自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)在香港:徵兆、症狀、原因和治療

“自閉症”是一種複雜的神經行為狀況,涉及溝通技巧、社交互動和感覺處理的失調。由於有多種症狀,這種疾病現在稱為自閉症譜系障礙(Autism Spectrum Disorder,簡稱ASD)。ASD是一種發展障礙,可導致個人對他人建立重複的行為模式。根據世界衛生組織的一份報告,估計全球每160名兒童中就有1名患有ASD。在香港,自閉症兒童基金協會估計本地有25,000名註冊的ASD兒童,而男生人數超過女生人數。

什麼是自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)?

ASD是一種發展障礙,會影響個人的溝通和行為。ASD以遺傳和環境的因素為基礎,亦包括了自閉症、亞斯伯格症候群及廣泛性發育障礙的狀況。請記住,ASD不是精神病。自閉症譜系障礙會影響您小朋友的社交互動、言語和非言語交流、遊戲行為和興趣的質素。

自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)的徵兆和症狀

言語溝通

  • 言語發展緩慢
  • 單調或重複的講話
  • 不尋常的說話方式,包括誇張的韻律、大聲和高/低音
  • 實用的非語言溝通能力低

行為與興趣

  • 持續要求做某些事情並不願意作出改變
  • 重複的身體動作
  • 有限的興趣範圍和模式
  • 想像力不足

社交聯繫                                   

  •  沒有或很少主動與他人互動
  •  眼神交流能力弱
  •  難以與朋友和同齡人建立關係
  •  難以理解他人的感受和想法

可能會出現在ASD兒童一些常見症狀:

  • 會避免與人眼神接觸
  • 在1歲或之後對他們的名字沒有反應
  • 出現重複言行
  • 喜歡獨處或獨自玩耍
  • 表達情感和需求有困難
  • 做出不適當或平坦的面部表情
  • 會避免與人身體接觸
  • 常拍手並晃動身體
  • 對事物外觀、氣味和味道有異常反應
  • 飲食挑剔和有便秘
  • 使用相反的代詞(例如使用“您”代替“我”)
  • 不明白笑話、取笑和嘲諷

約70%的自閉症譜系障礙兒童患有某種形式的發育遲緩。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)的成因

目前沒有任何已知的成因可以解釋ASD的出現。但是,一些專家提出了遺傳和環境因素。

  • 遺傳學:對於某些兒童,基因改變(突變)可能會增加自閉症譜系障礙的風險。而其他基因亦可能會影響大腦發育或腦細胞交流的方式,或者可能決定症狀的嚴重性。有些基因突變似乎是遺傳的,而另一些則是新發展的。
  • 環境因素:預產期併發症或懷孕期間的藥物攝入、重金屬中毒和空氣污染都可能是ASD的誘因。小朋友與看護人的關係和感情不佳也很容易導致他們的社交能力的發展受阻。

自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)還會引致哪些其他障礙?

自閉症是一種屬於自閉症譜系障礙的綜合症。可以歸類為該總稱的疾病包括:

  • 自閉症(Autistic Disorder)指2至3歲兒童的溝通和社交互動問題。
  • 廣泛性發育障礙(Pervasive Development Disorder)也稱為發展障礙或非典型自閉症。此類別是指通過溝通和社交技能發展延遲而識別出的一組疾病。
  • 亞斯伯格症候群(Asperger’s Syndrome)這類兒童的語言發展沒有延遲,但是他們缺乏溝通和社交能力。他們的運動協調能力差,但在其他某些方面可能會有天分

通常,ASD的徵兆會在兒童大約2至3歲時出現。但是,根據專業人士指出,小朋友的大腦開始發育時,ASD就可能會存在。

Recognizing Developmental Delays in Babies and When to Seek Help

自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)的診斷和篩查

由於目前沒有可用於診斷ASD的醫學測試,因此診斷是一個挑戰。為了做出診斷,醫生會檢查孩子的行為和發展。有時,這種疾病可以在18個月或年紀更小的小朋友中發現。但是,許多患有ASD的兒童並沒有及時接受檢查,這種延誤令他們可能無法獲得所需的幫助。

ASD診斷分為兩個步驟:

1)發展性篩查:這是一項簡短的測試,由醫生對小朋友進行評估,以評估他/她的基本學習技能。在測試過程中,醫療專家可能會向父母提出一些問題或與小朋友交談,以分析他/她的說話、行為、活動和學習方式。這些方面的任何延誤都可能是自閉症譜系障礙的徵兆。父母調查表(例如M-CHAT)可用於提高診斷率。

9至24個月大的兒童在定期看兒科保健醫生時必須接受篩查,以檢查兒童是否有發育障礙、遲緩和ASD。如果醫生發現任何ASD徵兆,小朋友則需要進行全面的診斷評估。

2綜合診斷評估綜合診斷評估包括使用標準評估工具分析孩子的行為和發育,並與父母進行訪談。評估還可能包括視力和聽力篩查、神經系統測試、基因測試以及其他與醫學相關的測試。

如果全科保健醫生發現小朋友的活動有所延誤,醫生可以將小朋友轉介給專科醫生進行進一步調查。可以執行其他評估的專家包括兒童神經科醫生、兒童精神科醫生和發育兒科醫生。

兒科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

如何治療自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)?

診斷後應立即開始ASD治療。早期治療至關重要,因為適當的護理可以減輕ASD患者面臨的困難並幫助他們學習新技能。

目前有多種類型的治療和療法可以改善言語和行為。可以幫助到兒童的治療方法取決於他/她的狀況和需求。每種治療的重點是減輕兒童的ASD症狀並提高他/她的學習和發展技能。

行為與溝通治療與療法

  1. 應用行為分析(Applied Behaviour Analysis)在學校和診所中使用應用行為分析法來幫助ASD兒童學習積極的行為。這種治療方法可以提高一系列技能,治療方法包括:
  • 核心反應訓練(Pivot Response Training)核心反應訓練幫助培養交流和學習的動力。
  • 單一嘗試教學(Discrete Trial Training)單一嘗試教學採用積極的密集式教學和簡單的課程。
  • 語言行為干預(Verbal Behaviour Intervention)語言行為干預負責處理語言技能。
  • 早期強化行為干預(Early Intensive Behavioural Intervention)早期強化行為干預非常適合5歲以下的兒童。
  1. 結構化教學法(Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication-handicapped Children)這種結構化的方法使用一步一步的視覺提示(例如圖片)來幫助兒童學習一些普通的技能,例如穿衣服。
  2. 發展性個別差異、關係本位模式(Development, Individual Differences, Relationship-Based Approach)這種治療方法讓父母在玩耍時與孩子一起坐在地板上,這就是為什麼這方法也被稱為“地板時間”治療。這種方法的目標是通過幫助小朋友學習溝通和表達情感的能力來支持他/她的智力和情感成長。
  3. 圖片交換法(The Picture Exchange Communication System)與結構化教學法一樣,它也是一種基於視覺的方法,但是它使用的不是圖片卡,而是符號。通過這種治療,患有ASD的兒童可以學習使用不同的符號來交流和提出問題。
  4. 感覺統合治療(Sensory Integration Therapy)這治療適用於因某些聲音、明亮的燈光等而感到不適的兒童。它可以幫助ASD兒童處理感官資訊。
  5. 職業治療(Occupational Therapy)這種治療可以幫助患有自閉症的小朋友學習常規的生活技能,例如洗澡、進食、穿衣服等。這是幫助患者獨立生活的好方法。治療師還可以特別為有處理感官困難的兒童提供度身訂造的感覺統合訓練。
  6. 心理和教育療法(Psychological and Education Therapy)患有ASD的人可能會被轉介給專門從事行為、心理、技能建立和教育干預措施的醫療專家。這些治療計劃通常很密集,而且結構性高,家人可能需要同時參與。這些計劃可以幫助ASD患者:
  • 學習對獨立生活很重要的生活技能
  • 發揮他們的強項
  • 減少患者的挑戰性行為
  • 學習社交和溝通技巧

如何治愈自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)?

目前尚無可治愈ASD的藥物,但心理健康專家可能會使用藥物來治療ASD的症狀,例如重複性行為、活動過度、攻擊性行為、焦慮、抑鬱、失眠、專注力低等症狀。結合正確的療法。使用的藥物可能包括:

  • 抗抑鬱藥和焦慮症藥物:兒童最常用的處方藥是選擇性血清素再攝取抑製劑(SSRIs),例如舍曲林(Sertraline)氟西汀(Fluoxetine)。一些這類型的藥物已被研究並批准用於兒童,儘管並非專門用於自閉症。這組藥物可能有助於舒緩情緒、焦慮或強迫症。與大多數精神保健藥物一樣,應密切留意藥物的副作用。
  • 非典型抗精神病藥:常用的處方藥物為利培得(Risperdal)安必利(Abilify),這些藥物是唯一被批准用於自閉症兒童的藥物。這是因為研究表示它們有助減低與自閉症相關的易怒性。另外,非典型抗精神病藥也可以改善焦慮、衝動或情緒。

自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)支援服務和策略在香港

學齡前兒童如果被診斷患有ASD,並有資格獲得政府資助的服務的話,可以被轉介至社會福利署,安排兒童進入早期教育及訓練中心。對於學齡兒童,香港的教育系統已經展開了一些計劃來支援ASD兒童。通常,智力水平一般的ASD兒童可以上主流學校。同時患有ASD和智力障礙的兒童則會被安排到專門為智力障礙兒童建立的學校。這些學校根據兒童的需求提供以下服務和策略。

香港的主流學校支援ASD學生的策略

學校為支援ASD學生而部署的基本策略包括:

  • 視覺策略
  • 結構化的學習環境
  • 言語與溝通訓練
  • 同輩支持
  • 情感和社會訓練
  • 社會敘事故事
  • 良好行為獎勵計劃

學校還會安排教育心理學家和言語治療師提供諮詢、評估和專業支援服務。

香港的特殊學校對ASD學生的支援

在「特殊學校自閉症兒童輔導教學計劃」下,政府資助的特殊學校內患有ASD的兒童除了接受正常的課堂教學外,還會獲得額外支援,這取決於他們的學習表現、需求和教學過程的性質。在更深入的個人指導下,將可以根據每個學生的特定狀況和個人需要對他們進行評估。

有關更多資訊,請按此

本文章由兒科醫生Dr. Wai Fan Fanny LAM 林蕙芬醫生於2019年6月13日審閱。林蕙芬醫生,倫敦皇家內科醫學院,香港兒科醫學院,香港醫學專科學院(兒科醫生),兒科發展及行為專家,香港大學榮譽助理臨床教授,英國嬰幼兒發展研究協會導師。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Autism (ASD) in Hong Kong: Signs, Symptoms, Causes, and Treatment

Autism is a complex neurobehavioral condition that involves impairments in communication skills, social interaction, and sensory processing . Due to the range of symptoms, this disorder is now called ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder). ASD is a developmental disability that can cause an individual to establish repetitive behavioural patterns with other people. According to a report from the WHO, it is estimated that 1 in 160 children have ASD across the globe. In Hong Kong, the Autism Children Foundation estimates that there are 25,000 registered autistic children in the city, with boys outnumbering girls.

What is Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)?

ASD is a developmental disorder that affects the communication and behaviour of a person. It has both genetic and environmental underpinnings. It includes conditions called autism, Asperger’s syndrome and pervasive developmental disorder. Keep in mind that ASD is not a mental illness. Autism spectrum disorder affects your child’s quality of social interaction, verbal as well as nonverbal communication, play behaviour and interests.

Signs and Symptoms of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

Verbal Communication

  • Slow speech development
  • Monotonous or repetitive speech
  • Unusual speech, including exaggerated prosody, loud and high/low pitch
  • Little nonverbal pragmatic skills in communication

Behaviour and Interest

  • Continuous demand to do certain things and resistance to change
  • Repetitive body movements
  • Restricted and narrow pattern of interests
  • Weak imaginative play

Social Interaction

  •  No or poor initiative to interact with others
  •  Weakly integrated eye contact
  •  Difficult to build relationships with friends and age peers
  •  Difficult to understand others’ feelings and thoughts

Some common symptoms that children with ASD might show are:

  • Avoid eye contact
  • Do not respond to their name by 1 year of age
  • Repeat words and actions
  • Prefer to be alone or play alone
  • Find it difficult to express emotions and needs
  • Give inappropriate or flat facial expressions
  • Avoid physical contact
  • Flap their hands and rock their body
  • Unusual reactions to the way things look, smell, and taste
  • Picky diet and constipation
  • Use reverse pronouns (e.g., use “You” instead of “I”)
  • Do not get jokes, teasing, and sarcasm

Approximately 70% of children with Autism Spectrum Disorder have some form of delayed development.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Causes of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

There is no single known cause that can explain ASD. However, some experts have put forward genetics and environmental factors.

  • Genetics: For some children, genetic changes (mutations) may increase the risk of autism spectrum disorder. Still other genes may affect brain development or the way that brain cells communicate, or they may determine the severity of symptoms. Some genetic mutations seem to be inherited, while others occur de novo.
  • Environmental factors: perinatal Complications or medication intake during pregnancy, heavy metal poisoning and air pollution might be a trigger of ASD. Poor attachment and bonding with caregiver also contributes to impairment in the development of social skills.

What Do Other Disorders Come Under Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)?

Autism is a syndrome that falls under ASD. Disorders that can be classified under this umbrella term include:

  • Autistic Disorder: It refers to issues with communication and social interaction in children aged 2 to 3 years old.
  • Pervasive Development Disorder: Commonly called PDD, is also known as atypical autism. This category refers to a group of disorders identified by delays in the development of communication and social skills.
  • Asperger’s Syndrome: Children under this category don’t have delay in  language development, but they lack quality in communication and socialization. They have motor incoordination and may have gifts in some areas.

Usually, the signs of ASD show up when a child is around 2 to 3 years old. But, according to professionals, it starts much earlier, when the child’s brain begins to develop.

Recognizing Developmental Delays in Babies and When to Seek Help

Diagnosis and Screening of ASD

Since there is no medical test available to diagnose ASD, diagnosis is a challenge. To make a diagnosis, the doctor looks at the behaviour and development of the child. Sometimes, this disorder can be detected in a child at 18 months or younger. However, many children with ASD don’t receive medical care on time and this delay means that they may not get the help they require.

ASD diagnosis is divided into two steps:

1) Developmental Screening: This is a short test, performed by a doctor on a child to evaluate his/her basic learning skills. During the test, the medical expert may ask some questions to parents or talk to the child to analyze how he/she speaks, behaves, moves, and learns. A delay in any of these areas could be a sign of Autism Spectrum Disorder. parents checklist such as M-CHAT can be used to improve the diagnostic yield.

All children must be screened for developmental disabilities, delays, and ASD during regular well-child doctor visits from the age of 9 to 24 months. If the doctor finds any of the ASD signs, it means the child needs a comprehensive diagnostic evaluation.

2) Comprehensive Diagnostic Evaluation: Comprehensive diagnostic evaluation involves analyzing the child’s behaviour and development using standard assessment tools, and an interview with parents. It may also include vision and hearing screening, neurological testing, genetic testing, and other medical related tests.

If a primary care doctor finds some delays in the child’s activities, he might refer the child to a specialist for further investigation. Specialists who can perform additional assessments include Child Neurologists, Child Psychiatrists, and Developmental Pediatricians.

The Ultimate Guide to Pediatricians in Hong Kong

How to treat ASD?

ASD treatment should start immediately after its diagnosis. Early treatment is essential as proper care can lower the difficulties faced by people with ASD and help them learn new skills.

There are different types of treatments and therapies to improve speech and behaviour. The treatment or therapy that a child can benefit from depends on his/her condition and needs. Each therapy focuses on reducing ASD symptoms in the child and improving his/her learning and development skills.

Behavioural & Communication Treatments and Therapies

  1. Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA): ABA therapy is used in schools and healthcare clinics to help children with ASD in learning positive behaviour. This treatment is used to boost a range of skills including:
  • Pivot Response Training: PRT helps in developing the motivation to communicate and learn.
  • Discrete Trial Training: DTT uses positive reinforcement and simple lessons.
  • Verbal Behaviour Intervention: VBI deals with language skills.
  • Early Intensive Behavioural Intervention: EIBI is perfect for children under the age of 5.

2. Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication-handicapped Children (TEACCH): This structured approach uses step by step visual cues like pictures to help the child in learning common skills, such as getting dressed.

3. Development, Individual Differences, Relationship-Based Approach (DIR): This treatment allows parents to get down on the floor with their child while playing, that’s why it is also known as Floortime treatment. The goal of this approach is to support the intellectual and emotional growth of the child by helping him/her learn communication and emotional skills.

4. The Picture Exchange Communication System (PECS): Like TEACCH, it is also a visual-based approach, but it includes symbols instead of using picture cards. Through this treatment, children with ASD learn to communicate and ask questions using different symbols.

5. Sensory Integration Therapy: This therapy is for children who get upset by things such as certain sounds, bright lights, etc. It can help ASD children deal with sensory information.

6. Occupational Therapy: This treatment can help the child with ASD in learning regular life-skills such as bathing, feeding, dressing, and more. This is a great approach that helps patients to live their lives independently. Therapists may also provide sensory integration training that target at sensory-processing difficulties tailor-made for individual child.

7. Psychological and Education Therapy: People with ASD may be referred to medical specialists who are specialized in delivering behavioural, psychological, skill-building, and educational interventions. These healthcare programs are typically intensive and highly structured and may include close family members. These programs may help an individual with ASD in:

  • Learning life-skills important to live independently
  • Building upon strengths
  • Reducing challenging behaviour
  • Learning social and communication skills

How to cure ASD?

Currently, there is no medication to cure ASD, but mental health experts may use medication to treat symptoms of ASD, such as repetitive behaviour, hyperactivity, aggression, anxiety, depression, insomnia, trouble focusing, etc. Medication for ASD can be effective when combined with the right therapy. Medications may include:

  • Antidepressants and anxiety medications: the most commonly prescribed medications for children are selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), such as sertraline (Zoloft) or fluoxetine (Prozac). Some of these medications have been studied and approved for use with children, although not specifically for autism. This group of medications may help with mood, anxiety, or obsessive thoughts and compulsive behavior. As with most mental health medications, side effects should be closely monitored.
  • Atypical antipsychotics: commonly prescribed medications are Risperdal or Abilify, are the only group of medications specifically approved for children with autism. This is because studies show them to benefit autism-related irritability. However, atypical antipsychotics may also improve anxiety, impulsivity, or mood.

Support Services and Strategies for ASD in Hong Kong

Preschool children diagnosed with ASD who are eligible for government-funded services can be referred to the Social Welfare Department for placement in Early Education Training Centre. For school-aged children, the education system of Hong Kong has started several schemes to support children with ASD.  Generally, children with Autism Spectrum Disorder having average intelligence can attend mainstream schools. Children with both ASD and ID (Intellectual Disability) are placed in schools, specifically established for children with ID. These schools offer the following services and strategies in accordance with the needs of the child.

Role of Mainstream Schools in Hong Kong for Students with ASD

Basic strategies deployed by schools to support students with ASD include:

  • Visual Strategies
  • Structured Learning Environment
  • Speech and Communication Training
  • Peer Support
  • Emotional and Social Training
  • Social Narrative Stories
  • Good Behaviour Reward Scheme

Schools also arrange educational psychologists and speech therapists to deliver services in consultation, assessment and professional support.

Role of Special Schools in Hong Kong for Students with ASD

Under the “Resource Teaching Programme for Autistic Children in Special Schools”, children with ASD in government-funded special schools are offered support in addition to normal classroom teaching and this depending on their learning performances, needs, and nature of the teaching process. With more intensive individual guidance, each student can be evaluated based on their specific conditions and personal needs.

For more information, you may click here.

Article reviewed by Pediatrician Dr. Wai Fan Fanny LAM on June 13, 2019. Dr. Wai Fan Fanny LAM, MRCP(UK), HKCPaed, HKAM(Paed), Specialist in Developmental-Behavioural Paediatrics, Honorary Assistant Clinical Professor, University of Hong Kong, Tutor, The Association for Research in Infant and Child Development, UK.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.