新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)疫情下復課:育兒專家的建議

讓小朋友適應在家中上課充滿挑戰,而讓小朋友重返校園亦同樣具有挑戰性。經過差不多四個月,家中學習已成為小朋友的新常態,因此,他們需要再重新適應復課的生活,特別是要適應學校新採取的措施。我們有幸請來育兒專家Marie Marchand為我們解答了所有急需解決的問題,以幫助我們盡可能順利地度過復課這個過渡期。

新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)疫情下,學校將會變得不一樣 – 需要戴口罩、社交距離等。我們應如何為我們的小朋友做好準備?

首先,我們需要為小朋友提供一些事實,我們需要教育他們。相信這是大多數家長在過去的18個星期已經做過的事情。其次,我們需要對他們返回學校後會發生的情況作出解釋。根據學校提供的指引,跟小朋友討論在復課第一日會有什麼情況。作出解釋後,小朋友的焦慮便會減低,他們會感到自己對情況有更多控制。當他們感到有控制,他們會傾向於遵循規則及更合作。

如果小朋友有疑問,家長應該根據事實盡能力解答,但所提供的資訊要適合您的兒童的年齡和心智。家長應該告訴他們的小朋友,如果他們碰到受污染的表面可能會發生什麼事,並解釋這並不是世界末日一樣:「不要驚慌,只要用番梘和清水正確地洗手即可。」我認為這是特別重要、需要教導兒童的事。我們不希望小朋友感到恐慌。

家長可能會注意到小朋友對某些事情感到焦慮,他們可以使用一種稱為「反思性聆聽」(reflective listening)的溝通技巧,讓兒童先表達自己的感受,然後找出有助於解決當中情況的方法。

例子:

家長:「您似乎受某些事情困擾著……」

兒童:「是啊,我擔心當我戴著口罩,沒有人會聽到我說話。」

家長:「有時候人們戴著口罩說話時,聽他們說話的確是有困難的。如果您認為您的朋友聽不到您的聲音,您覺得您可以怎樣做?」

與您的小朋友一同動動腦想方法,讓他們嘗試那些方法。 然後,您的小朋友可以評估那些方法是否有效。(例如說話大聲一點、說話時放慢速度、與朋友靠近一些 – 但同時不能太近等等)

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

一整日都要保持社交距離和戴口罩會對兒童建立關係和社交互動的能力帶來什麼影響?

我實際上不知道這個問題的答案!這對所有人來說都是新的體驗,我們只能夠觀察和評估情況以調整規則,並幫助兒童適應這種新的生活方式,因為這種情況可能會持續一段時間。

而我認為這是個暫時性的情況,在研究到疫苗之前,小朋友們應該盡量避免過多身體接觸。另一方面,他們亦需要玩耍,而我們將兒童送回學校的部分原因是讓他們與其他人進行社交和聯繫。每個人都必須有個朋友圈子,而讓他們與朋友玩耍確實很重要,但盡量選擇不會有非常親密的身體接觸的遊戲更加重要。您亦可讓兒童提出建議和想法,也可以嘗試一些新遊戲。

我還認為,兒童一般具有很強的適應能力,如果他們的基本需求被達到,他們就能夠調整自己。這包括讓他們參與、獨立、感到公平、與人聯繫、以及感到自己有能力和有價值的需求。即使要保持社會距離,這些需求亦是可以被滿足的。這需要教育工作者和家長去尋找新的方法來滿足這些需求。而現時兒童對肢體接觸交流的需求可暫時只由家人來滿足。

如何應對新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)疫情:心理醫生的貼士

我們只能信任老師和學校來確保我們小朋友的安全。我們如何才能幫助我們的小朋友明白到他們也要對自己的安全負責?

家長最能夠幫助到老師和學校就是去訓練小朋友做一些學校要求執行的事(例如如何戴上口罩、如何正確洗手、如何在打乞嚏時用手肘遮蓋口鼻、如何擤鼻涕、如何在不會接觸到他人的情況下表達自己等等)。如果學校和家庭有一致的共識,並且可以合作,那麼事情對每個人而言都會變得更加容易。一些單張可以張貼在課室或家中,以提醒兒童有關某些衛生的步驟。對於年幼的兒童,讓他們在洗手時唱“Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”這首歌可以讓洗手成為一個習慣。對於較大的兒童,向他們解釋清楚後,如果他們不遵守規則,就像其他任何事情一樣,可以給他們一些限制和合理的後果。每個人都需要時間學習,成年人應該樹立正確行為的榜樣,並讓小朋友明白到這些規則每個人都要遵守,而只是自己要遵守。

鼓勵性的語言來激勵小朋友做正確的事是非常有好處的。

例子:

「做得好,您記得在洗手時同時唱歌,這證明了您明白到其重要性。」

「您懂得用紙巾擤鼻涕,做得很好。現在您需要洗手。」

「見到朋友時,您認為您應該怎樣做?」

「我要給您一些掌聲,因為您今日和小明玩耍時有保持適當的社交距離。即是在不久的將來我們就能邀請他來我們家玩耍。」

檢疫、社交距離、隔離:有什麼分別?

我們會感到焦慮,而我們如何可以避免將這種焦慮帶到小朋友身上,同時又向他們灌輸疫情下的公眾意識呢?

家長和教育工作者將需要時間來適應這個新常態。教育工作者只能相信自己的直覺,並在必要時作出改變。家長必須給教育工作者一些時間,在想要馬上作出改變前,先讓學校嘗試實行學校的計劃。他們只能相信學校,以免將焦慮帶到小朋友身上。當小朋友不在身邊時,家長應該與教育工作者和管理人員進行溝通,特別是當家長需要分享令自己帶來壓力的事情時。以身作則是正確的做法。冷靜地行事會有所幫助。我們知道兒童需要感到自己有控制權,因此,一個良好的建議是不要向小朋友下命令,因為這會引發「權力鬥爭」,兒童將會更加唱反調,從而讓家長帶來更多的壓力。給小朋友一些選擇諮詢他們的意見會有所幫助。家長也應盡量以尊重的方式表達自己的感受,以免小朋友感到自己被責怪。

例子:

「我們都需要戴口罩,今日您想戴哪種顏色,粉紅還是藍色?」

「要記實在入屋後馬上洗手可能有點困難,您認為我們可以怎麼做才能記住?」(當小朋友可以參與決策時,他們更有可能會遵守規則)

「由於當您忘記在打乞嚏時用手肘遮蓋口鼻,細菌會四處散播,這令我感到有點焦慮。您需要立即用番梘洗手,並把消毒噴霧噴在桌子上。謝謝。」

新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19):如何清潔您的手機?

一些兒童很快就適應了網上學習,但一些兒童卻亦未適應。當「混合」教學成為新常態時,我們可以從中領悟什麼來幫助我們的小朋友?

我領悟到的是,無論是在課室還是在網上學習,每個小朋友都是不同的,他們都有自己的學習方式。我們需要了解哪種學習方式最適合每個人,並計劃及提供適合每個人的活動,不論網上學習與否。

有些小朋友可能喜歡透過視覺影像學習,而一些小朋友則透過活動來學習最有效。教育工作者必須繼續尋找令能每個人都積極參與學習的方法及持續改善教學活動模式。很明顯,對年紀較小的兒童而言,讓他們親身在課室學習是最好的方法!

您還有沒有什麼建議可以給家長?

在疫情下,抗逆力(RESILIENCE)極其重要。我觀察到很多人學會了應對現時棘手的情況並且十分成功。人人都可以透過適當的訓練和鼓勵來學習提升抗逆力和適應力。

請緊記,「艱難時光不會永在,但堅強的人會長存。」

想了解更多有關育兒的資訊?按此閱讀更多相關文章。

Marie Marchand 女士擁教育學士(家庭教育),她現為幼童樂園協會幼兒園校長兼老師、家庭教育顧問和暢銷兒童書《Home from Home》的共同作者。她於加拿大、瑞士和香港共有超過28年的國際教育經驗。她亦有主辦有關成功家庭教育的私人課程、工作坊和七週課程予家長、學校和不同團體參與。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Back to School After COVID-19: Parenting Expert’s Advice

As challenging as adapting to home learning was, children’s return to school will likely be just as challenging. After almost 4 months, home learning has become their new normal and they will have to readjust, especially considering all the measures the schools are required to put in place. Luckily, parenting expert Marie Marchand is answering all of our burning questions to aid us in making the transition back to school as smooth as possible. 

With COVID-19, school will not be the same – masks, social distancing, etc. How can we prepare our children for this?

First, we need to give the children the facts, we need to educate them. This is something that most parents have done already over the last 18 weeks. Second, we need to give explanations about what will happen when they go back to school. Use your school’s plan to discuss what is going to happen on day 1. When explanations are given, children are less anxious, and they feel more in control. When they are in control, they tend to follow the rules and cooperate better.

If children have questions, parents should try to answer them as best as they can, with the truth, but also giving information adapted to the child’s age and development. Parents should tell their children what can happen if they touch a contaminated surface as well as explaining that it is not the end of the world, “Don’t panic, just go and wash your hands very well with soap and water.” I believe that this is an especially important thing to teach. We do not want children to be terrified.

Parents might notice that their child is anxious about something, they can use a technique called reflective listening to get the children to express how they feel first and then find ideas to help deal with the situation.

For example:

Parent: “It looks like you are unsure about something…”

Child: “Yes, I am worried that no one will be able to hear me with my mask on.”

Parent: “It is tricky sometimes to hear people when they wear masks. What do you think you can do if you feel that your friends can’t hear you?” 

Brainstorm ideas with your child and let them try some of them. Your child can then evaluate if the ideas are working. (e.g. Use a louder voice, slow down when I speak, get closer to my friend – but not too close, etc)

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What impact will social distancing and wearing masks all day have on their ability to connect and socially interact?

I actually do not know the answer to this question! This is a new experience for all and we will have to see, observe and evaluate the situation to adjust the rules and help children adapt to this new way of living as this situation might last for a while.

I believe that this is a temporary situation and until we discover a vaccine, the children should try, as much as they can, not to be very physical. On the other hand, they need to play, and part of the reason we are sending children back to school is to socialise and connect with others. Everyone has a need to belong to a group and playing is really important for that but making efforts to choose games that do not include very close physical contact is crucial. Suggestions and ideas can be given as well as trying out periods or games.

I also believe that children in general are very resilient and that they will adjust if their fundamental needs are met. Needs like involvement, independence, fairness, connection, and the need to feel capable and worthy. All these needs can be met somehow with social distancing. It requires educators and parents to find new ways to help these needs be fulfilled. The physical needs will be fulfilled, hopefully by family members for now.

How to Cope During COVID-19: Tips from a Psychologist

We are going to have to trust the teachers and schools to ensure our children’s safety. How can we help our kids to also take responsibility for their own safety?

The best thing that parents can do to help the teachers and the schools is to train children to do some of the things that the school will be enforcing (e.g. how to put on a mask, how to wash your hands, how to sneeze into your elbow, how to blow your nose, how to express yourself without touching others, etc…). If school and home are on the same page and cooperate, it will be easier for everyone. A checklist can be posted in the classroom or at home to remind the children of some of the steps that they need to do regarding their hygiene. For younger children, getting them to sing the song “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” when they wash their hands is a habit that can easily be implemented. For older children, after they’re given clear explanations, if they are not following the protocol or the rules, just like for anything else, limits and logical consequences can be given. It is a learning curve for everyone, and adults should role model the right behaviour and show children that the rules are for everyone, not just them. 

Using language of encouragement is very positive to motivate children to do the right thing.

For example:

“Well done for remembering to sing the song while washing your hands, it shows us that you understand its importance.”

“You have used a tissue to blow your nose, great job. Now you need to wash your hands.” 

“What do you think you should do when you see your friends?”

“Give me five for keeping your distance while playing with Sam today. This means that we can have him over again soon.”

Quarantine, Social Distancing, Isolation: What’s the Difference?

You will be feeling anxious. How can you avoid passing that anxiety on to your children whilst still instilling a sense of awareness in them?

Parents and educators will need time to adjust to this new normal. Educators will have to trust their instincts and change things as they go along, if necessary. Parents have to give educators time to try out the school plan before jumping in and wanting to make changes. They will have to trust the system so as to not pass their anxiety onto their children. They should communicate with educators and management when the children are not around, especially if they need to share something that is causing them stress. Leading by example is the right thing to do. Doing it in a calm manner will help. We know that children need to feel in control, therefore, a good tip would be not to give orders to the children as this will start a ‘power struggle’ and children will become more oppositional, which will bring on more stress. Giving choices or asking them their opinions helps. Parents should also try to express their feelings in a respectful way so that the children do not feel blamed.

Examples:

“We all need to wear a mask, which colour would you like today, the pink or the blue one?”

“It is tricky to remember to wash our hands as we get in the house, what do you think we should do about this?” (When children participate in decision making, they are more likely to follow the rules)

“When you forget to sneeze in your elbow, I am feeling a bit anxious as your germs will go everywhere. You need to wash your hands with soap now and spray the table with disinfectant. Thank you.”

COVID-19: How to Clean Your Phone

Some children adapted well to online learning, but others struggled. What lessons can we take away from this to help our children as ‘hybrid’ learning may become the new normal?

The lesson I learned is whether you are physically in class or doing online learning, each child is different, and each has their own learning style. We need to get to know what learning style suits everyone best with and plan to provide activities to cater to everyone, whether online or not.

Some children might prefer some visuals, as others learn best when they move. Educators must continue to find ways to engage everyone and vary their activities. With the youngest children, it is noticeably clear that nothing is better than to physically come to school!

Do you have any final advice for parents?

RESILIENCE is a key word during this pandemic. I have observed so many people learning to deal with this tricky situation and being highly successful at it. People can learn and adapt with the right training and encouragement. 

Remember that Tough Times don’t last, tough people do.’

Want to read more about parenting? Find more articles here.

Ms. Marchand B.Ed. parent, City Kids preschool principal, teacher, parenting consultant and co-author of bestselling children’s book ‘Home from Home’, has over 28 years of international experience teaching in Canada, Switzerland and Hong Kong. She runs private sessions, workshops and seven-week courses with parents, schools and different organizations on all matters related to successful parenting and teaching.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.