兒科醫生認可的嬰兒飲食指南

最後更新日期 十月 12, 2021.

6個月或以下 | 6-12個月 | 維他命D補充品

每位父母都想為孩子提供最好的營養。坊間流傳很多有關嬰兒營養和飲食的資訊,但當中存在不少分歧。為釋除你的疑慮,Healthy Matters請來香港兒科醫生 Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生為大家分享簡單實用的嬰兒飲食指南,照顧你的寶寶健康成長。

正確的餵食方法至關重要。因為嬰兒出生後的第一年,成長速度比往後任何階段都要快,所以期間的營養吸收不容忽視。另外,盡早養成良好的飲食習慣能為孩子終生的健康奠定基礎。

適合1-6個月大嬰兒的食物

  • 母乳是嬰兒唯一的營養所需。
  • 母乳能為嬰兒提供全部所需的營養,以及抗體和其他活性物質。
  • 非母乳餵哺嬰兒應進食配方奶粉,並根據嬰兒的胃口給予適量的份量。
  • 嬰兒不適宜在這階段喝水或果汁。

適合6-12個月大嬰兒的食物

  • 嬰兒會在這階段由母乳或配方奶飲食過渡至嘗試進食固體食物。
  • 父母應該在嬰兒大約6個月的時候開始讓他們嘗試固體食物。
  • 在過渡階段早期,母乳或配方奶粉仍是嬰兒吸收營養的主要來源。隨着嬰兒慢慢習慣固體食物,進食的種類和份量增加,需要的奶品會相對減少。
  • 家長可以自行在家裏製作營養豐富的嬰兒食物,食材可以包括穀物、蔬菜、水果、雞蛋、魚、肉和豆類等。
  • 為了確保足夠的鐵質吸收,應該讓嬰兒進食足夠的肉、魚、蛋黃、肝臟和深色綠葉蔬菜。
  • 除了固體食物,也不應忘記補充水份。剛開始進食固體食物時,嬰兒很容易出現便秘,多喝水有助預防這個情況。
  • 嬰兒可以開始學習使用杯子和自己用湯匙進食
  • 父母應該為嬰兒準備不同口味、口感和顏色的食物,鼓勵他們嘗試,有助嬰兒了解不同食物種類,藉此培養良好的飲食習慣,減少偏食。

父母可以根據由世衛提供的生長標準,定期檢查嬰兒的成長速度和評估其健康狀況,更好地控制嬰兒進食的份量和食物種類。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

維他命D補充品與母乳餵哺的嬰兒

雖說母乳是餵哺嬰兒最佳選擇,但僅靠母乳可能無法提供嬰兒足夠的維他命D攝取量,特別是體內維他命D水平較低的母親。大多數母乳餵哺的嬰兒都能夠通過日常吸收陽光,在體內製造額外的維他命D。如果嬰兒沒有額外服用維他命D補充品,或沒有吸收足夠的陽光,便可能出現佝僂病(ricket)。

美國和英國等地建議母乳餵哺的嬰兒每天服用400IU的維他命D。

資料來源: 家庭健康服務美國疾病管制與預防中心 

有關母乳餵哺的資料: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/zh/breastfeeding-guide-much-often-every-age-birth-toddlerhood/

正考慮自己家人僱員購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!

Alea 以持平的意見及個人化的服務,給你來自20多間保險公司、超過100種靈活選擇。立即取得免費報價比較你的選項,或預約電話諮詢,與專業醫療保險顧問聯絡!

張蔚賢醫生Dr. Eddie Cheung在1997年於香港大學醫學院畢業。他之後開始在瑪麗醫院的兒科和初生兒科工作,並於2004年成為兒科專家。他曾在香港葛量洪醫院/瑪麗醫院擔任兒科心臟病專家,並於2005年獲得香港大學醫學碩士學位(優異成績)。他亦是香港心臟專科學院院士、香港兒科心臟學會副主席、香港兔唇裂顎協會顧問。他目前在香港港安醫院擔任兒科醫生顧問和感染控制人員。

FAQs

什麼食物適合嬰兒進食?

牛奶,最好當然是母乳,也是6個月以下嬰兒唯一需要的食物。6-12個月大的嬰兒可以進食穀物、香蕉、蘋果、紅薯、胡蘿蔔和豌豆等固體食物。

嬰兒什麼時候可以開始進食固體食物?

一般來說,6個月或以上的嬰兒可以開始進食固體食物。要斷定嬰兒是否適合進食固體食物,其中一個重要指標是嬰兒是否能夠獨自安坐椅子上,這樣可以減少哽噎的機會。

可以給4個月大的嬰兒進食固體食物嗎?

最理想的情況是嬰兒出生後頭6個月全以母乳餵哺。如果嬰兒在沒有他人協助下可以獨自安坐椅子上並順利吞嚥食物,那麼這可能是開始餵嬰兒進食固體食物的合適時機。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

A Hong Kong Pediatrician Guide to Baby Food

Last updated on August 26, 2021.

Your thoughts about baby food? Every parent worries about the hows, whens, and whys of baby nutrition. There is a lot of noise and contradictory information on infant feeding and we at Healthy Matters sourced trustworthy recommendations. We asked Hong Kong pediatrician Dr. Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生 to share some easy-to-use feeding guidelines to your baby’s first 12 months.

Making the right feeding choices is important because more growth happens during the first year than at any other time in your child’s life. Plus, starting good habits early helps you set healthy eating habits for life!

Baby food for the first 6 months:

  • Milk is the sole source of nutrients for babies.
  • Breast milk provides the full range of nutrients a baby needs as well as antibodies and other bioactive substances.
  • Babies who are not breastfed should receive infant formula. Give the baby as much or as little formula as it wants.
  • Parents should not give babies water or juice during this period.

Baby food from 6 to 12 months:

  • During this period, babies go through a developmental transition from a milk-only diet to an adult diet.
  • Parents should start feeding babies solid foods at around 6 months.
  • In the early transitional phase, breast milk or infant formula still provides most of the baby’s nutrients. As the babies eat more, in terms of variety and amount of solid foods, they need less milk.
  • Nutritious baby foods can be home-prepared from the family’s food basket. This includes grains, cereals, vegetables, fruits, eggs, fish, meats and beans.
  • To ensure iron intake, feed the baby meat, fish, egg yolks, liver and dark green leafy vegetables.
  • Alongside solid food, water should be introduced. This helps prevent constipation, which is commonly observed in babies eating solid food.
  • Babies need to learn to use a cup and spoon to feed themselves.
  • Parents should offer foods of different tastes, textures and colors. This helps children learn about food, enjoy eating and foster good eating habits.

Routine growth monitoring is crucial to assess infant health and nutrition. Serial physical growth data should be plotted against a standard growth chart, like those from the World Health Organization.

Vitamin D supplementation and breastfed infants:

  • While breastfeeding is the recommended method of infant feeding, breast milk alone may not provide an adequate intake of vitamin D, particularly if the mother has low vitamin D levels. Most breastfed infants are able to synthesize additional vitamin D through routine sunlight exposure. Vitamin D deficiency, which is also known as rickets, is rare among breastfed infants, but it can occur if a baby does not receive additional vitamin D from a supplement or adequate exposure to sunlight.
  • Some countries, like the United Kingdom and United States, recommend breastfed babies take vitamin D supplements of 400 IU per day.

References: Hong Kong Family Health Service; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

For breastfeeding information, read Breastfeeding Guide: How Much & How Often at Every Age | From Birth to Toddlerhood

alea banner

Looking for health insurance for yourself, your family or your team?

Alea brings you choice, unbiased advice and personalized service, with access to 100+ options from 25 insurance companies. Receive a free comparison quote or schedule a chat with an advisor today.

Dr. Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生 is a specialist in paediatrics. He received his paediatric training in Queen Mary Hospital and post-fellow paediatric cardiology training in Grantham Hospital/ Queen Mary Hospital. He is a Fellow of the Hong Kong College of Cardiology, the Vice President of Hong Kong Society of Paediatric Cardiology and Consultant of Hong Kong Association of Cleft Lip and Palate. He is currently working as Director of Paediatric Centre of HK Medical Consultants and serves as Infection Control Officer at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.

What is the best baby food to start with?

Milk, ideally breast milk, should be the only diet for babies below 6-month-old; solid foods like baby cereals, bananas, apples, sweet potatoes, carrots and peas can be introduced from 6 to 12 months.

At what age do babies start eating baby food?

Generally speaking, babies above the age of 6 months can start eating solid baby food. An important sign to look for is whether the baby can sit comfortably in a chair on their own, so as to minimize the risk of choking.

Can I give my 4 month old baby food?

The ideal situation is the majority of a baby’s nutrition relies on breast milk before 6 months of age. If your baby has learned to sit comfortably unassisted and can swallow food smoothly, it may be the right timing to start feeding baby food.


This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.