【致敏原】減少家居致敏原:5種有效方法

有哮喘或過敏症?在2017年,香港有兩分之一的人至少經歷過一種或以上的過敏反應,而患有過敏症的14歲或以下兒童的數目亦不斷增加。過敏主要由遺傳和環境因素所造成。

應對過敏:香港全方位指南

氣候變化已被證實與呼吸道過敏症狀的出現有莫大的關係。例如大雨令建築物的外層和牆壁變得潮濕,導致房屋的霉菌、蟑螂及塵蟎增多。潮濕和受污染的空氣會引起很多過敏反應,例如哮喘,甚至更嚴重的肺炎和腦血管疾病。

有見及此,我們Healthy Matters團隊為您帶來5種有效方法,讓在香港的您減少家居致敏原。

#建議一:減少家居致敏原:定期滅蟲及放置蟑螂捕捉器!

蟑螂是家居內引起過敏和哮喘的常見因素。在香港,蟑螂似乎無處不在。根據Pest World Organization的調查,市區78%至98%的房屋內都有蟑螂。因此,採取適當措施以避免與蟑螂及家中其他害蟲接觸是必需的。將蟑螂捕捉器放置在蟑螂通常會藏身的地方,例如爐後面、雪櫃四周、排水溝、水槽、儲物櫃、牆壁或樓梯上的裂縫或洞。確保將所有食物放在適當的罐和容器中,並密封好。檢查並確保蟑螂沒有任何途徑污染食物。蟑螂最常見於廚房或洗手間,基本有機會藏在任何地方,包括堆積的紙和盒子。

如果可以,請找專人滅蟲,以減少其他蟲害侵入您家的機會。滅蟲專家會使用適當的殺蟲劑處理害蟲、預防和控制害蟲的繁殖。食環署的滅蟲組亦有就製造不吸引害蟲和不利害蟲繁殖的環境條件提供建議。

#建議二:減少家居致敏原:保持寵物清潔

動物皮屑是僅次於塵蟎的第二大常見致敏原。動物皮屑可以在貓、狗或您家中其他寵物的身上找到。與人類一樣,動物會釋放死皮細胞。即使寵物不在房屋內,這些微粒仍會透過與寵物直接互動的寵物主人、或與動物在同一公共場所內的非寵物主人的衣物中散播。動物致敏原比粉塵致敏原細小。因此,如果不進行空氣淨化,動物致敏原可能會在空氣中停留長時間,從而令有動物過敏的人非常不適,即使他們沒有接觸動物或沒有與動物直接互動。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

解決此問題的其中一個方法是 – 如果可能的話 – 讓寵物留在屋外,以防止污染室內空氣的機會。如果不可行,請確保每星期用適當的番梘和消毒劑清潔寵物2至3次。寵物主人應定期洗衣服,不要將穿過的衣物放太久。我們明白,在香港養一隻(甚至更多)寵物並不容易…

#建議三:減少家居致敏原:改善室內空氣質素,使用抽濕器和空氣淨化器。

使用抽濕器是降低空氣濕度的好方法,抽濕器可以在本港超市或便利店容易買到。空氣淨化器通常較為昂貴。但是,如果您選擇到合適的空氣淨化器,可能是一項非常好的投資。空氣淨化器吸收空氣和灰塵,進行淨化和過濾,然後將新鮮的空氣帶回房間。空氣淨化器亦可以吸收氣味和煙霧並作出中和。

但是,一般空氣淨化器的吸收度範圍不大,即是在大型室內使用一個空氣淨化器並不足以淨化整個空間的空氣。在大多數情況下,在每個房間都設置一個空氣淨化器時才有效。此外,雖然空氣淨化器會吸收空氣中的灰塵,但不會吸收塵蟎,因為塵蟎不是透過空氣傳播的。因此,即使您在家中使用多個空氣淨化器,仍必須使用真空吸塵器來清除塵蟎。

監測香港空氣質素的6種最佳應用程式

#建議四:減少家居致敏原:定期清潔家居並用吸塵器!

應定期使用具有HEPA過濾器的吸塵器清潔房屋。這種過濾器可以捕捉霉菌、寵物皮屑、灰塵和其他致敏原粒子,而且由於採用了玻璃纖維網,捕捉到的致敏原不會釋放回同一空氣中。這對患有哮喘的人特別有利:HEPA過濾器可以清除空氣中的灰塵,並減少潛在的污染。

污垢很容易出現,主要是由於我們的死皮細胞和纖維所致。因此,如果家居清潔不當,會容易吸引害蟲,例如曱甴,進而引起過敏。定期清潔廚房等區域非常重要。保持櫥櫃和儲物櫃整潔,並使用塑料容器儲物以減少雜物。櫃上堆積或雜亂的物品會增加灰塵的出現,因此使用容器或盒子將物品分類儲存是一種有效的方法。

另一個建議:避免使用地毯,因為地毯是塵蟎的理想繁殖地,可比喻為吸塵蟎磁鐵」。

#建議五:減少家居致敏原:使用防致敏原保護套蓋著枕頭、地毯和床單。

家居塵蟎生長在潮濕環境或屋內的灰塵中。通常生長在枕頭、地毯或床單等織物。這些織物直接與我們的身體和皮膚接觸,所以採用防致敏原保護套是防止塵蟎的好辦法。大多數防致敏原保護套由超細纖維做成,密集得令致敏原物質無法穿透,但同時空氣水分仍然能夠流通,從而降低濕度。這些防致敏原保護套亦需要適當的清潔,例如定期用溫水清洗保護套。

另一個建議:用羽毛製成的枕頭(材料更好、密度更高)往往有較少的塵蟎。材料愈緊密,塵蟎就愈難進入!

如果您覺得您或家人可能有過敏症,請向普通科醫生或過敏專家求助。

過敏專家 – 香港全方位指南

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink,發電郵至[email protected]查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界)有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. Adrian Wu 鄔揚源醫生目前在私家診所執業。他有美國委員會過敏和免疫學的專業認可,亦是香港過敏病及哮喘診療中心主任。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

5 Effective Ways to Reduce Home Allergens in Hong Kong

Suffering from asthma or allergies? In 2017, one in two people in Hong Kong experienced at least one or more types of allergies and the number of children aged 14 or below suffering from allergies keeps rising. It is mainly due to genetic issues and environmental changes.

The Ultimate Guide to Allergies in Hong Kong

Climate change has been found to be highly related to the emergence of respiratory allergy symptoms. For example, heavier rains have made the surface and walls of buildings humid and damp causing increased house moulds, cockroaches and house dust mites. Humidity and air pollution can cause many allergic reactions such as asthma, or even worse, pneumonia and cerebrovascular diseases.

Our Healthy Matters team has compiled 5 easy ways for you in Hong Kong to reduce home allergens.

Tip #1 to reduce allergens at home: routine pest control and cockroach traps!

Cockroaches are a common cause of allergies and asthma in households, and in Hong Kong they seem to be everywhere. According to the Pest World Organization, between 78% and 98% of homes in urban areas have cockroaches. Action needs to be taken to avoid interaction with them and other pests that might roam in your house. Put cockroach traps in places where they would usually hide such as behind stoves, around the refrigerator, drains, sinks, lockers, cracks or holes in walls or staircases. Make sure to store all food in proper jars and containers and seal them well. Check to make sure that there are no pathways for them to enter and contaminate. They are most common in the kitchen or toilet and they can hide everywhere including in piles of papers and boxes.

If possible, conduct professional pest controls to reduce any other pests invading your homes. It will prevent and control the breeding of pests and disinfestation of pests are generally dealt using the appropriate insecticide. Pest control staff of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department in Hong Kong also gives advice on making the conditions unsuitable for the breeding or attraction of pests.

Tip #2 to reduce allergens at home: keep pets outside your house and maintain cleanliness of pets

Animal dander is the second most common allergen after dust mites in Hong Kong. It can be from cats, dogs, or any pets that roam in your home. Same as humans, these animals release dead skin cells. Even if pets don’t live inside your house, these particles can still spread from the fabric of the pet owners that interact directly with the pets or non-pet owners that went to public places with animals. Animal allergens are smaller than dust allergens therefore if not purified it may stay in the air for a longer time, causing people with animal allergies to be very sensitive even if they do not touch or directly interact with the animal.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

A way to solve this is to – if possible – keep your pets outside your home to prevent the chances of contaminating the air inside. If this is not feasible, make sure that you clean and wash your pets 2-3 times a week with proper soap and disinfectants. Pet owners should wash their clothes regularly and not keep used clothes in a place for too long. Yes, we know, although we love pets, having one (or more!) in Hong Kong is not easy…

Tip #3 to reduce allergens at home: improve indoor air quality. Use dehumidifiers and air purifiers.

The way to reduce humidity is to use dehumidifiers that can be easily found in supermarkets or convenience stores in Hong Kong. Air purifiers are typically more expensive however if you choose the right one, it can be a very good investment. Air purifiers essentially work as fans that absorbs the air and dust, cleans and filters it, then purify the clean air back to the room. It also traps the smell and smoke and neutralize them.

However, usually air purifiers do not have a wide span of absorbance, meaning using one air purifier in a large packed room would not be enough to purify the air of the whole house. In most cases, air purifiers can only be effective if there is one in each room. Also, air purifiers do absorb the dust in the air but not dust mites because they are not airborne, therefore even if you use multiple air purifiers at home, you still have to use vacuum cleaners to absorb dust mites.

The 6 Best Apps to Monitor Air Quality in Hong Kong

Tip #4 to reduce allergens at home: clean regularly and use vacuum cleaning!

Homes should be regularly cleaned with a vacuum cleaner with HEPA filter. This filter can trap mould, pet danders, dust and other allergen particles, and thanks to a mesh of fiberglass, they are not released to the same air. It is particularly beneficial to people having asthma: it removes dust in the air and also reduces possible contamination.   

Dirt is easily present mainly due to our dead skin cells and fibers, therefore when not cleaned properly, it can invite unwanted pests such as cockroaches, which in turn can cause allergy. It is important to do regular cleaning in areas such as your kitchen. Keep closets and lockers tidy, and use plastic containers to reduce clutter items. Piles or clutter of items on closets would increase the availability of dust therefore sorting them out using containers or boxes would be an effective way.

Another tip: avoid using carpets, because they are the ideal breeding place or “magnet” for dust mites.

Tip #5 to reduce allergens at home: use allergen-proof covers for your pillows, carpets and/or bed sheet.

House dust mites grow in humid environments and dust found in homes. They are usually in fabrics such as pillows, carpets or bed sheets. These fabrics are directly in contact with our body and skin, so using allergen-proof covers is a good way to prevent dust mites. Most allergen-proof covers are made of microfiber so dense that allergen substances cannot go through and moisture would still circulate, thus reducing humidity. Proper maintenance is still needed with these allergen-proof covers, such as washing them regularly with warm water.

Another tip: pillows made of feathers (better material, higher density) tend to have less dust mites. The tighter the material, the less likely that dust mites can enter!

If you feel you or your family may have an allergy, seek medical assistance from a general practitioner or allergy specialist.

Your Expert Guide to Allergy Specialists in Hong Kong

 

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system (public and private) to answer all your questions.

Dr. Adrian Wu 鄔揚源醫生 is a US board certified specialist in allergy and immunology currently in private practice. He is the director of the Centre for Allergy and Asthma Care in Hong Kong.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.