取量可能會因每日和每個嬰兒而異。

母乳餵哺指南:第6至12個月

餵哺頻率?

由第6至第12個月期間,您的嬰兒將會慢慢開始接受固體食物代替母乳。在6個月大時,您的嬰兒仍將需要每日接受4-6次母乳餵哺,但是到第12個月大時,母乳餵哺次數將會被減少至每日3-4

餵哺奶量?

在6個月大時,嬰兒大部分所需的卡路里仍需攝取自母乳。這能為他們提供學習咀嚼、吞嚥和探索固體食物的空間,同時無需擔心他們的卡路里攝取量不足。到12個月大時,大多數嬰兒將會進食更多固體食物來攝取卡路里,而他們飲用母乳的效率也會非常高。有時候母乳餵哺時間可能會很短,因為嬰兒已經可以有效率地飲用母乳。

母乳餵哺指南:幼兒

餵哺頻率?

隨著飲食技巧和獨立能力的提高,大多數幼兒開始越來越少接受母乳餵哺 – 通常每日1-2

餵哺奶量?

接受母乳餵哺的幼兒可以有效率地獲得人奶,而他們的注意力容易被分散,有時亦會有很大的情感需求。 每次母乳餵哺的時長可以短至日間幾分鐘、長至早上或晚上二十分鐘甚至更長時間。 在這個階段,母乳餵哺的作用是讓幼兒感到舒適及為他們提供營養。

何為「密集餵哺」(Cluster Feeding)?

由於母乳餵哺過程中會有很多變化,因此我們上述的數字只是平均值。當嬰兒經歷「猛長期」或重大的成長里程碑時,他們可能需要「密集餵哺」。

我們請了香港最著名的哺乳顧問之一,來自the Family Zone的Yvonne Heavyside,向我們講解更多有關「密集餵哺」的資訊。

在乳房的奶量較少時(很多女性通常在午後/傍晚出現這情況),「密集餵哺」會較普遍。嬰兒可能會在那段時間頻密地飲人奶,媽媽們請振作起來,這是由於嬰兒正在享受他們的「後奶」,這經常能夠讓嬰兒突然進入長時間的深度睡眠。

怎樣知道自己的嬰兒攝取到足夠的母乳?

與奶樽餵哺(不論母乳或配方奶)不同,直接母乳餵哺很難評估到嬰兒是否攝取了足夠的人奶。Yvonne Heavyside分享了一些有用的貼士,以評估您的初生嬰兒是否攝取到足夠的人奶。

早期的母乳餵哺最重要是了解嬰兒是否做到有效的吸吮乳房口部動作。許多嬰兒懂得吸吮乳頭,但這並不一定代表母乳能夠良好地輸送到嬰兒口中。看看他們有沒有吞嚥,而不只是吸吮。爸爸們通常可以更容易觀察到嬰兒是否達到有效的動作,因為他們可以看到嬰兒的下顎是否有下垂(如果嘴裏充滿人奶的話下顎就會下垂)。在嬰兒出世了幾星期後,當母乳流動變得容易時,您也許還能聽到嬰兒的吞嚥聲,就如咕咕咕”的聲音。”

由於我們無法量度接受母乳餵哺的嬰兒的母乳攝取量,因此我們可使用其他一些指標作參考。在出生的第一個月後,獲得足夠母乳的嬰兒通常會感到滿足、活躍和機敏。

體重增加與足夠母乳攝取量的關係

您的醫生、助產士或哺乳顧問會在每次與您和您的嬰兒會面時幫您的嬰兒磅重,以確保嬰兒達到適合的體重。

初生嬰兒至3個月大:在出世後頭幾日他們的體重會減輕5-10%,之後,他們的重量每週會大約增加170克左右。

4至6個月大的嬰兒:每週增加113-142克。

6至12個月大的嬰兒:每週增加57-113克。

污糟尿片與足夠母乳攝取量的關係

初生嬰兒:在出生後頭4日,初生嬰兒每日應該會產生一塊污糟的尿片和一塊濕透的尿片。 在第2日,就會有2塊污糟的尿片和2塊濕透的尿片。從第4日開始,每24小時就會產生3-4塊污糟的尿片和5塊或以上濕透的尿片,這代表您的嬰兒正在攝取足夠的母乳。

一旦嬰兒適應了母乳餵哺,而嬰兒已滿一個月大,尿片變污糟的頻率可能變為每日一次甚至每八日才一次。 由於母乳中的廢物很少,因此嬰兒排便的需求也不再那麼高。 但是,重要的是,您的嬰兒每日需要排尿5次以上,或大約每次餵奶後要排尿一次。

如果您有任何疑問,請與您的私家醫生聯繫或到您所在地區的母嬰健康院(MCHC)以獲得公共保健服務。

是否想搵專業人士協助母乳餵哺? 請查閱Healthy Matters的香港母乳餵哺支援組織及哺乳顧問之綜合目錄

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Yvonne Heavyside是一位在英國接受培訓和註冊的普通科護士。她亦是香港的註冊護士,同時是一名到訪醫護人員(母嬰健康專家)、哺乳顧問以及急救和心肺復甦指導員。Yvonne在英國和香港合共擁有30多年的護士經驗。她之前曾在明德國際醫院的兒科診所工作。Yvonne創立了自己的公司the Family Zone,親身專門為新媽媽提供個人化、專業的服務。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Breastfeeding Guide: How Much & How Often at Every Age | From Birth to Toddlerhood

Whether you aim to feed for a few days or for several months, you are probably asking yourself how much and how often you should feed your child. We at Healthy Matters cover every breastfeeding stage from newborns to toddlers.
 
 

Breastfeeding guidelines: from birth to 1 month

How often?

In the early days, you should ideally nurse ‘on demand’. This is usually at least 8-12 times per 24 hours to avoid engorgement and establish a good milk supply. Aim to feed regularly throughout the day and night – a good rule of thumb is every 2 hours during the day and every 4-5 hours at night if baby is sleeping, counting from the start of one feed to the start of the next feed. Nurse at the first signs of hunger (sticking their tongues out, sucking on anything close by, hands in the mouth, stirring), rather than waiting until the baby becomes frantic and fussy. Newborns are very sleepy in their first few weeks and may need to be woken in order to receive enough milk.

 

How much?

We’re used to being able to measure everything but it’s not so straightforward to determine how much milk a newborn has taken in. A lot of factors affect milk intake including latch, sucking ability and milk supply – feeding duration is not necessarily an indicator of volume. Nurse until baby stops actively sucking and swallowing and then offer the second breast.
 
 

Breastfeeding guidelines: from 1 to 3 months

How often?

As your baby grows, they will get increasingly efficient at drinking milk so won’t need to feed as often and will likely be sleeping longer. From 4-6 weeks old, you can expect your baby to be feeding 7-12 times in 24 hours, depending on their efficiency, any growth spurts, and supply.

 

How much?

Between the ages of 1 to 3 months, babies who are exclusively breastfeeding take in an average range of 570-900ml per day. Weight gain will also start slowing down after their one month growth spurt and dirty diapers may become less frequent.
 
 

Breastfeeding guidelines: from 4 to 6 months

How often?

By about 4 months old, many babies cut down on their frequency of feeding and are down to 5-8 breastfeeding sessions per day.

 

How much?

Babies this age take in an average of 570-900 ml per day as well. Keep in mind this is an average and the amount may vary day-to-day and baby-to-baby.
 
 

Breastfeeding guidelines: from 6 to 12 months

How often?

From between 6 and 12 months old, your baby will slowly start to replace some breast milk feeds with solid foods. At 6 months, your baby will still need 4-6 feeds per day but by 12 months, they will be down to 3-4 breast milk feeds.

 

How much?

At 6 months, most of your baby’s calories will still be coming from breast milk. This gives them room to learn to chew, swallow and explore the new world of solid food without worrying about their intake. By 12 months, most babies will be getting a larger portion of their calories from solid food and will be quite efficient at getting their milk. Some feeding sessions may be quite short as they can get their fill quite quickly.
 
 

Breastfeeding guidelines: for toddlers

How often?

As their eating skills and independence increases, most toddlers start feeding less and less – usually 1-2 times per day.

 

How much?

Breastfeeding toddlers are efficient at getting their milk and highly distractible and sometimes have overwhelming emotional needs. Their feeds can range from a few minutes during the day to twenty minutes or more in the morning or evening. At this point, breastfeeding is for comfort as well as nutrition.
 
 

What is cluster feeding?

The amounts we have stated are all average amounts as there are many ‘bumps’ on the breastfeeding journey. When babies are experiencing growth spurts or major developmental milestones, they may cluster feed.

 

We asked one of Hong Kong’s most well-known lactation consultants, Yvonne Heavyside from the Family Zone, to tell us a bit more about cluster feeding.

 

“Cluster feeding is common when the breasts have less volume (for many women this is around late afternoon/early evening). The baby may feed frequently at this stage but take heart as they are actually binging on hind milk and as a result of this the baby will often suddenly fall into a long period of deep sleep.”
 
 

Is my baby getting enough milk?

Unlike bottle feeding (of breast milk or formula), it is very difficult to assess whether your baby is getting enough milk. Yvonne Heavyside shares some helpful tips to assess whether your new baby is taking in enough milk.

 

“The most important breastfeeding tool in the early days is to know if your baby is using an effective latch. Many babies will suck on the nipple but this is not necessarily achieving good milk transfer from the breast to the baby. Look for swallows, not just sucks. Dads can often do this more effectively as they can see if the lower jaw is dropping as the mouth fills up with milk. Once the milk is flowing easily, after the first few weeks, you may also be able to hear the baby swallow. It’s like a “ku ku ku” sound.”

 

Since we can’t measure how much milk breastfed babies are getting, we use a couple of other measures. After the first month, babies with sufficient breast milk will generally be content, active and alert.
 
 

Weight gain

Your doctor, midwife or lactation consultant will weigh your baby at each appointment to ensure they’re on the right track.

 

Newborns to 3 month olds: After the initial 5-10% body weight loss in the first few days, young babies should be gaining roughly 170g/week.
4 to 6 month olds: 113-142 grams per week.
6 to 12 month olds: 57-113 grams per week.
 
 

Dirty diapers

Newborns: In the first four days of life, newborns should have one dirty and one wet diaper per day of life. On day 2, that’s 2 dirty and 2 wet diapers. From four days onwards, 3-4 dirty and 5+ wet diapers per 24 hours is a sign your baby is taking in sufficient milk.

 

Once breastfeeding is established and the baby is over a month old, the frequency of dirty diapers can range from one a day to even as infrequent as every eight days. There is little waste in breast milk so not as much need for bowel movements. However, it’s important that your baby passes urine 5+ times per day or roughly with every feed.

 

If you have any concerns, get in touch with your private doctor or your cluster’s Maternal and Child Health Centre (MCHC) for public health services.

 

Looking for breastfeeding support? See Healthy Matters’ comprehensive directory of Breastfeeding Support Organizations and Lactation Consultants in Hong Kong
 
 
Yvonne Heavyside is a UK-trained and registered general nurse. She is also a registered nurse in Hong Kong and a Health Visitor (maternal & child health specialist), Lactation Consultant, and First Aid & CPR Instructor. Yvonne has over 30 years’ experience as a nurse both in the UK and in Hong Kong. She previously worked in the Matilda International Hospital running their well-baby clinic. Yvonne founded her own company, the Family Zone, specifically to provide a personal, professional, hands-on service for new mums.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.