香港有嚴重的抗生素抗藥性問題:你可以如何應對?

最後更新於
2022-03-22

5 分鐘閱讀

antibiotic week pills on line

知道什麼是安滅菌阿莫西林嗎?世界衛生組織已經宣布抗生素產生抗藥性是對全球健康最大威脅之一。而在香港抗生素的情況令人震驚。最近的一項調查表示,在過去的一年中,近一半的人口服用過抗生素。提高公眾意識並改變我們對使用抗生素的態度對我們的未來至關重要。

 

抗生素產生抗藥性:你不會對抗生素產生抵抗力,但細菌會

常用抗生素包括阿莫西林安滅菌環丙沙星多西環素等,它們是對抗細菌感染非常有效的藥物,但濫用會導致抗生素產生抗藥性。正確來講,細菌會變得對抗生素具有抗藥性,而抗藥性細菌潛在的危險是在於它所引起的感染。在這種情況下,抗生素治療將無法有效地治療感染,這意味著你將不得不依靠自己的免疫系統來抵禦感染。某些容易被抗生素治療的細菌感染,例如肺炎、肺結核、淋病和梅毒,現正面對細菌抗藥性。這意味著將來這些感染將導致更高的醫療費用和更高的死亡率。因此,採取行動應付問題刻不容緩!

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!
立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。
訂閱即代表你已同意我們的條款及細則隱私政策

香港濫用抗生素的情況

不幸的是,香港使用抗生素的比例過高。 在2011年的一項調查報告中顯示,過去一年中,香港人口中有34.6%的人使用過抗生素。但是,最近的調查表示,在過去的一年中,服用過抗生素人數已上升至幾乎一半香港人口。這數字令人擔憂的原因有幾個。首先,僅一小部分常見疾病(例如流感和普通感冒)是細菌引起的,這意味著大多數是病毒引起的。抗生素僅用於治療細菌感染,而不能用於治療病毒感染。使用抗生素治療病毒感染可加快細菌對抗生素產生抗藥性的過程。這種現象似乎已經在香港發生,因為在港發現的所有金黃色葡萄球菌感染中有48%對抗生素具有抗藥性,是英國的四倍。

 

在香港,政府通過法例監管非處方藥的購買。這項法例僅允許持執照的藥劑師在香港出售抗生素。但是,接受調查的抗生素使用者中有2%承認自己非法購買非處方抗生素。香港濫用抗生素的情況令人震驚,而政府已製定了一項有關抗生素使用的行動計劃。政府在2017年7月發布了為期五年的《香港抗菌素耐藥性策略及行動計劃》。計劃的目標是提高對問題的警覺性,同時教育醫護人員、加強監管及監控、並加強預防感染。

 

你可以採取哪些措施來預防抗生素抗藥

在個人方面,你可以採取一些措施預防抗生素產生抗藥性、通過一些方法來控制它,例如:

  • 僅在持有執照的醫護專業人員開抗生素處方時才使用抗生素。
  • 如果你的醫生或醫護專業人員告訴你不需要抗生素,請遵從他們的意見。
  • 按照你的醫護專業人員的指示使用抗生素。
  • 不與其他人共用抗生素。
  • 保持適當的個人和環境衛生,以防止感染。這包括時常洗手、注意飲食衛生、避免與病人接觸以及進行安全的性行為。

可以試吓完成世界衛生組織設計的小測驗來測試你對抗生素抗藥性的了解!

hm x alea 醫療保險回贈

🔥限時優惠:買醫保即享$8,000回贈!🔥

正考慮購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!
 

Alea 會幫你找到所需的醫療或人壽保險,過程輕鬆簡單!
🔎 免費比較超過25間保險公司
💰 節省時間和金錢
💬 專業持平的顧問意見
💯 優質服務全年無休

 

🤝 立即透過 Alea x Healthy Matters 取得免費報價!

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

分享

Hong Kong’s Antibiotic Problem

It is World Antibiotic Awareness Week and we have now reached a point where antibiotic resistance has been declared as one of the biggest threats to global health by the World Health Organization. In Hong Kong, the problem is particularly alarming. A recent survey indicates that nearly half of the population has consumed antibiotics in the past year. Increasing general awareness and changing our attitude towards antibiotic use is of great importance for the future.

 

It is not you that becomes resistant to antibiotics but the bacteria

Antibiotics are very effective drugs that fight off bacterial infections, but antibiotic misuse drives antibiotic resistance. To make it clear, bacteria become antibiotic-resistant and the danger in that lies in developing an infection caused by an antibiotic-resistant bacterium. In this case, an antibiotic course will be much less effective in treating your infection, which means you will have to rely on your own immune system to ward off the infection. Certain bacterial infections that were easily treated with effective antibiotics such as pneumonia, tuberculosis, gonorrhea and syphilis are now facing bacterial resistance, meaning that in the future these infections will lead to higher medical costs and increased mortality. Clearly, it is time to take action!

 

The alarming overuse of antibiotics in Hong Kong

Unfortunately, the antibiotic use in Hong Kong is out of proportion. A 2011 survey reported that 34.6% of the Hong Kong population had used antibiotics in the past year, but the most recent survey has indicated that this statistic has risen to almost half of the population using antibiotics in the past year. This statistic is worrying for several reasons. Firstly, only a small portion of common illnesses such as the flu and the common cold are actually of bacterial origin, meaning the majority is of viral origin. Antibiotics are only meant to treat bacterial infections, not viral ones and using antibiotics for viral infections speeds up the natural process of antibiotic resistance in bacteria. This exact phenomenon seems to have taken place in Hong Kong where 48% of all Staphylococcus aureus infections were found to be antibiotic resistant, which is four times higher than in Britain.

In Hong Kong, the government has regulated antibiotic over-the-counter purchases by implementing regulations that only allow licensed pharmacists to sell antibiotics to patients who have a valid doctor’s prescription. Nevertheless, 2% of the surveyed antibiotic users admitted to illegally buying over-the-counter antibiotics. In light of the alarming antibiotic misuse in Hong Kong, the government has set up an action plan on antibiotic use. This Hong Kong Strategy and Action Plan on Antimicrobial Resistance 5-year plan was released in July 2017 and aims to create awareness, educate healthcare workers, strengthen regulation, monitor compliance and enhance infection prevention.

 

What you can do on a personal level to prevent antibiotic resistance

As an individual, there are things you can do to prevent antibiotic resistance. You can help control it by following certain recommendations, such as:
  • Only using antibiotics when issued a prescription by a certified health professional.
  • Listening to your doctor or health care practitioner if they tell you that you do not need antibiotics.
  • Using the antibiotics as instructed by your health care professional.
  • Not sharing antibiotics.
  • Maintaining proper personal and environmental hygiene to prevent infections. This includes washing hands regularly, preparing food hygienically, avoiding contact with sick people and practicing safe sex.
Have fun testing your antibiotic resistance knowledge here with the WHO’s quiz!
Want to learn more? Read our article on the flu season in Hong Kong here.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.