七種已證實的按摩健康益處

按摩是可以改善身心健康的好方法。它可以讓您放鬆和呵護自己,但同時也帶給您各種健康益處!以下是需要享受按摩的一些重要健康原因。

按摩是按壓、摩擦和操縱皮膚、肌肉、肌腱和韌帶的總稱。從輕撫到深壓,按摩的種類很多。在香港,最常見的按摩類型有:

  • 針灸按摩:這是一種基於中醫理論的技術。它利用手指壓在人體上稱為穴位的特定部位上調動氣或生命力能量。
  • 足部反射按摩:通過壓縮、按和撫摸腳上的神經,它可以暢通全身的能量流區域。
  • 熱石按摩:這種按摩方式是使用來自火山的玄武岩並加熱至60°C。這些石頭具有非凡的高能量的聚溫性,是暖和及放鬆緊張肌肉的方法。
  • 淋巴排毒按摩:通過施加壓力,目的是排出體內液體並暖和四肢,將肌肉移上並遠離骨骼,使血液流動。
  • 泰式按摩:一種著名的按摩,它不僅使用雙手,還使用各種技術。主要是有節奏和緩慢的壓力以及有伸展、被動瑜伽和能量通道的元素。
  • 瑞典式按摩:這是一種輕柔的按摩方式,通過緩慢的撫推、揉捏、中度壓力、振動和拍捶來幫助您感到放鬆和精力充沛。
  • 深層按摩:這種按摩技術使用較慢,更有力的撫來瞄準更深層的肌肉和結締組織,通常是為了幫助受傷造成的肌肉損傷。

實在有很多享受按摩的理由,而我們Healthy Matters 團隊為您整理了按摩的七大健康益處!

1. 改善心理健康

有大量研究證明,按摩有助於改善焦慮和抑鬱情緒。根據國際神經科學雜誌(International Journal of Neuroscience)2005年的一項研究,事實證明,乳癌婦女在每週接受3次按摩療法後,情緒有比較穩定也改善了抑鬱症。邁阿密大學醫學院觸感研究所的另一篇評論還指出,按摩可以通過增加心率、呼吸和出汗來使體內的皮質醇(壓力荷爾蒙)水平降低53%。按摩還會增加感覺良好的激素 – 血清素和多巴胺。相信您知道現在需要為自己安排預約什麼活動了。

Mental Health in Hong Kong: Seeing a Psychologist

2. 不再失眠

美國國立衛生研究院發表的一項研究中,中式按摩被證明有助於治療44名更年期女性的失眠。在這項研究中,按摩增加了第3和第4階段的睡眠時間,這是修復身體和刺激免疫系統的兩個最必要的睡眠階段。在減低壓力同時,按摩可帶來更好的睡眠質量,並使您感到平靜。

要知道:按摩不僅有助帶來平靜的睡眠,而且還可以為那些接受化學療法或放射療法的患者提供舒適的睡眠。

2019年最值得收聽的健康資訊節目

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

3. 改善姿勢

正工作的成年人感到背部、頸部和肌肉疼痛是非常普遍的,尤其是在香港每天都要花大量時間在工作和通勤。造成這種疼痛的主要原因是姿勢不良。實際上,慢性背痛通常是站立和/或坐著時姿勢不正確或姿勢不良的結果。此外,不良的姿勢和重複相同的動作可能會導致背部勞損,並可能導致臀部、臀大肌、背部、頸部和腿部出現痙攣、疼痛和緊繃的肌肉。因為不良姿勢使肌肉變得緊繃和酸痛,按摩可以幫助身體放鬆和鬆弛肌肉。由於某些按摩療法可讓您舒展關節,因此關節將更加靈活且壓力較小。長遠來看可令身體有一種健康的姿勢。

物理治療師 – 香港全方位指南

4. 改善血液循環

香港大學公共衛生學院在2012年進行的一項研究表示,香港約有三分之一的成年人患有高血壓。 2014年,研究人員發現,每星期至少進行3次10分鐘的背部按摩的人,血壓下降程度多於那些只花相同時間只用來放鬆的人。

按摩通過增加我們的氧氣攝入量來降低血壓和心率,這可能會減少與有關血壓的激活。不斷改善血液循環是由於不斷接受定期按摩而在體內產生的滾雪球效應的一部分。這是因為受損、僵硬和緊繃的肌肉需要豐富的血液才能治愈,而按摩帶來了適當的循環來供應它。手的壓力以及擠壓、扭曲和拉動按摩的作用會從肌肉組織中去除乳酸,並有助於淋巴液循環,從而將廢物從內臟和肌肉中帶走。按摩可以降低血壓,並改善免疫系統。

5.治療纖維肌痛

纖維肌痛是一種慢性疾病,特徵是肌肉普遍疼痛、疲勞和認知困難。症狀有時是在身體創傷、手術、感染或有嚴重的心理壓力後開始的。頻繁的按摩有助於緩解纖維肌痛患者的壓力並減輕肌肉疼痛、不適和痙攣。實際上,根據國家纖維肌痛協會,按摩是對纖維肌痛患者最有效的輔助治療之一,其中約40%的患者感到疼痛和焦慮有明顯減輕。

6. 按摩可增強免疫系統

每週按摩治療可以通過增加白細胞和免疫細胞水平來增強我們的免疫系統。根據洛杉磯著名的Cedars-Sinai醫學中心的研究人員所述,接受45分鐘按摩的人的淋巴細胞數量會增加,也就是保護人體免受有害物質侵害的白細胞。

精神病學和行為神經科學系的醫學主任Mark Rapaport表示:」這項研究表示,按摩不僅感覺良好,而且對您也有好處。人們通常將按摩作為健康生活方式的一部分,但是直至到現在,才有證據可以證明按摩後人體免疫反應會增強。」

是否搵緊中醫師?

查閱我們的健康目錄

7. 治療關節炎

關節炎是一個或有多個關節發炎的慢性炎症,會損害軟骨。關節炎的主要症狀是關節疼痛和僵硬,通常隨著年齡的增長而惡化。按摩療法可幫助治療成人膝關節炎的疼痛和僵硬,並且以減輕疼痛和改善自我身體機能的形式表現出正面的短期效果。

患有慢性症狀的關節炎患者可以考慮定期使用按摩療法,甚至每天使用自我按摩,以幫助控制疼痛和僵硬,或促進更好的睡眠,從而緩解肌肉和關節的疼痛。

如果您想嘗試多種按摩方式來減輕疼痛或治療疾病,可以先諮詢風濕病醫生或基層醫療醫生,以確保按摩對您安全。一些技術可能涉及對敏感的組織和關節施加較強大的壓力,或者將四肢移動到各種位置,這對於患有類風濕性關節炎等疾病的關節受損的人來說可能有困難。按摩不是藥物,它是改善您的情況和當前健康狀況的輔助工具。您應該享受按摩的樂趣,不應因為它而增加您的疼痛或焦慮感。事先與您的醫生和按摩治療師溝通可以確保按摩適合您,並幫助您獲得良好的效果!

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

7 Proven Health Benefits of Massage

Massage can be a great way to improve both your physical and mental health. Yes, it allows you to relax and pamper yourself, but it also brings you various health benefits! Here are some of the top health reasons to enjoy a massage.

Massage is a general term for pressing, rubbing and manipulating your skin, muscles, tendons and ligaments. There are many different types of massages from light stroking to deep pressure. The most common types of massage in Hong Kong are:

  • Acupuncture massage: It is a technique based on the theories of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). It uses finger pressure to mobilize chi — or life force energy — at specific spots on the body called acupressure points
  • Foot reflexology massage: By compressing, massaging, and stroking receptors on the foot, it unblocks the energy flow zones of the whole body.
  • Hot stone massage: A type of massage that uses basalt stones of volcanic origin, heated to about 60°C. These stones’ remarkable temperature-maintaining properties are a sure way to warm and relax tense muscles.
  • Lymphatic drainage massage: By applying pressure it aims to drain fluid and warm up limbs, lifting the muscle up and away from the bone to get the blood flowing.
  • Thai massage: A famous massage, which uses various techniques performed not only with hands. Mainly rhythmic, slow pressure as well as elements of stretching, passive yoga and working with energy channels.
  • Swedish massage: This is a gentle form of massage that uses long strokes, kneading, deep circular movements, vibration and tapping to help make you feel relaxed and energized
  • Deep massage: This massage technique uses slower, more-forceful strokes to target the deeper layers of muscle and connective tissue, commonly performed to help with muscle damage from injuries.

While there are many great reasons to enjoy a massage once in a while, our Healthy Matters team has compiled 7 top health benefits of massage for you!

1. Improves mental health

There have been numerous research proving that massage helps improve anxiety and depression. According to a study in 2005 by the International Journal of Neuroscience, women with breast cancer were proven to get less emotional and subject to depression after receiving a massage therapy routine of 3 times a week. Another review by the Touch Research Institute at the University of Miami School of Medicine also stated that massage can reduce the level of cortisol (stress hormones) in our body by 53% through increasing heart rate, breathing and sweating. Massage also increases the feel-good hormones serotonin and dopamine. You know what you need to book now.

Mental Health in Hong Kong: Seeing a Psychologist

2. No More Insomnia

In a study published by the National Institute of Health, Chinese therapeutic massage is proved to help treat insomnia in 44 postmenopausal women. In this study, massage increased the duration of stage 3 and 4 sleep, which are the 2 most necessary sleep phases for repairing the body and stimulating the immune system. With lower stress levels, massage can bring better sleep quality and make you feel calmer.

To know: not only does massage assist in restful sleep, but it also encourages a comfortable sleep for those who can’t, such as patients undergoing chemotherapy or radiation therapy.

The Best Health Podcasts In 2019

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

3. Improves posture

Back, neck and muscle pain is very common among working adults, especially with the extensive time spent daily at work and commuting in Hong Kong. The main reason for this pain is due to poor posture. In fact, chronic back pain is often the result of incorrect or poor posture while standing and/or sitting. Additionally, having a poor posture and repeating the same movements can contribute to the strain on the back and potentially lead to spasms, pain, and tense muscles in the hips, glutes, back, neck, and legs. Massage can help the body to relax and loosen its muscles made tense and sore because of bad posture. The joints will be more flexible and less pressurized as some massage therapies allow you to stretch them. As a result, the body is able to position itself in an organic and healthy posture.

The Ultimate Guide to Physios in Hong Kong

4. Improves blood circulation

A study by the School of Public Health of the University of Hong Kong in 2012 revealed that about 1 in 3 adults in Hong Kong has high blood pressure or hypertension. In 2014, researchers found that people who had at least three 10-minute back massages a week lowered their blood pressure more than people who spent the same amount of time just relaxing.

Massage lowers blood pressure and heart rate through increasing our oxygen intake, which may decrease the activation of a pathway related to blood pressure. Improved circulation is part of a snowball effect that occurs in the body as a result of receiving regular massage consistently. This is because damaged, stiff and tense muscles needs rich blood supply to heal and massage brings the proper circulation to support it. The hands-on pressure and actions of squeezing, twisting, and pulling in massage removes lactic acid from muscle tissues and helps the lymph fluid circulation that brings away the waste products from the internal organs and muscles. It results in lower blood pressure, and a better immune system.

5. Treats Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia is a chronic condition characterized by widespread pain in the muscles, fatigue and cognitive difficulties. Symptoms sometimes begin after a physical trauma, surgery, infection or significant psychological stress. Frequent massages are found to help relieve stress as well as alleviate muscle pain, discomfort and spasms in patients suffering from fibromyalgia. In fact, according to the National Fibromyalgia Association, massage is one of the most effective complementary treatments for patients with fibromyalgia and around 40% of them felt the significant reduction in pain and anxiety.

6. Massage Boosts the Immune System

Weekly massage treatments can boost our immune system by increasing white blood cells and immune cell levels. According to researchers from the well-known Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, people who received a 45-minute massage had an increased number of lymphocytes, which are white blood cells that play a large role in defending the body from harmful substances.

“This research indicates that massage doesn’t only feel good, it also may be good for you,” said Mark Rapaport, MD, chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences. “People often seek out massage as part of a healthy lifestyle but there hasn’t been much physiological proof of the body’s heightened immune response following massage until now.”

7. Treats Arthritis

Arthritis is a chronic inflammation of one or more joints that damages cartilage. The main symptoms of arthritis are joint pain and stiffness, which typically worsen with age. Massage therapy can help treat pain and stiffness in adults with knee arthritis and positive short-term effects are seen in the form of reduced pain and improved self-reported physical functioning.

People with arthritis who experience chronic symptoms may consider using massage therapy regularly, even daily use of self-massage, to help manage their pain and stiffness, or to promote better sleep that can, in turn, relieve pain in muscles and joints.

If you’re interested in trying one of the many types of massage as a way to ease your pain or treat your disease, you may consult your rheumatologist or primary-care physician first to ensure that massage is safe for you. Some techniques may involve strong pressure to sensitive tissues and joints, or moving limbs into various positions that may be difficult for someone with damaged joints from a disease like rheumatoid arthritis. Massage is not medicine, it’s here to complement on treating your conditions and your current health. You should enjoy experiencing a massage, and it should not increase your pain or anxiety. Communication with your doctor and massage therapist beforehand can ensure that massage is right for you and help you achieve beneficial results!

Looking for health insurance? Contact AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system (public and private) to answer all your questions.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.