關於麥蘆卡蜂蜜(Manuka Honey) 的8件事

蜂蜜是家中一種必需品,被認為是最頂級的家庭天然補品之一,蜂蜜基本上對一切都帶來好處。但是您聽說過麥蘆卡蜂蜜嗎?它具有更高的營養價值,被認為是具有更高營養價值的高級蜂蜜,具有更多的健康益處。以下是我們為您發掘的一些關於麥蘆卡蜂蜜的有趣事實:

1. 來自新西蘭

麥蘆卡蜂蜜是一種蜂蜜的「品種」,專門從新西蘭採購。它是從蜜蜂身上收穫的,這些蜜蜂對物種學名為Leptospermum Scoparium的開花植物進行授粉,而後者通常被稱為「麥蘆卡植物」。「麥蘆卡工廠」只能在新西蘭的偏遠地區找到。現時,關於麥蘆卡蜂蜜商標的爭論仍然存在,因為似乎在澳洲東南部也發現了屬於Leptospermum種的植物。

2. 擁有抗菌的特性

麥蘆卡蜂蜜已被發現含有抗菌的特性。抗菌的意思是它可以防止微生物的生長,包括而不只限於細菌寄生蟲或真菌。由於麥蘆卡蜂蜜具有此特性,它可以通過幫助預防有害微生物(無論是在空氣中還是在人體中)影響傷口癒合或引起感染,並促進傷口癒合。

3. 有一個評級標準 – UMF

看看麥蘆卡蜂蜜的包裝時,您可能會注意到UMF等級。UMF代表Unique Manuka Factor(「獨特的麥蘆卡因子」); 評級數值通常從UM5到UMF16+,其中UMF5是較低的等級。 這評級標準是為了把麥蘆卡蜂蜜分為不同的菌株,不同菌株可以提供不同強度的營養價值,意思是在質量和純度方面存在一定的差異,而在市場上亦會有不同的價格。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

4. 留意MGO的含量

MGO代表Methylglyoxal(甲基乙二醛);它是從麥蘆卡蜂蜜中發現的一種化合物,相信是令蜂蜜具有出色的抗菌特性原因之一。 某些麥蘆卡蜂蜜品牌會用MGO的標準來展示其麥盧卡蜂蜜的等級,其評級數值從30到800+,您可以在此處查看MGO值與UMF值相對的數值。當MGO達到最高評級的800+時,這意味著該批次的麥蘆卡蜂蜜經測試後被證實每1千克的蜂蜜含800+毫克的MGO:這是極為罕見的,因此價格會高得多。

5. 改善消化

許多常見的消化不良都與細菌活動有關,例如腹瀉消化不良腸胃炎。食用麥蘆卡蜂蜜時,由於麥蘆卡蜂蜜具有抗菌功能,這些症狀可能會被減輕。

6. 可以用作護膚品

麥蘆卡蜂蜜可局部用於痤瘡或小傷口等皮膚問題。由於具有抗菌特性,因此可以減少發炎區域感染和細菌生長的機會,從而加快癒合過程。您可以嘗試使用麥蘆卡蜂蜜局部治療傷口,甚至將其混合到DIY的面膜中。

7. 食麥蘆卡蜂蜜的最佳方法

口服麥蘆卡蜂蜜時,最好直接用匙羹食!或者在室溫下將其與水混合,以稀釋味道。當將任何類型的蜂蜜置於溫度過高的環境中時,其營養特性都會受到破壞,從而使產品無法充分發揮其功效。

8. 可能的副作用

儘管麥蘆卡蜂蜜是超級食品級的天然補品,但並不適合所有人。建議除了適量服用外,對蜜蜂有過敏反應或需要密切控制血糖的人不要食用它。此外,麥蘆卡蜂蜜已被證明對化療藥物有一定影響,因此最好在把它納入您的飲食前先向醫生查詢。

應對過敏:香港全方位指南

麥蘆卡蜂蜜的好處吸引到您嗎?我們希望您發現這些事實很有趣!

分享此文章並關注“Healthy Matters”以獲取更多健康資訊!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

8 Things to Know About Manuka Honey

Honey is a family staple that is considered one of the top natural home remedies and is basically good for everything. But have you ever heard of Manuka honey? It has become increasingly known as a higher grade of honey with great nutritional value, for more health benefits. Here are some interesting facts we dug out for you:

1. It’s from New Zealand

Manuka honey is a ‘species’ of honey that is sourced specifically from New Zealand; it is harvested from bees that pollinate the flowering plant species Leptospermum Scoparium, more commonly known as the ‘Manuka plant’. The ‘Manuka plant’ can only be found in remote areas in New Zealand. Currently, there are still debates about the trademark of Manuka honey. Indeed it seems that the plant family Leptospermum is also found in south-eastern Australia.

2. Antimicrobial properties

Manuka honey has been found to contain antimicrobial properties. Antimicrobial means that it serves to prevent the development of micro-organisms, and this would be including but not limiting to bacteria, parasites or fungi. Manuka honey having this property means that it is able to promote healing by helping to prevent infections or interference to healing which may be caused by harmful microorganisms, whether they are in the air or in our bodies.

3. There is a grading factor – UMF

When you take a look at the packaging of Manuka honey, you may notice a UMF rating. UMF stands for Unique Manuka Factor; and the scale ranges commonly from UM5 to UMF16+, with UMF5 being the lower grade. The grading factor is to divide the manuka honey into different strains which may provide nutritional value at different strengths, meaning that there is a range in terms of quality and purity, at different values on the market.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

4. Keep an eye out for the MGO content

MGO stands for methylglyoxal; it is a chemical compound found in Manuka honey that seems to be responsible for the distinctive antibacterial properties. Some brands of Manuka honey will showcase their grade of manuka honey using an MGO factor, with numbers ranging from 30 up to 800+, you can see a relative comparison of the MGO factor with the UMF factor here. When there is a high MGO rating of 800+, it would mean the batch was tested to contain 800+ mg of MGO per 1 kg of Manuka honey: this is extremely rare, hence it is priced a lot higher.

5. Improves digestion

Many common digestion troubles are related to bacterial activity, for example, diarrhoea, indigestion and bowel inflammation. When consuming manuka honey, these symptoms will likely be reduced due to the antibacterial functions manuka honey serves. 

6. Can be used as skincare

Manuka honey can be used topically for skin troubles such as acne or minor cuts. Due to the antibacterial properties, the chances of infection and bacterial growth on the inflamed areas can be reduced, thus speeding up the healing processes. You could try spot treating using manuka honey, or even mix it into a DIY mask.

7. Best way to eat Manuka Honey

For taking manuka honey orally, it is best to eat it straight from a spoon! Otherwise, mix it in water at room temperature for a more diluted taste. When honey of any type is placed in temperatures too hot, the nutritional properties are disrupted, making the product less effective in the benefits it serves.

8. Possible side effects

Despite it being a natural remedy of superfood grade, manuka honey is not for everybody. It is recommended that other than taking it in moderation, those with allergic reactions to bees or need to carefully manage blood sugar should not consume it. Also, manuka honey has been shown to have certain effects on chemotherapy drugs, so it is best to first consult your practitioner before implementing it into your diet.

The Ultimate Guide to Allergies in Hong Kong

Do the benefits of manuka honey appeal to you? We hope you found these facts interesting!

Share it and follow Healthy Matters for more!

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.