羽衣甘藍的6大功效

最後更新日期 八月 5, 2021.

深色的綠葉蔬菜常被認為是營養最豐富的蔬菜,具有許多健康益處,而羽衣甘藍也不例外。以下就帶你認識羽衣甘藍的健康益處:是什麼使它成為眾多沙律和蔬菜汁中不可缺少的食材呢?

什麼是羽衣甘藍?

羽衣甘藍來自名為蕓苔(brassica oleracea)的植物,也被稱為重木「芥菜」(mustard plant),與西蘭花、球芽甘藍和捲心菜等其他蔬菜屬於同一家族。羽衣甘藍有寬而捲曲的葉子,比較常見的有深綠色的品種,但亦有深紫、藍綠和紅紫色的品種。華人社會中的芥蘭(也被稱為「中式羽衣甘藍」或「中式西蘭花」)與羽衣甘藍類似,而且較為香港人熟悉。雖然兩者的營養成分各異,但它們確實屬於同一個家族。

以下是羽衣甘藍的一些健康益處:

1. 羽衣甘藍含有不同微量營養素

羽衣甘藍具有大量的營養素,例如β-胡蘿蔔素(製造維他命A的營養素)、維他命C、K、多種重要礦物質,例如,以及其他抗氧化物。僅一杯(140克)羽衣甘藍就能提供超過每日維他命C的建議膳食攝取量(RDA),有助改善免疫系統和促進膠原蛋白增生;同時,一杯羽衣甘藍可以提供超過200%維他命A的RDA,有助促進細胞代謝和維持大腦健康。

2. 羽衣甘藍有助身體排毒

羽衣甘藍是膳食纖維的重要來源——一杯羽衣甘藍含有2.5克膳食纖維,是菠菜的3倍,可促進腸胃蠕動,幫助消化,有助改善便秘。

另外,根據美國農業與食品化學雜誌,羽衣甘藍還含有不同抗氧化物,例如山柰酚(kaempferol)和槲皮素(quercetin),有助減少因進食過多動物蛋白和加工食品而引起的炎症,其中豐富的鹼性物質更有助中和血液。連同羽衣甘藍中的其他抗氧化物(包括 β-胡蘿蔔素、維生素以及各種黃酮類化合物和多酚),它們可以降低由氧化應激(由體內或紫外線等外部來源產生的自由基積累引起)引致的癌症或衰老風險。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

3. 羽衣甘藍有益眼睛健康

攝取足夠的β-胡蘿蔔素和維他命A對視力和健康的眼睛至關重要。除了這些營養素以外,羽衣甘藍還含有豐富的葉黃素(lutein)和玉米黃質(zeaxanthin),能保護眼睛免受紫外線傷害,防止白內障黃斑病變

4. 羽衣甘藍含豐富維他命K

維他命K是幫助血液凝結的必要營養素,用作激活製造血塊的蛋白質。羽衣甘藍含有大量維他命K,其含量高於每日RDA 7倍。如果血液凝結系統失效,當受傷或出現傷口時,就有機會失血過多。低效的凝血機制也可能令血液變稀釋,導致血壓降低,容易令我們感到頭暈甚至昏厥。

5. 羽衣甘藍幫助維持心臟健康

食用羽衣甘藍可以降低「壞」膽固醇——低密度脂蛋白(LDL)膽固醇。「壞」膽固醇有機會令斑塊在血管內壁積聚,增加患心臟病和中風的風險。研究指出,在肝臟中,膽固醇用於製造膽鹽,即用來分解脂肪的乳化劑。一般來說,膽鹽能有效被循環再用,在幫助消化後會再次被吸收到血液中,所以身體不會無間斷地製造膽鹽,而膽固醇也會繼續在體內積聚。然而,羽衣甘藍含有膽鹽螯合劑,可阻礙膽鹽再次被吸收,從而降低膽固醇水平。一項為期12星期的研究發現持續每日飲用羽衣甘藍汁,有助降低「壞」膽固醇水平,減低冠心病的風險。

羽衣甘藍也能幫助增加體內「好」膽固醇——高密度脂蛋白(HDL)膽固醇水平,加快去除血液中「壞」膽固醇。

6. 幫助抗擊癌症

羽衣甘藍含有多種抗癌化合物,如蘿蔔硫素(sulforaphane)和吲哚-3-甲醇(indole-3-carbinol),它們能夠破壞癌細胞的生長。癌細胞生長時會釋放一些抑制正常細胞生長的物質,而羽衣甘藍的抗癌化合物則能抑制這些物質對正常細胞代謝的干擾,促進體內製造更多健康細胞,對抗癌細胞。

羽衣甘藍可以用以製作沙律和蔬菜汁;你也可以從超級市場或本地農莊購買新鮮的羽衣甘藍。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

6 Health Superpowers of Kale

Last updated on July 19, 2021.

Dark leafy greens are supposedly the most nutritionally dense vegetables. They come with many health benefits, and kale is no exception. What is kale, and what gives it the top position in so many salad and green juice recipes nowadays? Join us to explore.

What is kale?

Kale stems from the plant brassica oleracea, which is also called “mustard plant”, and is of the same family as other vegetables such as broccoli, brussels sprouts and cabbage. This vegetable is distinguished by its broad, curly leaves, and although it is more commonly seen in its dark green version, it also comes in deep purple, blue-green or red-purple. Another vegetable of the same family, “gai-lan” (also called “Chinese kale” or “Chinese broccoli”), may be more familiar to people in Hong Kong, with different growing conditions and nutritional makeup.

Here are some of the health benefits of kale:

1. Packed with micronutrients

Kale naturally has good quantities of nutrients such as vitamin A from beta-carotene (an antioxidant that can turn into vitamin A), C, K, as well as a wide range of key minerals such as calcium, magnesium and potassium, plus other antioxidants. Consuming 1 cup of kale brings you over 100% of the recommended dietary allowance (RDA) of vitamin C, which we need for a good immune system and synthesis of collagen. Likewise, for vitamin A, which helps with cell metabolism and supports brain health, 1 cup of kale can provide over 200% of our RDA!

Advertisements

2. Detoxifying

Kale is a great source of fiber — each cup of kale contains 2.5g of fiber, this is more than 3 times that of spinach. Fiber in kale adds bulk to the stool and aids bowel movement to allow smooth passage of wastes through the digestive tract, decreasing the chance of constipation.

On the other hand, according to the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, kale also contains antioxidants such as kaempferol and quercetin, which help to minimize inflammation due to oxidative stress (accumulation of free radicals generated from within the body or from external sources, e.g. processed foods), while their alkaline qualities also help to cleanse blood from excessive intake of animal protein. Together with other antioxidants in kale, including beta-carotene and vitamins and various flavonoids and polyphenols, they can reduce risk of cancer or aging caused by oxidative stress.

3. Eye health

For good vision and healthy eyes, it is important that we have a sufficient intake of beta-carotene and vitamin A. Other than these nutrients, kale also contains abundant lutein and zeaxanthin, which are crucial nutrients responsible for shielding eye tissues from UV damage, as well as preventing the risks of developing cataracts and macular degeneration, according to research studies.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

4. Blood clotting

Vitamin K is an important nutrient for blood clotting because it activates responsible proteins to bind with calcium to form blood clots. Kale has a rich source of vitamin K, almost 7 times that of the recommended daily allowance. Inefficient blood clotting may give rise to a higher chance of uncontrolled bleeding upon injuries. Having an inefficient clotting mechanism also implies thinner blood and a higher likelihood of low blood pressure, making the body more prone to dizziness or even fainting.

Advertisements

5. Heart health

Eating kale is able to bring about a decrease in low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol (the “bad” cholesterol) that can build up as plaque on the inner wall of blood vessels, resulting in higher risks of heart attack and stroke. As a research article on Food Chemistry suggests, the rationale is that cholesterol is used to make bile salts in the liver, the emulsifying agent of fats (breakdown of ingested fats into small lipid droplets physically). Supposedly, bile salts can be efficiently recycled as they are reabsorbed into the bloodstream after serving their part in digestion. Nonetheless, kale contains bile salt sequestrants that hinder the reabsorption of bile salts, thus lowering the cholesterol levels by hindering the absorption of fats. A 12-week study found that a continuous daily intake of kale juice can significantly lower the “bad” cholesterol levels and thus reduce risk of coronary artery disease.

Kale also helps to increase high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol, which is responsible for removing “bad” cholesterol in the bloodstream.

6. Cancer protection

Kale has been found to contain cancer-fighting compounds such as sulforaphane and indole-3-carbinol that disrupt the growth of cancer cells. When cancer cells grow, they release compounds that inhibit the normal growth of healthy cells. The cancer-fighting compounds in kale may be able to counteract and cancel this inhibitive effect and normalize healthy cell metabolism. As more healthy cells are produced, the body gains strength to fight the cancerous cells.

Kale works great in salads or green juices; you can buy it at supermarkets or through local growers which you can find online.

What are the benefits of eating kale?

Kale can bring you multiple health benefits: supply micronutrients, detoxify your body, improve your eye health, heart health and lower the risk of cancer.

What's the best way to eat kale?

Kale can be eaten raw or cooked. It is commonly served raw in salad, smoothies, and cooked in soup, pasta or boiled vegetables. However, you may want to limit your cooking time as prolonged cooking may affect kale’s nutritional value.

Is Kale bad for thyroid?

Raw kale contains a high content of goitrins, a type of goitrogen which can affect thyroid function when consumed excessively (more than 1 kg of kale per day).

What are the side effects of eating too much kale?

Eating too much kale may harm your thyroid function as it can inhibit the uptake of iodine, which is essential in the production of thyroid hormones.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.